is it ok for hedgehog to eat that?
anyway i just got my hedgehog today, given up on waiting for cinnamon one so i bought one S&P female,
manage to play with her a bit today

Hedgehog Corner V3, I love Quills!!!
Sep 24 2007, 06:10 PM
370 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: somewhere I belong |
aiks i remember wrongly...i bought RC sensible 33 instead ><
is it ok for hedgehog to eat that? anyway i just got my hedgehog today, given up on waiting for cinnamon one so i bought one S&P female, manage to play with her a bit today ![]() |
Sep 24 2007, 09:49 PM
now she's sleeping i dunno whether should wake her up or not :|
and mid valley don't have the wheel anymore, out of stock -.-''' |
Sep 24 2007, 10:39 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 24 2007, 10:28 PM) 2 mealworms a day? So little.... give more lah since in the wild they eat insects everytime. Can give crickets also. icic...ok thanks...Maize and corn is the same..... as long corn is not the 1st ingredient listed then it is ok to use. Also, it has no by-products so it is safer. Any RC also can lah, as long RC catfood coz they can only chew on small kibble. and where to get mealworms? those processed mealworms can or not? and should i play with her now? or let her rest for few days first? |
Sep 25 2007, 12:12 AM
QUOTE(hao @ Sep 24 2007, 10:57 PM) Don't get the processed one lah, get the live one, can keep for months somemore. live one i don't dare to take...use forcep can or not :/ and i'm pretty sure my housemate will shout like freak if she saw worms in the house You can play with her if you want, but it's better to let her get familiar with her new environment first. Added on September 25, 2007, 12:13 am QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 24 2007, 11:12 PM) Mealworms can get from shop selling birds or pet fish.... if malay shop, say you want ulat. If chinese, you can say mein pau chong.... cantonese for bread worms. ok~ thanks~Let her rest today and tomorrow.... then later only start to handle her. This post has been edited by GreenNerdy: Sep 25 2007, 12:13 AM |
Sep 25 2007, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 25 2007, 08:54 AM) Ok lah if that maize gluten no problem for that RC cat food, then i should continue feed that 1, because got include some calcium also. ya i saw the wheel at pet safari before...but it is so far away :/But i feel Bo Chai now less eat the cat food, maybe is new for him. About the mealworm, Bo Chai eat mealworm like eat mee.... 1 bite 1 mealworm, very fast ..... GreenNerdy if you can go Pet Safari which is at Ikiano there still got big wheel there. Ai until now havn't go buy for my Bo Chai. you going to buy? can tumpang buy one for me? Added on September 25, 2007, 5:06 pm QUOTE(babymoli @ Sep 25 2007, 08:58 AM) The wheel at Pet Safari is more expensive than the one at Pets Wonderland. The difference is around RM20 IINM. O.. ya GreenNerdy, welcome to our pokimons' family. but Pets Wonderland's staff said don't know when will the stock be arriving........... :/hehe thanks Added on September 25, 2007, 5:07 pm QUOTE(broken_string @ Sep 25 2007, 04:04 PM) wahhh so many people buying wheel...can make bulk order or not? ask them free delivery This post has been edited by GreenNerdy: Sep 25 2007, 05:07 PM |
Sep 25 2007, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 25 2007, 08:07 PM) GreenNerdy, make 1 toilet paper roll let your hedgehog play around, if not also very boring 1. i just checked my house toilet paper roll all very small...those compact one...Today my Bo Chai quite blur blur 1, after i feed him some mealworm, he just finish eat and direct sleep at there, don't go back the sleeping place .... so i kacau him awhile then he only go drink some water and go back sleep.... nvm i'll buy some toys for her next few days, provided if she's obedient...if not i flush her down the toilet bowl Added on September 25, 2007, 9:03 pm QUOTE(climacool @ Sep 25 2007, 08:05 PM) My hedgie just give birth and got 4 babies if i'm not mistaken...What should i do ?? I alrdy give her a big hide box but the babies outside the box. Izzit the female will carry the babies inside later ? congrats!snap some picture and show us when they've grown bigger can? and i see you got cod fish... This post has been edited by GreenNerdy: Sep 25 2007, 09:03 PM |
Sep 26 2007, 11:16 AM
i wonder can i bathe my hoglet this few days or not?
