Dust.. Need Help.., Newbie's Plight

TSzephyr
post Dec 2 2006, 09:21 AM, updated 19y ago

265 posts

Sifus,
I'm faced with the dust-on-sensor problem.. I'm using a 400D, and yes as some said before, the dust-cleaning function does not really work like a wonder.. Here's the attached image which I shot purposely to check on dust specks... sad.gif

Hope someone can help to explain what to do, step-by-step, because I'm afraid I might destroy my unit by doing a self-experimentied cleaning. Is the use of a blower sufficient enough to solve this issue? Appreciate some advise sad.gif

This post has been edited by zephyr: Dec 2 2006, 10:15 AM
clemong_888
post Dec 2 2006, 10:09 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

the photoshop it off cos it's almost always impossible to get rid of everyone speck of dust..
donnyyeo
post Dec 2 2006, 11:29 AM

583 posts

Please use Canon 400D "Dust Delete Data" feature to remove the stubborn spots.
??!!
post Dec 2 2006, 12:43 PM

2,548 posts

Check out GoldKnight's thread. He got's got a link on the dust bunnies thingy.
TSzephyr
post Dec 2 2006, 08:01 PM

265 posts

Mmm.. Any experienced sifus did an y hands-on sensor cleaning/blowing here? sad.gif
shinchan^^
post Dec 3 2006, 08:50 AM

K66
21,256 posts

lao eh
then the dust cleaning systems ;p is really like none
TSzephyr
post Dec 3 2006, 11:23 AM

265 posts

That's why lah... Damn tulan now.. I think tomorrow wanna send it to Canon Service Centre and make a big fuss, so that they'd do a free cleaning for me... mad.gif biggrin.gif
ifer
post Dec 3 2006, 01:52 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Dec 2 2006, 10:09 AM)
the photoshop it off cos it's almost always impossible to get rid of everyone speck of dust..
what if he shot 439,098,326 photos while on holiday in europe?
photoshop every single one of it?
TSzephyr
post Dec 4 2006, 09:02 PM

265 posts

I've got no words to describe this... @#$#@!!!!! vmad.gif

gold3knight
post Dec 4 2006, 11:09 PM

1,672 posts

this might help.

How to clean house dust bunnies.
http://www.copperhillimages.com/index.php?pr=tutorials

when you free, go browse here: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=311850 pretty good tips and stuffs.

This post has been edited by gold3knight: Dec 4 2006, 11:11 PM
shinchan^^
post Dec 5 2006, 08:41 AM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(zephyr @ Dec 4 2006, 09:02 PM)

wah lao eh

where u change ur lens?
in the desert?
aichiban
post Dec 5 2006, 12:29 PM

pot yia thee keh tai lang!!
1,994 posts

QUOTE(zephyr @ Dec 4 2006, 09:02 PM)

rclxms.gif
almost same as mine
but u can always set the right focal length and aperture so they are invisible
but the best thing to do is to clear them bunnies

wait till i get my tools dem bunnies vmad.gif
ifer
post Dec 5 2006, 08:07 PM

4,637 posts

this is serious. i got to say, this is the first time i see this amount of dust on the sensor. your sensor have more amount of dust than a press photographer's.
shinchan^^
post Dec 5 2006, 08:17 PM

K66
21,256 posts

how did it go inside? sweat.gif
TSzephyr
post Dec 5 2006, 09:21 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Dec 5 2006, 08:41 AM)
wah lao eh

where u change ur lens?
in the desert?
1 time in the car (yeah, excited newbie) 2 more times indoors (in my room, with fan off)... Maybe the dust in my car screwed thigs up.... cry.gif

QUOTE(aichiban @ Dec 5 2006, 12:29 PM)
rclxms.gif
almost same as mine
but u can always set the right focal length and aperture so they are invisible
but the best thing to do is to clear them bunnies

wait till i get my tools dem bunnies  vmad.gif
I am pissed due to the fact that they claim that their Self-Cleaning Sensor Unit are able to 'automatically removedust adhering to the imaging sensor'. #$%$#@!! vmad.gif

QUOTE(ifer @ Dec 5 2006, 08:07 PM)
this is serious. i got to say, this is the first time i see this amount of dust on the sensor. your sensor have more amount of dust than a press photographer's.
How leh? I pro oledi or not? Hahahaha!!! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Dec 5 2006, 08:17 PM)
how did it go inside? sweat.gif
Beats me my bro... Now I'm back with Oly SP-700... At least for another 2 weeks.. sad.gif
aichiban
post Dec 5 2006, 09:43 PM

pot yia thee keh tai lang!!
1,994 posts

QUOTE(zephyr @ Dec 5 2006, 09:21 PM)
1 time in the car (yeah, excited newbie) 2 more times indoors (in my room, with fan off)... Maybe the dust in my car screwed thigs up.... cry.gif
I am pissed due to the fact that they claim that their Self-Cleaning Sensor Unit are able to 'automatically removedust adhering to the imaging sensor'. #$%$#@!!  vmad.gif

its the car sleep.gif
u kenot imagine the amount of dust inside the car ambient air.....
now u do anyway laugh.gif

400D shakes dust off the sensor, notice the word shake, not remove
like how u shake ur buttocks, but not removing it wink.gif
mr lappy
post Dec 6 2006, 05:19 AM

398 posts

how do i get rid of dust in the lense.

my 18-200 has only been with me like about 5 month + and therz dust inside the lense... >_<
shinchan^^
post Dec 6 2006, 09:02 AM

K66
21,256 posts

noted that, never ever changed lens in the car again
nairud
post Dec 6 2006, 09:09 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Dec 6 2006, 09:02 AM)
noted that, never ever changed lens in the car again
imagine this, FRIM - raining....need to change lens... how? tongue.gif
shinchan^^
post Dec 6 2006, 09:12 AM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Dec 6 2006, 09:09 AM)
imagine this, FRIM - raining....need to change lens... how? tongue.gif
pc fair surrounded by thousands
also changing la
hehe