5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Choosing The Right PSU, Discussions about power supply units.

lex
post Oct 30 2008, 02:27 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Oct 28 2008, 11:00 AM)
i just bought a coolermaster 460W PSU. it buzzes like my acbel. mad.gif
Hmm.... the buzzz... Check and see if you had plug in the power connector properly. AFAIK the buzz usually occurs when your power connector not plugged in properly (ie. contact problem, connector plug too loose, connector plug too tight and slightly bigger than socket until cannot fully insert the plug all the way and the contacts inside not fully and properly joined), move or shake the power cable a bit and if experience more buzzing or not... hmm.gif

I'm using AcBel too but never experience this "buzzzz"... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Oct 30 2008, 02:29 AM
lex
post Nov 15 2008, 12:13 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(liquiddog @ Nov 14 2008, 02:48 PM)
2HDDS,

What PSU can i get at price <RM220 to run a HD4850? Really need help here asap.

I thought of getting CM extreme 550 watt, its only RM185. Fits my budget perfectly  thumbup.gif

What do you guys think?
Should be no problem. There's also the newer Extreme Power Plus model, the real power is around 510W methinks. wink.gif

QUOTE(seanlimys @ Nov 14 2008, 06:04 PM)
cm dun go for extreme..go for real power...below rm220 is a tight budget to get a really good ones
There's nothing wrong with Extreme version, its actual power should quite close to its rated power (peak wattage). He has a tight budget and for below RM220 and its not easy to find a real 500W around that price. Furthermore, the Real Power models are out of his budget range. hmm.gif

QUOTE(eyeshield21 @ Nov 14 2008, 06:16 PM)
my budget is around rm200-250...probably i'll try to get a new psu by nex week..wut type of psu would u like to suggest? icon_question.gif

thnx in advance!! biggrin.gif  thumbup.gif
Look for Silverstone ST50F 500W... Its within your budget. Review here http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/548 nod.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Nov 15 2008, 12:32 AM
lex
post Nov 15 2008, 12:34 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(seanlimys @ Nov 15 2008, 12:27 AM)
erm...for me...st50f is another revolution of st40f based on the specs..
See review conclusions http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/548/10
SilverStone Strider ST50F provides one of the best cost/benefit ratios for users looking for a good mainstream 500 W power supply. First, it can truly deliver 500 W at 50º C, which is outstanding. Second, the number of power plugs this unit has is more than a mainstream user will ever need: two 6-pin auxiliary power plugs for video cards, six SATA power plugs and six peripheral power plugs. And the third highlight from this power supply is its efficiency, above 85% if you pull up to 300 W, 84% if you pull 400 W and 80% or 82% if you pull 500 W, depending on the load pattern. And fourth we could make this power supply to deliver up to 598.5 W.

Compared to other 500 W power supplies we have reviewed recently, Antec EathWatts 500 W and Corsair VX450 W (which is the same power supply as this model from Antec but with a different housing) are better products because they provide a little higher efficiency, have overloading protection up and running, and provide a lower level of noise and ripple.

On the other hand, SilverStone Strider ST50F is a better product than Enermax Liberty DXX 500 W, which, amazingly enough, is more expensive than the reviewed product.

When you compare prices, this unit is unbeatable: it costs only USD 67 at Newegg.com, while Antec EarthWatts 500 W costs USD 90, Corsair VX450W costs USD 75 and Enermax Liberty DXX 500 W costs USD 100. It is also cheaper than Zalman ZM460B-APS (USD 85 at the same store), a power supply that uses the same project as the reviewed unit and we suspect that they might be identical (we will review this power supply from Zalman very soon to see if this is true or not).

The only problems we can see with this power supply is the lack of a MOV on the transient filtering stage and the lack of an overload protection circuit, and that is the only reason we are giving it our “Silver Award” seal instead of our “Golden Award”. But, like we said, this is a terrific product.

