QUOTE(kalbwurst @ Apr 18 2016, 11:50 PM)
Wow Grats! U got a job there?Immigrate to Canada, any guides/tips
Immigrate to Canada, any guides/tips
Apr 19 2016, 01:08 AM
3,965 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
Apr 19 2016, 11:46 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,689 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Probation? |
Apr 20 2016, 01:44 PM
14,990 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(CcL @ Nov 6 2015, 02:11 PM) nice. go for it. weather in BC is awesome, not very cold during winter but can be dreary like london. i think it hovers around -10 to +10. should blend in OK too given asians are aplenty there. -10 not very cold.. Ok. What about healthcare, do they have free healthcare for immigrants? What about tax rates?tbh if i move back to canada, BC will be my first pick for quality of life. and not to mention easier to visit asia, just one transit rather than 2. |
Apr 20 2016, 02:57 PM
791 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(wodenus @ Apr 20 2016, 01:44 PM) -10 not very cold.. Ok. What about healthcare, do they have free healthcare for immigrants? What about tax rates? healthcare is by province, i am not well versed with details of BC.in MB provincial healthcare covers even those with just work permits. Arthroscopic shoulder surgery was paid for when I was there. Tax rate varies by province because there is federal + provincial tax, a search should give you the bracket rates. |
Sep 12 2016, 07:53 AM
82 posts Joined: Sep 2016 |
Hi I'm considering moving to Canada too.
Currently, I've just started working as admin in a local international learning centre. How do I qualify? |
Sep 12 2016, 10:10 AM
4,781 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
Sep 12 2016, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(feynman @ Sep 12 2016, 10:10 AM) The website's too dense.Which part of the site I should check out? I tried reading through the entire site, and I couldn't find what I'm looking for or am not clear about what to do. Where to start? |
Sep 12 2016, 11:13 PM
QUOTE(Trebuchetti @ Sep 12 2016, 04:25 PM) The website's too dense. You want to immigrate right? So which section should you check?Which part of the site I should check out? I tried reading through the entire site, and I couldn't find what I'm looking for or am not clear about what to do. Where to start? |
Sep 13 2016, 08:47 PM
QUOTE(feynman @ Sep 12 2016, 11:13 PM) I'm seriously don't know where to start.I'm not sure if I'm eligible for permanent stay there considering my previous six year job experience as a mere cashier at retail and I've just started working at the school for only two months. I did checked the eligibility test and it keeps saying I'm not eligible yet. I haven't checked the Express Entry yet. My concerned is being rejected and I need to know how to avoid rejection. Should I take up jobs in multinational companies? Should I find jobs more suitable for Canadian migration? I really need some guidance on how to navigate the website. And there are other concerns: How much should I bring? How should find and buy a simple apartment? How to even work there? I might consider dropping by the High Commission but I'm not sure that's wise. Could you help guide through the site? I apologise for this reply if it bothers you. |
Sep 14 2016, 02:22 AM
QUOTE(Trebuchetti @ Sep 13 2016, 08:47 PM) I'm seriously don't know where to start. Usually I'm not so nice when it comes to things like that. Because immigration is a big project and if you are not able to function autonomously for something as simple as looking up for information, then you do not have the suitable profile to immigrate. You'll just be miserable in Canada. I'm not sure if I'm eligible for permanent stay there considering my previous six year job experience as a mere cashier at retail and I've just started working at the school for only two months. I did checked the eligibility test and it keeps saying I'm not eligible yet. I haven't checked the Express Entry yet. My concerned is being rejected and I need to know how to avoid rejection. Should I take up jobs in multinational companies? Should I find jobs more suitable for Canadian migration? I really need some guidance on how to navigate the website. And there are other concerns: How much should I bring? How should find and buy a simple apartment? How to even work there? I might consider dropping by the High Commission but I'm not sure that's wise. Could you help guide through the site? I apologise for this reply if it bothers you. The High Comm doesn't entertain request for information. They will tell you the same thing which I have told you. cic.gc.ca Whether you understand or do not understand, frankly they do not care. You should look under the section, "immigrate". You will find a questionnaire to determine your eligibility and the different visa classes available. You could go as a skilled worker or as an investor. In the Skilled workers class, you need to be working in a profession listed on the NOC 0, A or B schedule. Again the list can be found on that site. If your profession is in the NOC C or D schedule, you should only consider the provincial nominee program. Look up what provinces are there in Canada. The best way to move there is through education. So you may consider going to school in Canada, be it at an academic university or a trade school. You may want to read wikipedia for a summary of the system and process. You already have as much information as you could possible get here. So start looking. |
Sep 14 2016, 06:20 AM
244 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: the bolehland.. |
Nobody mentioned about the unspoken requirement of learning French. My friend went there with PR had a hard time finding a job. You're better off coming to the UK..
