5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Investment THE FENNEL @ SENTUL EAST by YTL (V2), Sentul East KL

BeastB
post Mar 7 2019, 08:26 AM

1,018 posts

After doing my own research on these two buildings (Fennel and Capers), investors better stay away from it.

It grabbed my attention when developers opened their own units for sale at BELOW LAUNCH PRICE......very fishy. Why would they even think of that, unless the know something? Either running out of money or knows the market value of this place cannot hold for long and I believe it's the latter. They got their money from the initial 70% sales, and dumping these last units for a price which is still a 'profit' when looking 5 years down the road.

Ridiculous price to buy now, rental is a joke. Mid end condos and poorly maintained buildings in Subang and PJ can command similar/higher rental.

However, if you bought for own stay and convenient to get to work, then it's not a bad buy. But for investment...no way.
BeastB
post Mar 7 2019, 10:24 AM

1,018 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Mar 7 2019, 10:18 AM)
this part I always catch no balls...

why ppl always think own stay oK...can lose more money....

BUT

investment, no no....must make money.....

devil.gif
Own stay - house is considered a liability, not an asset. It is no longer an investment. It's a shelter and a daily need, like food.

Investment - You are looking for an annual ROI over the next X years. Could be 1 year. Could be 5. Could be 10.

If you buy your own house and expect to make money from it down the road, you are confused. Simple.

So maybe your thinking is flawed. That's why I prefer to rent - because for me mobility and freedom to move is worth the monthly cost of rent. I depend on my rentals to give me the better life.

This post has been edited by BeastB: Mar 7 2019, 10:25 AM
BeastB
post Mar 7 2019, 10:34 AM

1,018 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Mar 7 2019, 10:29 AM)
property is an asset lah…….and it has potential capital growth...…

you are the 1st person defy accounting law by saying property is an liability.

like that nobody will and should buy property already, incl corp and companies.
This is the fundamental mistake, a mistake fed to us all....so we all buy property and are happy to be locked down in it for life (GET YOUR DREAM HOME!) biggrin.gif

Yes, companies buy property....but they have a timeline to cash out. And they rent those properties or use it to generate business. It's not for them to 'live in'.

I'm not saying buying your own place is a mistake. You can convert your own home to become an investment, but it's just gonna take a lot longer. And the biggest measure is time, not money. Why waste time in the first place, when you have your priorities straight? Buy where you want to rent, rent where you want to stay.
BeastB
post Mar 7 2019, 10:59 AM

1,018 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Mar 7 2019, 10:44 AM)
accounting 101

Property is Fixed Assets bcos it has the 'potential' in growth in value.

Liability is what you owed to 3rd party.

You need to get the above fixed in your mind 1st before sharing your thought in public forum.

Not going to debate if buy or rent....there already an existing thread in this discussion.
I never owed a housing loan for more than 10 yrs. It either been paid off or the property is sold and redeemed.
You think like a textbook school teacher. I think like an investor in 2019.

That's the difference.
BeastB
post Mar 7 2019, 11:01 AM

1,018 posts

QUOTE(jhuitan @ Mar 7 2019, 10:54 AM)
The rest too far, how about ecosky, any comment? Good?
No idea, never looked into that building so can't comment. I was getting interested in the Capers/Fennel because someone I know just bought a developer unit for a "good price".

Looked into it, it's true...."good price" for the developer, not the buyer.
BeastB
post Mar 7 2019, 11:37 AM

1,018 posts

QUOTE(jhuitan @ Mar 7 2019, 11:30 AM)
Live life to the fullest.. only happen once..sometime ppl say follow your heart instead of brain biggrin.gif
People following hearts = divorce rate 40-50% globally.

If apply the same mindset in investments....might as well hit the casino. biggrin.gif
BeastB
post Mar 11 2019, 08:54 AM

1,018 posts

QUOTE(tetsu @ Mar 8 2019, 04:34 PM)
The Fennel will take time to improve, as with all condominiums..

JMB was just formed recently. Occupancy is fine as it is as many units are not even renovated. YTL throwing prices sucks, but those units are less desirable anyway as they're right next to the LRT track and temples. Both gyms have always been busy after working hours.

Sentul East & West is by YTL and way better located and planned than other projects deep inside Sentul Pasar or on the other side of the LRT track.

Not much point entertaining keyboard warriors that comment on almost every topic to increase their post count. Pretty clear that they have no idea what is going on nor ever went on a site visit on the properties they comment on, maybe one or two lol.. rolleyes.gif

Just had a good laugh at an idiot who created a topic trying to buy a 1000sqft-ish KLCC view unit at the Capers for under 700k when there's no such thing.
You sound like a disgruntled Fennel owner. How does it feel getting 2K rental for a >700K priced condo? Assuming you are getting any rental at all.

