Manga The Official Manga Recommendation Thread, Post your recommendation request here!
lucifah
Jul 7 2007, 12:10 AM
St. Fu
My personal recommendations: 1. Red Eyes 2. Bokko 3. 20th Century Boys 4. A spirit of the sun 5. Ashita No Joe 6. Berserk 7. Beck 8. BoTI 9. Bowling King 10. Ciguatera 11. Deadman 12. Death Note 13. Eat Man 14. Detroit Metal City 15. Eyeshield 21 16. One Shots by Endo 17. Freesia 18. Jiraishin 19. Golden Boy 20. Ganrz 21. Kiseiijuu (parasite_ 22. Lone Wolf and Cub *** (highly recommended) 23. Mad Bull 34 and that is just about 10% of the titles that i recommend i read about 200+ titles (bar narutard, it used to be good, but dragging it too long is just plain stupid) edit: anything beyond 30 volumes are plain stupid manga. very very very few manga ever made it to more than 30 vols and still kick ass (no, one piece and naruto are not those few) This post has been edited by lucifah: Jul 7 2007, 12:21 AM Attached thumbnail(s)
lucifah
Jul 7 2007, 12:49 AM
St. Fu
keep them up guys... i've been trying to expand my manga collection, but dun want to read those rubbish mainstream titles
some classics by acclaimed mangaka like ryoichi ikegami, naoki uwasara, buronson are appreciated (esp if you can get me the links or scanlations)
lucifah
Jul 7 2007, 01:43 AM
St. Fu
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jul 7 2007, 01:05 AM) go to http://www.gotlurk.netthis will be the last link I give you been there. done that. heck, i was downloading from irc when tmnet has not even existed yet (using jaring last time) and lurk was just one of the newer archive channels... i want torrents. typing long commands (i made auto scripts last time) is too tedious for an old chap like me
lucifah
Jul 7 2007, 02:23 PM
St. Fu
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jul 7 2007, 06:30 AM) go download xdccklipper. this irc addonn will let you rightclick a bot, and make batch downloads. It will keep this download in a database, and after the initial download is finished, it will automatically XDCC request for the next one. It even has a built in AV to block malicious scripts many scanlation groups hate torrent releasing. You will find "Do not distribute this scanlation out of irc" message on many groups nowadays.   great! now i can start to read those chapter-by-chapter releases (damn, why dun they just zip them up into one huge volume?) thanx~ any more manga recommendations? futari echi is great. i have no idea how i overlooked that title
lucifah
Jul 7 2007, 06:58 PM
St. Fu
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jul 7 2007, 04:08 PM) Lurk does that. Usually they will clean their server after 3 months and when chapters can be compiled into a volume, they will rezip that files. Pay attention when they say when they are cleaning the servers. the packlist will be different thus you might ending up downloading different files altogether. Happened to me a couple of times XD what i'd like to see is 10-20 tankubons zipped into one huge file, saving unnecessary typing but what the heck, this xdccklipper does same some typing hassles
lucifah
Jul 10 2007, 06:34 PM
St. Fu
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jul 10 2007, 02:24 PM)  My Manga List[attachmentid=259702] we have the same size, but different quantity i rarely manage my manga collection, so most of the times, there are lots of multiple copies lying around. heck, nice list you have there. now, what i need you to do is to filter out shoujo & fantasy (super power and such infinity) manga so i can be left with shounen titles for me to download... heheheh edit: and also lucky you! you can read japanese! URDAN have a huge collection of good raws that i can never read unless somebody is kind enuf to scanlate them This post has been edited by lucifah: Jul 10 2007, 06:35 PM
lucifah
Jul 10 2007, 10:47 PM
St. Fu
QUOTE(infested_ysy @ Jul 10 2007, 08:37 PM) How much does 500gig external HDD sell for, by the way? I really need one right now. what for? just plug the 500gb into your pc and let your mango be accessible anytime.
lucifah
Jul 11 2007, 10:43 AM
St. Fu
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jul 11 2007, 10:17 AM) Also, some translators tends to change the meaning that the original mangaka writes. Reading Dark Horse's version of Blade of the Immortal is different from reading the original Mugen no Jyuunin. You will find that Mugen no Jyuunin has a darker tone to it but with more lighthearted scenes here and there and not to mention: those americans really stress and elabrotae the dialogues, where the japs prefer it to be simple and let the mango drawings do all the talkings i hate reading. i like mango
lucifah
Jul 12 2007, 12:33 AM
St. Fu
d u know why i prefer SCANLATIONS rather than real tankoubans or any physical paper?
money aside, it's obviously the space
if i were to have all my scanlated mango turned into real mango, it'd have filled up half of my room (up to the ceiling) and that's not good since my bedroom is HUGE.
and i can just fill it up in my laptop and read 40+ vols of mango on a longhaul flight w/o lugging 20+kg of printed materials
oh dear... how far have we sidetracked!
i recommend:
Kazuo Koike's Lone Wolf and Cub, Samurai Executioner, The path of the assassin
all are available from Vizz Communications
lucifah
Jul 20 2007, 04:47 PM
St. Fu
QUOTE(SailorMercury @ Jul 14 2007, 12:37 AM) Genre : Action Comedy Ecchi Martial Arts Shounen a very old comic by HIRUTA Tatsuya there isnt any scanlation around but i recommend u all to buy the Comic house malay translation... even thought it is in malay translation...this is still a very good comic with nice storyline,fan service, comedy, love...etc etc etc there is... go lurk sum moar