22 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

kenji1903
post Mar 29 2016, 03:01 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(captivesim @ Mar 29 2016, 01:50 PM)
I am glad to found this forum post.

I am currently seriously considering to migrate to Australia with my wife. I want to just briefly summarize the step by step for skilled migration 189 visa. I briefly did the point calculation,  i will have no problem reaching 60-65

My background is doing auditing. If there are fellow auditor/accountant, your input in very much appreciated. I am not sure if the process is this simple as it sounds?

1) Get IELTS, (wait 2 weeks for result)
2) Police clearance ( one day)
3) Health check ( one day)
4)Submit EOI (wait 2 weeks)
5) get ready and Certified all documents : photo, IC, passport, work employement, bank account, epf, marriage cert. birth cert, degree cert, CPA cert.(few days)
6) Get skilled assessment by CPA (1 month)
7) Waiting Invitation
8)Lodge application, pay fees (wait 3 months)
9) Wait for Visa grant ( few days)
For spouse, she only need to take the IELTS and certified passport, is it correct? the duration is only guessing.

Thanks, hopefully some guidance from forumers.
accounts/audit, if not mistaken, they've raised the min to 65 points... you can double check in border.gov.au

and maybe you want to prepare your docs, assessment and stuff first and only do EOI after July when they refresh the quota

IELTS you might need a month since a lot of people are sitting for it, 2 weeks to book a place, another 2 weeks for the results

health check can be done in a day, the doc will upload the results to DIBP in a few days, give it max 1 week at most

and if you wife has a degree and her entire course (at least 2 years, you might need to confirm this) is conducted in English, just get a completion letter from her uni and submit that instead, if cannot, just go for IELTS, simply whack also should be able to get 4.5 tongue.gif

you need to translate your birth cert by the way, and you need some time to fill in the dreaded form 80 laugh.gif

good luck bro thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Mar 29 2016, 03:03 PM
kenji1903
post Mar 29 2016, 04:07 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(captivesim @ Mar 29 2016, 03:45 PM)
Thanks Nemesis and Kenji:

Let me restructure:

1) Get IELTS, (1 month to apply and get result) At least band 7 for all.
2) Submit EOI (wait 2 weeks)
3) Get invitation
4) get ready and Certified all documents : photo, IC, passport, work employement, bank account, epf, marriage cert. birth cert, degree cert, CPA cert.(few days)
5) Get skilled assessment by CPA (1 month) If I have a membership Its free
6)Lodge application, pay fees (wait 3 months)
7) Wait for Visa grant (few days)

Kenji, the minimum is still at 60 as I just checked the website, my wife has an engineering degree. Where can translate birth cert? Do we submit form 80 during lodging application ?
the EOI and invitation really depends on luck, of course they try to clear off those submitted on an earlier date first, but the wait depends since there are only 2 rounds of invitation per month

you might want to get your CPA assessment done first, cos once you get invited, and you accepted the invitation, you only have 28 days to prove your points, else your visa might get rejected or worse a 2 year ban cos you over claim on points

you can get the translation from a few places, Malaysia translation association on Jalan Maharajalela for instance, or some other independent translators that say their translated docs can be used overseas and stuff like that, the Aussie High comm also have this service

Form 80 is after lodging your visa, you will or will not be assigned a case officer which will request for docs for their thorough assessment

checkout this forum bro, the moderator is an expert thumbup.gif
http://www.migrationdesk.com/forums/discus...order=post_date
kenji1903
post Mar 30 2016, 05:57 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Mar 30 2016, 02:29 PM)
is it easy to get an IT job and Ads Ops job in australia? plannning to move over australia with my gf
got your PR already bro?
kenji1903
post Mar 30 2016, 11:04 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Mar 30 2016, 09:54 PM)
nope, not yet..didnt have any experience...so by first is get a PR only proceed to get job ? i tot having a job will be much easier to apply PR
read up first bro, long way to go, good luck thumbup.gif
kenji1903
post Apr 25 2016, 10:35 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Apr 22 2016, 08:35 PM)
Western Australia or Perth? If in one of those small town maybe lah.