coz i handle her this morning...kinda smelly -.- smell like hamster don't know what to name her.. Quinn sounds nice? Added on September 26, 2007, 11:17 am QUOTE(babymoli @ Sep 26 2007, 09:28 AM) Normally we suggest J&J Wheatgerm type. But you also can go get oatmeal shampoo which normally use for hedgie that has dry skin problem. You ca also buy dog shampoo but mild type or oatmeal type. J&J as in johnson&johnson that we use when we were kids? This post has been edited by GreenNerdy: Sep 26 2007, 11:17 AM |
Sep 27 2007, 12:11 AM
QUOTE(babymoli @ Sep 26 2007, 11:55 AM) You can bath her but do it fast & use lukewarm water. If you have shower then it will be easier. ok..noted..thanks Yup. J&J is Johnson & Johnson which uses for babies. Better get the wheatgerm type. It would be better for hedgie's skin. Added on September 27, 2007, 12:20 amohh i can go over to sg and try look for the shampoo when i go back jb next time... can buy for you guys if you all need anyway processed mealworms won't do any harms right? i wanted to buy live mealworms today, but when i see i really cannot accept and my hedgie poopoo on my palm after she unroll everytime i pick her up...is that normal? =.=''' do you guys feed at certain time of the day or always keep the food bowl full with pellets? i notice my hedgie become more chubby just after 2 days? eat and sleep only =.=''' so i'm gonna buy her the wheel and some toys tomorrow... This post has been edited by GreenNerdy: Sep 27 2007, 12:26 AM |
Sep 27 2007, 05:24 PM
QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Sep 27 2007, 08:39 AM) The one they mention in Singapore is milk - Esbilac, not shampoo I don't think there's any processed mealworms available here, only live ones. At first you may not be able to accept it, use a tweezer, it helps a lot. But in time, you'll get so used to it, that you can handle it by hand KP QUOTE(babymoli @ Sep 27 2007, 09:41 AM) GreenNerdy, thanks for the advice..Try to get the live ones. If you're afraid to catch it, use tweezer. I used to scare of mealies, but now i feel it's a lot better than holding earth worms. Lol... i bought some from pets safari today, coz can't get the processed ones...using tweezer and put on my palm to feed her... i keep those mealies in a very shallow tupperware, hopefully they don't crawl out Added on September 27, 2007, 5:28 pm QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 27 2007, 01:15 PM) Yeah, today give a shampoo wash for my Bo Chai, althought still got some smelly but it quite nice already so nice can play with him for long time...Just now after bathing then play with him for long time mine i pick her up a while, she sure start poo poo on my hand - which i hate most This post has been edited by GreenNerdy: Sep 27 2007, 05:28 PM |
Sep 27 2007, 05:55 PM
QUOTE(babymoli @ Sep 27 2007, 05:50 PM) Hahaha... You can put them in the tofu fa container. Just make holes on the cover. They can't crawl out. Dump some vegie or kibbles for them to eat & they live long time. don't have any of those container at home =.='''next week pasar malam go tapao tofu fa >< Added on September 27, 2007, 5:59 pm QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 27 2007, 05:52 PM) GreenNerdy if she can stay at your hand, poo poo is ok la. she'll stay still and sit there for half a minute, then trying to find way to escape -.-'''My Bo Chai won't stay on my hand 1, always want to run out, althought I'm holding him.... He just like say " Let me go, let me go" Oh now i know 1 way can easy and safety hold Bo Chai up by using hand, just hold below his body and direct take him up whenever i hold her up from the bottom she sure put all the quill up at first...sakit hati see her so scared...dunno when can she stop doing that This post has been edited by GreenNerdy: Sep 27 2007, 05:59 PM |
Sep 27 2007, 11:02 PM
what do you mean by use quill to chase you?
