Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

fuserdef
post Jan 3 2017, 10:11 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Jan 3 2017, 08:42 PM)
Ok cost agency + visa fees + assessment for me alone was about 27k MYR. Bear in kind I chose to engage them in September 2013, pre-GST smile.gif I told them to take their time, and I didn't start document processing until 2014 (IELTS, VETASSESS etc etc).

You can speak to Audrey, she's really nice and she remembers her clients well. I mentioned my friend's name, not knowing if she would remember, but she did, and asked how him & his wife were etc.

Like some of the sifus here have mentioned, it is definitely cheaper to DIY, if you are willing to read up extensively. I didn't have the time as I was working full-time & doing my postgrad as well. Whatever time I had left was spent sleeping & on assignments. I had to save every bonus, every extra income for the agent's fees. But it was worth it for me, as my visa came through quicker than I expected.
Holly Balls ! I thought it was gona be 20K !

Ah ok, Audrey, noted.

Yea i agree, DIY 50% discount. But I am in the same boat as you, busy with a FT job, additionally, in the past, I have messed up a visa application before (albeit for a different country and reason) and to get back to status quo was hell to say the least, so defo gona get an agent me thinks.

how long from when you completed handing over your docs to GM to when you receive your PR ?

also if you dont mind, for me and the rest of the kind ppl here that read this thread, how long before you manage to secure a 'proper' job ? been reading around the results vary immensely. did you start applying from here or did you land there and only start ?

p/s - really appreciate all this info. ive been thinking about it for 1/2 a year now.. so far i feel the odds are on my side, but so so scared to take this leap of faith.

This post has been edited by fuserdef: Jan 3 2017, 10:15 PM
fuserdef
post Jan 4 2017, 10:36 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jan 3 2017, 11:12 PM)
Check the website for rough figures. It's I think $3.6k for the primary applicant, $1.8k for spouse and $900 per child, not including exams, assessments etc. Assuming you're doing it alone, the fees alone will already be close to RM14-15k not including agent fees.

I did mine some years back, but due to career and financial reasons I probably won't be going anytime soon. In short just make the decision to apply, and be flexible with what comes in the future whether or not you decide to move.
thanks for your feedback bro !

that is an interesting decision so for your case is more of a 'get out of jail free' card that you have in your back pocket la right ? But i thought in order too keep your PR and later to upgrade to citizen, you need to be there x amount of days throughout your PR duration ?
fuserdef
post Jan 4 2017, 10:38 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jan 4 2017, 12:41 PM)
i think someone posted a link few pages back, most of the medical jobs are flagged for removal from the SOL for 2017
i see as long as you are more than 60, you should be having faster processing times ?

i see ! thats good, save money, but i damm kia-si do i think imma gona use an agent.

oh is it ? i had a look, but didnt find it.
fuserdef
post Jan 4 2017, 10:41 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jan 4 2017, 02:54 PM)
From personal experience & actual feedback - varies according to profession. Only 1% managed to secure a job prior to migrating (not official stats but based on cases shared by Malaysians in AU generally). 6 to 12 months is pretty usual for most migrants with some managed to secure in less than that specified timeframe. From personal experience - banking/finance/accounting roles seems to be quicker than most eg. 1 to 3 months.
thanks for the feedback bro !
fuserdef
post Jan 9 2017, 10:34 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Jan 4 2017, 10:47 PM)
Well it took about a year I reckon? I got the EOI very quickly; within 10 days of the invite, and then visa took about 55 days after the invite was accepted.

I'm still in Malaysia at the moment. I've no plans to move until at least 2018/2019 as I have commitments here for now and the job market everywhere isn't great. I work under the education sector so it's completely different from most here, and as such I have to complete a few research pieces before I can move, as I feel I have more opportunity since my current employer supports research (with grants/ travel allowance etc).

