TStan_pang
post Dec 4 2006, 07:53 PM, updated 20y ago

3,110 posts

try check this user post: piggymeow
he had leave many post in movie and music board
but when i check his post

most of them are not contribution

can we report his post by saying that his post is not contributed??

se7en
post Dec 4 2006, 08:02 PM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

yes, please report members who spam unnecessarily so that appropriate action can be taken.

Offender's post count has been reset to 100 and demotion back to junior member group + warning.

We do not tolerate spam in here.
lord_shadow
post Dec 4 2006, 08:09 PM

138 posts

Hmmmmm? Can someone please clarify what is going on here ? And when you say contribution, what constitutes as one?

Is it a little unfair to piggymeow that all he/she was doing is starting discussion relevant to his/her interest?

Besides that, it's not as if that the posts were empty, in fact most of them have a lot of participation from the community here.

I personally think he/she has contributed in terms of making the site's users engage in more 'discussions; and this certainly can't be bad for websites which wants not only high number of users but ACTIVE ones as well.

Please clarify the banning, as I would not want to end up in the same manner just because 'I want to post a lot of topics to garner feedbacks on evry movie that I am interested in'.
stevanistelrooy
post Dec 4 2006, 09:04 PM

Ten seconds you won't believe what's gonna happen.
2,450 posts

QUOTE(lord_shadow @ Dec 4 2006, 08:09 PM)
Hmmmmm? Can someone please clarify what is going on here ? And when you say contribution, what constitutes as one?

Is it a little unfair to piggymeow that all he/she was doing is starting discussion relevant to his/her interest?

Besides that, it's not as if that the posts were empty, in fact most of them have a lot of participation from the community here.

I personally think he/she has contributed in terms of making the site's users engage in more 'discussions; and this certainly can't be bad for websites which wants not only high number of users but ACTIVE ones as well.

Please clarify the banning, as I would not want to end up in the same manner just because 'I want to post a lot of topics to garner feedbacks on evry movie that I am interested in'.
Try to avoid 1 liner post. Like what piggymeow has posted, obviously can be seen that all the post are mostly 1 liners. In addition, post something that are informative/related to the thread, instead of posting like example:-
yaya, i've seen it.  or I heard people say not good lo, I haven't watch leh.
Instead, posting like, what's your opinion about that movie/drama/song would be much better. Commenting that contributes such as critics and discussion of the drama/movie/song album. What you thinks that makes it great or bad.It helps others to read good reviews, rather than scrolling pages by pages to read those comment that are viewed as spamming post. wink.gif
RBR
post Dec 4 2006, 09:06 PM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

I'd define it this way. If you're posting for the sake of posting (like talking merely to hear your own voice), its spamming. If you're posting to contribute something to the discussion, its encouraged.
TStan_pang
post Dec 4 2006, 09:49 PM

3,110 posts

For lord_shadow:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=371124&st=25
QUOTE(piggymeow @ Dec 4 2006, 06:32 PM)
jin tian ni yao jia gei wo - jolin & david
this is 1 of his post
from the thread title
[Top Cantonese Song ! Really need some . Thanks., Love Songs . Not Rock. ]
it is obvious that the TS want Contonese song
but the song he recommend is mandarin...

is that contribution??
althought sometimes he double posting to bump some thread that can 'encourage' other people to go in and discuss
but with no point
and please note that the Movies & Music board post count is enabled

thats why i take care about it

se7en
post Dec 4 2006, 11:47 PM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

Movies and Music (47% of piggymeow's posts) is not for kopitiam type answers like these.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Sear...sult_type=posts

We would have not been so strict but the fact that he/she decides to reply in almost every thread there within a matter of a few minutes with one liners simply demonstrates that he/she is trying very hard to increase his/her postcount, nothing more.
Doomsday
post Dec 5 2006, 12:37 AM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

Well, when that person replying a thread to that subject that he/she have interested on it. It doesn't count as SPAM.
I define SPAM as that person performing inrelevant points or stupid replies.
lord_shadow
post Dec 5 2006, 02:14 AM

138 posts

I see the point of the administrator in wanting to reduce SPAM, however when this 'punishment' is decided on the basis of posting frequency and 'relevance' of his reply it seems very subjective in nature.

As they say "One man's meat, is another man's poison", so most probably to others it may appear that he is not contributing but in actual fact he may be promoting more deep thoughts and further develop ideas for others.

To se7ven :-
Besides that, as se7en mentioned that 47% of his post is in Movies & Music, how about his/her other posts? Does the 'punishment' take into consideration on those posts which are 'legit' as well? Isn't it unfair if we are taking away posts which CONTRIBUTED? What was the basis used to determine the number of posts reduced?

Another matter which i would also like to know, was he/she warned before this course of action was taken, and was he/she given a chance to explain his/her side of the story?

To tan_pang :-
On your comment of his reply on the Mandarin song, i suggest that you read the whole thread before making accusations or comments that suggests it's irrelevant. The thread starter specifically said Mandarin songs would be OK too. (as shown below in the quote)

It is especially, these cases that i worry about, people complaining without getting the full picture first.

