Yamaha Silent Guitars, SLG100N etc..

SUSbman
post Dec 3 2006, 08:26 PM, updated 19y ago

503 posts

Anyone of you ever tested/used one of these silent guitars ?

What do you think of them?

http://www.yamaha.com/guitars/silent/0,,CT...D600022,00.html
Everdying
post Dec 4 2006, 02:33 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,730 posts

i was planning on getting one, but not at its price of RM2k for a brand new one.
from reviews, the nylon string version sounds better than the steel.

there is also a cheaper crapname brand here thats about RM500-600+.

Banzai_san
post Dec 5 2006, 09:54 AM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

Have a look at this vid... Dont know if its Yamaha or what brand though

http://youtube.com/watch?v=fUoXgqhMG-Q
The_YongGrand
post Dec 5 2006, 11:19 AM

283 posts

I tested it a few times already. It's just as clean and nice. But you might need to use an AC adaptor or maybe a rechargable battery if you want to bring it anywhere. biggrin.gif
SUSbman
post Dec 5 2006, 04:33 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(The_YongGrand @ Dec 5 2006, 11:19 AM)
I tested it a few times already. It's just as clean and nice. But you might need to use an AC adaptor or maybe a rechargable battery if you want to bring it anywhere. biggrin.gif
The problem is if it's as clean and nice, but cost more and not as portable, why would anyone choose a silent guitar over a conventional one, unless they're gigging ?
Everdying
post Dec 5 2006, 05:05 PM

30,730 posts

who said its not as portable?
you do know the side wings can be removed, so you can just carry what looks like a long piece of wood? tongue.gif
blacktrix
post Dec 5 2006, 06:58 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Hmmmmmmm. feels like a contradiction....
first said that it's not as portable...... then says "unless their gigging"......
isn't portability a KEY factor in gigging?
Everdying
post Dec 5 2006, 07:04 PM

30,730 posts

and who said ppl chose silent guitars if they're gigging?
i have yet to see someone use one here in gigs.

SUSbman
post Dec 5 2006, 07:06 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Dec 5 2006, 06:58 PM)
Hmmmmmmm. feels like a contradiction....
first said that it's not as portable...... then says "unless their gigging"......
isn't portability a KEY factor in gigging?
It's not portable in the sense you need to power it.

Even with batteries, it's still not really considered portable if you run out of em.

The reason for using this guitar I suppose, because you can jack it into an amplifier and that's good for gigging.

If you gig with acoustic, have to mic it and it probably won't sound as good from what I read, unless you're using acoustic electric.

Still, it boils down to the final thing, price.

Why would one choose a silent guitar over a traditional acoustic or an acoustic electric?

This post has been edited by bman: Dec 5 2006, 07:07 PM
Everdying
post Dec 5 2006, 07:30 PM

30,730 posts

the battery case is obsolete.
a good gigging musician will always make sure their batteries have enough juice.
else then they carry their effects pedals for wat?

even if you use a acoustic electric you still need a 9v battery.

if you're confused over whether you want a silent guitar or not, then its not for you tongue.gif

you can always just mic a regular acoustic, but if you've ever tried there is always the problem of feedback.
and of cos you cannot stray too far from the mic.
just have to sit down like a dork on the chair.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Dec 5 2006, 07:32 PM
ReeveX.com
post Dec 5 2006, 11:54 PM

Music Fanatic "but" NooB
840 posts

rm2k for a silent guitar...i juz dun think is too worth it lo...this kind of guitar lost the acoustic sound of the guitar...when it's amplified...u get a very electrified sound which i dun really like on an acoustic or classical guitar...

juz 2 my cent.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ReeveX.com: Dec 5 2006, 11:55 PM
The_YongGrand
post Dec 9 2006, 03:24 PM

283 posts

The silent guitar has a particular use - you can play it with your earphones and you won't be waking or jolting your neighbours up when you are playing at night or midnight or the wee hours.

And also, you can hook this thing up to the computer thru the amp and do a nice recording, without all the hassles of putting a mic in front. That's the begineer's recording time!

Other than that, it's still fine. I wish it was a little bit cheaper. biggrin.gif
SUSbman
post Dec 9 2006, 07:22 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(The_YongGrand @ Dec 9 2006, 03:24 PM)
The silent guitar has a particular use - you can play it with your earphones and you won't be waking or jolting your neighbours up when you are playing at night or midnight or the wee hours.

And also, you can hook this thing up to the computer thru the amp and do a nice recording, without all the hassles of putting a mic in front. That's the begineer's recording time!

Other than that, it's still fine. I wish it was a little bit cheaper. biggrin.gif
Errr, I can do this with a strat + microcube (battery pack)

Or with an electric acoustic and the microcube.

Wouldn't it be cheaper compared to the silent guitar ?

under 2k with the setups i mentioned, but with the silent guitar... it's over 2k, and if you bust the unit... you have to get a new one.

With the setup i mentioned, if using a cheap squier, just replace with another cheap one.
Everdying
post Dec 9 2006, 07:43 PM

30,730 posts

you are forgetting something rite?
even if you practice with a electric acoustic with headphones, there is no point cos its not silent.

electrics also feel completely different.

and yes, the yamaha silent guitar is silent (duh), and you plug the headphones direct into the guitar.

like everything, if you got the money and you want it, go get it.

0.0168sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:11 PM