I did apply for 2 jobs but both weren't successful. I wasn't that keen for the 2, but I did try nevertheless as I wanted to gauge what the market was.
Wow.. that was really fast ! like 2 months ish...how did you end up with 1 year ?

i see, fair enough.. everyone i guess has their own thing..

yea.. ive been hearing its way easier to apply if you are onshore..

also.. just to let you know.. i've contacted GM today...was ask to fill in a form and send my CV..hoping to get an appointment and see how i feel about it then... i've asked for Audrey too thanks for your recommendation !
fuserdef
post Jan 9 2017, 10:36 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jan 5 2017, 03:14 AM)
Well, no... 60 point is the minimum for many professions, you get invited sooner to apply for the visa to if u have more than 60 points

Check with an agent first on your eligibility if you are unsure, first consultancy is usually foc
got it ! thanks buddy !
fuserdef
post Jan 9 2017, 10:38 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jan 5 2017, 06:37 AM)
Yes I do have to maintain a minimum number of days to maintain the PR, I have some time to think about this but the trajectory is leading away from the PR at this point. Again my situation is completely different from most other people, my point is that you need to be prepared for changes, sometimes drastic changes. biggrin.gif

Good luck.
fair play buddy ! F**K yeah, i know right ! tell me about it ! 2016 certainly has not been kind to me, 'changes' came hard and fast ! thanks for your feedback buddy !
fuserdef
post Jan 10 2017, 10:07 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Jan 10 2017, 09:05 PM)
Took a year coz I told them to take their time as it would enable me to save money to make my payments, ha ha. It's actually easier when you're applying FROM Malaysia as opposed to being in Aus and doing it there.

Good to hear you've made contact; hope they'll be able to advise you on what your visa options are and I hope they're positive.
ahhh i see so fromw what you are saying, i am assuming the agent fee i made in stages ? would you be able to rmb the brake down then if that is the case ? (its ok if you dont)

fingers cross..... i am still ify about it.. lol
fuserdef
post Jan 11 2017, 11:22 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Jan 11 2017, 08:10 PM)
I can't remember but it was actually around 12,500 approx for the agent's fee.

I remember more or less, that it was a first payment of 5k, then smaller payments, every time they handled something for you.
that actually seems quite fair.. was talking to another agent before this and they wanted 60% straight up and up front (for about the same total cost i think ) if i wanted to start the process.
fuserdef
post Jan 16 2017, 09:10 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Jan 13 2017, 09:29 PM)
wow don't even bother with them please.

That's very scary and downright dodgy.

The way GMS did it was fair; pay only when we start or finish something. Usually within 7 days of the date of the invoice.

They did make an exception with my last payment as i was awaiting for my cheque to clear and it took some time. Since I'd been very prompt with all my payments, they let me extend by a couple of days. smile.gif
thats good practice ! yea only reason why i consider the other one was because they did a family friends visa.

however i called them a week ago today and filled in the information they needed but they havent got back to me yet... is this normal ?
fuserdef
post Jan 31 2017, 06:21 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jan 23 2017, 12:00 PM)
Yup, all the companies u have worked for with the relevant skills you are applying

That includes payslips and bank statements also, provide as much info as u can so that they won't question the validity of the facts u have submitted
Sorry to butt in, but what happens if the company already gone into administration/close shop, like 3 years ago. ?
fuserdef
post Feb 3 2017, 09:30 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Feb 2 2017, 05:09 PM)
There were unverified cases where DIBP will contact the previous employer to verify employment history (less so for multinationals but applicable in privately-owned companies). Couldn't recall the exact employemenr reference letter format but there might be a requirement to include contact details of HR or the equivalent/relavant department or person.
right, but what if the company doesn't exist anymore, like its no longer there, how would the contact it ?
fuserdef
post Jun 14 2017, 10:59 PM

75 posts

Hi everyone,

really encouraging to hear making their progress ! I am still off/on about migrating, so far already been communicating with one of the migration agents in KL and doing my own research. I have a few questions and hoping to find some answers here.

1) From what I understand, we have to be in Australia for at least 2 out of the 5 years or 40% of the duration of the PR in order to later qualify for the returning resident visa and consequently citizenship ? My query is, What if my job involves a lot of travel and in the worst case scenario, will not be able to fulfill the requirement ? Will the Australian immigration be able to give me a mitigated circumstance waiver due to the nature of my job ?

2) Say for instance that I have already gotten my PR, and I am now based in Australia, but, I work for a company that is not Australian nor based in Australia (e.g. A German or Hong Kong company). This company is happy for me to be based in Australian and will fly me out to wherever to do my job. My query is, Is this sort of arrangement possible under my PR terms, and would I be taxed in Australia ? and is so, how much ?

Thanking in advance !
fuserdef
post Jul 7 2017, 12:01 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jun 15 2017, 05:25 AM)
1) Yes if you can prove that you have substantial ties or investments in Australia or worst case you'll get a annually renewable RRV (i/o 5yrs). Not sure if a statement from employer would assist in that scenario though.