This post has been edited by lex: Nov 15 2008, 12:38 AM
lex
post Nov 22 2008, 09:34 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Nov 21 2008, 11:44 PM)
how can i know that PSu was true power or not? how to know just looking at price list? need to read at the box also? or the review?
First look at the price... a typical 400W+ "true power" PSU costs at around RM150 or more. Compare this price with those typical "400W+" cap ayam PSUs which usually costs around RM50 or lower. See the difference? wink.gif

Looking at the box tells little usually (some cap ayam even comes with box too), but look for its power ratings such as how much current it can supply on its rails. Check the +12V rail especially because nowadays most of the power is taken from there. smile.gif

Example: AcBel 470W (real power 420W)

For "true power" typically we look for known brands like AcBel, Antec, CoolerMaster, Corsair, Delta, Enermax, Enlight, Fortron, HEC, PC Power Cooling, Silverstone, Tagan, OCZ, etc.. Some PSU are "true wattage" (can supply real/continuous power at its rated wattage), while some others are rated by their peak/maximum power. Those rated by their peak/maximum power typically can supply real/continuous power close to its rated wattage. icon_rolleyes.gif

Cap ayam: PowerLogic Magnum "450W" (real power 230W only)

True wattage: Enlight 420W (High Power OEM)
Attached Image picture of my old (retired) PSU.. biggrin.gif

Notice the big difference in current (A) rating on the rails between cap ayam PSU and the true wattage PSU? rolleyes.gif

Note: Typically cap ayam PSUs can only supply about HALF of its rated wattage. See How Much Power Can a Generic 500 W Power Supply Really Deliver?

QUOTE(nidzamputra @ Nov 22 2008, 08:07 PM)
today i bought Glacial Power GP-AL 650A power supply 650watt...is it this good psu ?
Looks good, have lots of AMPs on those rails.. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Nov 22 2008, 09:37 PM
lex
post Nov 22 2008, 11:41 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Nov 22 2008, 10:56 PM)
thats mean on +12V, if 18A ....then it must be true power?
Not necessarily. I've seen some cap ayam PSUs that have 18A on it rails.. wink.gif

Let's compare..

Cap ayam: PowerLogic Magnum "450W"
+3.3V = 15A
+5V = 22A
+12V = 12A

True wattage: Enlight 420W (High Power OEM)
+3.3V = 30A
+5V = 40A
+12V = 18A

You can see the huge differences on every rail between the so-called "450W" and a real 420W PSU. rolleyes.gif

That Enlight PSU is pretty old, since the very early Pentium4 days.. Nowadays, due to change in board designs and power requirements most PSUs comes with bigger +12V rails. If you noticed the newer AcBel 470W above, it comes with dual +12V rails of 18A each. Some new "true power" PSUs have single +12V rails of 30A and sometimes up to 50A (and even much higher!). nod.gif

Cap ayam with 18A on the +12V rail: E-View "480W"
However notice all the other rails are weaker than the Enlight 420W? So how can this be a "480W" PSU? hmm.gif

True wattage: Corsair VX 450W (single +12V rail)
Now do you notice the differences with the so-called "480W"/"450W" and this real 450W PSU? brows.gif

There's also the "weight factor". Most "true power" PSUs are much heavier than their cap ayam counterparts. Different (and more) components inside.. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Nov 23 2008, 12:10 AM
lex
post Nov 23 2008, 08:43 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(nidzamputra @ Nov 23 2008, 08:54 AM)
for my glacial power 650A spec...this is can consider as good psu?..i confius abit 1 rail & 2 rail combination...

for your sample VX450W..this psu got 1 rail with big amps...my psu got 2 rail which each 20 & 25A...so i got 45A total is it?
Its a good PSU. Yours is a dual rail design while the Corsair is a single rail design.. You have about total 42A on the +12V rails (use 504W / 12V) thus there is some balancing between the rails, theoretically it should be able to output total of 45A combined. rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(xelnamikaze @ Nov 23 2008, 11:38 AM)
Cooler Master's UCP 700W

80 Silver Certification ? Is it for real?
If its real, then i planning to get one. Although the price is abit  cry.gif , but in the long run my electric bills would be cheaper rclxms.gif
Price: RM515 by Lalaman
Yups, its is... Didn't you see the review link on the CoolerMaster product page? This one http://www.hkepc.com/1379#view wink.gif

QUOTE(nidzamputra @ Nov 23 2008, 03:30 PM)
wow....nice psu..it is modular one?
I'm afraid not.. blush.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Nov 23 2008, 08:45 PM
lex
post Dec 18 2008, 02:52 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Dec 11 2008, 08:56 PM)
guys, is there any other recommendations for PSU which is on the same level as Silverstone Strider ST50F?
That would be CoolerMaster Extreme Power Plus 550W (real power 500W), which is around the same price. The other branded 500W or higher PSUs (such as those from Enermax) are more expensive, roughly at least RM300+ sweat.gif

