LYN PROTON IRIZ OWNER THREAD V5

Axile
post Jan 5 2016, 10:59 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(marvinben @ Jan 5 2016, 09:15 AM)
Check tyre pressure, also many members changed their tyre from 55 profile to 60 profile for better ride comfort.
QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Jan 5 2016, 09:32 AM)
1.6E here.. Didn't experience stiff shocks.. And it's so comfortable over uneven roads...  hmm.gif

I always thought Saga / Preve of having stiff shocks..and if indeed it's caused by seats, willing buyer here!  brows.gif
QUOTE(annas473 @ Jan 5 2016, 09:36 AM)
All still standard from factory?

I cant recall vibration at driver seat when drove at uneven road  hmm.gif

my assumption, driver seat not fitted accordingly.
Weird, maybe I need to send to SC and check. The feel is like driving a Hilux chasis.
Axile
post Jan 7 2016, 12:28 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(blazejason @ Jan 7 2016, 11:37 AM)
The manager and supervisor seems ok. But the mechanics there is no different than the other. I told 1 of the mechanics that my front passenger door is not align properly with the door behind and it also sounds weird when the door is closed(Saga BLM door closing sound), I also told him that engine vibration is quite serious. Then, he replied me, semua kereta pun macam tu. Move along to the dashboard rattling issue, and some foam came out, he juz use a screw driver to poke the foam in and said it's done.

Water leaks through the door frame and dripped in driver's cabin. His solution is just screw everything tighter at the door hinges and spray water at the top part of the door and found no watermarks and said it's fixed, and now it's still leaks water in. Driver's door rattling noise is even worse than previous time!

I did go through all the defects, 1 by 1 with the manager there, and I decided to leave my car there, also recommended by the manager herself, but it seems that all those defects are still here and nothing is fixed! NOTHING! She did said that they won't be removing the whole dashboard bcoz it's too risky or whatever whatnot, but the thing is, all the sounds is from the inside! What if a few screws are not tighten properly? Steel to steel part is not welded correctly? Or the plastic didn't fit properly? Sometimes I wonder, will those 6 airbags will work properly? Or some loose screw inside will fly out after the airbags deployed? Trust me, if you told this to some irresponsible Proton Mechanics, they will just tell you that Japanese cars and continental cars also got problem larhh.

About the annoying rattling sound coming from the dashboard, I did try to add some foam all around the dashboard area, including the very poor interior plastic build at A pillar, it's still making a lot of noise. Surely it is not based by the end of the dashboard is knocking on the windscreen that makes a lot of noise.

Sad to say that, it's really disappointing.
For rattling issue especially inside of interior (i.e: inside door panel, dashboard related) is better to send to branches because dealer will not entertain those as they will be responsible and bear for the damages if any negative issues arise (unable to claim from official Proton). That is why they are not willing to take the risk. For normal services, Senaxis will be an ideal place.

I went to CoE but the rattling doesn't completely fixed, but it gets better than before and only appears once in awhile. What foam are you using? Have you tried using D-door sound proof to slot into those gap and see whether it helps. cool2.gif
Axile
post Feb 10 2016, 08:46 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(Zeuss1220 @ Feb 9 2016, 08:45 PM)
Yep.

I got it started again. Forcing the brake to press didn't really help. I tried rapidly pressing and releasing, finally managed to get the green light.

Happened quite a few times already. The worst part is definitely the brake tightening up, there's no way to release until the car started.

nyap2 (i don't know how to tag) had similar issue few threads back, he said the battery cables might not be tightly connected, i checked mine, cannot move it by hand so should be tight enough.

And since i'm already posting, I might as well talk about the touch screen in-car entertainment system. Are all ICES terrible? Some of the issues I repeatedly face:

1. After car restarted, songs in my SD cards play in reverse order (most annoying, as it happens everytime)
  2. Radio channels randomly change frequency while listening
  3. Poor touch screen response. Sometimes hang, have to switch off the car. Cannot even power off the ICES separately.

I don't really fancy touch screen ICES. The OS (I'm guessing version of Android) is poorly developed and the hardware is probably cheap. Prefer a normal LCD with dedicated media control buttons, without OS.
Happen to me once but luckily im at SC that time. Try to check your battery casing at the bonnet and ensure the nut is screwed tightly.
Axile
post Feb 10 2016, 08:47 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(marvinben @ Feb 10 2016, 01:11 AM)
Cant be solved since it's bad design problem. The fuel tank share the cabin with passenger.

Anyway I opened up my front door panel and found the rattling parts. Mostly it's the wires and loose connectors. Applied generous amount of black color mounting tape and that solved the problem hopefully once and for all.

Went to the GF's kampung for CNY, new rattle from dashboard appears on the journey back. I should find out how to dismantle the dash myself. hurmmnnn  hmm.gif
Mind to share how you dismantle the door panel with step-by-step photos?
Axile
post Feb 16 2016, 03:01 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(kaixian1990 @ Feb 15 2016, 03:19 PM)
Hi everybody. i just get my New iriz 1.6 exe last month
I have face 2 problem.
1)high fuel consumption
1st tank only 299km <- shell 95
2nd tank abt 290km <- Petron  95
It normal?
2) Touchscreen Display
sometime when i start my car the system sound will go to maxinum.
i confirm i got turn off all the radio before i stop my car.

anybody facing same problem>
Don't worry, after roughly 5,000KM, you will have good FC. Mine is about 480km full tank on 60% highway 40% city+jam.
Axile
post Feb 16 2016, 04:51 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Feb 16 2016, 03:53 PM)
EA games, it's in the game.. sound familiar.. tongue.gif
While Toyota got new tagline, All about the drive!
Axile
post Feb 29 2016, 08:26 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(adamhzm90 @ Feb 27 2016, 02:19 PM)
I opened my left door trim to find the cause of rattling noise..but after opened blur la cannot find any tangling wires or whatnot..huhu all looks organized
Hi adamhzm, mind to share step-by-step with photos how to remove the door trim?
Axile
post Feb 29 2016, 10:34 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(adamhzm90 @ Feb 29 2016, 09:00 AM)
Sure.. And the rattles stop after i had the little operations.. Huhu
First turunkan window all the way down..
unscrew screw at the door lever.. Just korek that square thing..
Then unsrew at the door handle and just cabut the door handle as well..just pull out the door handle and unplug the power window socket..
Then you will see two more screw inside the hole of the door handle u removed.. Unscrew it as well..
Then carefully pull the door trim start from the top ..very easy
Thanks for the tutorial. Will try it out this weekend. Mine also slight rattle on left door panel when driving on uneven road.
Axile
post Mar 17 2016, 01:43 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(trushalvora @ Mar 17 2016, 01:17 PM)
i got 7 years warranty, not afraid  devil.gif  devil.gif
U got 7 years warranty but remember to take Proton Service Centre experience into consideration. Prepare to have a spare car brows.gif

0.0202sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:11 PM