RPG Hellgate: London, MP Patch 0.7 is UP!/SP Patch 0.6 is UP!

karwaidotnet
post Oct 28 2007, 03:03 AM

come near me and i'll bam bam U...
1,353 posts

somehow by looking at the screenshots posted by several beta-testers makes me feel that the game graphics looks quite similar to Kotor II and NwN2...
and to be honest, i'm not a really a big fan of Kotor2 and NwN2...
the graphic looks kinda cartoonish...

Diablo and Diablo2 - Yes, i am a big fan of these two games...
so i do hope that every beta-testers review about this game being diablo-ish in its environment/gameplay holds true...

else...it's gonna be my another waste of investment in ori game..

This post has been edited by karwaidotnet: Oct 28 2007, 03:05 AM
karwaidotnet
post Nov 1 2007, 12:24 AM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Oct 31 2007, 11:58 PM)
Err, my own opinion.

This game cacat.
why u say so???

gamers who have purchased and successfully installed the game...
PLS GIVE US UR FULL HANDS-ON REVIEW...
preferably wif screenshots...thanx notworthy.gif
karwaidotnet
post Nov 1 2007, 01:09 AM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Nov 1 2007, 12:52 AM)
Actually that's right, it's like diablo with no female archers and no large winged dragons. And no grass. And no swords. And no cool red demon-spawned armor. I mean the creatures look they stepped out of Ultraman smile.gif  I mean look at http://www.strategyinformer.com/pc/hellgat....html?id=168661 -- is that a blue rubber suit or what ? smile.gif

Added on November 1, 2007, 12:55 am

For an online game it might work, maybe. But for a stand-alone solo-player game, it sucks beyond belief.
sucks?
how so?

guys,
hope u can all be more specific wif ur reviews...

SUCKS - what u mean by sucks??? the character doesn't looks handsome/pretty? the graphic doesn't looks as nice as you thought it would be compare to Crysis or Farcry or Fear? the sounds doesn't come out at all? or it play Rock N Roll sounds all the time? or there's no song at all...mute all the way. only footsteps and screams of the zombie can be heard...

Gameplay, much more worst than diablo 2.
Gives some comparison pls...
how is it when compare to diablo 2 it's sucks?
what makes is worst when compare to diablo 2?
what is it lacking compare to diablo 2?
what diablo 2 has but HGL doesn't?
no health/mana potion? no towns portal? no spells? only fews skills to be selected?
weapon all the same only graphic different?

Movement, action, more worst than WoW.
meaning???
i press W it does down? press A it goes RIGHT?
cannot jump? cannot run? cannot sit?
zombie doesn't attack u? only let u attack them blindly?
or monster run away when they see u and u have to chase them around?
when monster got hit one time - it terus collapse...

For an online game it might work, maybe. But for a stand-alone solo-player game, it sucks beyond belief.
why online game might work? but not stand-alone?
any differences? online got this weapon but stand-alone dun?
online got this quest but stand-alone dun have?
online game got more NPC but stand-alone only have few...
online game let u trade weapon wif other players but stand-alone obviously no...
online game will let u become GOD mode, stand-alone got hack 1 time by monster, immediately die on the spot...

dun lah just says SUCKS...
what is poison to a person, might not be for another...

This post has been edited by karwaidotnet: Nov 1 2007, 01:12 AM
karwaidotnet
post Nov 1 2007, 01:13 AM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Nov 1 2007, 01:11 AM)
Ermm, can you try it yourself and flame us back???

I thought I said OPINION?? whistling.gif
if i've tried it, i wouldn't need to ask, do i?
but thanx anyway for giving us ur brief review/OPINION

Added on November 1, 2007, 1:16 am
QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Nov 1 2007, 12:37 AM)
This game is awesome, if u like Diablo 2 with a mixture of WOW ... u will surely luv this.

For me .. its a MUST have game. The choice is ours my fren.
see wif this sorts of review conflicting wif other person review is what most confusing to me rclxub.gif

one person saids its worst compare to Diablo2 and WoW
another person saids, if u like Diablo2 with a mixture of WoW, u'll surely luv it...

does that mean we'll love a game that has some similarities but in the same time worst compare to Diablo2 and WoW?

