PROTON SAGA BLM, FL & FLX Thread V69, 69 :3

dirtrun
post Jul 29 2016, 08:56 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(blast89 @ Jul 28 2016, 06:26 PM)
wider better. more surface contact with the road. helps with grip and breaking. hehe.
Besides looks..

Not necesarrily true..
Wider rubbers offer better grip in the dry.. the wider it is, easier to hydroplane..
Wider oso means itll have more rolling resistance n itll suck up wat little torque de little engine has n u will lose pick-up..
All trade-offs - never someting for nuthin
dirtrun
post Jul 29 2016, 12:21 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(renjiv2 @ Jul 29 2016, 11:46 AM)
Thx a lot for advice. Front tyre was arnd 30-40% threat, rear arnd 50%. Was thought to change the pair of front 1st for wider tyre & exchange it to rear. If as said no much difference thn no point to change wider right?

Another question. If install anti roll bar on the stock car saga sv setup, does it make any difference for the car balance & cornering?

My point jz wanna make the car less bouncing & less leaning whn cornering without spent much on modifications. Plz advice & my apologies if the question been asked again on previous thread. Thx

Hi,'

Like l said earlier, there are trade-offs.. if u want better handling means a firmer suspension n wider tyres [ we are talking about dry weather.. here.. it seldom work for both..] n comfort n probably accelaration will suffer..
To me there is only a very slight difference [handling] in fitting those 'bars' - if u want a more visceral experience change the springs [preferably a decent branded one like Eibach - at least got some semblance of comfort left..]

Cheers smile.gif
D

dirtrun
post Aug 4 2016, 04:50 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(wkc @ Aug 4 2016, 03:58 PM)
Guys, does changing sports rim will have better FC compare to stock rims?
Planning to change to 15" and change my exhaust also
Rims can only help FC if its lighter than the one it replaces..
U can help it by changing a higher sidewalled - sized tyre meaning like from 185/60 14 to 185/65 14 .. Effectively wat tis means is tat de tyre will travel more per revolution ..
If u change to wider size, l dont tink u can save..
Note pls, handling will suffer if u change to a higher sidewall - size.. Comfort may be increased a bit..

D

This post has been edited by dirtrun: Aug 4 2016, 04:50 PM
dirtrun
post Aug 4 2016, 05:08 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(wkc @ Aug 4 2016, 04:54 PM)
i plan to change to 15". Maybe get a light weight rims from taiwan if possible.
I think will help the FC better compare to stock steel rims. Will wider tyre have any problem when turn or uturn?
Like l said , higher sidewall would mean a bigger diameter n you would get a slight increase on FC [ real time as your meter would still say the same - but you would have actually travelled more ]
Lite weight rims from Taiwan might not be very strong as the original - if tats any concern.. Original steel rims are not tat bad , except it dont look good at all..
If you stay as close to your original offset, then upsizing a rim/tyre combo should not be a problem.. u can ask de tyre shop guy to recommend.. Note pls, xtra width will not help FC at all..
If u want better FC, stay same size..

Cheers
D
dirtrun
post Aug 4 2016, 05:30 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(wkc @ Aug 4 2016, 05:12 PM)
Thanks for the advice. Im not going for wider tyre size actually. My plan was to change to 15" rims
with the normal size tyre. Only thing to check if the rims is stable or not. Seen many rims broken before.
Problem with upsizing is tat its hard to find same width tyres but with bigger diameter - for instance from 185 60 14 its hard to find 185 60 15 tyres best bet is a 185/55 15..

I guess u can ask..
D
dirtrun
post Aug 5 2016, 08:48 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(vandechrome @ Aug 4 2016, 05:46 PM)
been using 15" rims with both 185/55 15 and 195/50 15.

i could say 185/55 more comfort, but u need to forget taking a sharp corner at high speed. 195/50 having better handling.

fuel consumption - 4 years using 15" rims, i don't see any obvious saving. changed my rims once in these 4 years due to Malaysian road. buy a good quality rims than the cheap rims available in most market.
Wider tyres will not aid FC, its actually the reverse..
U need the same size but bigger diameter, then you will see some savings..
But like you said, handling is better the more rubber you put on the road..
So in the end its a much maligned problem of balancing the handling, comfort and FC of a car..

D
dirtrun
post Aug 5 2016, 05:23 PM

3,136 posts

Wah,

4k cheaper than Bezza.. Let the comparos begin..

0.0563sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:49 AM