But with the mining sector boom down, not sure if they are adversely affected.

Trouble is, every migrant wants to live in the big city, be it Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide, Perth or Brisbane.

Well if all else fail, just get any job. If the prospective migrant is migrating because he or she wants to build career, I think that person is being unrealistic (unless that person is cream of the crop), migrating is about the quality of life there.
i've been thinking very long about this statement that everyone is quoting...

what kind of quality life are we looking at if one is earning 50k/annum in melbourne?
kenji1903
post Apr 25 2016, 12:15 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Apr 25 2016, 12:03 PM)
Me too. For some it would be the free medical, u can check tat out. Some of my frens say can claim for specs, child birth, etc.

Education used to be free but i not sure to wat aspect now perhaps other posters can help advise here.

Other than that its the freedom n i suppose fair n equitable treat ment u receive in oz compared to bolehland. But dun get me wrong, racism is everywhere. I myself hv gotten racial taunts in oz b4 but harmless ones with exception of an aussie trucker wanted to run me down when i jaywalk haha.

Expect some favortism to their own kind at workplace. But hey we get that too in bolehland.

You pay ur taxes n its channelled to transparent means. Just look at the world class bike lanes, parks m amenities they hv compared to our clog drains n persistence water shortage

Their town council also respect ur rights. B4 they decide to build a road near ur housing they will set up committee with stakeholders like residence politicians govt councul etc to get feedback n approval. Not like here can set up radioactive plant in gebeng not even bother to consult local populatiom some more say as save as kicap plant.

Also u earn good ex rates n live in first world country. U probably not enjoy 100% but ur kids will benefit the most as their education system is likely surpass our msian ones. I think theirs is less exam based n more focus on creativity thinking n assignments.

U go anywhere as 1st gen migrants sure suffer one la dun expect bed of roses. The ozzies r bias to our work experience. If u work 10 yrs as tax accountant they rgd u as hvg zero yrs. If u 30 u may hv to work same level as 23 yo ozzies. That is if u r lucky to get a job of ur profession. Cant deny there r exceptions.
AFAIK, Medicare's coverage is limited (though better than SOCSO) and most people will get some kind of private medical insurance... similar to Malaysia but its cheaper dollar to dollar

education i agree but there are lots of private schools in Melbourne and i'm not sure who goes there if public schools are already good enough?
for tertiary level, as a PR/Citizen, one needs to compete with foreign students for a placement, education is always a business...

racism i agree, i get some of that during my uni years but it was some homeless drunkard, harmless like you said

exchange rates wise, if you live and spend there, you won't get much benefits... though some things are still cheaper than Malaysia even after conversion...

job is something that worries me the most, if i don''t get a good job, its hard to sustain my family there...

thanks for the info though...

kenji1903
post Apr 25 2016, 02:46 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Apr 25 2016, 02:08 PM)
I suppose the economy there works differently. I know people who can save up on 50k a yr as a petrol station manager. I got a fren there he can survive with a bit savings by working as part time child care n at night as retailer.

U cant expect to be living as a manager pay if u want to migrate. There r people who r lucky to get top notch jobs maybe  its the timing or they belong to some niche industry or they r top students.

However majority i hear get pretty much sub standard jobs thst ozzies dun want. Anyway u cant expect much. I mean how would u feel if bangglas here start encroaching ur jobs like banking officer, engineers n doctors? Answer is protek protek. U obviously be competing with ozzies for jobs in an already limited job supply mkt. Most just gave up n tool up jobs ozzies dun want.
well... you have a point... decisions decisions...

give up good life here for an uncertain future or stay back and feel unsafe and paying through my nose for kid's education bangwall.gif
kenji1903
post Apr 25 2016, 02:57 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Apr 25 2016, 02:49 PM)
I got frens who been there for 7 to 10 years, they seem to be doing fine and satisfied with average paying jobs. I also got frens who returned from Australia and gave up on their PR after the bitter taste of being unemployed and not happy with jobs. Also got friends who keep on going back n forth every 2 years between Malaysia n Australia, like hotel, can;t make it up their minds.
continue in PM, thanks bro smile.gif
kenji1903
post Apr 26 2016, 03:05 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Apr 26 2016, 02:15 PM)
Hi guys, just came back from KL for a week holiday. Wondering around cheras & PJ.
Construction development gone crazy looks like plenty of jobs but the pay.....
Road works everywhere and the road condition is bad....real bad.
Despite of the horror on malaysian driving style, food is the key to keep me calm.
Had most of the food you name it.

