6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Medical Conditions GERD / Heartburn Problems, Anyone suffering this too?

TSjohnseamus
post Nov 13 2015, 04:25 PM

831 posts

QUOTE(DaydreamV2 @ Nov 13 2015, 04:20 PM)
Ya. some pain here and there. Another problem I am having now is short breath severe cough. According to GP its due the reflux went into my lung.  cry.gif  cry.gif
Sounds serious bro , have you consulted a gastro specialist before?

Seems like its really hard to find a good doc for gerd. i went to see 2 gastro before and they don't seem to care much although i'm in pain. Most doc just tells me this is 'nothing serious' and dont worry about it just take the pills. If you guys know any good doc pls recommend to us smile.gif
DaydreamV2
post Nov 13 2015, 04:28 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(johnseamus @ Nov 13 2015, 04:25 PM)

Seems like its really hard to find a good doc for gerd. i went to see 2 gastro before and they don't seem to care much although i'm in pain. Most doc just tells me this is 'nothing serious' and dont worry about it just take the pills. If you guys know any good doc pls recommend to us smile.gif
Lol. A GP once told me that I will not die due this this. rclxub.gif
SUSslimey
post Nov 13 2015, 04:52 PM

6,914 posts

Have you spoken to a surgeon to discuss about surgical option of hiatal hernia repair plus fundoplication?
barium
post Nov 13 2015, 07:30 PM

159 posts

basically all the specialist doctor out there will just say the same..am gerd patient here too. have it almost 5 years. keep coming on and off. Seen alot of specialist and most of them just like you mentioned, "never care". They just cant understand how suffering this is to us. I cant eat, cant sleep nicely. And they can just easily say its not serious, just eat your medicine. Everytime when they say this to me, the moment i walk out their room, i pray to god hope that they get GERD just like me... So that they understand the feeling of "not serious" that they said to me.. mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif
TSjohnseamus
post Nov 13 2015, 08:43 PM

831 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Nov 13 2015, 04:52 PM)
Have you spoken to a surgeon to discuss about surgical option of hiatal hernia repair plus fundoplication?
When I did the scope , the specialist advised not to do anything about it since its just small hernia and my symptoms can be controlled by PPI.

QUOTE(barium @ Nov 13 2015, 07:30 PM)
basically all the specialist doctor out there will just say the same..am gerd patient here too. have it almost 5 years. keep coming on and off. Seen alot of specialist and most of them just like you mentioned, "never care". They just cant understand how suffering this is to us. I cant eat, cant sleep nicely. And they can just easily say its not serious, just eat your medicine. Everytime when they say this to me, the moment i walk out their room, i pray to god hope that they get GERD just like me... So that they understand the feeling of "not serious" that they said to me.. mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif
Yes exactly , I need one good doc that cares too. Most of them seems like they just want to make a quick one. I have read a lot online and it seems like there could be a dozen possible supplements one can take to solve the heartburn.

I've tried some of them , will be trying HCl supplement and licorice root next to see if it works for me. Some western researcher believe gerd is caused by less acid not too much acid.
alicia
post Nov 13 2015, 10:24 PM

206 posts

I'm a very serious gerd sufferer for at least 3 years. Was on nexium 40mg or pariet 40mg with ganaton daily.

My gerd was so bad until I would suddenly vomit and have to be admitted for few days. It happen few months once.

I went through surgery and the reason because it starts affecting my throat. It was so severe that I was attended by a respiratory specialist that couldn't do much as the acid kept coming up. I was on double maximum dose of nexium but it still couldn't help.

I even went to Singapore to seek treatment as my uncle is a doctor in SGH but yet I still suffered

Luckily my doctor doesn't give up on me. Few gastro that I've consulted already giving up. Just lucky that its been fully cure and I'm happy that at least its a year now I'm still gerd free. However, I still see my Dr at least few months once to follow up.

This post has been edited by alicia: Nov 13 2015, 10:26 PM
stormaker
post Nov 13 2015, 10:43 PM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(alicia @ Nov 13 2015, 10:24 PM)
I'm a very serious gerd sufferer for at least 3 years. Was on nexium 40mg or pariet 40mg with ganaton daily.