QUOTE(minde @ Nov 22 2006, 09:26 AM)
erm .. thx ... mandarin also can ... any particular song by zhang hong lian that interest u ? mayb itll interest me too...
As Doomsday had put this matter in context, a SPAM should be regarded when it is irrelevant to the subject or stupid replies. Judging from piggymeow's reply, it can only show that he/she does not choose to express his/her thoughts as articulate as others would. In fact, most of the short replies also consists of questions which are valid to the topic (albeit a little short)

This post has been edited by lord_shadow: Dec 5 2006, 02:15 AM
KilJim
post Dec 5 2006, 03:00 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

Post count was reset to 100 not due to the number of spam posts
It's not an eye for an eye, when someone commits an offence the punishment is going to be worst that the offence itself

As for that being subjective, if we were to take away all the rules which are considered subjective, we'd probably be left with very few of them
His posts are generally agreed to be spam
Sure 1 out of 10 may think otherwise, but that doesnt mean that we should allow it

Oh and go ahead and check on a few of the threads he replied in, check when the last post was before his
Many of them are almost 1 week old threads, so all of a sudden he had the interest to reply in them huh

And many other members have had their post count reset in case u didnt know, its just that this time there's this thread here about it

This post has been edited by KilJim: Dec 5 2006, 03:03 AM
samurai1337
post Dec 5 2006, 08:32 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(Doomsday @ Dec 5 2006, 12:37 AM)
Well, when that person replying a thread to that subject that he/she have interested on it. It doesn't count as SPAM.
I define SPAM as that person performing inrelevant points or stupid replies.
Even the person has the interest in those threads, it doesn't give him/her immunity that he/she is not spamming.

For instance

Don't you think these replies are unnecessary? Things like whether it's korean movie, whether the movie is out already and who's the actor can basically be checked either in the first post of the thread or google.

To me, it looks more like replying to EVERY topic just for the sake of it. Being interested in the topic is one thing, posting constructively is another smile.gif

QUOTE(lord_shadow @ Dec 5 2006, 02:14 AM)
I see the point of the administrator in wanting to reduce SPAM, however when this 'punishment' is decided on the basis of posting frequency and 'relevance' of his reply it seems very subjective in nature.

As they say "One man's meat, is another man's poison", so most probably to others it may appear that he is not contributing but in actual fact he may be promoting more deep thoughts and further develop ideas for others.

To se7ven :-
Besides that, as se7en mentioned that 47% of his post is in Movies & Music, how about his/her other posts? Does the 'punishment' take into consideration on those posts which are 'legit' as well? Isn't it unfair if we are taking away posts which CONTRIBUTED? What was the basis used to determine the number of posts reduced?

Another matter which i would also like to know, was he/she warned before this course of action was taken, and was he/she given a chance to explain his/her side of the story?
It's basically based on moderators' discretion, as stated in the rules and regulation

If the offender has explanation to make / thinks that the decision is wrong, do PM the Admin with details. Decision MIGHT be reverted if the reason is compelling.

And about the post count reset, piggymeow's post count is reset due to excessive spamming. Sadly I've gone through five pages of his/her posts, and I fail to see any real contribution is being made by him/her.

Even if he/she DID contribute, I'd say contribution is based on quality of posts, not on the post count. Meaning to say, the post count and seniority system are not really important (at least for me) to judge the member's contribution (neither it is possible for Admins to count one by one which post is constructive, which post is not and make the post count reset in accordance to that).

I'm not 100% sure whether piggymeow has been given verbal warning of any kind before (you'll have to ask the dedicated moderators in the forum), but if you were to ask me whether his/her posts are spam, my neutral answer would definitely be a big "YES" smile.gif

This post has been edited by samurai1337: Dec 5 2006, 11:24 AM
TStan_pang
post Dec 5 2006, 11:04 AM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(lord_shadow @ Dec 5 2006, 02:14 AM)
To tan_pang :-
On your comment of his reply on the Mandarin song, i suggest that you read the whole thread before making accusations or comments that suggests it's irrelevant. The thread starter specifically said Mandarin songs would be OK too. (as shown below in the quote)

It is especially, these cases that i worry about, people complaining without getting the full picture first.
As Doomsday had put this matter in context, a SPAM should be regarded when it is irrelevant to the subject or stupid replies. Judging from piggymeow's reply, it can only show that he/she does not choose to express his/her thoughts as articulate as others would. In fact, most of the short replies also consists of questions which are valid to the topic (albeit a  little short)
my mistake thats i didnt follow that whole thread notworthy.gif
but if look at other post, i think it is obvious that he is spamming
maybe you think that his post is not a spam
but as KilJim said, his post are 'generally agreed to be spam'

if there's no any reply from you or piggymeow today
this thread will be close as the reason: nothing more have to discuss.

and for piggymeow, you can PM any moderator to give explanation
piggymeow
post Dec 5 2006, 03:29 PM

love Piggy, love Meow, love Me
810 posts

hi all, piggymeow here...
piggymeow
post Dec 5 2006, 03:35 PM

810 posts

i'm so surprise for the purnishment tat i have...

