I played Castlevania Portrait of Ruin!, Bad news everyone...

TSsamus_ng
post Dec 7 2006, 05:35 PM, updated 19y ago

258 posts

The game's a little disappointing... I think DoS is a better game. So, think before you buy this cos' if you want a Castlevania game get DoS.
praetorian
post Dec 7 2006, 05:53 PM

866 posts

Heh, there is no such thing as a bad Castlevania :-p

j/k
How long did it take you to complete it?
bidfordun
post Dec 7 2006, 07:40 PM

2,234 posts

haiz, i know that this is unlike dos where u can have free exploration but i dun think the gameplay would be less interesting. well, i will get my copy next week and i shall wait and c.
infested_ysy
post Dec 7 2006, 08:08 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(samus_ng @ Dec 7 2006, 05:35 PM)
The game's a little disappointing... I think DoS is a better game. So, think before you buy this cos' if you want a Castlevania game get DoS.
No wai. I LOVE this crap till death (played for almost 2 hours in one sitting). Controlling a cute short skirt magician girl running around killing crap = instant win. Not to mention it also has them Desu sisters. The only thing bad about the game is the english dubbing, every fricking where. And I can't change the voices to the original Japanese either. Some of the enemies sounded lame and pathethic in english when attacking/dying (ie: witches and succubuses).

What's so great about DoS anyway? I almost forgot how it played like (it was like what, 2 years back since I played it?).
why_79
post Dec 7 2006, 08:10 PM

63 posts

yeah all the reviews so far rated it lower than Dawn of Sorrow.....oh well.
i'm still getting it anyways too! drool.gif
reveur
post Dec 8 2006, 08:31 AM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

I played it, its not half bad actually. This is the only castelvania games that i have played more then 2 hour. biggrin.gif And thats saying something.

Previous castlevania games is too much of an hack and slash. This is at least a bit more fun and intersting.

Good game for a starter. Maybe a bit too ez for those that are long time fan of it
firstknight
post Dec 8 2006, 09:52 AM

2,681 posts

i am still having soem problem with the map system.. gez not use to it...
reveur
post Dec 8 2006, 10:10 AM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

What kind of problem ?
firstknight
post Dec 8 2006, 10:27 AM

2,681 posts

i always get confuse... hahahaahaha...
Suet
post Dec 8 2006, 10:36 AM

Spank Whore :D
1,188 posts

There's an existing Castlevania PoR thread outside. Posts will be merged soon. smile.gif

PS: I like Castlevania but the game's a tad bit... easy for me. -runs-
bidfordun
post Dec 8 2006, 10:37 AM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(Suet @ Dec 8 2006, 10:36 AM)
There's an existing Castlevania PoR thread outside. Posts will be merged soon. smile.gif

PS: I like Castlevania but the game's a tad bit... easy for me. -runs-
u bought it edy?

btw, anyway has tried its online coop?
reveur
post Dec 8 2006, 10:42 AM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

Yeah, like i said. The game is ez for old school player. But normal for new player. So its good for those that just joined the Castlevania fan maniac.
TSsamus_ng
post Dec 8 2006, 03:59 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Dec 8 2006, 10:37 AM)
u bought it edy?

btw, anyway has tried its online coop?

No I haven't tried only but I'll do it once me routers fixed biggrin.gif

bidfordun
post Dec 8 2006, 04:56 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(samus_ng @ Dec 8 2006, 03:59 PM)
hehe, later play with me.
infested_ysy
post Dec 8 2006, 05:29 PM

4,061 posts

I think Charlotte's spells (Tempest kills Death quite easily during the first encounter) made the game a wee too easy, not to mention some of the dual combo attacks, like the meteor (deals instant 360+ damage to everything on the screen), or 1000 swords (deals 20+ damage for what, 100 times?).

Here's something fun to do, change the character to Charlotte, then hold up for 10 seconds. Then do the same thing for Jonathan.
bidfordun
post Dec 8 2006, 05:41 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(infested_ysy @ Dec 8 2006, 05:29 PM)
I think Charlotte's spells (Tempest kills Death quite easily during the first encounter) made the game a wee too easy, not to mention some of the dual combo attacks, like the meteor (deals instant 360+ damage to everything on the screen), or 1000 swords (deals 20+ damage for what, 100 times?).

