4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Travel Travel to Japan V8, Discovery Japan Start Here

tohff7
post Jan 18 2016, 10:59 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

wondering if anyone here have Lawson Ticket account and can help me to pre-order tickets...?

i really need to get 2 entrance ticket to the new Snoopy Museum. Since i'm flying back on 24 April (night), the ideal visit date is 23rd, which is the opening date lol

http://l-tike.com/event/snoopymuseum/
tohff7
post Mar 2 2016, 05:46 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

Hi sifu sekalian,

Need some advice on a part of my itinerary. I'll be there for 10 days. Fly in Osaka on 14 April and fly out from Tokyo on 23 April.

I am trying to figure out what the best arrangement for Mt-Fuji/Hakone/Tokyo for the later part of my trip. I don't plan to visit a lot of places in Tokyo - the only priority is Gibhli Museum and Snoopy Museum (only open on 23rd April).

Option 1
From Osaka take JR to Shinjuku. Then straight go to Hakone with 3-days Fuji Hakone Pass. Spent a night in Hakone (20 April) and another night in Kawaguchiko (21 April). Go back Shinjuku for the remaining 2 days (22-23 April). My concern is - will I have time to fully tour Hakone..? Since Osaka-Shinjuku then express train to Hakone easily take 4 hrs travel time...

Option 2
From Osaka take JR to Shinjuku. Spend a day there (20 April). Then travel to Hakone (21 April) and Kawaguchiko (22 April). Then come back to Shinjuku/Tokyo on 23 April.

Welcome any better suggestions. Thanks!

This post has been edited by tohff7: Mar 2 2016, 05:47 PM
tohff7
post Mar 3 2016, 10:29 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

Hi sifu,

This is my tentative itinerary. I am thinking whether i should cover Osaka first (14, 15 and half-day 16 Apr) before i cover Kyoto. Reason being hotels/airbnb seems to be quite fully booked for 14-17 April, while 16-19 April seems better....

Appreciate any comments icon_rolleyes.gif
tohff7
post Mar 3 2016, 11:17 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(aLertz @ Mar 3 2016, 10:39 AM)
your route a bit weird....
should be Osaka -> Kyoto -> Hakone -> Tokyo

This route would be smoother...
as Hakone is between Kyoto & Tokyo...
and Kansai airport is nearer to Osaka compare to Kyoto...
Thanks for comments.

For Osaka-Kyoto, i was using somebody itinerary, but now it made sense since they only fly through Kansai Airport. I thought of putting Osaka first, but worried i can't cover much since 1st day might be tired quite early since midnight fly in, while 2nd day mostly for Universal Studio already.

For Hakone-Tokyo, i got the idea previously from somewhere else. Apart from buying the Fuji-Hakone passes in Shinjuku, you can also switch your luggage into smaller 1 and deposit into a coin-locker or hotel etc.
tohff7
post Mar 3 2016, 03:11 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

U should start reading page 1 first
tohff7
post Mar 4 2016, 12:18 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Mar 4 2016, 12:00 PM)
i heard about airbnb being banned in japan is it true?
A bit like Uber. Not outright illegal yet. But some hosts might have faced complaints from neighbours, so they cancelled off reservations.

In some cases, the landlord found out their tenants actually is renting the unit to do Airbnb business.

In extreme cases, read before got ppl use the entire building for airbnb business. shakehead.gif essentially like a hotel already

This post has been edited by tohff7: Mar 4 2016, 12:21 PM
tohff7
post Mar 10 2016, 04:55 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

there's go my hope of seeing any sakura haha
tohff7
post Mar 10 2016, 05:18 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 10 2016, 05:06 PM)
where are you going to and when is your travelling period?
Kyoto/Osaka - 14-19 April

Hakone/Tokyo - 20-23 April

There seems to be late-booming species at Heian shrine garden in Kyoto, which is late by a week or so. My only hope is that hahaha
tohff7
post Mar 11 2016, 01:35 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(katrinacheong @ Mar 10 2016, 08:07 PM)
anyone can recommend which hotel for a night in hakone?
Hotel Musashiya. Location is quite convenient. Not too pricey. Only complaint from ppl is that it's a bit old but i read somewhere they renovated a bit recently.
tohff7
post Mar 12 2016, 04:41 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Mar 12 2016, 04:16 PM)
Do Malaysians need to apply for tourist Visa to Japan?
google it lar next time. if not sure kena scold by sifu RC

http://www.mofa.go.jp/j_info/visit/visa/sh...a.html#notice02
tohff7
post Mar 14 2016, 01:37 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(sbd18 @ Mar 14 2016, 01:44 AM)
have a few questions though and hope you guys can help out...

1. any recommendations for hotels/inns? budget wise RM550 in tokyo & RM450 in kyoto/osaka per night...
2. any recommendation for a decent affordable ryokan with kaiseki (1 ngiht)? budget wise RM450 per pax...
3. transport wise is it worth getting the jr pass? based on what i read i think single purchases might suit the plan...any advise here?
4. apart from the portable wifi listed here have you guys heard of http://www.travelrecommends.com/? pretty decent rental fee just curious of quality...

thanks in advance for any tips and help...

cheers...
1. Your budget is reasonable and should get decent hotel at decent location in Tokyo/Osaka. Maybe should try Airbnb
2. No idea since i am staying in Hakone Ryokan. For Kyoto, maybe try look at Gion Fukuzumi?
3. don't think you will need a JR pass but i'm might be wrong. Reason is I don't plan to travel outskirt (Himeji, Kobe, Nara, Enoshima etc) when i'm in Osaka/Kyoto/Tokyo
4. From what i can see from ppl instagram, travelrecommends travel WiFi is au KDDI Wifi Walker. Pretty much what everybody else is selling. Maybe they are undercutting to gain fame for now. Already booked and let see how the service (travelling 14-23 Apr)

This post has been edited by tohff7: Mar 14 2016, 01:38 PM
tohff7
post Mar 17 2016, 09:01 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

Just a quick question. I'm planning to visit Hakone and Kawaguchiko using Fuji Hakone pass. Will be staying one night at Hakone and Kawaguchiko.

