Guys do you think this course is worth it? I am a beginner.
Bursa Method
Investors Club V9, Previously known as Traders Kopitiam
Apr 23 2017, 06:41 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
285 posts Joined: Jan 2017 |
Apr 24 2017, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 23 2017, 09:02 PM) QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ Apr 23 2017, 11:00 PM) QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Apr 23 2017, 11:25 PM) WTH. With that type of price, we can buy 20 books on value investing. I started reading books on personal finance and then moved on to investment books. Yes. Quite expensive. RM 1988. But then if anyone join before can tell me if it's more useful than reading books alone?Diving in straight would be committing harakiri. Thanks for your advice! I not yet join, now I doubt I will join |
Apr 24 2017, 12:31 AM
QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Apr 24 2017, 12:22 AM) IMHO, you should buy 1 or 2 books on value investing first. Read it and see if you can understand and apply it to practice. I have doubt with books because I'm afraid some sections of those books from US may only apply to US stock market. Does this happen to be the case?Some people do better reading books while others need a mentor/teacher to teach them. Just a thought. Can these two books be apply in our market? Thanks for your guidance The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing. A Book of Practical Counsel (Revised Edition) Security Analysis, Sixth Edition (Leather Bound Edition) This post has been edited by Nemozai: Apr 24 2017, 12:32 AM |
Apr 24 2017, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Apr 24 2017, 01:33 AM) I guess you are from Generation Y? Then you need a newer book. Try 'Rule #1: The Simple Strategy for Successful Investing in Only 15 Minutes a Week! by Phil Town. Thank you for your recommendations. I will get this It is worth its weight in gold. Good luck mate. |
Apr 25 2017, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 25 2017, 10:06 AM) Financial analysis basically is rather the same across, but due to difference in corporate practice, culture, how management being run even company history etc, it may affect how the company is valued by investors aka how the share price performance. After some reading (I'm still noob I know), I believe that value investors do not invest only on super duper undervalued and cheap stock. What u mentioned here for those who ended up with "red chip" are because they are not interpreting the first component of value investing.Eg, Base on financial figure, some so called "red chips" were super cheap and extreme value, hard to resist. Share price Rm0.10 NTA RM1.00 PE 1-3 Super duper undervalued and cheap. But we know some of the outcome of it, despite look super duper cheap on paper. Investing is not a science formula like everytime 1+1 must be equal to 2. Today ABC company may be highly valued, but few years later due to obsolete/change in technology, change of favour of consumer pattern etc, its value can diminish quickly one. We never know. This is something any book won't able tell us one. In stock market, whenever we are paying a share price level, we are buying the company "future" not buying the past. While the flaw of financial analysis is we are buying based on the figure that already happened aka the past. So there is some "art" in investing as well. Figure serves as guidance, but not a definite factor. Some old timers using "art" or "instinct" of investing, only investing in some well known good management company that always rewarding the shareholders. They do pretty well in the stock market, in fact may earn a fortune with long term holding. While another person may be always punching figure doing PE, NTA count, financial analysis ended up bought tons of so called "red chip". I think it comes down to 2 components: 1. First, find a good company 2. Then only we proceed to calculate it's intrinsic value based on whatever formula (and this intrinsic value is just an assumption, not a perfect number. We must act based on imperfect assumptions This post has been edited by Nemozai: Apr 25 2017, 11:26 AM |
Apr 26 2017, 01:12 PM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 26 2017, 11:56 AM) Yeah I really don't chase profits. I just treat my stock account like my unit trust account. leave it and monitor once in a while. don't have the time to sacrifice my main income to be staring at the klse everyday. You just excel in everything. I look up to you |
Apr 27 2017, 11:28 AM
Anyone can recommend a website or app or anything that can let us obtain 5-10 years of historical financial data? Better if got 5-10 years historical financial ratio (P/E, P/B, current ratio, DE etc).
This post has been edited by Nemozai: Apr 27 2017, 11:32 AM |
May 15 2017, 12:14 AM
Hi all sifus, I got two things want to clarify since I have been reading books from US.