Here's something fun to do, change the character to Charlotte, then hold up for 10 seconds. Then do the same thing for Jonathan.
spoilers..................
SWATwolf
post Dec 8 2006, 07:30 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Dec 8 2006, 05:41 PM)
spoilers..................
-___- um.... hehe?
TSsamus_ng
post Dec 8 2006, 07:38 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(samus_ng @ Dec 8 2006, 03:59 PM)
Yeah sure, don't know when the technicians are coming though. They are like taking forever to fix it!
Wind82
post Dec 8 2006, 10:41 PM

1,433 posts

For people who hate the english voice acting... Key in this code,

L + A (at Start Game)

U will hear, "Show time" if key in properly. The speech will now change to kawaii jap.

Geheheh...

IMHO, I think this is a better game than DoS. The graphics is better and best of all, u get to use 2 characters at the same time. If im sick of hack and slash, I can switch to kawaii Charlotte and start spamming magic.

Anyway, both are still great games and I like them all.
reveur
post Dec 8 2006, 10:43 PM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

I find it that Charlotte is powerfull with her spells... Ice shard? Think machinegun ice! Woot! Some of the bosses are too ez too. And this is coming from a none Castlevania gamer >.>
hamtarox
post Dec 9 2006, 01:34 AM

281 posts

well ...good or bad..is depends....at least konami make a move to try on changes and so far i think is not too bad...u guys wan all coming series the same game play mea~~
infested_ysy
post Dec 9 2006, 09:12 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(reveur @ Dec 8 2006, 10:43 PM)
I find it that Charlotte is powerfull with her spells... Ice shard? Think machinegun ice! Woot! Some of the bosses are too ez too. And this is coming from a none Castlevania gamer >.>
Perhaps we're all supposed to play the Hard mode? :s
reveur
post Dec 9 2006, 11:57 PM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

Anyone wanna try the wirelses feature?
hamtarox
post Dec 10 2006, 11:53 AM

281 posts

i wan...but i got no wifi connection at the moment...T.T..use all money buy NDSL...micro sd...
soulsync
post Dec 11 2006, 01:06 PM

167 posts

Any sign of tis game in our local market yet ka ?
Hand veli itchy liow tongue.gif
bidfordun
post Dec 11 2006, 01:12 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(soulsync @ Dec 11 2006, 01:06 PM)
Any sign of tis game in our local market yet ka ?
Hand veli itchy liow tongue.gif
actually samus ng bought it edy.
VincC454
post Dec 11 2006, 01:14 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

but really..
this game have out yet on our local..

soulsync
post Dec 11 2006, 02:27 PM

167 posts

bid, u mean arnd KL here or through online ?
coz i've been lookin arnd but to no avail sad.gif
bidfordun
post Dec 11 2006, 02:29 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(soulsync @ Dec 11 2006, 02:27 PM)
bid, u mean arnd KL here or through online ?
coz i've been lookin arnd but to no avail sad.gif
not me actually. mine hasnt arrived yet. but samus ng claimed that he bought it here. i dunno where it is. maybe u shud ask him.
soulsync
post Dec 13 2006, 05:47 PM

167 posts

At last, the game is finally out in KayEL ... wahooo ~~ rclxm9.gif
Gonna go get it after work.
Guess most of u guyz now almost complete tat game huh ? tongue.gif

bidfordun
post Dec 13 2006, 06:22 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(soulsync @ Dec 13 2006, 05:47 PM)
At last, the game is finally out in KayEL ... wahooo ~~  rclxm9.gif
Gonna go get it after work.
Guess most of u guyz now almost complete tat game huh ? tongue.gif
i am still waiting...........................
stringfellow
post Dec 13 2006, 06:22 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

TNL and stores in Imbi/Sg.Wang already have the game.
infested_ysy
post Dec 13 2006, 06:40 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 13 2006, 06:22 PM)
TNL and stores in Imbi/Sg.Wang already have the game.
I see no point buying the game if you didn't manage to get the pre-order items along with it.
bidfordun
post Dec 13 2006, 06:42 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(infested_ysy @ Dec 13 2006, 06:40 PM)
I see no point buying the game if you didn't manage to get the pre-order items along with it.
u shud not think like this. after all, this is not usa.
why_79
post Dec 13 2006, 08:07 PM

63 posts

do you need to play thru the game first in order to access the multiplayer mode?
cos i think i'll only get mine days before the gathering and i haven't even played dawn of sorrow yet!!! icon_question.gif
stringfellow
post Dec 13 2006, 08:39 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I see no point missing out on a great game just because im not getting any preorder items. Im not a hoarder whore. whistling.gif
reveur
post Dec 13 2006, 11:19 PM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