4 units of mine bought below 550K, all getting RM2K minimum. Very cowardly to put that last line without mentioning my name, I guess you can't say much directly to me when you are an "owner" of a ripoff condo. You must be one of the early bird suckers of Fennel? Or are you the one who thought you're getting a great deal when the developers opened their last units to dispose before prices go down further?

When I get a 1000sqft-ish unit at Capers for below 700K later this year/early next year I'll send you the S&P. See who's the idiot then. thumbsup.gif
BeastB
post Mar 12 2019, 08:30 AM

1,018 posts

QUOTE(propertybbb @ Mar 11 2019, 01:19 PM)
How to sell when developer is now giving lower than launching price and additional carpark! Die. The offering include KLCC view units. When up there to view the units. Anyway, passed...this area, better play lower end segment as the price of 700-1mil prop sure cannot fetch good rental as the support rental level is not here.
The one thing people don't ask themselves is, what is my cash out point?

When do owners see their units here in SENTUL going for 900K? 1 million? How long do you have to hold to realize this price? When will there be undersupply? when these condos are fully occupied and there's a need for more. What's the occupancy now? How long do owners have to wait?

When developers sell their unit CHEAPER than launch price, are they stupid? Or are they expecting too many years to realize profit if they hold the units? Who knows more, developer or us? If a developer approached me and told me "I launched this product for RM100 but I'm selling to you now for RM80 with a free gift included" do I say HOORAY THANK YOU...or do I say, WTF? A valued product goes UP in price, not DOWN.

People don't think before buying, they don't have the right questions. All impulse purchase. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by BeastB: Mar 12 2019, 08:33 AM
BeastB
post Mar 12 2019, 11:08 AM

1,018 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Mar 12 2019, 10:55 AM)
honestly b4 we critic YTL and Fennel, few points need to take notes of:-

1. Fennels were launched during the dragon tail of bull run. Basically ppl will sapu whatever that launched bcos either worried of losing out or losing to cash in....its understandable that developer also wont want to missed out the killing moment.....which developer doesn't want to make max profit???

2. I believe the last block of Fennels (out of 4 blocks) was never launched and it was supposed to reserve for land holder of KTM or so sort. it was supposed to be their units. For some reasons now YTL is selling on behalf for them.

3 Bull run halved I believe after YTL launched the 2nd block. YTL has difficulty selling the 3rd block with high price. Now they need to sell the 4th block as well.
This is the most important part. 2015 was the tail end of property hoorah and now it's the downturn.

We don't know when's the next hoorah coming but it won't be in the next 5 years. Bank Negara planning to lower interest rates this year -another sign of contraction. Things will only get worse for property this year, and the developers KNOW IT.

2020-2022 are the next best BBB opportunity. But most people will be scared as usual because prices will be dropping fast AKA "property is no longer a good investment."

When you see condos mushrooming up like crazy it's time to get scared, and this trend began in 2011. Now the tide is going down and we will see all those people in the sea who are actually naked (aka no funds to hold).

This post has been edited by BeastB: Mar 12 2019, 11:10 AM
BeastB
post Mar 12 2019, 04:49 PM

1,018 posts

If I bought a unit and few years down the road the unit is being sold by the developer for cheaper I would be mad as hell. There's no sugar coating it, bottom line is they are openly admitting they sold during launch at vastly overpriced tag.

You can see by the response of a few "owners" here, their posts are basically consoling themselves "its ok its ok, it will improve" lol what the hell. Pathetic. If you bought for own stay its fine, if it's an investment just admit it - very bad timing.
BeastB
post Mar 12 2019, 08:37 PM

1,018 posts

QUOTE(tetsu @ Mar 12 2019, 08:03 PM)
Hahaha, do you even know what the prices are for early birds of Fennel, especially for low floors in the first phase (Block A & D)?. Doubt so. Otherwise you wouldn't have called the Fennel a ripoff and then try to purchase the older Capers, at a higher PSF than first phase Fennel owners like myself. And that's excluding legal costs and DIBS over 54 months.

As mentioned previously, I plan to move in soon.

If price and rental is all that matters, then just buy Rafflesia Sentul. Even a fool can tell you the difference in quality of life between both condos and you get what you pay for.