1. Is there a FED equivalent in Malaysia where they try hard to stabilize the volatile market and try to control bubbles by raising and lowering interest rates and printing money in Malaysia? If yes, what's the name of such organization and where can I monitor the interest rates of Malaysia? 2. In US, investors are require to pay capital gains tax and it depends on how long you hold a counter and also dividend tax. We need to pay such tax in Malaysia? Thanks. |
May 18 2017, 08:36 PM
Bought Scicom at 2.300 today, good buy?
May 19 2017, 09:15 AM
QUOTE(lowya @ May 19 2017, 07:55 AM) From what I know, the total equity is 93.46 and shares outstanding is 355.45, hence the NTA approximately 0.28. If the company go bankrupt, I will get 0.28 per share. I paid 2.30 per share. 87.82% loss if it go bankrupt.From my little knowledge, NTA should be at least 2/3 of 2.30 which is 1.53, am I correct ? 1. Are what I mentioned correct? Please correct me. 2. Can sifu tell me is NTA very important criteria is selecting stock? From what I read, none recommend to use NTA as one of the criteria. This post has been edited by Nemozai: May 19 2017, 09:16 AM |
May 19 2017, 11:11 AM
May 19 2017, 11:15 AM
May 22 2017, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 22 2017, 04:49 PM) my suggestion is stop whatever you are doing and reflect. not in those stocks but rather yourself. control your greed. control your fear. I opened by cds account in February 2017 and so far I have not sold a single share. all my returns are currently in four digits. I done that! I followed some stock selection criteria, then calculated the intrinsic value, all I get in bursa Malaysia is a few stocks only (less than 5). Those you guys mentioned does not meet my criteria at all. Like AA for eg., Inari, AAX all doesn't meet my selection criteria. Or they exceed my fair value. I see I'm missing quite a lot. Can sifus suggest to me what I did wrong ?my plan is to buy companies I believe in and as a customer. take for example today where tunepro is having their agm. lots of hooha but still I don't budge because I don't buy insurance for my flights and tunepro bases all their profit on AA. if AA profit goes down rest assured Tunepro will follow suit. Stop looking at TPs, charts, PE, returns and lost. focus on building your portfolio and treat it like a bonsai tree you just answered your own question. it means it's a risky move to invest in the anak but the returns can be rewarding. do you have the stomach to play warrants? if not then stick to mother share. This post has been edited by Nemozai: May 22 2017, 06:16 PM |
May 22 2017, 07:17 PM
QUOTE(buncho89 @ May 22 2017, 07:07 PM) daymmmmm and here i am stuck with cimb 0.42% and getting same shit treatment as every broker out there. Only thing is easy to transfer from my bank account since cimb - cimb. I use HLeBrokingHow does one transfer to a different broker? 3 ways to make payment 1. Funds transfer/IBG - RM0.00/RM 0.11/RM0.53 Any bank to Hong Leong Bank or Maybank (Hong Leong's Maybank account) 2. ePayment - through HLeBroking website, no need settlement (trouble free) Hong Leong Bank Maybank - RM0.53 3. Bill Payment Maybank2U - RM0.53 CIMB clicks - RM0.00 HL online - RM0.00 This post has been edited by Nemozai: May 22 2017, 07:19 PM |
May 23 2017, 09:15 AM
May 26 2017, 12:32 PM
QUOTE(IMBeta305 @ May 26 2017, 09:55 AM) You can't. You need more value. But you can roughly estimate the risk of your investment using NTA alone. It's the net worth per share of a company. It generally mean if the company go bankrupt today, all you get per share is the NTA. Simple rules is to make sure NTA should be less than 2/3 of share price to minimize your risk.I asked this question here before but sifus here no reply me. I found this out by researching my own and I'm not sure whether I'm correct. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by Nemozai: May 26 2017, 01:13 PM |
May 29 2017, 08:20 PM
Bubble bursting? A recession happening? 🤔
Jun 1 2017, 10:38 AM