My gerd was so bad until I would suddenly vomit and have to be admitted for few days. It happen few months once.

I went through surgery and the reason because it starts affecting my throat. It was so severe that I was attended by a respiratory specialist that couldn't do much as the acid kept coming up. I was on double maximum dose of nexium but it still couldn't help.

I even went to Singapore to seek treatment as my uncle is a doctor in SGH but yet I still suffered

Luckily my doctor doesn't give up on me. Few gastro that I've consulted already giving up. Just lucky that its been fully cure and I'm happy that at least its a year now I'm still gerd free. However, I still see my Dr at least few months once to follow up.
I couldn't imagine how suffer you 're in that 3 years, but glad to hear that u're finally gerd free.

May I know what surgery u went through ? And do u mean the surgery cured ur gerd ?

Thanks!
barium
post Nov 13 2015, 10:47 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(johnseamus @ Nov 13 2015, 08:43 PM)
When I did the scope , the specialist advised not to do anything about it since its just small hernia and my symptoms can be controlled by PPI.
Yes exactly , I need one good doc that cares too. Most of them seems like they just want to make a quick one. I have read a lot online and it seems like there could be a dozen possible supplements one can take to solve the heartburn.

I've tried some of them , will be trying HCl supplement and licorice root next to see if it works for me. Some western researcher believe gerd is caused by less acid not too much acid.
My case is definitely too much acid.

Last time I was on Nexium 40mg, but the medicine gave me severe headache. Then later on i changed to dexilant 60mg. Works good for me without any side effect. Have been keeping this medicine with me all the time in case GERD attacks again. As for supplement, I'm taking Nuvapine A320 daily. can see some improvement. Also, I've totally cut off all spicy food. Spicy food is the biggest enemy to us GERD patient. so dont take it. i miss nasi lemak cry.gif cry.gif

stormaker
post Nov 13 2015, 11:05 PM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(barium @ Nov 13 2015, 10:47 PM)

Last time I was on Nexium 40mg, but the medicine gave me severe headache. Then later on i changed to dexilant 60mg. Works good for me without any side effect. Have been keeping this medicine with me all the time in case GERD attacks again. As for supplement, I'm taking Nuvapine A320 daily. can see some improvement. Also, I've totally cut off all spicy food. Spicy food is the biggest enemy to us GERD patient. so dont take it. i miss nasi lemak  cry.gif  cry.gif
Nuvapine A320 ... interesting ... might try it but abit pricey for me sad.gif

Thanks for the sharing !
TSjohnseamus
post Nov 13 2015, 11:54 PM

831 posts

QUOTE(barium @ Nov 13 2015, 10:47 PM)

Last time I was on Nexium 40mg, but the medicine gave me severe headache. Then later on i changed to dexilant 60mg. Works good for me without any side effect. Have been keeping this medicine with me all the time in case GERD attacks again. As for supplement, I'm taking Nuvapine A320 daily. can see some improvement. Also, I've totally cut off all spicy food. Spicy food is the biggest enemy to us GERD patient. so dont take it. i miss nasi lemak  cry.gif  cry.gif
Yes spicy foods triggers me too but strangely sour foods like ketchup/lemons dont trigger me. I can eat a whole bk whopper meal feeling normal but just abit of chilli and it burns.

Just take nasi lemak without the sambal then i've been doing that for sometime now lol

How old are you guys if you don't mind me asking? i'm only 26 this yr..

This post has been edited by johnseamus: Nov 13 2015, 11:56 PM
samowong
post Nov 14 2015, 12:00 AM

269 posts

My advice:
1. If taking PPIs long term, please monitor your renal function and creatinine regularly as incidences of acute interstitial nephritis have been reported

2. I've encountered a case with painful gynaecomastia after prolonged intake of PPIs.

3. Food to avoid (on top of all that's been suggested) - alcohol, caffeine, "lemak" food, and smoking. Eat frequent small meals.

4. Lose the tummy (if present) and / or tight jeans - they cause increased intra abdominal pressure which may delay gastric emptying and cause more reflux.