Lol cowardly? It's pointless to argue over it especially under The Fennel's topic. Feel free to tag me when it happens LOL! Don't Forget KLCC VIEW! 999 sqft Capers units are low rise and facing LRT Track! 7-800ish sqft units are not close to 1000 sqft so I guess you'll be waiting for 1567sqft KLCC view units to hit 700k in 12 months. Catch my drift?

I hate to embarrass people, but if you decide to out yourself, so be it.

"under 550k and getting 2k minimum" LOL.. Easily achieved with Summer Suites 493 sqft studios(even now), especially for owners like myself who purchased early from Sunrise at under 400k. Pretty decent cap. gains as well. Plenty more examples and it's nothing to shout about especially for active property investors since 2005.

Just let time be the judge LOL.. yawn.gif
>"If price and rental is all that matters" - Ok so you bought the Fennel because price and rental does not matter, since it's for 'own stay'. Right?

Then you say...

"Let time be the judge."

Then why'd you buy Fennel for? If you need time to be the judge? And price and rental doesn't matter to you? You bought the unit purely for own stay and never plan to sell or rent?

Sit down son.
BeastB
post Mar 13 2019, 08:26 AM

1,018 posts

QUOTE(tetsu @ Mar 13 2019, 02:09 AM)
I guess when you write yourself into a corner, you start grasping at straws and start losing comprehension of English?

READ what I wrote. I never said price and rental doesn't matter. If it's ONLY about price and rental, I could easily go for Rafflesia Sentul in the same area, launched at the same time.

But would I want to stay there? NO. Especially when I can afford it at 6XX psf  + DIBS for a unit at The Fennel. I paid extra for FREEHOLD, WAY BETTER DESIGN, LESS DENSITY PER FLOOR, BETTER DEMOGRAPHIC and "SLIGHTLY" BETTER LOCATION for OWNSTAY. Not that hard to understand. Same reason why people pay more to buy The Maple and not Sang Suria, condos are next to each other at Sentul West. Current prices and rentals are totally SECONDARY for own stayers. Only cash strapped flippers would be worried.

Is holding properties long term for ownstay such a foreign concept lol? Are there even significantly better alternatives in the same area?

"Let time be the judge" was in reference to your WTB at Capers within your timeframe, if you ever found such a unit lol. No point debating till then. drool.gif
If you were referencing to a topic of mine in another thread, maybe it's best to SPECIFY? Not my problem when I misunderstand a badly written/incomplete post.

And if you bought it purely for own stay and prepare to be locked down in that location in the next 10 years, it's definitely not a bad buy. I mentioned this a couple of times earlier in this thread, but my point is for anyone who bought it for rental income or for appreciation in the next 5 - 8 years - bad move. That's my conclusion from what I've seen/heard about this development.

BeastB
post Mar 13 2019, 08:28 AM

1,018 posts

QUOTE(gks @ Mar 12 2019, 09:01 PM)
You are basically trying to rub the salt to the wound. To be fair... 9 out of 10new launches post 2013 will sharing similar fate.

Owners of many projects just keep quiet and not sharing in Forum. Many of the sharings also by 3rd party who either not vested in that development or not in property.
Not trying to rub any salt, I took interest to this location because I actually looked into it since it's the first time in my life where I've seen developers actually letting go units at below launch price years after the launch. And I agree, many other developers are doing the same thing - to me this is a big red flag for property for the next few years.

BeastB
post Mar 13 2019, 12:03 PM

1,018 posts

QUOTE(King Gor @ Mar 13 2019, 11:09 AM)
Owner not stupid, some bought few units, even the new phase.. especially when you know how much downpayment have to pay for every unit, definately not everyone can pay it, many want to buy but can't fork out RM80-110k cash
What's your point here?
BeastB
post Mar 13 2019, 12:08 PM

1,018 posts

QUOTE(tetsu @ Mar 13 2019, 11:40 AM)
When you can't even understand and misinterpret "If price and rental is all that matters" ---> " price and rental doesn't matter", your English comprehension is hopelessly terrible lol. Don't blame others.

Same goes for your terrible "research" of the Capers when there's no 1000 sqft KLCC view unit., without taking into account your 700k offer.

Plenty of people own the same property for more than 10 years especially the older generation, how is that a lock down lol? Especially with 5% RPGT.

Till now, no one can suggest a better alternative to the Fennel to stay, that's as close to KL, walkable to LRT & KTM, freehold, walking distance to shops, good density, "iconic" design at the price of under 700psf. bangwall.gif

Not a bad buy, but what is better?lol
That wasn't the part which I misunderstood and you know it. Quit screwing around.

What is better??? Is this a serious question. A property which is good to stay in and at the same time has decent rental returns and has the potential to appreciate in the next 5 - 10 years. And you named a few and apparently find it very 'easy' to find these sort of properties.

