Choosing The Right PSU, Discussions about power supply units.

camel90
post Jan 31 2008, 02:15 PM

Go-Kart racer, Amature Race Driver
1,314 posts

guys will this PSU

PowerLogic M1200X (ST)+220w
can run this setup?

-AM2 Athlon LE-1600 2200+ 2000MHz
-MSI MS7309
-Apacer DDR2 PC667 RAM 512MB
-W.D. 80GB SATA2

no OC, not necessary to upgrade the GC coz on board GC will be enough. no 24/7 use just normal use.

This post has been edited by camel90: Jan 31 2008, 02:15 PM
camel90
post Jan 31 2008, 08:30 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(Kataro @ Jan 31 2008, 06:46 PM)
Those 1KW PSU is for those people have many harddisk, many optical drive, SLI or Crossfire those very high end and power hunger graphic card, and somemore they using at least mid-end water cooling system where power is needed to power up the pump and so on... icon_rolleyes.gif  If like the setup you mention, get any true power PSU with more or equal to 500W is enuf edy I think... laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
the PSU calculator lite version is only good for reference, not that accurate...as for your CM extreme 430W, it is not true power PSU, so if you want to upgrade, better get true power PSU with around 500W should be safe... icon_rolleyes.gif  laugh.gif
PowerLogic is not true power PSU, the efficiency also low, and for me, it is also chapalang PSU...I think it is not sufficinet to power up your rig...and it is a risk too...it might damage your other hardware for long term.... laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
how about icute 450W ?

i hope its good though. isit better, no?
camel90
post Jan 31 2008, 09:36 PM

1,314 posts

basically my budget is very low. so, with the computer gona be use by kid to play. i think cheap2 psu is good though , no? coz u see, i will not add on graphic card later , i will not do any overclocking , i will not even turn it on for 24/7.

hurmmm
camel90
post Feb 1 2008, 10:17 AM

1,314 posts

thanx for all ur concern guys. but seems like the computer that my aunt asked me to build for her kid is very low budget. so, i end up use icute casing with psu that came together with it. hope it can survive though.
camel90
post Feb 9 2008, 05:47 PM

1,314 posts

what is the cheap 500W PSU that should be enough to run a rig that has HD3850 on it. budget as low as possible. (not sooo low like RM30 that only tahan for one day la). and has warranty also. anyone? cooler master good?
camel90
post Feb 9 2008, 07:23 PM

1,314 posts

ic. thanx.

if i want to continue use the PSU for my future rig (dunno the spec yet but u can expect lah how will it be as im a sim racer gamer) and as well use it for my current rig with pentium D and HD3850. what is the watt suggested?
camel90
post Feb 27 2008, 12:52 AM

1,314 posts

hey guys. im in dilemma. i hav 2 choices of PSU with the same amount of budget (well, sort of)

1. Silverstone Strider ST56F (560W)
2. Cooler Master RS520-ASAA (520W)

the thing is for ST56F i may hav to order from the forummer here at LYN and with extra postage fees. while the RS520 i just need to buy it from the shop nearby. i want these PSU for my current rig pentium D with HD3850. but i can ensure u that i will be changing to C2D platform soon. so, which one u recommend me to get?

0.0545sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:59 PM