5. Focus when eating - the gastrointestinal tract is lined with smooth muscles. Smooth muscles are controlled by the autonomic nervous system, which is beyond our control. But what's on our mind affects the motility of the stomach and the intestines.
I.e when you're munching on something while rushing through your work, your body is in sympathetic overdrive which slows the gastric motility, but the gastric needs to work to digest the food you're munching, so, go figure.

6. De-stress - Similar to No.5, stress hormones put your body in a sympathetic state. Even a short walk does wonders. I find a lot of people who are under stress do not know that they are in fact stressed.

TSjohnseamus
post Nov 14 2015, 12:13 AM

831 posts

QUOTE(samowong @ Nov 14 2015, 12:00 AM)
My advice:
1. If taking PPIs long term, please monitor your renal function and creatinine regularly as incidences of acute interstitial nephritis have been reported

2. I've encountered a case with painful gynaecomastia after prolonged intake of PPIs.

3. Food to avoid (on top of all that's been suggested) - alcohol, caffeine, "lemak" food, and smoking. Eat frequent small meals.

4. Lose the tummy (if present) and / or tight jeans - they cause increased intra abdominal pressure which may delay gastric emptying and cause more reflux.

5. Focus when eating - the gastrointestinal tract is lined with smooth muscles. Smooth muscles are controlled by the autonomic nervous system, which is beyond our control. But what's on our mind affects the motility of the stomach and the intestines.
I.e when you're munching on something while rushing through your work, your body is in sympathetic overdrive which slows the gastric motility, but the gastric needs to work to digest the food you're munching, so, go figure.

6. De-stress - Similar to No.5, stress hormones put your body in a sympathetic state. Even a short walk does wonders. I find a lot of people who are under stress do not know that they are in fact stressed.
Thank you, very helpful advices there.

Stress definitely does play a big part in the cause of gerd. In fact most if not all docs i seen told me my gerd is caused by stress. My stress is alot lower now than few months ago and have noticed i can tahan 1-2 days without omeprazole now.

I have tried manuka honey before , it helps the stomach alot if you're on ppi but doesn't really help the heartburn for me.

Apple cider vinegar - it's like gaviscon effect. Few hrs of relief then burning comes back.

Calcium supplements - No difference for me, but for those on long term ppi should consider taking as ppi is known to reduce calcium absorption.
barium
post Nov 14 2015, 10:01 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(johnseamus @ Nov 13 2015, 11:54 PM)
Yes spicy foods triggers me too but strangely sour foods like ketchup/lemons dont trigger me. I can eat a whole bk whopper meal feeling normal but just abit of chilli and it burns.

Just take nasi lemak without the sambal then i've been doing that for sometime now lol

How old are you guys if you don't mind me asking? i'm only 26 this yr..
I'm also 26 years old : ). Dont whop a whole lot of food at one time. its not good. you need to practice to eat small and frequent meals. especially at night time.

You gotta be really patient with GERD. you're only having it for 6 months. Many of us have it for years. the longer you have it, the better you know how to cope with it, the non medication way. It requires a strict discipline on food intake and some lifestyle changes.

QUOTE(samowong @ Nov 14 2015, 12:00 AM)
My advice:

+1.

totally agree. I took my dexilant PPI only when necessary. like once or sometimes twice a week.

the fact that gaining weight will only worsen the situation, i've then started working out just to make sure i dont get fat. biggrin.gif

sembilan
post Nov 14 2015, 05:56 PM

644 posts

I had this pain for the past three weeks and due to my low tolerance of pain, I went to see a gastroenterologist and went for an upper endoscopy procedure today. Negative for h. pylori but positive for hernia and GERD. Will have to visit the doctor again next week for further consultation, which I think will most probably be useless.

I feel as if I am losing it soon, eating bland soupy stuff for the past three weeks.
TSjohnseamus
post Nov 14 2015, 06:13 PM

831 posts

QUOTE(barium @ Nov 14 2015, 10:01 AM)
I'm also 26 years old : ). Dont whop a whole lot of food at one time. its not good. you need to practice to eat small and frequent meals. especially at night time.

