Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

kenji1903
post May 4 2016, 06:53 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(selvenz @ May 4 2016, 06:07 AM)
FYI the guy who wrote the book is still in AUSSIE and so is his family. His new book is about success stories in AU LOL ( Draft stage).

But he sure made alot of money from those malaysians who bought his book.
yeah, i read his blogs too, he's still there despite all the negativity laugh.gif

he has a new book? must be a very good side biz tongue.gif
kenji1903
post May 4 2016, 11:46 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ May 4 2016, 08:55 PM)
if u got life insurance it is covered doesn't matter where u are
life yes, don't think medical card is... you cannot claim if you are out of malaysia for a certain period, need to check further with my agent, not exactly sure on this one
kenji1903
post May 5 2016, 11:46 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ May 5 2016, 11:10 AM)
Correct me if I am wrong here about Malaysia Government hospital which costs RM1 to visit a doctor plus medication (if any). Witnessed a patient who paid RM3100.00 to have two valves replaced during an open heart operation recently. Not sure how Australian health care system works on similar scenarios ? Thanks.
during my uni years, we need to buy medicare... a hostel mate of mine met a car accident and did a major operation, if i remember correctly, this leg patah or something like that... cost of the operation was AUD40k and he didn't need to pay a single cent

not sure if its the same now though cos it was many years back
kenji1903
post May 5 2016, 11:08 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ May 5 2016, 08:40 PM)
yeah so if you those medical or investment linked you can surrender but for life, you can just keep but one day you will also buy life insurance in oz so will you pay both sides ?  hmm.gif
for my family definitely, they need as much cash as possible in my absence
kenji1903
post May 6 2016, 11:00 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 6 2016, 09:38 AM)
Yeah, wait until u got RM100k income per annum then u won't migrate dy.... biggrin.gif
u forgot the expenses of GST my friend.  dry.gif
RM100k/annum not enough bro...

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 6 2016, 09:42 AM)
I went back few weeks ago, walking along the street realised my stomachache and wanna pang sai, rush into the chinese cafe, alahai.....toilet is squatting pan, wet and the worst is no paper doh.gif !!!! I came out again and saw there's a small plastic box filled with napkins, grab the whole box and rush back for a relieve.....
I forgot that there's no toilet paper provided in malaysia.....sigh...later on that day i bought i big whole pack of small packet tissue in the car cool2.gif
that's why i only pangsai at home, emergency also try to find hotel laugh.gif
kenji1903
post May 6 2016, 11:37 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 6 2016, 11:35 AM)
sometimes emergency where got hotel nearby.....?!?unless like the hotel penginapan where bangla and indon like to go...i dun even dare to go in
that's why i always keep toilet roll in the car when i was working in KL long ago but time passed and forgot this event already...i wonder how they use hand.... hmm.gif
good point... my car tissue finished already, better refill laugh.gif
kenji1903
post May 15 2016, 10:53 PM

3,785 posts

since daylight_dancer and xoxlifestyle100 have an ongoing discussion on that, from what i've read... 189/190 doesn't need employment points if one is able to meet 60 points...

and in other migration forums, there are people who managed to get grants for the 2 subclass without claiming work experience since they have IELTS band 8 for all modules (with the assumption that their age and degrees are also able to prove sufficient points)

is my understanding correct on this?
kenji1903
post May 15 2016, 10:57 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Wan.Him @ May 15 2016, 06:52 PM)
How about migrating to Australia to work at farms ? Macam kutip apple. All i read here is about professional jobs. Any tips ?
work holiday visa? i heard need to queue, an age limit and only once in your life time... its only for 1 year though...
kenji1903
post May 16 2016, 09:19 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Wan.Him @ May 16 2016, 08:54 AM)
yeah I know. I have few friend living in OZ currently, and when they were studying, they do kutip apple on the weekend or summecr holiday. so I only listen to those who live there so that i can tumpang their house once I decided to go there and kutip apple.
big difference bro... your friends are already there and picking fruits is just for side income

you on the other hand purposely buy an airticket to go there just to earn some quick bucks for 1 year? sweat.gif
kenji1903
post May 16 2016, 10:53 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Wan.Him @ May 16 2016, 10:38 AM)
hmm you are right. currently an engineer at a telco company. if compare the salary to those who have been kutiping apple is quite low. why not go kutip apple right ? haha. But somehow it was just a thought on it.
you convert of course la... i picked cherries for almost a month after graduating, AUD2.8k and that was more than 10 years ago

but frankly bro, you can't do much with the money earned from fruit picking for 1 year...
what you gain is just a fully paid 4 season holiday (since you need return tix, eat and a place to stay) and maybe an iPhone when you get back... and there goes 1 year laugh.gif
kenji1903
post May 16 2016, 02:47 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Wan.Him @ May 16 2016, 02:38 PM)
lol why must include kutip apple in the resume ?
employers will ask why you stop work for 1 year
kenji1903
post May 16 2016, 02:49 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 16 2016, 02:46 PM)
No way u can get 189/190 with your current situation. Trust me. Please read the skill assessment 1st. My wife is chartered accountant but she's not using her pro as primary applicants as is much harder. so using mine as primary coz my professional requirement is lower.

