The Official LEGO Enthusiast Club V23

Bigfoot-X
post Jan 6 2016, 12:08 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(heizad @ Jan 6 2016, 11:56 AM)
there's one time my haul total was about 11k within 1 month..dunno what i bought lol...luckily wife already approved lego earlier laugh.gif
notworthy.gif
Bigfoot-X
post Jan 6 2016, 02:03 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(redman87 @ Jan 6 2016, 12:27 PM)
Guys looking at the amount we are spending on lego, is it cheaper to buy online ?

http://jaysbrickblog.com/2012/07/06/new-le...sar-village-ii/
"Okay, the coolest sets on sale were actually placed in a very unstrategic location, tucked into a nook on the left of the store as you enter. They had exclusives such as the Death Star, VW Van, Winter Post Office and the Pet Shop which was nice. It was nice to see the Death Star being on sale in some place other than Brickboy. The Death Star had a RM 2,000 price tag on it, which is frankly ridiculous. I can buy one online at 25% LESS. That’s almost RM500 cheaper."

This is what an old post from that blog said.
This is old, plus the blogger now based in Australia if I'm not mistaken.
LEGO used to be cheap in HK but as what the other bros here said, cheaper to get locally now. Did some price comparison as was planning to go HK end of last year, but boy still small and currency not good - delay plans until son is older.

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Jan 6 2016, 01:04 PM)
another curiousity to be clarified...
what do you do with the legos after building them...play or just display ?
You mean LEGO can be built?!?! Just kidding bro - I still have many MISB sets, example the Arkham Asylum Breakout (10937) I bought from Toys R Us in 2012, still MISB.

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Jan 6 2016, 01:13 PM)
but keep in box how to admire the beauty at all times...?
QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jan 6 2016, 01:22 PM)
exactly, then buy EMPTY box biggrin.gif
Don't need to buy - save pic and jilat screen only. Actually, I've considered this before. Since I have many MISB sets and sometimes I wonder "why did I even buy this? I could've saved some money and can still admire this toy/figure online."

Of course easier said than done, and I fail every time. Some I manage to delay buying, but only because something else caught my eye.

If someone has tips, please share. But I think this is the wrong group to ask for help/support. You all only say "buy now, regret later". doh.gif

Bigfoot-X
post Jan 6 2016, 05:33 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(justjerm @ Jan 6 2016, 04:46 PM)
Hi, would like some info.. Can I go into Legoland Store without buying a ticket? Tks
I heard can. Need to pay some deposit and leave within 45 minutes. Also got minimum spend required.

Please correct me if I'm wrong. I'd suggest to tag at main page but I don't think people would check there these days tongue.gif
Bigfoot-X
post Jan 7 2016, 08:26 AM

536 posts

QUOTE(ilfort @ Jan 7 2016, 07:29 AM)
Behold!!!!

Good morning, You beat me to it!

Hope it's not more than RM 1k. Can go Pokai and its surprise set ...
maxilife1

This post has been edited by Bigfoot-X: Jan 7 2016, 08:31 AM
Bigfoot-X
post Jan 7 2016, 10:36 AM

536 posts

QUOTE(alien2003 @ Jan 6 2016, 07:36 PM)
http://community.brickpicker.com/topic/143...-wall-e/?page=8

Its the seal code at the back of the packaging that will tell if its a fixed version or not.
Saw that at FB before this as well.

From a Google search:
https://www.tripadvisor.com.my/ShowUserRevi...rict_Johor.html
This guy sounds like he never went to ANY theme park before - complaining about the prices? tongue.gif

QUOTE(mkcmeng @ Jan 7 2016, 12:00 AM)
guys are there any lego sets which are not available to be purchased in malaysia?
Eventually all will make it to Malaysia except for really really exclusives. How much is the Billund Airport set worth now?