Went to Jusco & Tesco, the goods are so expensive which comparable to Oz. Sometimes even expensive say ikan bilis! Tot gonna bring in few kilos but after conversion, i better buy in Oz as cheaper than malaysia....wonder why

Yeah, bought some shoes and clothing. However, compared to previous visit, realising RM is smaller, inflation gets higher. Even we bringing in ozzie dollar, you still pay higher.
talking about food, quality has seriously dropped (but price increased) to a level where by i don't have the urge anymore...

e.g. Melaka, used to do makan trips once or twice a month... now just don't bother... the bosses lost their passion and can't cook properly... those who have kids to take over can't do it as good as their parents... those who have nobody to pass the biz to is now cooked by some foreigner bangwall.gif
kenji1903
post Apr 26 2016, 03:19 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Apr 26 2016, 03:12 PM)
yeah, there's a chinese restaurant in PJ called new paris where i used to go those days, what they serve is crap. The taste looks different then i saw most of the cook are burmese, bangla......what the heck?
no doubt the portion is small and i paid RM6 for a bowl of wantan mee. 2 chopstick scoop, gone!
Tried nasi kandar too. Me, wife and 2 kids ate RM35! wow... confused.gif
New Paris is famous, haven't been there for years after they couldn't maintain their standard...

seldom eat out now... its a waste of time and stomach sad.gif

well, there's goes the ONLY reason for coming back after migrating laugh.gif
kenji1903
post Apr 27 2016, 10:52 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Apr 27 2016, 09:43 AM)
yeah...my mum always whining about food price increased. i just hate that how would normal malaysian survive with the low pay but with the basic groceries can't even afford?
I did some research back home and made some basic calculations.
A normal household income with all basics you'll need at least RM6- 8k per month. If lower than that, you'll hardly survive in KL.
To live average, household income has to be RM15k/month with some 10% savings.
To live above average, household income has to be RM20k, means that each one of them has to be RM10k/mth and that's after ddt of tax & epf.
I know it sounds unbelievable but it's the truth.

the average fresh grad. income has to be at least RM3000 to RM3500 which rounded at RM42000/annum. A country with GST your minimum wages has to be this, not something RM1000/mth.
ppl with this income are entitled with some basic medical welfare, children's edu welfare in different categories form new born till 18.

sound unrealistic but it's true. when a country implement gst, it's a blood sucking system but this has to be given back to people. I'm not opposing GST as this would be pulling the gap nearer. WHAT I REALLY OPPOSING IS WHO'S HANDLING THOSE MONEY? a crook is a crook, sucking the hard earned money and telling ya it's our obligation to pay tax but on the other hand heading for shopping spree in europe. well, even ZAKAT can be used for paying someóne's hotel and tour fees. Mazlan the monkey telling jokes on how the gst implementation could reduce the price. Yeah, that's supposed to be but how many business corporation willing to do so as no monitoring being done, undertable ada lar...

Anyway, everytime went back malaysia always making me wanna stay back as this is my home. however, when think about the kids future, it pull my handbrake to settle down in malaysia. life is hard everywhere but not as hard as malaysia. i send quite a sum of money to support the family back home. can't believe during my uni time, AUD1 = RM1.80 and that's 15 years ago. those days people with PR willing to throw into the bin heading back home to push malaysia into developed country. Had a conversation with them now and they regret they did that.... sad.gif
frankly... that's not above average, its just marginally better than average sweat.gif
still have to think twice before buying anything or even eating out bangwall.gif
but how much better is Australia bro since you are the best person to come out with a comparison smile.gif

should have taken that PR after graduating... now need to reapply pula... doh.gif