Point contribution on experience:-

Aust:-
1 year = 5 points
3 years = 10 points
5 years = 15 points

Overseas:-
3 years = 5 points
5 years = 10 points
8 years = 15 points

My case is i claimed 15 points based on my malaysia working experience which is 9 years.

I'm not trying to pour you cold water but you're unlikely to get any visa approval. My advice is get as many working experience as possible. Don't worry, the point system and requirement always change. Plenty of chance to apply.
actually why not?
age 25-32 = 30 points
IELTS band 8 in all = 20 points
degree = 15 points
65 already
kenji1903
post May 16 2016, 03:38 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Wan.Him @ May 16 2016, 02:50 PM)
u can always said other things such as travelling, dont be so naive and say that i go work oz ma kutip apple coz money heaven. mana boleh. pandai pandai pikir la. if u got good experience the 1 year gap tutup mata sahaja
yeah, big IF tongue.gif

you know lar asian employers, you can take 1 year off to go travel, how serious are you in work? laugh.gif
kenji1903
post May 16 2016, 03:44 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 16 2016, 03:10 PM)
yeah, why not. If you can get band 8 in all 4 module, congratulations!
we got a  bunch of young grades here sitting IELTS for 5 times almost give up...
there's a guy in the IELTS workshop that i attended sat for it 3 times and still unable to get overall 7... he's darn demotivated laugh.gif

yeah, 8 is hard to get... some can get it, very rare
but that guy said he's able to get 9 for reading and listening, very good already leh

This post has been edited by kenji1903: May 16 2016, 03:45 PM
kenji1903
post May 16 2016, 05:40 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(mypook @ May 16 2016, 05:04 PM)
You can consider taking PTE test instead. It's easier to score. IELTS is very inconsistent in it's grading system.
i heard IELTS usually make one module super hard to bring down the overall bands, don't know true or not laugh.gif

nah, mine passed already, i didn't claim points for my English... i reckon i was just 1 or 2 questions away from getting 7 in my reading... the other modules i got 7 and 8.5
kenji1903
post May 16 2016, 05:57 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(xoxlifestyle100 @ May 16 2016, 05:42 PM)
Yeah that's what I heard also from my tutor previously. They rotate every week and make one module harder than the rest.
i took only once though, and i had the impression that the writing is always the killer...
surprisingly writing and speaking came out ok, reading was like fffffff bangwall.gif
kenji1903
post May 16 2016, 11:37 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ May 16 2016, 08:59 PM)
I got the lowest in my reading are, hahaha. Got damn lazy, got to sleepy. Highest was listening. Overall I got an 8.5, sat for it once Then again, I've only spoken English at home and learnt BM when I went to primary school. Can't speak any other language fluently enough. My parents/ grandparents speak English so from a linguistic point it's considered a first language for me.
same, highest was listening cos very semangat as it was the first test laugh.gif

i learn my English from reading, being a KL boy, can't run away from English and Cantonese

but IELTS is something i don't want to resit... maybe cos i haven't studied for an exam since i graduated more than 10 years ago, hahahah
kenji1903
post May 17 2016, 09:43 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ May 17 2016, 09:16 AM)
My speaking was the last, taken in Park Royal hotel after all the other tests.

I got lucky, the examiner asked my favourite topic: Swimming.
i took it few days before the exam marathon laugh.gif

topic was how you spend your free time or something like that, very open ended conversation...
some more my wife gave birth not long ago therefore i barely have time even to pangsai laugh.gif
kenji1903
post May 17 2016, 09:54 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ May 17 2016, 09:47 AM)
What if you are among the lucky one that got offer from Big4 Australia straight as fresh graduate (subclass 457)? Will you go straight to accept the offer? The fact is that Australians themselves are looking out opportunities in Singapore/UK/North America due to the weakening of AUD.

Aus pay is "high", but the disposal income is lower. Life good? That's depends. Speaking from my experience/observation, the effective income tax rate as a senior auditor is approximately 4% in SG, 2% in Malaysia, 16.5% in Japan and 26% in Australia.

Million dollar question is, whether you will be better off in Australia if you are foreigner, single, fresh graduate/minimal experience and no Aus property in hand.
what's the pay of a senior auditor in Malaysia? 2% so little... that's like RM3k/month?
kenji1903
post May 17 2016, 11:01 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ May 17 2016, 10:48 AM)
But this is the best time foreigners could get job here because the local Australians are also looking for opportunities elsewhere. Grass (lifestyle) is greener but yes, not always the fact. This morning I met a young man in his late 20's in the station (he's from Singapore). He said he "came to Aus too early". I told him that he can always go back to his own country first. His friends who come over Aus few yrs later than him - able to own a landed property and have a nice MPV. In Aus, we can hardly save enough.

Food for thoughts for whoever plan to come over Aus.
frankly... disposable income wise, why is it worse than Malaysia?

22 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.1913sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:54 AM