Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

xoxlifestyle100
post Sep 3 2016, 12:53 AM

69 posts

just submitted my eoi for 489! and working harder to get my english scores so i can apply with higher points. so basically after this a case officer will contact you if they need more information? how do i know? is it through my e-mail or do i have to check skillselect regularly?
xoxlifestyle100
post Sep 4 2016, 12:58 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 3 2016, 01:06 AM)
if you have already submitted your EOI, higher points just means you might be invited faster

you'll get it via email, or you can check skill select also if you want, it will come the same time
ahhh thanks!... btw there is this subsequent entrant for 489... so if during EOI i said no, and if i want to add someone in later after getting 489 is it still possible even though when submitting EOI i said selected no when they ask if there's any partner or family member that will be tagging along under my application?
xoxlifestyle100
post Sep 5 2016, 02:53 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 4 2016, 09:21 AM)
better email them, cos when you accept the EOI, you need to pay first so that you can apply for the visa...

and visa fees depends on how many dependents you have
alright! Thanks...

btw, am a fresh grad, and really contemplating on how soon should I go over to aussie IF (a very big IF) my visa is approved...? should i work here first for a while maybe 1-2 years then only head over? or should I just head over straight and start looking for job? or should I just keep applying for jobs in aussie while working here? I know job market is bad in aussie especially for us, not much job opportunity, and in order to manage expectations, I don't really mind any job actually... even if it is unrelated to what I have studied but of course, preferably related.

just some background, graduated from monash university (few months back), majoring in accounting, banking and finance and currently pursuing both my cpa (completed 1st paper) and cfa (level 1 candidate).
xoxlifestyle100
post Sep 6 2016, 01:41 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Sep 5 2016, 03:06 PM)
Is there any considerations of starting your career in Singapore first before considering the move elsewhere? Banking is not really a big thing in Australia comparing to Singapore and Hong Kong.

Also, with regards to any jobs not related to your field, that's what a lot of people say but after a year, that thinking changes. Be very careful and be clear with what you want to achieve in Australia. To be rich? This is not the place. For the kids, then you are getting somewhere.

Just my two cents worth.
Yeah i totally understand what kind of mindset i'll require. I have a brother and he's in melbourne for 6 years and PR already. Speaking of starting my career in Singapore, I am considering that, and did apply to the top 20 audit firms and it has already been 3 weeks and no reply from any of the firms... so i'll just pray for the best.. I have a friend who worked as an Assistant Manager in KPMG Malaysia and moved over to KPMG Australia as SA2. But that choice is quite unlikely for me as if i get my visa approved, i'll most likely move over as soon as i can to get a job and settle?

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Sep 5 2016, 03:16 PM)
Australian asset management is pretty decent though. Probably because theres tonnes of super funds around to feed the asset managers
That's giving me some hope there, haha am quite interested in asset management field actually, but currently on accounting path as I think it would probably have better job security when i go to Australia and asset management pathway would be quite specialized already. still not sure how it goes.
xoxlifestyle100
post Sep 6 2016, 11:35 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(alwayshappy @ Sep 6 2016, 10:38 PM)
That's really true. If you hold an accounting degree with a professional qualification, it is quite unlikely that you can't land on an accounting job. Having said that, not everyone with the stated qualifications is able to get into Big 4 or banks easily. Quite a number of them are actually on a accounting job (reporting etc.) in small firms.
Nahhh, doesn't matter to me when the pay is not much difference, and as long as the pay is good for the amount if time/responsibilities invested in... For me i always believe there are many other ways to find money if really into it... Work/life balance is key... Not like how most of my peers think though.. big 4, big banks, or ib. money money, career career, blahhhh... i think life is more than just that. plus, you get looked down if you're not one of them in malaysia. unlike aussie, everyone has a "idgaf" mentality. of course ultimately it's individual, but being in that kind of environment, it's just more convincing and comfortable.
xoxlifestyle100
post Sep 16 2016, 11:10 AM

69 posts

Does anyone here knows what's the job market in aussie like for fund management, asset management, or investment banking like as compared to accounting roles?

xoxlifestyle100
post Sep 30 2016, 02:12 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(wwwah85 @ Sep 27 2016, 07:53 PM)
I'm holding 489 now...I don't see the difference of 489 or 189 when u applying for job...the problem is 489 need to stay at specific areas, hence it limits the job opportunities...
Mind sharing your experience which job in the SOL list you applied and with how many points and how long you waited for your invitation?
xoxlifestyle100
post Nov 11 2016, 12:11 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ Nov 10 2016, 09:29 PM)
I'm in the finance industry. I mentioned earlier that I have more disposable income in Sg that in Australia (despite that Im subjected for 20% cpf deduction and effective tax rate is about 8%). In Australia, (25% effective tax and 9.5% super). Dollar to dollar sg was higher. Stress higher. Challenges higher. Learning curves highers. There have been saying ppl from msia or sg can survive here but not the other way. Haha.

For audit, I've just shared about my experience that I met an auditor from kl today. Apparently he said the disposable income in kl was higher.
Would you mind sharing, what's the job market and lifestyle like for the finance industry? Like ER/PE/VC/CF/AM/Fund Management. What's the hiring rate like and normally for what position will have a better chance and what firms/banks will have the highest chance of getting employment and lifestyle? Would be great if you can elaborate more whether it is buy or sell side. Thanks!
xoxlifestyle100
post Feb 17 2017, 10:57 PM

69 posts

any idea what's the market like for equity research analyst and fund managers?

0.2478sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:04 AM