Sep 14 2016, 07:41 AM
637 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
Huh?? French is only required if one lives in Quebec and maybe New Brunswick or working with the federal govt. Western Canada is very hostile towards the Quebec and French is not required. The reason your friend had a hard time finding a job is that he had no local experience. Canada is like OZ and NZ. No local experience...tough luck
QUOTE(jimmyktp @ Sep 14 2016, 06:20 AM) |
Sep 14 2016, 08:13 AM
QUOTE(jimmyktp @ Sep 14 2016, 06:20 AM) Nobody mentioned about the unspoken requirement of learning French. My friend went there with PR had a hard time finding a job. You're better off coming to the UK.. QUOTE(segamatboy @ Sep 14 2016, 07:41 AM) Huh?? French is only required if one lives in Quebec and maybe New Brunswick or working with the federal govt. Western Canada is very hostile towards the Quebec and French is not required. The reason your friend had a hard time finding a job is that he had no local experience. Canada is like OZ and NZ. No local experience...tough luck |
Sep 14 2016, 10:26 AM
722 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(segamatboy @ Sep 14 2016, 07:41 AM) Huh?? French is only required if one lives in Quebec and maybe New Brunswick or working with the federal govt. Western Canada is very hostile towards the Quebec and French is not required. The reason your friend had a hard time finding a job is that he had no local experience. Canada is like OZ and NZ. No local experience...tough luck this. Just like what ma bro in law said. Beruntung my bro in law. Graduate from Alberta Uni, intern there, got a job with well-known company, but need to comeback to Malaysia since have bond with main Malaysian energy provider. 7yrs liaoo. Need to wait 7yrs then can go back cari makan di Canada. |
Sep 14 2016, 04:40 PM
393 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
For those fellas who are already in Canada .. what does this Canada Pension plan means ..
Is it equivalent to our EPF, where an amount is deducted every month and then can be withdraw after retirement? Someone told me the government will provide an amount in addition to the normal monthly amount. |
Sep 14 2016, 07:04 PM
637 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
Pension is what you make and govt deduct for your retirement
The other one is Old Age security. This what the govt gave to people and it is universal .e rich and poor get it And then there is another one and it is Guarantee Income Supplement. Those who retire and whose pension and Old Age is below the govt set theshold get some money You can Google to get more info QUOTE(KronenZerg @ Sep 14 2016, 04:40 PM) |
Sep 14 2016, 09:43 PM
320 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(segamatboy @ Sep 14 2016, 07:04 PM) Pension is what you make and govt deduct for your retirement Quite similar to the UK. Here they call it National Insurance (NI Contributions). If you have enough 'stamps', usually 14 years of NI contributions, you will receive a full state pension on retirement. Retirement age at the moment is 65 going on to 67 then 68 later. Old Age security is what they refer here as 'pensions top up'. Its means tested, so if you have more than £16k in savings you don't get it. The other one is Old Age security. This what the govt gave to people and it is universal .e rich and poor get it And then there is another one and it is Guarantee Income Supplement. Those who retire and whose pension and Old Age is below the govt set theshold get some money You can Google to get more info What is the pensionable age in Canada? |
Sep 15 2016, 11:16 PM
195 posts Joined: Jan 2014 From: your heart, mara digital |
my most important tip, invite you neighbours for a barbeque the first few days u move
Sep 16 2016, 08:34 PM
393 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
I am wondering if how long do you need to wait, if the employer recognize your work and say they want you, helping to convert work permit to PR?
Sep 17 2016, 05:26 AM
2,145 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: 1BORNEO |
wah ... where to get RM 1million to set up a business in Canada?
| Change to: | 0.0246sec
5 queries
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:15 PM |