QUOTE(ravemaster @ Jan 7 2016, 07:14 AM)
@501-elite..rm810 for the jabba's palace set? Its over my budget if like that sweat.gif Thought it was way cheaper in TRU before. Guess i will wait for restock or probably grab later if it got reissued. If not probably anybody can share maybe instruction i can follow to build the palace? Already got the jabba minifig from the sail set n the guard from the pitt set
Reissue is a possibility, not restock. There was some controversy regarding this set sometime last year. There were some articles stating that the roof was like the roof of a "mosque" or something like that ... anyone remember that?

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jan 7 2016, 08:32 AM)
if anyone make a trip to TRU and Hamley do post a FR smile.gif
I think better not keep your hopes up. I was at the Curve TRU yesterday. Nothing. If I have time during lunch, I will do another scouting mission.

In the meantime, please see this ... my "conversation" with TRU Malaysia on Facebook doh.gif

Like what bro ilfort said, they probably time it to coincide with release of the exclusive Monkey set.
Bigfoot-X
post Jan 7 2016, 12:17 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(mryellow19 @ Jan 7 2016, 12:05 PM)
Oi scalper tongue.gif whistling.gif My asylum and batcave still MISB too
I'm really liking the new Batcave. But looks like will be expensive. The "Study Room" wallpaper looks quite nice too, even though it's just a small section of the Wayne Manor.

The Series 14 Tigress head mould probably re-used for Catwoman too.

And I want to have a closer, hi-red look at Alfred. He looks like my custom Alfred from this blur photos. And of course all the minifigs.
Bigfoot-X
post Jan 8 2016, 02:19 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(alien2003 @ Jan 7 2016, 07:14 PM)
Its useless to email TRU asking about the release date of set. I did that when Tumbler was about to launch back in 2014. They just keep repeating their script that they dont have the set in the list so dont know where will arrive. When I asked if they can monitor and keep posted, they replied me asking me to call their hotline to check by myself.

Of course in the end, my $ didnt go to them.
QUOTE(fox_shinoda @ Jan 7 2016, 07:34 PM)
TRU bring in UCS? Never once I saw any UCS there
Guess I'm considered "old timer"? Since when I started LEGO in 2012, they sold Modulars and Exclusive sets at Toys R Us tongue.gif

QUOTE(wong8981 @ Jan 8 2016, 10:24 AM)
ok ! hehe...

Tot of buying when they are tons of them on the shelve that time, really very nice.
But lack of functionality , LOL.. Sorry just IMHO, no offense.
It's a must have for die-hard Bat-fans! Plus it has 2 exclusive minifigures you can't get unless you buy them separately. Not cheap though. I got it cause I'm a Batfan and also because of the Batman Begins suited minifig and Heath Ledger Joker.

QUOTE(501-Elite @ Jan 8 2016, 02:14 PM)
Wow ! You are fast bro. thumbup.gif
YES ! 2016 SW sets have reach TRU  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
[attachmentid=5734084]
Sweet! Now to decide what do I get with my giftcard and points. Few Trooper Battle Packs or the Battle Of Takodana (which will wipe out all my gift card and points) and topup for 1 Trooper Battle Pack. Kinda want the Kylo Ren minifig, but guess cheaper to buy minifigs online ...

Decisions, decisions.
Bigfoot-X
post Jan 8 2016, 03:06 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(501-Elite @ Jan 8 2016, 02:38 PM)
Yes, bro.  thumbup.gif
this is TRU KLCC  brows.gif  brows.gif
Yes, the minifigures in tumbler set is a MUST for Batman's fans
So , many sets to buy ~ MAY THE FORCE BE WITH YOU  icon_rolleyes.gif
Yeah. Sad lah. Have to change lims. A GB HQ gone just like that ...
Bigfoot-X
post Jan 8 2016, 03:07 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(fox_shinoda @ Jan 8 2016, 03:05 PM)
The set that I wanted is only Rm149.90 probably will not be eligible for that promo plus going to be using my point to redeem rm50
Which set? Obi-Wan Jedi Starfighter?
Bigfoot-X
post Jan 8 2016, 09:56 PM

536 posts

Counting down, Batman v Superman ...