I am halfway through. Getting a bit trouble now. Lol. I blazed through till Death and had some problem there.
Havent touch it for 2 days though. Will get back to it soon

soulsync
post Dec 13 2006, 11:51 PM

167 posts

string, tat i agree wif ya hahaha
who doesnt wan the pre-orders goodies if is available here in M'sia
well...im enjoying every bits of the game eventhough no goodies
but bid - gonna envy u once u get tat "special copy" of urs kekeke wink.gif
so far was quite impressed wif the enchancement and small little effects Koji had put in for tis chapter thumbup.gif
bidfordun
post Dec 13 2006, 11:58 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(soulsync @ Dec 13 2006, 11:51 PM)
string, tat i agree wif ya hahaha
who doesnt wan the pre-orders goodies if is available here in M'sia
well...im enjoying every bits of the game eventhough no goodies
but bid - gonna envy u once u get tat "special copy" of urs kekeke wink.gif
so far was quite impressed wif the enchancement and small little effects Koji had put in for tis chapter thumbup.gif
actually besides me, got 2 people who have it in lowyat, which is why and another sony forumer.
VincC454
post Dec 14 2006, 10:18 AM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

and what is the point if you cannot play the game at all..cause of your stubborn to get only the pre order freebies..
hamtarox
post Dec 14 2006, 10:20 AM

281 posts

i m playing also....=.=ll always halt la...looks like need buy ori..=.=ll ..so planning to buy it and let it be the 1st game that break my NDSL slot1 virginity....hang untill sian liao..
bidfordun
post Dec 14 2006, 10:28 AM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Dec 14 2006, 10:18 AM)
and what is the point if you cannot play the game at all..cause of your stubborn to get only the pre order freebies..
yala, actually this game is good enuf for you to get even there is no free gift.
bidfordun
post Dec 14 2006, 10:29 AM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(hamtarox @ Dec 14 2006, 10:20 AM)
i m playing also....=.=ll always halt la...looks like need buy ori..=.=ll ..so planning to buy it and let it be the 1st game that break my NDSL slot1 virginity....hang untill sian liao..
haha, u shud get one actually. nice game wor.
hamtarox
post Dec 14 2006, 10:58 AM

281 posts

YEAH..LOT FUNNY STUFF...HOLD UP FOR FUNNY POSE LIKE PLAY WITH HAIR AND SHOW OFF BODY FIGURE.,..KAKA..I LOVE JAPANESE VOCAL!!SWEET...LOLITA GOOD...THE VOCAL JUST MATCH THE CHARACTHER LOOK...HOHO
bidfordun
post Dec 14 2006, 11:16 AM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(hamtarox @ Dec 14 2006, 10:58 AM)
YEAH..LOT FUNNY STUFF...HOLD UP FOR FUNNY POSE LIKE PLAY WITH HAIR AND SHOW OFF BODY FIGURE.,..KAKA..I LOVE JAPANESE VOCAL!!SWEET...LOLITA GOOD...THE VOCAL JUST MATCH THE CHARACTHER LOOK...HOHO
i still dun get what u mean. will try it after getting it.
hamtarox
post Dec 14 2006, 11:18 AM

281 posts

KUKU...IF U KNOW WAT IS LOLITA...KAKA..THEN U WILL KNOW...
andy_lhc
post Dec 14 2006, 11:33 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Dec 14 2006, 11:16 AM)
i still dun get what u mean. will try it after getting it.
lolita = underage girl...naughty hamtarox.. laugh.gif
hamtarox
post Dec 14 2006, 11:48 AM

281 posts

yeah...lolita is...good...see is enuff...dun touch!!it will be more than sorry if u touch...hehe
why_79
post Dec 14 2006, 11:54 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Dec 13 2006, 11:58 PM)
actually besides me, got 2 people who have it in lowyat, which is why and another sony forumer.
but you were the first to secure a copy bid....me, i lost hope liao but that didn't stop me from getting the game, i was still intending to add the game to my collection whether got pre-order or not. i guess when you get into the habit of buying original unlike most here, it really doesn't matter got preorder or not cos most games don't come with such incentives. luckily, the weekend it came out my friend spotted the LE in s'pore and got me one although it's really not like in the US when you practically don't have to pay any extra charges, it's the same retail price as the game alone.