This post has been edited by karwaidotnet: Nov 1 2007, 01:16 AM
karwaidotnet
post Nov 1 2007, 01:41 AM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Oct 31 2007, 11:15 PM)
Played the single player demo. All the subways look the same. All the rooms that are blocked with rubble, are all blocked with the same rubble. So many things are set to loop it's not even funny anymore. If you look at the fire, it just has a few patterns that endlessly repeat themselves. Same goes for the fire's reflection on the wall and tiles. The in-game maps are very rudimentary and not easy to understand. They tell you to go somewhere, some subway, and you don't know where it is, so you have to wander around until you find it. But um, the models are pretty okay looking.
thanx wodenus....
noted this review from urs earlier on already. notworthy.gif
karwaidotnet
post Nov 2 2007, 01:00 AM

1,353 posts

many notworthy.gif to ZomgWtfHax & Sanction for your great review and honest opinion about the game...
however, would appreciate some screenshots as well....as pictures tells a thousand words... tongue.gif
that said - i am still very grateful for your review...it is very enligtening for me...

it makes ponder about this though after reading ZomgWtfHax review...
does the technical issue only affecting DX10 player?
any player here using DX9 and face the same problem? low frame rate at certain area?
and even wif high-end rig...

and Sanction - u read my mind and take the words out of my mouth... smile.gif

derred - thanks you for your great review/opinion as well.
i do agree wif u...but the review i've read from mag, it does mentioned it provides FPS and 3rd person perspective view in the first few para...so on that part it doesn't really confuse me...

my opinion/feel about the game so far by just looking at the screenshots is that it looks kinda cartoonish....
the interface coloring scheme...it just looks plain...doesn't have that 3D feel compare to Diablo2.
and coz of this i fear this overhype game might ended up like NWN2 for me....

offtopic - i''ve expected NwN2 for a long time...when it comes out wif demo, trailer, screenshots, i was disappointed wif the char looking cartoonish compare to NwN. i bear wif it hoping the gameplay would offset it. but when i purchased the ori ver., we all face the many technical issues and patch after patch were released to fixed or improved it...this has frustrated me in some way. the gameplay - wasn't really satisfying me as well...having dozens of char to choose and level-up from just isn't my cup of tea. i enjoyed the NwN but sadly not for the NwN2. in the end...i just gave up on it and focus on diff game instead...which is why i am very interested in you guys review abt this game b4 i purchased the ori version of it...

many thanx to you all again who provided a great detail review of the game... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by karwaidotnet: Nov 2 2007, 01:09 AM
karwaidotnet
post Nov 2 2007, 10:07 PM

1,353 posts

temptation1314: as long as anyone here willing to give a detail review abou the game, i'll be glad about it...

anyhow...couldn't resist the temptation...i purchased the game.
will install it right away....

review in maybe couple of hours...(if not days) tongue.gif
karwaidotnet
post Nov 3 2007, 10:22 AM

1,353 posts

thanx heaven for the nice screenshots...

ok so now here's my review so far...(which is actually near since im just lvl 4 Templar - Blademaster)

the installation is a breeze though some indication in percentage would be preferable...but that was just nothing...

the intro movie - for me is something
add some sense of motive/objective to the game...
i like the movie...kinda reminds me of Starship Trooper though...
only that the creeds are of demons...

i agree wif temptation that the movements control is kinda...i wont say sucks...but it's not just up the notch compare to WoW per say...
doesn't feels smooth...especially when turning right/left.
strafe is ok but not turning. i guess that is purely handle by the mouse-look...

can i turn to FPS when wielding sword? 3rd perspective doesn't feel right for me...i mean even when playing Oblivion i prefer the FPS view...

the map...i prefer the diablo-style fading map...so that i can enable the map and still see clearly when im going wifout it really obstructing my view...

another thing is - when u get hit by those demons, u'll have the whole screen turns gray which gives me the impression - i'm dead...i'm dead...but i'm not. the gray-screen effect is overuse. i prefer it is to be use only when i got hit critical dmg or near dying...

i'm not sure whether this is a bug but the fire shot by those imp-like creature can hit me even when i'm out of the way...it's like my vicinity of touch is larger than i thought it should be...and yeah...the realism is not there.
for example in diablo2, when u hit those box/barrel which exploded - u may get hit dmg from the explosion but not in HGL no matter how big the explosion is. and jumping from a 3-storey building and not even whincing....that totally throw the realism out of the window for me.