QUOTE(cressalve @ Dec 11 2008, 09:25 PM)
Guys, I need some help over here. Hope that some of you sifus here can help me a bit for me in choosing PSU for my rig. Well, here's my spec:

proc: Intel C2D E8400 3.0ghz
mobo: Gigabyte GA-G31M-S2L
ram: A-Data 2Gb DDR2 800
HDD: Seagate 320gb 7200rpm
GPU: Powercolor HD4870 PCS+
optic drive: LG 22x securdisc DVD-RW

So my options are:
1) Silverstone ST50F 500W or,
2) Gigabyte Superb 550W

So, which one should I choose between those 2? In terms of performance and reliability? I'm inclined more towards Silverstone but hey, maybe u guys got some other opinion? Help me out guys T_T
That GigaByte Superb "550W" is really 450W only. The Silverstone 500W would be the recommended choice. However due to HD4870 graphics card, I would recommend getting a much higher PSU such as either Silverstone ST56F 560W or Corsair TX 550W. wink.gif

QUOTE(tamimbro @ Dec 18 2008, 02:42 AM)
need help here  sad.gif

what the best PSU for my rig? this is the spec

-AMD athlonx2 5600+
-Mobo M2N
-4 casing Fan
-Geforce GTX260
-XMS2 DDR2 2GB
At least Silverstone ST56F 560W or Corsair TX 550W (minimum). I would suggest higher, like Corsair TX 650W.. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Dec 18 2008, 02:56 AM
lex
post Dec 22 2008, 05:30 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(RainRainGirl @ Dec 21 2008, 10:35 AM)
900w is more tan i need yah, but i ask.. it not going on full power all time izzit?
my comp burn say 300w idle, psu going give onli 300w? or give the full 900w no matter rclxub.gif
If the system draws 300W on idle then PSU is going to draw about 300W+ from the power lines.. The "+" is extra power wasted within the PSU.. That's why its recommended to get a PSU with "80Plus" certification, which means its efficiency is 80% or higher (about 20% or less wasted in the PSU). 900W is the maximum power the system can draw from the PSU... wink.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Dec 22 2008, 05:32 AM
lex
post Dec 28 2008, 06:56 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(krainsyafiq95 @ Dec 27 2008, 03:09 PM)
Vantec ION2+ is really true power eh?
like silverstone???
Yups... usually true wattage too.. Of course, always check the specifications on that model first. wink.gif

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Dec 27 2008, 08:16 PM)
its actually 405w true power ... selling at Rm179
405W or 450W? Enermax is usually true wattage. There is another Enermax model which is 405W. hmm.gif

Bit of news: Huntkey Tries to Bribe Hardware Secrets
Author: Gabriel Torres Date: December 23, 2008 - 12:23 PM PST

I completely forgot to comment this with you. This story happened a while ago, but today I’ve got a new e-mail from them about the same subject. Right after I posted the Huntkey Green Star 450 W review Huntkey contacted me saying that they would like me to take down the review and that they would start advertising on Hardware Secrets.

But one thing has absolutely nothing to do with the other. First we are completely unbiased: we do not accept any kind of financial compensation for writing our articles and our advertisement contracts aren’t bind to the publishing of any kind of article about the advertiser. This is so true that sometimes we publish negative reviews about products from our advertisers (e.g. OCZ ProXStream 1,000 W) and they know that our editorial content must be unbiased, otherwise our readers will never believe in us when we say that a given product is good. Our articles and reviews are completely spontaneous and the results do not have any sort of interference from the manufacturers.

Unfortunately we know several publications, both inside and outside the internet, that do all sorts of dirty business, like charging for publishing an article, charging for giving an award seal, publish an article only if the manufacturer advertises with them, and not publishing negative reviews in order “to keep a good relationship with the manufacturer”. These are just some examples of biasing that happens all around the world, a.k.a. “payola” (read this excellent article exposing this) – and you, our critic reader, should start paying attention to the websites you read. We don’t do anything like this and we repudiate publications that do it (we simply cannot respect this kind of publication). Start suspecting of any publication that only tells good things about all products they review and never writes a single negative line.

Apparently on this case maybe Huntkey thought we were one of these websites that accept removing bad articles in exchange of advertisement.