but bid and me had to pay like nearly twice the price of the game for the LE....how much would still be interested? but surprisingly, s'pore sold out the LE by the end of the weekend despite the price!

sony forumer? could be me la since i first posted the news there.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by why_79: Dec 14 2006, 11:56 AM
bidfordun
post Dec 14 2006, 12:05 PM

2,234 posts

nope nope, not you. i forget his id liao but he is more powerful. he said he secured 2 copies, one for collection one for playing purposes.
hamtarox
post Dec 14 2006, 01:07 PM

281 posts

rich fella!everything also like that??gf le..?one of keeping?another for??hehe
bidfordun
post Dec 14 2006, 01:17 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(hamtarox @ Dec 14 2006, 01:07 PM)
rich fella!everything also like that??gf le..?one of keeping?another for??hehe
hehe, he is rich, envy........................
hamtarox
post Dec 14 2006, 01:18 PM

281 posts

cannot..makin me envy to da maxx....start going beserk !!wan wallup ppl then left them naked liao on highway liao!!
bidfordun
post Dec 14 2006, 01:24 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(hamtarox @ Dec 14 2006, 01:18 PM)
cannot..makin me envy to da maxx....start going beserk !!wan wallup ppl then left them naked liao on highway liao!!
haha, pretend as the victim la, left urself naked in the middle of highway and c whether someone will save u or not?
hamtarox
post Dec 14 2006, 01:29 PM

281 posts

HAHAHA...... will gua...so sexy wo...
reveur
post Dec 14 2006, 01:34 PM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

Man, you gguys really off topic. Get back to topic

Bid, will u get ur Castlevania before comin to kl?
bidfordun
post Dec 14 2006, 01:36 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(reveur @ Dec 14 2006, 01:34 PM)
Man, you gguys really off topic. Get back to topic

Bid, will u get ur Castlevania before comin to kl?
ya, i will get it next week. why? wanna c it? hehe, ask why also can edy. lazy to bring liao.
hamtarox
post Dec 14 2006, 01:40 PM

281 posts

YA..better bring it..i wan test where the will hang o not!!haha make sure bring it..guinea pig..hehe
reveur
post Dec 14 2006, 01:41 PM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

Actually i wanna see the accesoric. Not the game. tongue.gif
hamtarox
post Dec 14 2006, 01:43 PM

281 posts

he wont bring la...he say heavy wo...i ask him burn that cd he say no burner...zadao critical weakpoint now -9999hp
bidfordun
post Dec 14 2006, 01:43 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(hamtarox @ Dec 14 2006, 01:40 PM)
YA..better bring it..i wan test where the will hang o not!!haha make sure bring it..guinea pig..hehe
okok. hehe. still dunno what u wan me to try. u try urself la.

QUOTE(reveur @ Dec 14 2006, 01:41 PM)
Actually i wanna see the accesoric. Not the game. tongue.gif
haha, like i said, why also has it.
bidfordun
post Dec 14 2006, 01:44 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(hamtarox @ Dec 14 2006, 01:43 PM)
he wont bring la...he say heavy wo...i ask him burn that cd he say no burner...zadao critical weakpoint now -9999hp
haha, like i said, why has it la!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

and i really dun have burner.
reveur
post Dec 14 2006, 01:44 PM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

He is not here mar. For now ask u bring first lor. biggrin.gif
bidfordun
post Dec 14 2006, 01:45 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(reveur @ Dec 14 2006, 01:44 PM)
He is not here mar. For now ask u bring first lor. biggrin.gif
haha, ok lo if i dun forget. tongue.gif

haha, people bring clothes and other stuffs and i bring lots of games.

This post has been edited by bidfordun: Dec 14 2006, 01:46 PM
hamtarox
post Dec 14 2006, 01:49 PM

281 posts

no worries..u bring that cd there...hehe..any1 own laptop with burner?hehe...duplicate ~~hehe somemore i know u more than WHY ma...hehe

This post has been edited by hamtarox: Dec 14 2006, 01:50 PM
bidfordun
post Dec 14 2006, 01:50 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(hamtarox @ Dec 14 2006, 01:49 PM)
no worries..u bring that cd there...hehe..any1 own laptop with burner?hehe...duplicate ~~hehe
ask why to bring it la, i come from perlis also have to bring so many games, hehe. later if lost i wil cry leh.
infested_ysy
post Dec 14 2006, 08:29 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 13 2006, 08:39 PM)
I see no point missing out on a great game just because im not getting any preorder items. Im not a hoarder whore. whistling.gif
QUOTE(VincC454 @ Dec 14 2006, 10:18 AM)
But still, you must admit that the artbook compilation they gave out was made of sex and win.