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Apr 27 2016, 10:54 AM
kenji1903
post Apr 27 2016, 11:50 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(s|dE @ Apr 27 2016, 11:41 AM)
how much average cost to take PR?
border.com.au, everything is there bro, or look through this thread, someone posted earlier smile.gif
kenji1903
post Apr 27 2016, 02:27 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Apr 27 2016, 01:14 PM)
well yeah. basically RM20k is based on my scenario. you need to cater for 4 old men, 2 kids including medical and educations. when you reaching my age, it's different story.
i know that feeling, when your wages is on the pinch.

in australia, you need to work out the calculation thoroughly. high pay doesn't mean it's good coz the tax and benefit will took away most of your extras. few options you can get is asking the company provide you cars, fuel card and other gadgets like item. don't request allowances in monetary coz it entitled as income.
australia is very different system and structure so something need to learn and avoid getting too much tax. of course there's 'ways' to avoid tax too.... brows.gif
my age is not that far from yours laugh.gif
20k for me (family of 3) is just nice, not too tight but can't splurge either

the only way i know is negative gearing... i'll PM you for more info notworthy.gif
kenji1903
post Apr 27 2016, 04:42 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Apr 27 2016, 04:37 PM)
$20k per month in Australia? I think that's pretty on the high side right.

Erm pm me too if you have tips on tax, would love to hear them. Being paying too much tax and can't really do much without investment.
i'm still in Malaysia sweat.gif

AUD20k/month will bring you to the max tier rate, no point laugh.gif

kenji1903
post Apr 28 2016, 11:00 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Apr 28 2016, 10:53 AM)
If i got wages @ AUD20k/month in malaysia, i won't even think about migrating biggrin.gif
if got household income of MYR30k (take home) in malaysia bro? still want to migrate? brows.gif

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Apr 28 2016, 11:00 AM
kenji1903
post Apr 28 2016, 12:48 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(shazam7 @ Apr 28 2016, 12:43 PM)
Depends on your priorities and yr objective in life.

No employer will just give u 30K for nothing.

RM30k/month could mean no work life balance.
RM30k/month could mean non stop karaoke and makan - detrimental to health
RM30k/month could mean no time with wifu or kiddies

Being in Oz
- become poor FINANCIALLY
- become rich in health, family relationships

Which one u want.
health and relationships need money... if pay too low, you can't sustain as well... that's why my dilemma bangwall.gif
kenji1903
post Apr 28 2016, 01:07 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(m0r31d8ng3l @ Apr 28 2016, 12:55 PM)
I live in Melbourne. I was lucky enough to get a job within 3 weeks and settled in.
Still renting though. Even auctioned houses are going for really extravagant prices here.

Its funny that friends back home seem to think its more affordable to buy property here in Oz. Buying a car here is cheap but property is way harder to get here than back in bolehland.
auction in Aussie is just a method of selling a property, its not like the owner defaulted on loan or something, right?

one can get a house/unit with around 3000-4000sf landsize 2 bed 2 baths with a garage for around AUD600-660k and around 20km East from Melbourne CBD is quite a good deal no? can get that kind of price and that kind of size in PJ for instance?
kenji1903
post Apr 28 2016, 01:08 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Apr 28 2016, 12:53 PM)
Reason why i can't move.  Aus only offers me a little more but with high taxes!    sad.gif

So i have to take the plunge and send me kids to Aussie Universities.
my case... its either my kid moves alone in future... or we move as a family now...
kenji1903
post Apr 28 2016, 03:07 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(wwwah85 @ Apr 28 2016, 02:32 PM)
I second that! Move with your family. The kids development need both father & mother together!

I used to work in Vietnam few months back and my household income was about USD7k. I gave up that and migrate to aus together with my kids. I'm still looking for opportunity in aus after spending 1.5 months here.
which field are you in bro?
kenji1903
post Apr 28 2016, 03:09 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Apr 28 2016, 02:06 PM)
Best to move as a family. Provided you are still young!    smile.gif

i have already established my career in Malaysia. So can't move now. So the kids will go.
exactly in the middle, mid life crisis laugh.gif

my career is ok, my wife is also doing pretty good, thus the reluctance of stepping out of the comfort zone bangwall.gif

22 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.2016sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:36 PM