The funniest thing was that they said our results were very different from the results achieved by other publications. Well, besides what I already explained above, there is simply no way to compare our power supply reviews to these lousy reviews posted all over the web, where the guy gets a 450 W power supply installs on a PC that is pulling 150 W and says that the power supply is amazing. With the first Huntkey review we posted we bought a second unit and the results were absolutely the same. According to Jon Gerow, founder of JonnyGURU, Huntkey power supplies are known in the industry for having a real wattage of 100 W below their labeled wattage.

It is really funny how some companies instead of being worried about improving the quality from their products try to vanish with the reviews that tell the truth about them. All serious companies use negative reviews to fix their products.

This post has been edited by lex: Dec 28 2008, 06:57 AM
lex
post Dec 28 2008, 02:32 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(seanlimys @ Dec 28 2008, 11:24 AM)
yea..juz like acbel e2 power..e2 power 470w is actually 420w true power
Usually AcBel real wattage is 40W to 50W less than its advertised/labeled (peak) wattage... and that's much closer than those of Huntkey or GigaByte Superb. Furthermore, its proven to be 80% efficient... biggrin.gif
lex
post Dec 28 2008, 03:10 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Dec 28 2008, 02:52 PM)
Forumer here still favor the so call True Powers, actually its just another marketing gimmick from the PSU manufacturer to cliam their PSU have the 'True power thingy'.
Yups, that's why check and research first before buying.. nod.gif

All we need is just calculate the output of the PSU, if output is same with what they claim/advertise and have 80% efficiency then its a good PSU.
That is why its good to check out reliable reviews.. As for my AcBel 470W, its stated here...
Output Power 420W
Max. Power 470W
Efficiency 80%@115/230Vac
The closest review for this PSU is the CoolerMaster Extreme Power Plus 460W (also manufactured by AcBel, same one with the 470W most probably methinks..). You can see the some of the review results here brows.gif
# Measured maximum power: 435.8 W at 50º C.
# Labeled efficiency: 70% minimum.
# Measured efficiency: Between 76.5% and 82.5% at 115 V.
Certainly verified.. brows.gif

Bad PSU:
- claim have 500W output, but real output is only 350W.
- low efficiency.
- low 12v rail output (put more out put on 5v and 3 v rails to fool users).
Seen quite a number of those (more like cap ayam PSUs).. That's why I don't recommend those. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Dec 28 2008, 03:13 PM
lex
post Jan 29 2009, 04:55 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(shinzhizu @ Jan 18 2009, 05:34 PM)
enermax FMA II better or tomahawk better? and wat different with ATX 12V V2.2 vs V2.3? what improvement from v2.3?
Different ATX standard. The newer ATX version should have more Amps on those +12V rails. smile.gif

QUOTE(cocoy @ Jan 20 2009, 08:03 PM)
can anyone  tell me what are the good psu for this spec?
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
GigaByte GA-EP45-UD3R mainboard
4GB Kingston DDR2-800 Value RAM (2 x 2GB)
GigaByte HD4850 OC 1GB GDDR3
WD 320GB SATA HDD
please help me?
Try Silverstone Strider ST50F 500W PSU.. wink.gif

QUOTE(parezz @ Jan 24 2009, 03:56 AM)
Guys!!
I have cap ayam I Cute PSU  wiz 2*12+  bring means 15a*2 ,180w each . So i got 30a .. Can i use HD4850?
lets say i cabut all fans, neon everything.. can i?
Not adviseable... Cap ayam not recommended for cards like HD4850. tongue.gif

QUOTE(beast921 @ Jan 24 2009, 08:59 PM)
All the while the SST560W were running fine, without any problem, out of the sudden one. in  the mid day, PC just shut down by its self.
then try to boot up, cannot. The green led light at the mobo (intel DG31PR)  are on. even without switching on the pc.
Switch everything off, waited for 5 minutes, then power up the rig again. Switch on, all fan running, all UV CCFL show uv light, then less than 15 second,
my rig power down itself again. later than tried to power up again , cannot anymore (its show sign of trying to power up the rig less than 3 second than its just died)

Waited for another day, try the same method again, same result, its power up than less of 15 second its just die, tried to switch on the rig, less than 3 second its tried to power up the rig then it die.
Have you tried running the machine without the UV CCFL lights? hmm.gif

QUOTE(beast921 @ Jan 24 2009, 08:59 PM)
I dont really want to open up my SST560W coz its still under warranty. I just want confirmation from others that has used SST560W, have they face this kindda Symptoms on their SST560W?