ayway i need some advice here, 1) should i remove the food bowl by night? 2) how many times and how much should i feed her everyday? 3) the hidebox, can it be remove during day time? because the storage box is kinda small after put in the wheel :/ 4) how many mealworms is max? is it ok to feed them with mealworms everyday? 5) how to make the hedgie like me? hhaha |
Sep 28 2007, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(hao @ Sep 27 2007, 11:13 PM) 1, Nope thanks for the advice 2, Two spoon of kibble per day 3, If you want to remove it, remove it during night time as hedgie is nocturnal. They need the hidebox to sleep during the days. How big is your storage box? 4, Don't feed daily, mealies are treat to hedgies, it's fattening 5, Spend more time on him, let him get used to your smells haha obviously i've been feeding her too much cat food and mealies!!! omg no wonder she grown so fat >< my storage box is 75x40cm... Added on September 28, 2007, 5:05 pm QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 28 2007, 09:15 AM) GreenNerdy, when you kacau your hedgehog sleeping & remove the sleeping places, then just put your hand there c what your hedgehog do on next step mine also lower down his head and point up her quills...and remain there until i have to forcefully pick the spiky ball up =.=''' This post has been edited by GreenNerdy: Sep 28 2007, 05:05 PM |
Sep 29 2007, 02:17 AM
QUOTE(babymoli @ Sep 28 2007, 05:17 PM) Your storage box is ok. Mine is slightly bigger than yours (79 * 50cm) yet with wheel, hidebox & 2 bowls inside. i i try to lure her with mealies...it always works Try lure her with mealies. Lol.. When she erect her quills, use mealies or kibbles to lure her. I alway do that. but today i drank a lot, plus all the alcohol + ciggy smell (dunno from who), maybe she doesn't recognize me anymore? even mealies won't work =.=''' Added on September 29, 2007, 2:18 am QUOTE(hao @ Sep 28 2007, 06:23 PM) The hidebox you using is what ah? Igloo ah? Actually if you put a wheel inside, they don't need space to run. As long as there's a place for sleep, poo/pee, can put two bowls and a wheel, and there's a path to access to all these points, then it's ok d. yah i'm using the igloo...now i'm putting the hidebox by day time, remove it and replace with the wheel by night....is it ok? This post has been edited by GreenNerdy: Sep 29 2007, 02:18 AM |
Sep 29 2007, 12:50 PM
pet family at taman megah..
http://www.thepetfamily.com/map_2.htm the one in Ikano is pet safari, i went there 2 days ago they have no hedgehog... |
Sep 29 2007, 05:38 PM
i tried to bathe my hedgehog today,
she struggle a lot and climb out from the sink to my hand before i could finish... just couldn't get the job done............ |
Sep 29 2007, 07:37 PM
QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 29 2007, 06:20 PM) Pet Family at taman megah hedgehog quite ok 1, just adult size, i saw it yesterday, ( yesterday go there walk around & try to find YEOH VETERINARY CLINIC, but dont know where is it. ) i don't know but i feel the poor hoglet so pity when she keep struggling wanna come out....GreenNerdy you can try bath at big container or barrel for wash cloth that kind, so your hedgehog won't climb up and try finish inside there, just got a problem when have poo poo floating there so i put my hand there...and she quickly climb onto my hand -.-''' but anyway manage to scrub her quills a bit so should be ok for now.. next weekend try again see how... Added on September 29, 2007, 7:41 pm QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Sep 29 2007, 06:54 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « about the poo thing, did you toilet train your hedgie or they learn how to poo in a corner themselves? This post has been edited by GreenNerdy: Sep 29 2007, 07:41 PM |
Sep 30 2007, 12:30 AM
QUOTE(broken_string @ Sep 29 2007, 09:27 PM) hedgie can be toilet train mah what makes a litter box?giv them a litter box la btw ur the one who bought this setup last time, now tat u mention i remember liao quite a bargain for 600 bucks. although my hedgie cost me less than 300 but getting those bling blang for it almost reach 500 oredi can show pic pls? i kinda hate the idea of shitting all around :/ Added on September 30, 2007, 12:32 am QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Sep 29 2007, 10:06 PM) mine is going to be round like that also, is it something to worry about? Added on September 30, 2007, 12:36 am anyway i have a packet of fruit yogurt dips here, wanted to give my hedgie but she doesn't like it...sniff sniff and ciao -.- if any of you have other pets that like the treats pls tell, i can give it to you This post has been edited by GreenNerdy: Sep 30 2007, 12:37 AM |
Sep 30 2007, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 30 2007, 12:48 AM) You can go get any plastic trays..... for me, I just get kitten litter box, Rm6 only at petshops.... small plastic trays. As long it is double the size of your hedgie, it is fine. double the size of my hedgie...then the storage box would be too crowded already :/anyway just put one tray there, and scoop all her feces into the box and they'll slowly poo there is it? |
Sep 30 2007, 07:44 PM
Oct 2 2007, 09:23 PM