Bigfoot-X
post Jan 8 2016, 10:06 PM

536 posts

The comparison between new and old versions of the DC characters.

New - Left
Old - Right

Bigfoot-X
post Jan 9 2016, 12:16 AM

536 posts

QUOTE(Fatimus @ Jan 8 2016, 10:11 PM)
Which BvS set you recommend as first buy ? laugh.gif
All. You gotta get them all! *poison mode ON*

Cause each set got its own pros ... 😝
Small Set - Armored Batman, Batsignal
Medium Set - Batmobile
Big Set - Batjet, Wonder Woman 😍😍

But I found out from bro ilfort that the Superman has slight difference. Small set Superman has no boots but big set Superman does.
Bigfoot-X
post Jan 10 2016, 10:41 AM

536 posts

QUOTE(refnulf @ Jan 9 2016, 11:51 PM)
Thanks for the input guys. Not a box collector so flattening or even throwing the box away is not an issue. Hopefully be able to grab a few other sets while I'm there. If want the box later just grab it from bricklink or something.
I've seen someone offer to buy a Tumbler box so if you can, better hang on to them boxes biggrin.gif

Reporting live from TRU 1Utama.

Looks like not a full shipment as not many 2016 City sets. Some SW sets not found or been completely wiped out.

No Batman v Superman sets at all.

Looking for First Order Battle Pack - to get with points. None left or not in yet. Micro fighters also almost all gone.

Even for S15 CMF wiped out.

Maybe more stock coming for Monkey promo.

This post has been edited by Bigfoot-X: Jan 10 2016, 10:42 AM
Bigfoot-X
post Jan 10 2016, 01:41 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(ilfort @ Jan 10 2016, 09:03 AM)
not sure if people line up or not but LCS to be prioritize i suppose.
that's why it is called evilbay. tongue.gif Actually conversion rate brings a lot of impact.

Pic spam:
[attachmentid=5746784]
Tempted. But I only really want it for the First Order Troopers ...
Bigfoot-X
post Jan 10 2016, 01:44 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ Jan 10 2016, 01:36 PM)
how much is the batman vs superman set? and where you get it? lcs the curve almost kena sapu... 0 mini figure s15 zzz
I got mine from LEGO SHOP The Curve.

S - RM 74.90
M - RM 179.90
L - RM 349.90

After the new TV Spot, feel like bricking the Batmobile now ...

Btw, already saw someone selling Batmobile set for RM 250 in one of the FB groups. Sold out already meh???
Bigfoot-X
post Jan 11 2016, 09:09 AM

536 posts

QUOTE(ilfort @ Jan 10 2016, 02:18 PM)
yeah but the helmet print quality drop. . .
That's disappointing to hear. But I feel the quality of my Batman v Superman figures also seems lighter. I don't have a scale to weigh it. So far only opened the big set. Maybe paranoid tongue.gif

QUOTE(klthor @ Jan 10 2016, 02:40 PM)
yep. left big one only. small and medium set all gone.. i like the small set.
That's crazy. Lucky I got them on launch day then.

QUOTE(klthor @ Jan 10 2016, 02:52 PM)
ya felt abit gg nowadays... all sapu... i have few sets on mind but reach lcs the curve none of then available... ended up buying some loose bricks and go home cry... maybe need to ask them to reserve the small b v s for me...
QUOTE(klthor @ Jan 10 2016, 04:48 PM)
yeah i walk over to tru the curve. not many new stuff. most of them are sw series which im not really interested
You walk to Curve? You work nearby or ... ?
Bigfoot-X
post Jan 11 2016, 09:56 AM

536 posts

QUOTE(ilfort @ Jan 11 2016, 09:20 AM)
SW BP usually will have helmet print issue due to mass produce la. I very detailed when it comes to prints. LOL
I not SW collector so I dunno. I trust you biggrin.gif
Bigfoot-X
post Jan 11 2016, 10:57 AM