If you asking perhaps its other component from my rig, I have unplug & plug it back and tested with my friends, they working fine.
If you asking to test my SST560W with Different PC (not yet, I malas nak bukak dan test kat PC lain)
If you asking I should test my rig with Different PSU ( Yes I got spare PSU Corsair VX550W) but currently with my friend in Rawang, borrow to do some testing with his rig.

Hoping its my SST560W fault so I can send it for RMA. Can anybody confirmed it or did anybody face this kindda symptoms on their SST560W before? would really appreciate it tho.
You should try another PSU and see...

QUOTE(Xehanort @ Jan 18 2009, 08:47 AM)
is it true?? drool.gif
i plan to buy new gc, but my pc power supply is 450w only
is tat means my pc can use gtx 260 or 4870 without any problem??
Not adviseable.. For those cards, at least a 550W PSU is recommended. wink.gif

QUOTE(2pig @ Jan 27 2009, 12:28 PM)
hi~~guys~~is vantec ion2+ 600w enought power for change my ati4850 to ati4870 on my rig?
my rig spec on my siggy~~thx and happy cny~~ cheers.gif  cheers.gif
Yups, enough... nod.gif

QUOTE(skystrike @ Jan 28 2009, 12:06 PM)
acbel iPower 660W & silverstone ST56F....which are better??
The Silverstone one should be better... If you are looking for a 600W or higher PSU, then check the Corsair ones.. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Jan 29 2009, 05:03 AM
lex
post Jan 31 2009, 09:16 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(uzer85 @ Jan 29 2009, 11:41 AM)
helo. need to know somethin.
single rail is better than multiple since it can draw power to just one single rail n dont have to divide to multiple.
this is what is confuse me,
if single rail is better, why modular PSU like HX620W n Acbel M8 got multiple rail.
i'm thinking on taking modular PSU but some forummer tell me single rail is better. (TX750W is recommended).
can u clear the confusion in my head?
Single rail is always better but usually a bit more pricey. Multiple rails are easier to make than single rail ones (ie. the internal components). Also the power for single rail can be distributed easily among the hardware, whereas with multiple rails sometimes the all the power is not fully utilized. wink.gif

QUOTE(wookp @ Jan 31 2009, 11:25 AM)
Guys, I wanna know whether my build (check my siggy) has enough power or not. I have some problems lately whenever i boot up, sometimes the HD is detected and sometimes the DVD rom is detected. But the PC always boots up.really pening. Just wanna reconfirm before i go out and buy a 700w PSU. zzzzz
I would recommend getting the bigger PSU.. This is why I always recommend 550W and higher for graphics cards like HD4870 and GTX260.. wink.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Jan 31 2009, 09:20 PM
lex
post Feb 1 2009, 01:25 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(wookp @ Feb 1 2009, 12:54 AM)
Thanks for the prompt reply lex. But I just wanna confirm the symptoms before i go rushing out to buy a bigger psu...LOL...
Try inspecting your motherboard for any signs of bad capacitors.. You might want to try downclocking your processor to stock speeds first. If all else have tried, then you may just need to change PSU (more likely.. considering the type and amount of hardware in your machine)... wink.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Feb 1 2009, 01:26 AM
lex
post Feb 8 2009, 06:36 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(efilah @ Feb 7 2009, 12:19 AM)
enough which means cukup2 makan isnt it? huhu. thinking of upgrading to TX750 750W.
I would say your current PSU is just enough. If you want to go for higher PSU, then go ahead.. wink.gif

lex
post Feb 15 2009, 06:11 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(feedmyspitz @ Feb 8 2009, 12:52 PM)
I just bought a nvidia 9600gt graphic card. On the box it says that i need psu of 400w with 12v x 26A. Can i use a PSU of 550w with dual rail (12v x 18A)? I'm abit worried about cant reaching the 26A requirement. Thank you
Should be fine, as long as its not a cap ayam brand PSU. wink.gif

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Feb 8 2009, 07:43 PM)
How to know whether the PSU got all the basic requirements connector?
Such as SATA, 6 pin PCI-E connector (certain graphic card require this), IDE, etc.

