Overclocking for old pc, worth it?

YammieR6
post Dec 3 2006, 08:10 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(PhantomThief @ Dec 3 2006, 06:38 PM)
I have a pretty old pc, and i can't get a new one. I'm still in school, so basically my dad won't allow it. But he'll let me upgrade it.  My motherboard is a KT4AV, by MSI. I checked, and the best processor i can get is an AMD 3000+ xp. Is it worth getting and then overclocking to try and get as much speed as possible from this motherboard?

My video card is FX5200  and i have 1GB kingston ram , so those two should be decent enough.

Thanks for any help.
That graphic card is considered very low-end but at least it'll let you play games...at the lowest settings. Ram is okay , but with a modern games expect some glitches/lags.

So ...what does that mean? you have a low budget/dad will pay but only for upgrading/
YammieR6
post Dec 4 2006, 03:02 AM

189 posts

You have to expect to spend/upgrade PC's every 3~4 years to keep up.

If you have a thousand ringgit , come up with RM4OO anyway you can and get a XBOX360 - RM13XX or RM14XX
YammieR6
post Dec 4 2006, 03:03 AM

189 posts

Basically the upgrade" theory applies to console games too. So how bout adopting a cheaper hobby haha lol j/k

0.0145sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:20 PM