the graphic...yeah...it's overhyped. doesn't have that Woooahhh..super-nice feeling...but i guess as mentioned, it's meant to be that way to help reduce the system requirements. the fonts - some of it is kinda bugged or weird. i dunno how to explain. the font is no-no for me. especially the font used to describe the item special property. it is bolded till almost unrecognizable.

oh yeah - i'm playing quite smoothly using AMD Ahtlon 64 3200 2GHz, 2GB DDR RAM, 7600GS. by default all high except the anti-aliasing set to med. 2 other adv graphic setting is not enable, it's that trilinear buffering and antiscropic or whatever it is called...but i enabled the dynamic lighting which gives some realism back to the lighting, i.e. reflection on the ground caused by the source of light.

haven't tried out the multiplayer yet though...

so far the gameplay is so-so only...the skills mechanism...hmmm doesn't feel quite like diablo...but i think i need to play more to really feel it...

so far up to lvl.4 i would only give it 5/10

This post has been edited by karwaidotnet: Nov 3 2007, 10:31 AM
karwaidotnet
post Nov 3 2007, 10:48 AM

1,353 posts

what is actualy IAH anyway? when i first log in to its website i was suprised to see the Granado Espacada game is there as well...no offence but putting side-by-side a not-so-hype game (IMO) wif HGL doesn't seems just right.

oh yeah - im wondering whether the leg u got from that kid will open up Cow Level like what u'll get in Diablo2. but im keeping it anyway just in case...tongue.gif and the leg quest is what i think the developer purposely put it there to brings us back the Diablo nostalgic...

This post has been edited by karwaidotnet: Nov 3 2007, 10:49 AM
karwaidotnet
post Nov 3 2007, 04:19 PM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Nov 3 2007, 03:36 PM)
Apparently you can change the regional settings to the US to apply the single player patch.  Might do that since i'm not getting much out of the multiplayer at the moment.  I seriously didn't expect to be making alts 4 days after getting the game.

Still at least they raised the level cap p -.-
we can? ok pls teach us how to do that...
i mean changing the regional setting to US so that we can apply the single player patch...
karwaidotnet
post Nov 4 2007, 01:35 PM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(selenium @ Nov 4 2007, 08:59 AM)
i died 5 times in leichester square due to superb lagging... any idea how to overcome this~?
i encounter once at the Broomsbury when this boss mob like defiler came upon me wif all those spectral or tentacle-like thing....

boy it was hideous - luckily i survived...and now i downgraded the shader quality to high quality instead of very high.
bummer....

i also got booted out of the game when fighting this boss to save Fawkes...
low memory encountered...even wif 2GB RAM...
but no Virtual Memory... tongue.gif
(*no i didn't set any VM on...)

and about ur problem - maybe try setting some of the graphic setting a notch down?

This post has been edited by karwaidotnet: Nov 4 2007, 01:36 PM
karwaidotnet
post Nov 4 2007, 05:25 PM

1,353 posts

well...at least now we knowwww... tongue.gif

i do agree that this game is not fully optimized...
it can be smooth sailing all the way..when suddenly A mob wif extra laser light show appear in the scene and KABOOM...
storms of lag ahead...

i hope they fixed this issue though...

*arghh...this game is starting to remind me of why i regretted getting NwN2... cry.gif mad.gif

This post has been edited by karwaidotnet: Nov 4 2007, 05:28 PM
karwaidotnet
post Nov 4 2007, 06:40 PM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(Cloudx @ Nov 4 2007, 06:14 PM)
I tend to lure the bosses out first.. then only go into the rest of the mob. If not its gonna lag very bad.
hmm...no. i dun think its the number of mobs that lag the game...
coz...after the destruction of the first reid where those giant 4-hour hands mobs start rampaging on u...
it was still fine and acceptable...

only before that...i think for the quest Like Acid...
where the defiler-like boss which really startle me wif the insane laggines...

plus each time i hit the explosion barrels - it also lags...

still i must say i enjoy the intro movie... tongue.gif
the game???
hmm...need more exploration to do...
karwaidotnet
post Nov 5 2007, 04:52 AM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(Thunderbolt @ Nov 5 2007, 03:54 AM)
Already out, update it with your game launcher
that's what i thought just now when i went to the multiplayer...
coz it seems to update several of the hellgate exe, dll and excel sheets file...
but how can we confirm that we're having patch-0???