Also, Cooler Master Extreme Power 430watts enough for AMD AM2 X2 3800+?
For just the processor any PSU can be used. Usually we determine the overall power, especially for the graphics card. smile.gif

QUOTE(efilah @ Feb 8 2009, 08:02 PM)
btw, while using CM real power 550W, i ran the OCCT software.when my system stresses at 100% load, the 12V meter shows reading around 3v only. ripples that much.now, my corsair psu also shows that reading.what happen actually? is it my house electricity gone crazy?   shocking.gif blush.gif
What software do you use for reading the voltages? hmm.gif

QUOTE(d2z @ Feb 9 2009, 11:43 PM)
actually my friend is using 4670..but the driver is 'faulty'..while downloading the driver, we tried with my old 3870..the problem happen..

update : now after using 4670 again, the game now smooth already..that 3870 eat more than 4670..haish~
You should know that the HD3870 requires a true power 400W PSU with 30A on the +12V rail(s). Certainly not for cap ayam PSUs like PowerLogic.

QUOTE(Riddhy @ Feb 10 2009, 10:50 PM)
what is the best and how much watt do you need to run a Single GTX 295??
At least (minimum) 650W, the higher the better especially for a high end system. For high end system 750W would be recommended.

1. Is it 680w PSU overall?? I mean the whole PSU power is power is 680w (extreme power or real power)??

2. Can i Use a 700W or 750W Psu wif efficiency (65% to 70%) which is actually 490W and 525W?

3. Can I use a 700 or 750w psu wif efficiency (80% to 85%) which is actually 560W and 600W??

4. Or does it mean i need 680w minimum to run gtx295 single whatever the efficiency is? So if i consider a real power psu with efficiency rating of 80% so that means i need an 850W Psu real power?? Is that right?

80% of 850w is 680Watts??
Those power efficiency figures, 80% is the maximum output of the PSU for the whole system. For example let's say the PSU can supply 800W maximum, that means the total power the PSU will pull from the mains will be 1000W. That 200W is wasted inside the PSU for the conversion (from AC to DC). This the higher the efficiency, the less is wasted.

So it really confusing to me if i can run gtx 295 in total 680w psu only the best choice would be Gigabyte odin pro which is 720w with efficiency of 65% to 70% and is RM 260 at czone is it possible?
That is GigaByte Superb, not GigaByte Odin Pro... otherwise it wouldn't be that cheap. The real power of that PSU is 610W only. You can check the specifications here tongue.gif

QUOTE(Xehanort @ Feb 13 2009, 02:19 PM)
anyone here use Tagan??
during last week, the czone salesman recommended me Tagan n even ask me to search review for its psu
is it reliable n stable??
Tagan is rather famous too, and also more expensive than others when comparing price and wattage.

QUOTE(kmao @ Feb 14 2009, 11:57 AM)
I need some help regarding PSU issue. I have a Pentium D system and now I'm want to add on a new component - GPU, HIS x1650 Pro DDR2 256MB to it, but I worries if it is sufficient to run on my current PSU - ayam brand 300W.

Here's my specs:

Pentium D 2.66Ghz
Foxconn P4M800P7MA
1GB DDR2 RAM
160GB HDD
Creative SoundBlaster
BenQ DVD-RW
ayam 3.5" Floppy
ayam Network Card
Should be fine as the X1650 Pro doesn't use a lot of power. However for peace of mind, maybe its time to invest on a true power PSU. brows.gif

QUOTE(LWRNCH6550 @ Feb 14 2009, 10:41 PM)
Hi fellow LYNtians, currently im looking for a PSU which supplies enough power for my old athlonx2 system. Few days ago it has been causing some trouble like unable to boot into windows or having BSOD and showing memory errors, turns out the PSU is the culprit, well it's reaching near its time i think.

I'm thinking of getting the Acbel E2 510w since i no longer do heavy game on that PC.
Is it enough for my system? My budget is around RM250 max. (i know i'm cheap abt it)

The specs are there on my siggy, the Athlon64 X2 system together with two 12cm fans with 4 bright LED on each fan. 2 SATA HDD + 1 EXT HDD.
The 9600GSO has about the same power requirements as 9600GT. The AcBel E2 Power 510W (real power 450W) should be sufficient. nod.gif

QUOTE(syafix @ Feb 14 2009, 11:13 PM)
can recommend me any true power 500W psu with sleeving ready?
Try looking at Vantec ION2+ 500W. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Feb 14 2009, 11:20 PM)
Is Coolermaster Extreme Power 650W at RM 290 a good buy for stock usage. No overclock intentions.
Its fine, real power around 500W to 550W.. What graphics card are you going to use? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Feb 15 2009, 06:15 AM
lex
post Feb 15 2009, 06:14 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Feb 14 2009, 11:30 PM)
Is it reliable and stable? Is it a good brand (gigabyte) as Coolermaster ones?
Yups. Do note that those PSUs use peak power rating (peak wattage), not actual/real power rating (true wattage). The GigaByte Superb 720W real power is only 610W.

lex
post Mar 21 2009, 07:30 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(azilazwa @ Mar 17 2009, 09:46 PM)
i visit the website and take a look at the details. it stated there peak power 720W. and max combine power is 610W. which power this psu can support? rclxub.gif
Peak power only lasts for a few seconds (or less than a second, depending on PSU design) and after that will fall back to continuous power (real power). The actual power of that PSU is 610W.