Which route is better, Shinjuku-Kawaguchiko-Hakone or Shinjuku-Hakone-Kawaguchiko?

I was just wondering whether i can maximise my trip because i will likely be staying in Gora, which is midway of the Hakone loop. Or is this not a valid concern since it won't take a long time to complete the loop in one-day (assuming i start early from Tokyo)?
tohff7
post Mar 18 2016, 11:39 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(look416 @ Mar 18 2016, 10:12 AM)
Of course, if you are going to Osaka / Kyoto, you can always opt for their distillery which is nearby Yamazaki station. They have whiskey tasting session which cost around 1.2k but rumor says that the tasted whiskey is not available in the market. You can also visit their museum for some tasting(paid) and shopping.

Can't help you much if out of Kansai area

Sauce : here
don't think you could buy any 12/18-year Yamazaki in their distillery.

For Yamazaki 18 year, the sure have 1 is at the airport which cost 50,000 yen a bottle. Outside of that, it near to impossible to get any 18yr Yamazaki. Even getting a 12yr Yamazaki can consider very lucky liao

Nikka should be still quite easy to get. Just go to their departmental stores
tohff7
post Mar 18 2016, 12:17 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(look416 @ Mar 18 2016, 11:48 AM)
Don't say like that. I'm still expecting can get 12 years Yamazaki from there one in my incoming trip
No lar, just try to set your expectations only. If budget is not a problem, you can actually buy it online at Rakuten and ship to your hotel

Where are you going btw? You have better chance to get 12/18yr in outskirt areas rather than in Tokyo/Osaka/Kyoto etc.
tohff7
post Mar 19 2016, 12:42 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Mar 18 2016, 07:22 PM)
Normally when the hotels/ryokan in Japan open for booking? Checked for Oct this year, but many either sold out or not available.
Most of the times it's 3 month before
tohff7
post Mar 19 2016, 04:26 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Mar 19 2016, 02:29 PM)
Thanks for the info... will be going to kyoto, so just scare that it sold out if book late since it is a hot tourist place.  sweat.gif
October should be fine and you have plenty of time to do your research on which hotel/ryokan is the best.

I'm going this April and it's booked almost to the max
tohff7
post Mar 21 2016, 12:11 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan0 @ Mar 21 2016, 10:13 AM)
It depending on your travel period,
on sakura full bloom week, you might need to wait long time, due to the bus is already like overload sardine
so you might not able to get in, i got experience wait for 5 buses, still not able to get in, so i just get taxi rclxub.gif
Seems like better to travel by subway/rail to Arashiyama and also Kinkakuji area?

I'm thinking whether worthwhile to buy 1-day bus pass for a particular day of my Kyoto trip (18 Apr, Monday). Plan to cover Tenryuji-Ninnaji-RyoanJi-Ginkakuji or the other way around. At Tenryuji, most likely will use subway/rail since not exactly covered by 1-day buss pass.
tohff7
post Mar 22 2016, 09:23 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Mar 22 2016, 07:15 AM)
I think the best (and cheap) strategy is to divide Japan into north and south. So, if you go to Kyoto and Kansai region, can get the JR Kansai pass which is way cheaper than JR pass. Then next time, visit Tokyo and buy the JR East pass.

I was stupid. Didn't think about this.  sad.gif  sad.gif
I bought my flights to Tokyo and now I've to move in circles. Tokyo-Kyoto then go back Tokyo again.  doh.gif
-----------------------------------------

that Suica/Pasmo card, when return it to get back your deposit of ¥500, do we pay some admin fee?
How many days are you staying in Japan? To be honest, moving from Tokyo-Kyoto-Tokyo is not really worth the time and money. Maybe should consider just stay in Tokyo.

Admin fee for Suica/Pasmo is 210yen. But can consider just keep if you decide to visit Japan again next time. It can last 10 years from last transaction.
tohff7
post Mar 22 2016, 10:00 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Mar 22 2016, 09:35 AM)
2 weeks. So I think I'll spend 1 week near Tokyo. Any recommendation for excursion outside Tokyo??
Not an expert but you can try to look at this http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e3051.html

Typical places that ppl visit outside Tokyo is Hakano, Fuji Lake, Nikko, Kamakura, Kusatsu etc.
tohff7
post Mar 22 2016, 04:41 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(youknowwhoami @ Mar 22 2016, 04:33 PM)
I booked osaka next year 2-10 april. Is still possible catch the sakura? cus what i read on the first page is the last week of march 2016.

aih, worried i not able catch up to see the flowers!~
Unless weather changed drastically, it will be the perfect time since the sakura will be in full bloom. Date indicated is opening date, then about 1 week reach full bloom, then start to decline.

But be prepared since it will be a peak period + school holidays

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0698sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:40 PM