Scope International / ITSC@Standard Chartered Grp, culture / enviroment / prospect

Dead4Life
post Mar 13 2009, 11:32 AM

652 posts

My friends who worked there as DC already given notice termination yesterday by the management, not only DC, AC also been told to leave (terminate). Its a major layoff for contract staff in Scope.

What I heard from my friend that there's less project been given this year, so there's not enough money to pay the staff salary. I dunno about the perm staff, but I would say they might well be retrentch soon based on performance. Its kinda cruel because my friends enrolled as Graduate Trainee, but been layoff less than a year. So how to find jobs with little experience gained? So stupid this Scope.

Dead4Life
post Jul 29 2009, 11:05 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(skhairi @ Jul 29 2009, 09:32 PM)
Hello everyone,

Anybody from ISCM ?? i got a call for a job as senior programmer on .Net.

Its a 6 month contract.....need to know the job environment there ??? anybody had experience spending long-term contract ?? more than 6 months ?? anybody had their contract period extended ??
No need to work in Scope la..turnover high..bad management..sucks supervisor..so called balancing work and life..in your a*#..

ps:- for those working in eFBS team and know a woman name "T%$a"..say hello to that bi@#h...

This post has been edited by Dead4Life: Sep 10 2024, 09:42 PM
Dead4Life
post Aug 7 2009, 09:45 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(scopesux @ Aug 7 2009, 05:10 PM)
Please don't believe SCOPE. They are cheating people to work as cheap labor. Especially new joiner, or experience lesser worker, they promise to give you to work as Java Developer. In the end, they will asking you to do support task, saying you need 1 year to go into Developer. as my friend faced so, then after 1 year......they said u r already as support, you cannot work as developer.......come on...............dilemma.

Also heard internal staffs said that the bonus have "kuota".......after certain people get good, you cannot get the good 1......wtf... then must be someone become scapegoat even though work hard!!? i can't believe it.

Last but not least,....my sister friend also join as GT (graduate trainee). there is a bond.......15k, they use this a secret power to force u work something you don't like.......

after hearing a lot of negative comment... pls........don't join,.......so politic.....so bullying.....cheating...

luckily i not yet join.........pls intro me work? 5 years exp.... DBA.
TOTALLY AGREED WITH YOU..

If people who currently working in SCOPE is trying hard to get out (expecially old GTs), y u all want to pursue there? Shishh..of course la they pay u high salary, but just what scopesux said, its better to try search job somewhere else...

Been there, done that, kene also...if you all just denying it, thats find for me...

PS:- I mention this for ISCM, whoever working with Internet Banking team, gudluck..and also eFBS team, can you find T!n@ and say hi to that old lady again? I know you all already know about her "work attitude" vmad.gif
Dead4Life
post Aug 20 2009, 02:25 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(PCMJ @ Aug 19 2009, 11:03 PM)
Nowadays economy not so good, Scope also cut cost I guess. Nowadays looks like got more contract position than permanent. If got better offer, better don't join and work as contract staff, no job security and wasting time.
TOTALLY AGREED FOR YOU.
Dead4Life
post Sep 9 2009, 04:15 PM

652 posts

Just left already la u all..no need to work there..
Dead4Life
post Sep 14 2009, 03:06 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(jorgsacul @ Sep 12 2009, 07:46 PM)
so far i see manager sana semua malas and bosan...duduk ambil gaji sahaja...goo baru lepak sahaja..company is akan jatuh...kalau kerja scope is ur first job...boleh lah..belajar politik orang melayu
May I know what politick orang melayu look like? kindly explain.... hmm.gif
Dead4Life
post Sep 28 2009, 10:43 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(kowmeng @ Sep 27 2009, 11:19 PM)
im not selected on dis pos..attend inbiew at TPM bkit jalil sad.gif how was da work environ? biggrin.gif

Added on September 28, 2009, 12:21 amanyone know bout post banking relationship officer?got intebiew under agency intelek 2morrow.. possibly work in standard charted Pj (as recruiter told me last thursday)...  icon_question.gif
If you work with Scope, it will be in Menara LYL, PJ
Standard Chart Msia has one branch in PJ also (near PKNS).

Although work in the same bank, but both are different companies..so dont get confuse...

Dead4Life
post Sep 30 2009, 05:25 PM

652 posts

If under Std. Chart, ull involve in Malaysia ..
If under Scope, ull involve in countries from Asia pacifics region..

Dead4Life
post Feb 9 2010, 03:25 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(chunyuen @ Feb 8 2010, 11:51 PM)
hihi, nice to meet u. i am a graduate trainee there, juz enter last week, everyday sitting there not knowing what to do....can anyone gimme some advise or guide..cry.gif  cry.gif
Thats normal..wait for a month ahaha...

You will post in which team?
Dead4Life
post Feb 10 2010, 10:13 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(chunyuen @ Feb 9 2010, 06:02 PM)
i am not perm staff or contract staff...i m graduate trainee...i see my title there written non-employed worker.. i m doing on job training here for 3 months, and then they will convert me base on performance, thats y i ask how will they evaluate us sad.gif  sad.gif
Yup, graduate trainee there's no contract stating anything..u need to perform well within the period they give to you...