You gotta be really patient with GERD. you're only having it for 6 months. Many of us have it for years. the longer you have it, the better you know how to cope with it, the non medication way. It requires a strict discipline on food intake and some lifestyle changes.
+1.

totally agree. I took my dexilant PPI only when necessary. like once or sometimes twice a week.

the fact that gaining weight will only worsen the situation, i've then started working out just to make sure i dont get fat.  biggrin.gif
Yes i guess i still have more to learn from this. You're 26 too? How long have you been suffering for?

QUOTE(sembilan @ Nov 14 2015, 05:56 PM)
I had this pain for the past three weeks and due to my low tolerance of pain, I went to see a gastroenterologist and went for an upper endoscopy procedure today. Negative for h. pylori but positive for hernia and GERD. Will have to visit the doctor again next week for further consultation, which I think will most probably be useless.

I feel as if I am losing it soon, eating bland soupy stuff for the past three weeks.
Bro i know how you feel. Did they tell you how big the hernia was?

You can try to do this simple exercise every morning to find some relief - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qu2MQqS2ucY

But don't do it after eating, before eating in the morning works best for me. I drink 2 full cups of water and do the dropping down action.

This post has been edited by johnseamus: Nov 14 2015, 06:16 PM
sembilan
post Nov 14 2015, 06:20 PM

644 posts

Not yet, I guess that's what the consultation next week is for.

I have lost 2kg since this started and have been taking a break from working out. I finally felt better and went yesterday but didn't manage to do much because I didn't have any energy. Over the course of three weeks, the thing I find most troublesome is the amount of food intake, eat too little, pain, eat slightly too much, pain. And by the way, I took Zantac 150mg and it's working like a charm, but it's giving me diarrhea.
alicia
post Nov 14 2015, 08:29 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Nov 13 2015, 10:43 PM)
I couldn't imagine how suffer you 're in that 3 years, but glad to hear that u're finally gerd free.

May I know what surgery u went through ? And do u mean the surgery cured ur gerd ?

Thanks!
I went for fundoplication and hiatus hernia repair. Yes, the surgery cured my gerd.

I was an extreme case. I've refrained from a lot of food that can trigger gerd but it just couldn't help. No coffee, spicy food etc for 3 years. And the cost of medication are getting higher as well. One box of nexium/pariet only for 1 week and on top of that I'm taking Ganaton and probiotics.

I'm glad that I really did the surgery as it was getting extremely bad and now, I can take whatever I want including coffee.

Whatever remedy that everyone said help, I've tried but it just couldn't work for me.
alicia
post Nov 14 2015, 08:33 PM

206 posts

I was lucky that I found a really caring Doctor. I've also seen a few and had bad experience. Support and encouragement from the dr is really important.
yashin
post Dec 25 2015, 10:29 PM

152 posts

Tried similar to everyone here, famotidine, zantac, nexium. Nexium seemed to me the best but also very expensive. It was good though, for a while when j was taking it about once a week. Then sometimes one per day.

Also tried probiotics, different types but I found it had little effect.

Dietry changes proved more difficult and not always easy to figure out.

Recently read that many gerd sufferers had low levels of cacium and vit D, started taking a supplement and not had a tablet since. I read some calcium types can make gerd worse so look into it.

It seems there may be a link between acid reflux and these mineral ions being low. Am willing to continue to try a supplement if it easea my symptoms and stops me needing the pills.

Positive effects so far. Type calcium and gerd into Google, lots of articles

TSjohnseamus
post Dec 26 2015, 12:22 AM

831 posts

QUOTE(yashin @ Dec 25 2015, 10:29 PM)
Tried similar to everyone here, famotidine, zantac, nexium. Nexium seemed to me the best but also very expensive. It was good though, for a while when j was taking it about once a week. Then sometimes one per day.

Also tried probiotics, different types but I found it had little effect.

Dietry changes proved more difficult and not always easy to figure out.

Recently read that many gerd sufferers had low levels of cacium and vit D, started taking a supplement and not had a tablet since. I read some calcium types can make gerd worse so look into it. 

It seems there may be a link between acid reflux and these mineral ions being low. Am willing to continue to try a supplement if it easea my symptoms and stops me needing the pills.

Positive effects so far. Type calcium and gerd into Google, lots of articles
Mind to share which calcium supplement that worked for you?

I've taken calcium - magnesium supplements before but didnt helped much

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0230sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:18 PM