536 posts

QUOTE(heizad @ Jan 11 2016, 10:35 AM)
so far haven't bought anything yet for 2016 laugh.gif
Don't worry - it's still January 2016 tongue.gif
Bigfoot-X
post Jan 11 2016, 02:18 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(ilfort @ Jan 11 2016, 09:20 AM)
SW BP usually will have helmet print issue due to mass produce la. I very detailed when it comes to prints. LOL
Since you're the sifu, I want to ask your opinion. If I have RM 100 giftcard (expiring in April 2016), should I get this trooper pack? Is it worth it? I only want the troopers and not that interested in the guys in black uniforms (First Order officers?). I guess troopers also selling RM 30 - 40 each on eBay so pretty good buy I think.

My target list is quite small for now. It's either:

Trooper Battle Pack x 2 + cash top up - RM 40
Obi-Wan Jedi Starfighter + cash top up - RM 30
Battle Of Takodana + cash top up - RM 200 (got Kylo, Finn and 2 Troopers - but kind of pricy)
Misc City sets when they become available

Also don't want to spend too much as other pre-ordered stuff will be coming.

And Brick Bank. And Batcave. And Resistance Fighters X-Wing (Blue/White)

QUOTE(heizad @ Jan 11 2016, 12:39 PM)
the antidote for the poison so far works on me tongue.gif
Lucky you! flex.gif

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jan 11 2016, 12:58 PM)
no way to find 75105-millennium-falcon sad.gif

and they said it is now world wide shortage ..
QUOTE(fox_shinoda @ Jan 11 2016, 01:33 PM)
No sign of it any where bringing it in for restock not to mention Poe's x-wing too
QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jan 11 2016, 01:38 PM)
so wat LCS told me (even BoB), they suspect these 2015 SW will re-tire sad.gif
Actually, these ships totally sold out after the release of the movie. Plus, it's not only Star Wars has worldwide shortage - other sets as well. They announced this back in October 2015.

http://money.cnn.com/2015/10/21/news/compa...tage-christmas/

I've been waiting for Jurassic World restock at Toys R Us and haven't even seen it since then.

With so much hype for "The Force Awakens", I doubt they will retire these sets so quickly. They're just behind schedule. LEGO probably need to pay Disney more for the license this time after the takeover and Disney paid alot for the franchise! Someone needs to make their money back!

I wonder if the China factory is producing these new sets now tongue.gif

QUOTE(heizad @ Jan 11 2016, 01:21 PM)
normally if you purhase RM150 and above they will offer you 1 year membership..if not just ask them to join as a member..can't remember the yearly fee..after u became a member, every RM500 spent will entitle you RM20 voucher smile.gif
That's good. Unfortunately their location is not so ideal for me. Located in malls I hardly go to. I still have the Brick Brothers membership too but haven't bought anything in a long time from them.

This post has been edited by Bigfoot-X: Jan 11 2016, 02:21 PM
Bigfoot-X
post Jan 12 2016, 09:53 AM

536 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jan 12 2016, 08:49 AM)
http://www.mudah.my/LEGO+10243+Creator+Par...SB-43326097.htm

worth it ? Parisian Restaurant NEW MISB RM960
Hard to say worth it or not. Depends on the individual. I personally will avoid paying higher price.
However, once upon a time, I said no to CMF Bunny Series 7 at RM 60 cause I thought it was "too high", in the end, I paid almost RM 200 for it cause I wanted to complete the animal suit figures doh.gif sweat.gif

Then again, we don't know when restock will arrive and how long is the waiting list.

I'm not having high hopes for my Palace Cinema and won't (can't afford) to pay higher price now. Maybe (hoping) can get Brick Bank at retail price.

This post has been edited by Bigfoot-X: Jan 12 2016, 10:12 AM

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0537sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:42 AM