Video/Audio How should I start making music?

TSnihaaao
post Nov 15 2015, 01:45 PM, updated 9y ago

Hey guys, I've been searching for classes that teach us on making music, any place to intro?

Fyi im interested in making music similar to DJ Nujabes/DJ Okawari, am interested in EDM genre too.

Help! icon_question.gif

capsulr
post Nov 15 2015, 01:51 PM

468 posts

classes you can look at youtube, torrent the program called fruity loops (this was back then now i dont know what they use)
saikia2046
post Nov 15 2015, 01:53 PM

414 posts

google - DJ Soda
Everdying
post Nov 15 2015, 02:01 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,688 posts

how is that making music? tongue.gif
and u can simply google and a whole list of schools will appear around KL.
LeaSe*lineR
post Nov 15 2015, 02:25 PM

622 posts

Haha actually should google which DAW your favourite DJ's using, do some research and compare which is suit for u, then baru u know what to learn.

Ableton
Steinberg’s Cubase
Bitwig
FL Studio
Logic
TSnihaaao
post Nov 15 2015, 02:39 PM

QUOTE(LeaSe*lineR @ Nov 15 2015, 02:25 PM)
Haha actually should google which DAW your favourite DJ's using, do some research and compare which is suit for u, then baru u know what to learn.

Ableton
Steinberg’s Cubase
Bitwig
FL Studio
Logic
THanks for the suggestion, now I have some new keywords to look for. What i wanted is somewhere to learn basic techniques of mixing tape eg: chopping music parts, putting them etc. I've instaled Logic and explore for abit, and i found it having so many functions that I have no clue how to use it. So looking for places that teach Logic/ similar software. Do you have any intro?
TSnihaaao
post Nov 15 2015, 02:41 PM

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 15 2015, 02:01 PM)
how is that making music? tongue.gif
and u can simply google and a whole list of schools will appear around KL.
Yeah i did googled for some schools, because i'm totally new in this, so ask here for some intro
LeaSe*lineR
post Nov 15 2015, 03:55 PM

622 posts

Couldn't help much since i'm self-taught user, buat muka tebal ask around forum/music shop kinda guy. Wait for others to chime in and check out Propellerhead Reason too, worth looking into.

Some loop i'm making with Reason ><

lisenyong
post Nov 16 2015, 03:00 PM

firstly , have to clearly know what kind of "music" are u going to make ?
then grab equipment that related with that , then refer to youtube vid that how to use
the Digital audio workstation (DAW) with ur hardwares

xamido
post Nov 21 2015, 11:50 PM

62 posts

Let me tell you the best tips to learn music production. First find a good musician/producer, offer good money for him to be your mentor, learn everything from him.

Audio courses and school in KL only teach you basic-basic stuff. You're wasting your money with them.

This post has been edited by xamido: Nov 21 2015, 11:57 PM
darthbii
post Dec 1 2015, 07:56 AM

:C // C: // ;( // (;
790 posts

Hello.
I'm currently learning too, but on Ableton. I use this course here http://www.adsrsounds.com/product/courses/...h-ableton-live/ (torrent the tutorials brows.gif) .
While this thread is still here, I would like to ask some of the sifus here what studio speakers or monitors should I get? Budget would be not exceeding 300 if possible.
pleasuresaurus
post Dec 2 2015, 03:13 PM

spin spin sugar
2,574 posts

Fall in love. Get heart broken. Be amazed at all the music that's suddenly bursting out of u.

Everdying
post Dec 2 2015, 06:37 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,688 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Dec 2 2015, 03:13 PM)
Fall in love. Get heart broken. Be amazed at all the music that's suddenly bursting out of u.

like this?

LeaSe*lineR
post Dec 3 2015, 05:06 PM

622 posts

lol, covering this song more fun i think...no time tho, u guys make it and share here smile.gif

QUOTE(darthbii @ Dec 1 2015, 07:56 AM)
Hello.
I'm currently learning too, but on Ableton. I use this course here http://www.adsrsounds.com/product/courses/...h-ableton-live/ (torrent the tutorials brows.gif) .
While this thread is still here, I would like to ask some of the sifus here what studio speakers or monitors should I get? Budget would be not exceeding 300 if possible.
My fren using Ableton too, the interface and workflow is nicer than earlier version, easier than Reason imo.

pleasuresaurus
post Dec 3 2015, 05:29 PM

spin spin sugar
2,574 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Dec 2 2015, 06:37 PM)
like this?
whatever works bro biggrin.gif
alchemist321
post Dec 18 2015, 12:50 PM

google is your best partner dude