Choosing The Right PSU, Discussions about power supply units.

smokey
post Apr 26 2007, 02:10 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

wat psu can rm150 buy me?
im not so much into overclocking...no highend video card...
most probably video card will be below geforce 8600 range...
maybe using x2 cpu...

This post has been edited by smokey: Apr 26 2007, 02:11 PM
smokey
post Apr 26 2007, 07:01 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

rm150 can buy extreme power 430w and saga 400w...
which is better?
smokey
post Apr 28 2007, 10:28 AM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Apr 27 2007, 06:27 PM)
but u can always increase rm50 to get a real power 450 from CM,it's not bad.
CM extreme power is not pure power.

btw,rm200 is used price,i got friend selling,i can help u.
i dunno whether i want to buy a psu yet...hehe...
smokey
post May 21 2007, 03:25 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

CM realpower 450w got very low Ampere on its 12v rails if u look at the ratings...i wonder y...
smokey
post May 24 2007, 09:56 AM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

almost same spec with me...only im using x2 3600+
it shud be 300w ++...
so try getting a 350w above psu...

im using chapalang 450w...my pc feel vry unstable...
smokey
post May 26 2007, 02:45 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

smokey
post May 29 2007, 09:23 AM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

guys, between enermax FMAII 460w and liberty 400w, which will u choose considering both have almost similiar pricing?
smokey
post May 30 2007, 01:37 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 30 2007, 08:59 AM)
Well, modular are surely going to be expensive but take a look at those top PSU (especially 1k Watt), they are all non modular.
there are some which is modular de...such as thermaltake 1200w...

Added on June 1, 2007, 10:08 amguys need help to make decision today...
at last i decided to take 450+-w psu...
so which one should i take?

acbel ipower 450w or enermax fmaII 460w ??
stability and RELIABILITY is the main priority..

Added on June 3, 2007, 2:11 pmi bought enermax FMAII 460w yesterday, but after setup everything, my pc cant boot...went to lowyat again today but they test can boot...maybe compatibility problem with biostar tforce 6100? so no more enermax for me forever...

so i changed to acbel ipower 450w and its working...but y the power fluctuates all the time especially when playing 3d game...same like my chapalang 450w only...sad

This post has been edited by smokey: Jun 3 2007, 02:11 PM
smokey
post Jun 13 2007, 09:33 AM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 13 2007, 09:19 AM)
specify why your tt tough powert 750 wouldnt work, because i have one and afaik, psu dont have any compatibility issues so long the motherboard follows its standard ATX specifications, in which the one you have should be.
haha...i also got psu compatibility problem b4...
my chapalang 450w can run no problem...
then i bought enermax fmaII 460w and plug into my biostar 6100, and it cant boot at all!! every fan is moving, only the power LED of the casing no light while the HDD LED is forever lighting...
brought back to the shop but that fella can boot...
so i changed to acbel ipower 450w and at last solve my problem...waste my time, effort and transport money only...
smokey
post Jun 25 2007, 10:01 AM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

do u guys use AVR?
smokey
post Jun 25 2007, 11:06 AM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

i think a 400w above true power psu would be enough...
smokey
post Jun 26 2007, 09:40 AM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

i think 395w is during the max power consumption period...
during idle maybe around 200w++ only...
smokey
post Jun 27 2007, 09:12 AM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

did u try to plug the psu to AVR?
maybe is ur hse electricity not clean...

dun know which PSU to recommend u, but i remember got 1 review of Fortron 400W silent series (blue colour de and fan-less) can power up 8800gts SLI mode without problem...

This post has been edited by smokey: Jun 27 2007, 09:14 AM
smokey
post Jun 27 2007, 11:12 AM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

u shud see hw much the saga 400w provide hw much ampere at its 12v first...
firstly, b4 buying the psu, u shud shift ur pc to other wall socket and test the wall socket...
smokey
post Jun 27 2007, 05:15 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 27 2007, 11:21 AM)
Thanks for the advice there.

IIRC, the last time i check about the FSP SAGA, its offering dual 12V rail at around 15A each. So, should be around 30A for both rail MAX. Thats more than what silverstone and CM Extreme is offering. The problem is, is the SAGA a TRUE POWER PSU. Tried searching many places about the answer but to no avail.

As said before, further testing will be done tonight with the PSU directly connected to the power socket (not extension anymore) to see whether problem persist. Then, switching to another extension will also be done alongside the suspected faulty one. After that, i might shift to another PSU (probably some chaplang one or get another 400W PSU - the FSP i am asking) and retest again on the suspected faulty connector. If problem did not occur, i will assume its the extension that is causing a problem..
they wont stack and give u 30A...this is because the rail 1 and 2 comes from the main rail... correct me if i am wrong...
and i think SAGA is cheap coz they dun have active PFC...correct me if i am wrong again...

and why do u need to spend extra money (more than rm100) to confirm is ur PSU problem?? jz send the Silverstone to the service center and test on the spot lor...
smokey
post Jun 29 2007, 03:46 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

about PFC:

http://www.endpcnoise.com/cgi-bin/e/pfc.html
smokey
post Nov 16 2007, 10:15 AM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

dunno if this is posted b4...
a review of chapalang psu...