This post has been edited by karwaidotnet: Nov 5 2007, 04:55 AM
karwaidotnet
post Nov 5 2007, 08:00 PM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(Thunderbolt @ Nov 5 2007, 03:00 PM)
I have the Guild Herald for sale tongue.gif
how come??? dry.gif

btw...besides checking some obvious enhancement to know that we have the latest patch...
arent they suppose to state anywhere in the game which patch version we're currently using... *sigh...
karwaidotnet
post Nov 9 2007, 03:14 AM

1,353 posts

well...i almost finished Act 2...just need to reach the Temple Station now...level 15 - Blademaster.

All i can say about the game which has been known to some is that it is jus an overhype game.

If there is ever anything the developer ever did anything really good about this game - i would say it's the intro movie and the promotion since day 1.

man, i dun feel it worth 3-4 pages of review + interviews on PC Gamers for the past few episodes...should've tried the demo and the beta.
That should make me forget about this game and maybe get the P ver instead.

not saying it's not good but it just doesn't really worth that much...
karwaidotnet
post Nov 9 2007, 07:43 AM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(commanderz @ Nov 9 2007, 04:03 AM)
i`m at Act 2 temple station also... tongue.gif (blademaster 17 lv)...too bad...the game really too many bug....like the LAG and memory leaks problem......also i cant play the game in dx_10_x64 mode......having problem witf missing door bug and bugged quest ......for example like......act 1...in market garden...the quest need to find al hellgate portal....but i cant find any way in the map....and.need  restart to dx_9 mode only will show up the missing portal and cont the quest.... shakehead.gif ....btw got any way or  to reset the skill points?? whistling.gif
yeah...wanted to reset the skill points as well... tongue.gif

no no no...asides from those known hideous bug...
i'm talking about the gameplay itself...

asides from the on-the-par graphic and the music which only appear when the actions strikes...

the map is kinda duplicating and...it's all the same despite the so-called randomness...
the NPC is the most... rclxub.gif ...everyone is trying to be sarcastic or funny...but infact they're all rclxub.gif
talking in cryptic manner...

the murmur guy who try to gives u hint in the quest...
arghh..is that even a hint...
all the quest doesn't even need a hint...
man, even if u cant read, u can solve the quest easily coz it's either gonna sprang at u or there'll be a BIG word pointing at it to u...

i like boss no#1 - the rhino wif the one gigantic arm. coz there's some tactic to be used, wait for him to hit the ground wif his arm or till he finish wif his fire...then only go and hack...
the rest...just rush in hack hack hack till u're out of health and run for your life...

anyway...i was hoping for a better cutscene/movie after the intro one...but after meeting the truth, the only cutscene i've seen so far is kinda short and uninteresting.

the items...after i got my unique StormBlade and another Rare blade in Act1. No other item in Act2 can come near to it. So i'm now rather wif stuck wif these two swords...
and since i'm on the item part - the armor dye mechanism is BUGGY.

ok gtg rush for work - ciao

This post has been edited by karwaidotnet: Nov 9 2007, 07:44 AM
karwaidotnet
post Nov 10 2007, 05:36 PM

1,353 posts

just to confirm - all this upcoming patches, it is only applicable for multiplayer? does it also affects single player mode as well?

This post has been edited by karwaidotnet: Nov 10 2007, 05:36 PM
karwaidotnet
post Nov 23 2007, 10:05 PM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Nov 22 2007, 09:46 PM)
@JigokuShoujo:

To connect to US servers to download patch for single player, edit the Region.dat file

Rename "SoutheastAsia" into "NorthAmerica"

>_<
i thought this solution introduced some problem earlier on...no?
karwaidotnet
post Nov 24 2007, 02:24 PM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(TheNameX @ Nov 24 2007, 12:41 PM)
LOL, tell me which game allow selling in game currency for money ?? And as far as I know, this forum doesnt allow such ad as well..
umm...Second Life? unsure.gif

0.0480sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:08 PM