Does Scope sent you to SHRDC for training?

Dead4Life
post Feb 10 2010, 10:53 AM

652 posts

Currently, u don't know which team u'll assign in eStatement correct?
If you go to PSS, make sure you know how to handle the stress from any issues (systems, client complain, bla2) and also prepare to work during weekends/night..if you go to Development side, you need to catch up with the system methodologies and work flow..because you'll be working in banking system, so it will be joy ride for you. If you do both, take it as a challenging work...

If you do not perform well, they will just sack you from the programme..
R u attached to any outsource company?
Dead4Life
post Feb 10 2010, 11:04 AM

652 posts

Like iTec or smthing...
Dead4Life
post Feb 10 2010, 11:25 AM

652 posts

So in SHRDC your in Cobol class or Java class? Is Mr. Loeng teach you SQL?
Dead4Life
post Feb 10 2010, 12:16 PM

652 posts

Went to Genting for Teambuilding rite? What a memory there..
Dead4Life
post Feb 10 2010, 12:36 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(chunyuen @ Feb 10 2010, 12:24 PM)
yes, i love domino race, look like you have gone through the program also, may i ask, how can i apply leave for cny?? i asked the manager but she say she have no right  to approve, asked hr they say same thing, ask me go ask manager pula...realy no idea what can i do now...
That's the problem with Scope actually during your 1st month there. Because you r not assign to any person yet, they will not held any responsibilities for this matter. HR can't do anything. You need to ask again to your HR regarding your request, and mention that you have request to your team, but they can't entertain you.
Dead4Life
post Feb 23 2010, 12:16 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(PaulFuhrmeister @ Feb 22 2010, 07:20 PM)
i am a bit confused about this oursourcing business here. Why didn't Scope/ITSC themselves hire you instead of an outsource company? is it so they could 'run away' if anything goes wrong?
I would say partially true..

Dead4Life
post Feb 24 2010, 12:47 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(xander @ Feb 23 2010, 03:57 PM)
hi,

u all went thru the scoope training for fresh grads a not?

last time i went to interview they said train 3 months then another 3 months on site training

1st 3 months travel to sham alam urself and allowanace only rm500

i wonder did any1 got the same offer as me and accepted it? well i rejected it on the spot tot
allowance 500 include another 2000 from Scope? 500 is allowance paid by the government because you'l be training at SHRDC.
Dead4Life
post Nov 12 2010, 10:16 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(Ramyasri @ Nov 11 2010, 11:48 AM)
Better go for different company la....I am also working in Scope more than 2 year, right now wan cabut to new compny ....HEAD Age only la with this stupid company...IRiitating, first stage its nice oww awesome, but now SUCKsssss ergggg
Agreed with that...
Dead4Life
post Jun 20 2011, 07:14 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(ehsan076 @ Jun 20 2011, 04:55 PM)
Just got back from the graduate trainee position interview (nice office=p). Everything mista_amin said is correct except bout d bonding thing, the interviwr said no bond but don know bout d bond with s'ngor government. Maybe I will try to find other job coz of the only 1.5k for 6 month (if scope offer me tongue.gif ). There are cmpnies with internal program which u will get the slary since 1st month (failed at d last stage cry.gif ). D intrviewer said the training realy challenging n worthy? Is this true mista_amin or any1?

After d training, we will be accept either as perm or contract, based on vacancies (salary rm2500-3000). The pro con are already in this forum. The skill we might get Java or the Hogan (Cobol) if u r in development team. Other team is support. The intrviewr try to convince that Cobol is very marketable in IT and has high demand? Is this true for d old language?

What i've been told bout the working hour, realy flexible as long as it is 9 hours n can even work at home, dpend on ur TL. Quite scary with no weekend when I read bout some people xp in scope sweat.gif
As an ex trainee, one thing for sure you can learn something there in Scope. Others, bulls*@t...
Dead4Life
post Jun 21 2011, 09:08 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(ehsan076 @ Jun 21 2011, 12:03 AM)
Some"thing" (1  thing) only huhu~ Dead4Life, as an x-trainee, do u think d program worth my 6 months? hope more technical than theory, enough theory during U huhu~ I also hope the working hour is flexible like my interviewer said is true n 5 days a week~

"You have been selected by Scope International (M) Sdn Bhd (wholly owned subsidiary of Standard Chartered , UK ) for its Graduate Trainee program", received an email from HR. Wow so fast they did d screening rclxms.gif 
I've got selected rclxm9.gif  should accept it or not? hmm.gif I'm also still waiting for my other interview result nevertheless
In SHRDC they train you both soft skills and technical skills. But aware, once you go back to Scope (to your diesgnated team there) they give whatever post they have (eg: some assigned as a programmer, some assigned to handle infra, some doing support). Just to know is it 6 month a contract basis only?

0.0195sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:59 AM