QUOTE(hamtarox @ Dec 14 2006, 10:20 AM)
Same problem exists in some of the batches of the original cart. It crashes randomly. Also, sometimes if you save immediately after beating the desu sisters combo/death, you'll screw up your game (gate won't open, you can't progress the game anymore unless you start over). Some dudes over gamefaqs experienced them.
hamtarox
post Dec 14 2006, 10:22 PM

281 posts

means....if buy..ori will also ...migh halt?
bidfordun
post Dec 15 2006, 01:14 AM

2,234 posts

anyone who has this original game, can u confirm whether the glitch exists or not?
infested_ysy
post Dec 15 2006, 08:47 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Dec 15 2006, 01:14 AM)
anyone who has this original game, can u confirm whether the glitch exists or not?
http://boards.gamefaqs.com/gfaqs/genmessag...&topic=32287513
soulsync
post Dec 16 2006, 10:30 AM

167 posts

the link doesnt work ler ...
i've beaten the duo sisters n death for the first time, so far no hang ups.
hope tis glitches wont be too often.
bidfordun
post Dec 16 2006, 11:04 AM

2,234 posts

yala, the link doesnt work now but i tried it yesterday but still available.
soulsync
post Dec 16 2006, 01:48 PM

167 posts

i've done a browse through in da board and indeed there's few report talking abt hang ups and glitches.
to be honest some is bcoz of "unaware mistakes" hahaha
so far i think shuld be alrite, maybe when i proceed further then will test out on those specific condition mention there
see ada hang or not ....

btw - those who are keen to look at the content of the bonus plus the inside of the artbook ---> check it out : http://www.flickr.com/photos/puyo/sets/72157594405290664/

thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by soulsync: Dec 16 2006, 01:49 PM
bidfordun
post Dec 16 2006, 01:51 PM

2,234 posts

have u tried its online coop? i wish the game is with me now...................
soulsync
post Dec 16 2006, 02:39 PM

167 posts

not yet ler, coz my plc cant wifi for the moment
will do it once is up ... here's some extra info on the glitches

http://boards.gamefaqs.com/gfaqs/genmessag...&topic=32393194

heard tis is quite well-known, too bad i've pass tis point
maybe others can verify n see - is risky tho -
might screw up ur save game
soulsync
post Dec 17 2006, 11:01 PM

167 posts

anyone get their copies yet ?
wanna try out some shop mode n co-op tongue.gif
my wifi is back "alive"
juz beaten the game n get normal ending ...
now progressing to get the better one wink.gif
bidfordun
post Dec 17 2006, 11:17 PM

2,234 posts

haiz, dunno if i can get my copy b4 going to kl or not.
reveur
post Dec 18 2006, 12:33 AM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

QUOTE(soulsync @ Dec 17 2006, 11:01 PM)
anyone get their copies yet ?
wanna try out some shop mode n co-op tongue.gif
my wifi is back "alive"
juz beaten the game n get normal ending ...
now progressing to get the better one wink.gif
Nope havent beat it yet. Now i have just beaten Death. How many bosses are there more?
soulsync
post Dec 18 2006, 01:05 AM

167 posts

bid, hope u'll get urs soon - a great game indeed
after checking out the content of the artbook...
man ~ wish i had one copy too sad.gif
tats the main attraction for me - ol' bad habit in collecting artbooks tongue.gif

reveur - i think nex will be the final boss for normal ending

personally i feel the Quest and Skills power up was a gud add-on to take a break frm the storyline, gud sense of achievement
and the rest is juz plain-castlevania-fun smile.gif
did wonder why i hadnt hunt every soul back in DoS ... hmmm
maybe will do tat once i complete other games on hand hahaha
bidfordun
post Dec 18 2006, 01:21 AM

2,234 posts

u have seent the book? arrrrrrrrrr, i am outdated liao. i am not even touching the game yet. sien.
soulsync
post Dec 18 2006, 10:32 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Dec 18 2006, 01:21 AM)
u have seent the book? arrrrrrrrrr, i am outdated liao. i am not even touching the game yet. sien.
not the actual copy of the book of coz tongue.gif
juz the scan of it makes me drool ler

here's the link (repost) -
http://www.flickr.com/photos/puyo/sets/72157594405290664/

0.0297sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:53 AM