QUOTE(azilazwa @ Mar 17 2009, 09:46 PM)
anybody knows a good 750W psu that range 400-500? what brand and price?
Corsair TX 750W... nod.gif

QUOTE(Calvin_PB @ Mar 18 2009, 03:46 AM)
but the price is RM 500 above... 400-500 is just 650w.. but too bad corsair 650 no stock for weeks...  cry.gif
You can opt for AcBel R8 800W (real power 750W) which is around RM509.... or GigaByte Odin Pro 800W which is RM539 (quite a bit above your budget). tongue.gif

QUOTE(kchong84 @ Mar 18 2009, 01:00 PM)
Intel Core 2 Duo E7400
GigaByte G31M-ES2L mainboard
4GB Kingston DDR2-800 Value RAM (2 x 2GB)
Sapphire HD4830 512MB GDDR3
Lite-On SATA DVDRW
Western Digital 320GB SATA HDD
Can some1 tell me how many watt should i choose? Cooler master prefer. Thanks.
At least 450W or higher (much more recommended), such as CoolerMaster Extreme Power Plus 500W (real power 450W) or CoolerMaster Extreme Power Plus 550W (real power 500W). wink.gif

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Mar 18 2009, 10:17 PM)
For coolermaster can get extreme power 550w or else gigabyte superb 550w both price almost the same but Gigabyte gives you an edge with sleeve cable to look tidy
The GigaByte Superb 550W's real power is only 450W, and should be cheaper than CoolerMaster Extreme Power Plus 550W. hmm.gif

QUOTE(hung7 @ Mar 19 2009, 01:47 PM)
E8400
EP35-DS3
Seagate 320GB and 160GB
2GB*2 800mhz
DVD-WRITTER
CM690(3 fans)
CM Real Power Modular 520w 80+
Samsung 17' 740N

I m using 9600GT now. If i change to GTX260+ and 22' or 24' monitor,
My PSU enough or not?
You can try and see.. Usually for GTX260+, recommended to use 550W or higher PSU. flex.gif

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Mar 21 2009, 12:47 AM)
Is Gigabyte Superb 720W with 610W true power enough to power Intel Q9400 + EP45-UD3L, 1x Seagate 500GB + 1x WD 640GB + GTX260+ DVD writer + 6x 12cm fan.

enough?
No idea... Anyone tried this combination before (GTX260+ with GigaByte Superb 720W)? Theoretically it should work since that PSU real power is 610W. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Mar 21 2009, 07:36 AM
lex
post Nov 23 2009, 07:44 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

CoolerMaster Extreme Power "500W" and GigaByte Superb "550W" should be around 450W real power... Note that these units are peak power rated, not actual power which is lower than advertised. wink.gif

However those Huntkey units, I don't think they are anywhere close to 450W real power (reason why these are so cheap!). Check (exploding PSU) reviews here: Huntkey Green Star 550 W, Huntkey V-Power 550 W and Huntkey Green Star 450 W .. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Nov 23 2009, 08:30 PM
lex
post Nov 28 2009, 08:12 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(vampiremax @ Nov 24 2009, 07:18 PM)
Do you guys know about any PSU that have only 10pin on the plug connect to Mainboard? Or that is very old version?
Coz i have a mainboard is using 10pin need a new PSU. feeling very weird of it...
10 pins? Can you tell us the brand and model of your computer (as well as your PSU if possible). Pictures of the motherboard and power connectors can also tell a lot.. hmm.gif

QUOTE(hiroki04030 @ Nov 25 2009, 09:18 AM)
@vampiremax
I suppose that is AT PSU which is quite rare, I suggest you upgrade your PC.
It may not be an AT PSU and possibly a custom PSU... Normally AT PSU has two power connectors, both 6-pins (ie. 12 pins in total). wink.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0581sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:30 AM