2) It boils down to whether are you an Australian tax resident. Tax rate will be based on your tax bracket.

https://www.ato.gov.au/Individuals/Internat...-tax-residency/

https://www.ato.gov.au/Individuals/Internat...loyment-income/
Hey Man ! thanks so much for the reply, I have the same answer from my MA too.

She said I most probably would have to do an annual RRV but I would like to clarify, it is annual as oppose to the usual 5 years in 1 go ? And at the moment how soon can a skilled 189 visa holder apply for citizenship ? after the first 5 years ?
fuserdef
post Jul 27 2021, 12:37 PM

75 posts

I got an email recently from imigration.com.au to say that mechanical engineers has been added to the priority migration list and I have been seeing so many ads to say that Australia is looking Doctors, Nurses and Engineers.

I wanted to check with the kind folk here...
a) how true is this news ?
b) is immigration.com.au a scam site ? is it worth it paying for an eligibility assessment ?
c) if your skill is in the migration priority list, how much faster does your application get process compared to regular application ?
d) I see there a few english test accepted for aussie visas, (IELTS, TOEFL, Pearsons, OET and Cambridge C1) which one of these are the easiest to get the highest points ?
fuserdef
post Jul 28 2021, 10:00 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(kagenn @ Jul 27 2021, 08:14 PM)
You should check the gov websites, like this:
https://immi.homeaffairs.gov.au/visas/emplo...g-workers/pmsol

Not aware of the site you mentioned. It could be a migration agent or a scam, you gotta do your due diligence.

The list does contain mechanical engineer on the priority list, which I assume would mean they're still taking people in as long as they can score enough points.
As a few other have mentioned above, some occupations like accountants require up to 90 points. Randomly searching through migration agent sites show that you may require up to 80 points to qualify.

If there are a lot of applicants for the occupation - things may be slower, IMO. I received feedback after about 8-9 months when I applied about 6 years ago.
I did IELTS and scored about 7.5 if I recall correctly. You have to be excellent with English to score 8 and above.
Maybe someone with more recent experience will be able to provide better input.
Thanks very much for that PMSOL website.

Yes I have been seeing the numbers being very high indeed.

Are you happy with you decision thus far, were you able to find a good career there ?
fuserdef
post Jul 28 2021, 10:03 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 27 2021, 11:55 PM)
https://iscah.com/news-page/

Read through this site, pretty accurate information.
wow there are 5 EOIs with 100 points ! jesusss
fuserdef
post Jul 29 2021, 11:21 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(kagenn @ Jul 29 2021, 07:31 AM)
Honestly it took me a few years to get to the 'happy/content' stage. I reckon my experience is similar to many other Msian migrants - renting a room with wife while jobless for 6 months was pretty stressful. Got my PR as a software engineer but couldn't even land a programming job for a junior role, much less something akin to my 5-6 years programming experience.

Found a job helping a tradie out with heavy lifting & computer work. Then found a data-entry job in a factory while helping out in the production lines.
Applied for an IT role when there was an opening and got it - now doing end-user support and projects (testing, training, docs, troubleshooting, etc).
Decent career progress, but probably stuck now and will need to branch out to specialise in project management or go back into programming.
Pretty content with my job but it's at a boring stage as I don't get to learn new things within the role besides new unsolvable problems with the software.

Overall I'm much happier as my work is very manageable and work hours no longer the 10-12 hours daily I used to put in as a programmer in Msia. Other than missing the food, friends and family back home - I do not regret my decision. Plenty of issues here too though, but I can live with em.
Thanks for taking the time to pen this down my friend. I really appreciate it. Yes, i do hear this as the norm for msian expats, i've been hearing this since ive been thinking about this back in 2016. well done in not giving up and doing that it takes, i know its not as easy as you have made it sound. I am sure your older self and kids will thank you = )

fuserdef
post Jul 29 2021, 11:27 AM

75 posts

Was wondering if anyone here had experience of getting their PR's when their occupation was in the Priority Migration Skilled Occupation List (PMSOL) ? and how much of a 'boost' you get in your application times or standards compared to the regular Skills Occupation List ?

https://immi.homeaffairs.gov.au/visas/emplo...g-workers/pmsol

fuserdef
post Jul 31 2021, 09:46 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 30 2021, 12:36 PM)
This is a new category, so nobody knows what "priority processing" means.

Standard processing has ballooned out to 1 full year now under Covid. Presumably under pmsol, it will be faster.
i didnt realise this was a new list. thanks for your feedback.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.1921sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:11 PM