And yet... you bought Fennel. Since "price and rental is not all that matters" am I right. doh.gif

And I can make all the offers I want on lowyat, since posts costs me 0. But I ain't splashing 700K for a dud condo.

This post has been edited by BeastB: Mar 13 2019, 12:10 PM
BeastB
post Mar 13 2019, 01:33 PM

1,018 posts

QUOTE(King Gor @ Mar 13 2019, 12:18 PM)
Advertisement price attract you to call and actual price is different.

"Looking for a place to rent from next month, anywhere near LRT/MRT and is a large studio or 2 bedroom unit if possible. Serviced condo preferable. Partly furnished is okay. 2 car parks needed.

Local Msian, for my own stay and fiance. Pls PM me if you have a unit. Thanks."

For your requirements maybe can consider dual key studio unit with the tandem carpark..RM1400-1600 for studio unit, RM200-250 for tandem carpark..
Thank you. smile.gif
BeastB
post Mar 14 2019, 01:15 PM

1,018 posts

QUOTE(tetsu @ Mar 14 2019, 11:43 AM)
Oh my god, you wanna go back to square one and now claim there's better props than Fennel for own stay as per what I listed?

Are you that simple minded that there are props for ownstay and props for rental?

Let me name another one I own. Titiwangsa Sentral, purchased for less than 500k subsale, FREEHOLD, 2.6k-2.9k rental for the past 5+ years. Will I stay there? HELL NO.

You're free to make whatever posts on Lowyat. Including nonsense topics to buy non existent units at Capers, funnily right next to Fennel. Don't complain when people mock your level of intelligence then.
You seem a bit thick. To me a good property is a place I can stay in comfortably - which means others out there would also love to stay in (for rental) or own (for purchase).

You are the one implying here that there are props for ownstay and props for rental. Which is why you bought a lousy condo for an investment, but a great one for own stay (your words).

Titiwangsa Sentral, yes I'm familiar with that one and even looked into it. It was going for 500K back in 2011 or 2012 if not mistaken but I wasn't interested at the time because of the general outlook of the condo. But rental seems good for the price of RM500K. Congratulations for owning it.

BeastB
post Mar 14 2019, 05:14 PM

1,018 posts

QUOTE(tetsu @ Mar 14 2019, 04:56 PM)
Yet up till now you have offered no examples of props that VPed recently that can offer 1000 sqft+, good ownstay experience, good rental and price appreciation, freehold and close to amenities+ public transport+KL, at less than 700psf. Should be easy in comparison with a lousy and ripoff condominium like The Fennel, right? bangwall.gif
It will be pretty difficult to actually find a worse investment at this stage when comparing to the Fennel. Why? Because of the latest developers trick of offering units below launch price few years after LAUNCH.

Can you kindly name me a time when this happened before? Someone in this thread mentioned 1997/1998....that might give you a clue why I'm so critical of this development.

BeastB
post Mar 14 2019, 05:46 PM

1,018 posts

QUOTE(tetsu @ Mar 14 2019, 05:26 PM)
Lol, and yet you can't still name even one. Better or worst.

Too many armchair critics, too few actual owners and investors on Lowyat.
Lol no I'm not wasting my time naming thousands of condos which are better out there. You might find on Mudah or iProperty, or get someone to help you.

Too many owners who actually think of themselves as "investors" in lowyat. Talk to me in 1 year when units are going off for auction from Fennel.
BeastB
post Mar 15 2019, 08:34 AM

1,018 posts

QUOTE(tetsu @ Mar 14 2019, 07:13 PM)
HAHAHA no one asked for thousands..just ONE of "MANY" in your "expert" opinion, better than the Fennel. Probably too afraid of scrutiny.

At this point, its pretty pointless to debate how "bad" the Fennel without substance backing up your argument.  rolleyes.gif

One year again lol...For both Capers & Fennel. yawn.gif
Never claimed to be an expert, just have more common sense than most. You want one? You named one yourself, Titiwangsa Sentral and I congratulated you for it. What's your next question?

Substance....check the occupancy rate, check the price of units today compared to launch date, check the rental returns for the units, check the basic ROI per year, that's all the substance any investor needs to say, "Ok, next." BTW, never said the Fennel is "bad", just saying it's crap timing to go in at this stage. The decline has only started.

Yeah check back in 1 year, let's see how much they're priced then. Who knows, we might become neighbours. So much fun. devil.gif

This post has been edited by BeastB: Mar 15 2019, 08:36 AM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0656sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:49 PM