Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

BravoZeroTwo
post May 17 2016, 01:24 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ May 17 2016, 10:55 AM)
The fact is that if you are too good among your peers, you are unlikely of getting the chance for secondment/transfer. I wasn't the best among my peers but I got among the most exposures and survived. If you aim to be the best, then your goal should be partner in that firm not to go anywhere else.

My advice: be the "second" best if you are planning to transfer.
Another kind advice noted. Thanks.
BravoZeroTwo
post May 17 2016, 01:28 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 17 2016, 11:14 AM)
Yes he can but it's working visa 457 and it's relevant to his profession. He has to work at least 2 years for the company to be eligible to apply PR. 2 options will involve:-

1) go thru 189/190.....again it will falls to point system. however, if he worked at least 1 year here already got 5 points dy on experience. so some ppl actually under 457 for 3 - 5 years can actually make up the 60 points. BUT, that's not the point, the biggest hurdle on this one is IELTS. Depends on ur occupation requirement. If your account IELTS requirement is band 8, then good luck. That's why alot of ppl stuck in there for many years.
I know it sound harsh but that's the truth.

2) the employer will keep on sponsoring him...well, maybe there's some rich company willing to do so

I hope i'm wrong but that's what i knew
BravoZeroTwo
post May 26 2016, 10:04 AM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(fuserdef @ May 24 2016, 04:18 PM)
Hi all the sifus here,

Like most of ppl on here, I have been thinking of taking the leap of faith and migrating to Oz. I will be targeting on getting the 189. Will be claiming points for mech. eng. and targeting melbourne as I have most of my family and friends there. I am close to thirty. I have a masters and been working in the UK for awhile before this. After talking to friends and family, i think i have what it takes to grind it out at the start..I am not too worried about getting the 189, I am thinking a bit further..some of my questions ...

Thank youuuuuuuu
Hi Bro,
Why didn't you stay on in the UK instead ? Thanks.
BravoZeroTwo
post Jul 13 2016, 08:05 AM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(anything98 @ Jul 12 2016, 02:52 PM)
Any company there is hiring?

I am just graduated from UK with a law degree but does not really wan to practise.

Thinking to migrate and to live in peace life oversea.
Hi there,
Why did you read law in the first place ? What job are you holding now ?
BravoZeroTwo
post Jul 20 2016, 04:38 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jul 20 2016, 12:43 PM)
i get 5 points for staying in rural or low population area for 2 years during my uni years laugh.gif
Bro, which university you went to ? Thanks.
BravoZeroTwo
post Aug 5 2016, 01:39 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(timo1003 @ Aug 3 2016, 08:53 PM)
Hi everyone, would greatly appreciate any guidance here - any chance of a practicing junior lawyer here in Malaysia getting a PR in Australia? Like which particular subclass visa should I concentrate/focus more on and what are the chances of getting one?

I did a bit of preliminary research myself before (it was a while ago so I have forgotten a lot about it), and I came across the legal executive/legal researcher pathway (under the CSOL). This would mean that I require the subclass 190 visa. I don't intend to practice over there either as a barrister or a solicitor (which it would seem to be 'easier' under the subclass 189 visa? Do correct me if I'm wrong) mainly because the difficulty of getting jobs as a barrister/solicitor (well that was what I've heard anyway); so hence my preference to secure a job as a legal researcher/executive as these jobs may relate to my working experiences here in Malaysia. And i note that the subclass 190 requires a nomination. Is this a viable choice? I've never studied in Australia before as well, so I do appreciate any helpful advices and opinions on my chances and if possible, the processes/procedures involved..

Also I did a bit of checking through the points system, may I know how do they calculate your years of working experiences? Do they consider the chambering period as part of your working experiences? Many thanks..
Mind sharing your education pathway leading to your current position ? Why do you want to leave your practice to come to Oz as a para legal ?
BravoZeroTwo
post Oct 17 2016, 10:53 AM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Oct 17 2016, 09:29 AM)
Lol... i grew up in aus for 12 years. Partially did my high school and completed tafe and uni there. But I decided to return to Asia for work life & start my family.

Having seen the culture there, your kids will grow up sheltered and less ambitious than the fresh off the boat asian kid with nothing. Sometimes struggle is good to build character and proper study & work ethics.

Maybe it is just me, but I definitely identify with Asian culture more and have no regrets now that I have moved to singapore. Funnily enough, I work closely with aussies and they are all desperate for projects that they are looking outside of their local markets. It's funny..and sad at the same time.

Anyways, my advice is dont think of buying property in current economic climate in australia. It is an absolute travesty with what is happening with the property bubble. The recent interest rates cut by the rba, the lowest it has ever been is still not good enough to stem the bleeding. There will be a correction and I advise you not to be a part of it. What goes up quickly must come down even harder.

Rental rates are dropping, so the market is strong for rent. You can get good rates on inner city apartments, which has spouted out alot in the past 5 years. Save your money and invest in other things instead of prop. If you own property, consider selling out now whilst it is still high and not when the crash begins. Best of luck.
By chance, I had the opportunity to speak to someone who lived for many years in the UK but eventually returned for some reasons many people who wanted to migrate but didn't anticipate or see it. Also another one from Oz recently.

0.1762sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:59 PM