1 liner post...i don know 1 liner post is the problem...coz sometime i feel tat if u can write everything in one line and people understood wat u saying is enough...izzit need to post 20 liners only consider good??

i think i did give or contribute my own opinion to the topic...but i don think all the forumer everytime when post will give opinion rite??? sometime u'll share wat u get from your friend or ur own thinking and share in the forum rite???...i think a lot forumer also do the same way...

piggymeow
post Dec 5 2006, 03:48 PM

810 posts

i think many forumer also will tell the bad thing about the movie/drama/music in the forum rite??? if u said is bad review then how come some of the forumer can said this "actor" not good tat "movie" no so nice or......................izzzit all tis also consider bad feedback or review??? i think everybody also have their own opinion and can tell the truth rite???

i'm not wanna increase my post count...becoz got few days i'm so bz for my work...so i don have time to post and active in the forum...and i'm on leave yesterday...tat's y i got a lot of time can sit down and post and active in the forum...i also active in other forum...and in few minutes i also post a lot of post...how come can consider as i'm a "post count collector"???

i'm bz for my work...i like movie and music...so i have no time go for cinema or buy latest album sometime...i only can know the latest update through the forum...tat's y i interested in every topic...and i'm a fast typer...izzzit a problem???

i know TS want contonese song...but i think this is another very hot and good song rite now so i recommend to him izzit a problem too??? did he mention cannot recommend mandarin song??? i juz share the nice n good song with he/she...

how to judge tat i'm a "post count collector"??? based on i active in every topic and post up all in the same time???

Mgsrulz
post Dec 5 2006, 03:51 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(piggymeow @ Dec 5 2006, 03:29 PM)
hi all, piggymeow here...
QUOTE(piggymeow @ Dec 5 2006, 03:35 PM)
i'm so surprise for the purnishment tat i have...

1 liner post...i don know 1 liner post is the problem...coz sometime i feel tat if u can write everything in one line and people understood wat u saying is enough...izzit need to post 20 liners only consider good??

i think i did give or contribute my own opinion to the topic...but i don think all the forumer everytime when post will give opinion rite??? sometime u'll share wat u get from your friend or ur own thinking and share in the forum rite???...i think a lot forumer also do the same way...
QUOTE(piggymeow @ Dec 5 2006, 03:48 PM)
i think many forumer also will tell the bad thing about the movie/drama/music in the forum rite??? if u said is bad review then how come some of the forumer can said this "actor" not good tat "movie" no so nice or......................izzzit all tis also consider bad feedback or review??? i think everybody also have their own opinion and can tell the truth rite???
i'm not wanna increase my post count...becoz got few days i'm so bz for my work...so i don have time to post and active in the forum...and i'm on leave yesterday...tat's y i got a lot of time can sit down and post and active in the forum...i also active in other forum...and in few minutes i also post a lot of post...how come can consider as i'm a "post count collector"???

i'm bz for my work...i like movie and music...so i have no time go for cinema or buy latest album sometime...i only can know the latest update through the forum...tat's y i interested in every topic...and i'm a fast typer...izzzit a problem???

i know TS want contonese song...but i think this is another very hot and good song rite now so i recommend to him izzit a problem too??? did he mention cannot recommend mandarin song??? i juz share the nice n good song with he/she...

how to judge tat i'm a "post count collector"??? based on i active in every topic and post up all in the same time???
you are aware of the existence of the EDIT button,arent you?
RBR
post Dec 5 2006, 03:57 PM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

piggymeow, how have your posts advanced the conversation?

haven saw for this movie be4...tat's y don know bout tis movie...

when is the released date??? i think tis movie must watch leh...

a korea movie rite?

the movie out ready???

ghost rider??? who's the actor???

se7en
post Dec 5 2006, 04:03 PM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

piggymeow, we understand you can summarize everything you want to say in one line - you were not warned for that. Here is a brief list of some of your replies.

i like britney but now she like.........
still got this boy band ah???
izzit a nice movie?? haven watch it...
thanx for the link...

Basically your last 200 or so replies have been of similar nature. Not to mention, even in this thread, you had to put 3 replies in just to make one point. There is an edit button you should learn to make use of.
piggymeow
post Dec 5 2006, 04:03 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(badawi_rocks @ Dec 5 2006, 03:57 PM)
piggymeow, how have your posts advanced the conversation?
because i don know r not sure so i ask for the info...
Sesshoumaru
post Dec 5 2006, 04:04 PM

1,190 posts

What is needed, is that you post each of your 'one-liner' with supporting statements. Sorry habit from another forum, so I'll be quoting it with my style.

haven saw for this movie be4...tat's y don know bout tis movie...

Haven't watched, don't comment. Simple solution if you are unable to offer soild opinions.

when is the released date??? i think tis movie must watch leh...

Google, or browse through the posts first to see if there is such information provided. And again, don't post your opinion without solid support.

a korea movie rite?

Google. Browse through posts.

the movie out ready???

See above.

ghost rider??? who's the actor???

See above.

If you have no time, then don't post. Don't post for the sake of 'posting'. Fast typer? I type "I think so" in 100 threads in a time period of 24 hours. Am I a fast typer now =)?

0.0189sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:27 AM