Which brand of milk powder is better (maybe the best) for pregnancy? In market found Anmum Materna, Dumax Mamil Mama, Enfamama A+, S-26 MAMA, Frisomum Gold and Similac Mom..
Sorry if old post...
Milk powder for pregnancy, New hand..my wife
Oct 26 2015, 04:59 PM, updated 11y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
2 posts Joined: Oct 2015 |
Dear all mama or expert...
Which brand of milk powder is better (maybe the best) for pregnancy? In market found Anmum Materna, Dumax Mamil Mama, Enfamama A+, S-26 MAMA, Frisomum Gold and Similac Mom.. Sorry if old post... |
Oct 26 2015, 05:07 PM
299 posts Joined: Mar 2014 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
All is a waste of money, marketing gimmick, in my opinion. For pregnancy, just eat healthily, like what you SHOULD be eating when not pregnant. When baby comes out, they're only 10-20% of your own body weight at most! They don't need anything extra. The money is better spent on things for AFTER your baby is born. Or if really cannot eat food, because puking too much, buy multivitamin for pregnancy rather than milk powder.
Oct 26 2015, 10:15 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
722 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
am always bought goat milk for my wife ..
Oct 27 2015, 08:49 AM
12 posts Joined: Oct 2015 |
I think is needed, because baby is taking up mama's calcium and if mama not enough calcium for herself, she will start having some problem(like teeth pain/bleeding). Those supplement can take from varieties of foods but if you do not have time to check what's food contain what vitamin and calcium, taking the milk powder is a good choice.
i think all the milk powder is more or less the same ingredient, its depends on your wife's taste. My wife tested few sample and only can take Anmum and Enfamama, she dun like Frisomom taste, other brand not tested. |
Oct 27 2015, 09:12 AM
18 posts Joined: Apr 2015 |
My wife dont take any powder milk. Just go for multivitamin and choc milk dutch lady. Hehe.
This post has been edited by piyun: Oct 27 2015, 09:13 AM |
Oct 27 2015, 01:51 PM
206 posts Joined: Jul 2015 |
all big milk powder companies got give free samples. why u dun request ?? online request and they send to u straight . then u try see which your wife likes lor
milk and diapers all got free samples. can request online. |
Oct 27 2015, 02:06 PM
3,852 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(awkf128 @ Oct 26 2015, 04:59 PM) Dear all mama or expert... Calcium from food has better absorption rate. Generally these powders are overrated, if you are looking calcium, you can get it from the generic brands like dumex, nestle, etc.Which brand of milk powder is better (maybe the best) for pregnancy? In market found Anmum Materna, Dumax Mamil Mama, Enfamama A+, S-26 MAMA, Frisomum Gold and Similac Mom.. Sorry if old post... Recommended dosage is 1,000 milligrams per day so do note, if you are taking calcium pill, you would need to take in multiple dosages, since body absorption rate is around 500mg per dosage. Vege, cheese, sardin, are good source as well. All the best |
Oct 27 2015, 02:16 PM
492 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
I am not a milk drinker. I recall telling my gynae that I may need Calcium supplement as I don't drink milk.
He told me that milk is not necessary and no need calcium supplement if there is no deficiency detected. In fact, he usually will recommend some mommies to stop taking milk, to prevent getting massive weight gain that can get affect the delivery. Most important is to ensure balance meal. |
Oct 27 2015, 02:19 PM
5,650 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
doesnt matter. simple milk is good enough
but add on own folic acid, calcium, dha pills cheaper and healthier |
Oct 29 2015, 11:23 AM
2 posts Joined: Oct 2015 |
I had getting 2 branded milk powder sample for pregnancy and given my wife tried 1 of the brand. 1st day ok, 2nd day she facing stomach cramp, 3rd day same issue...so today stop this brand milk powder to see any stomach cramp...
To all expert or mama, do you facing this before? |
Oct 30 2015, 09:28 AM
2,126 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Kedah |
Eat healthily is good enough.
Doctor said these milk powders will make ppl and baby fat in a short period of time if you drink everyday. This post has been edited by yshiuan: Oct 30 2015, 09:28 AM |
Oct 30 2015, 11:51 AM
683 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Recommending - Anmum Materna Mango flavor!
* pass down recommendation from sis-law , and like it alot !! Especially for working mum for breakfast time , since taking drinks, just change it to a Milk formula nothing fancy about it . Not like drinking it 3x a day . Then just eat healthy , breakfast can still continue to whack your nasi lemak , fried bee hoon or what ever .... Don't really encourage to take pills , unless really can't get from normal food intake. - Folic acid can't avoid as that's to ensure spinal development - DHA for child development , as not everyone are on DHA rich diet also there are people who are concern of Mercury from Sea Fishes ( so can't over eat as well) Those taking Milk or calcium pills , the effect is minimal if 24-7 staying in door , encourage to get some sun light for Vitamin D . Comparing pill vs Milk , Milk naturally combo with Vitamin D due to the composition so infact is healthier. |
Oct 30 2015, 12:04 PM
492 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(awkf128 @ Oct 29 2015, 11:23 AM) I had getting 2 branded milk powder sample for pregnancy and given my wife tried 1 of the brand. 1st day ok, 2nd day she facing stomach cramp, 3rd day same issue...so today stop this brand milk powder to see any stomach cramp... Yup, I got that stomach cramp before. It was also samples given during checkup. Thou I am not a milk drinker, with everyone saying milk is a must for preggy, I gave it a try on those samples. 1st time stomach windy bloated and I thought I am bad in preparing milk that causes wind. Didn't blame the milk yet. Then 2nd time stomach cramp and suddenly blackout. So happen in the mall and there are ppl around that catch me before falling on to the floor. After that experience, I stop milk which then confirm by my gynae that milk is not necessary.To all expert or mama, do you facing this before? Can't recall the brand was Anmum or S26. |
Nov 2 2015, 06:56 PM
41 posts Joined: May 2008 |
I can't take any of the maternal milk due to the taste. I just drink Fernleaf full cream milk and calcium supplement. So far so good.
Maternal milk is loaded with LOTS of sugar and mommies will have a risk of getting gestational diabetes too. |
Nov 4 2015, 01:41 PM
2,009 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Here To: There |
vitamin n supplement is better, ie calsium etc..
Nov 6 2015, 04:20 PM
6 posts Joined: Jun 2014 |
drank enfamama, amway protein powder, surbex calcium pills, iberet, vitamin c & e.
was never sick during pregnancy! |
Nov 7 2015, 09:49 PM
1,329 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
for moms-to-be who has low appetite during the first trimester, the milk would be a useful source of nutrient
example, some would start throwing up upon smelling usual food type such as fish, chicken, onions, etc for them, their nutritional intake might be affected and the milk could be a helpful alternative |
Nov 8 2015, 01:09 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
11,554 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(electron @ Nov 7 2015, 09:49 PM) for moms-to-be who has low appetite during the first trimester, the milk would be a useful source of nutrient Chemical milk will provide all the artificial nutrients that a mother don't want.example, some would start throwing up upon smelling usual food type such as fish, chicken, onions, etc for them, their nutritional intake might be affected and the milk could be a helpful alternative |
Jun 1 2016, 04:23 PM
60 posts Joined: May 2011 |
I consumed anmum materna till late pregnancy, when I finally found out that people say it's sweet hence the weight gain in baby. Tried enfamama too, but I didn't like it
Jun 17 2016, 02:45 PM
368 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
My wife's doctor didn't recommend these kinda milk during pregnancy.
The doctor said it could cause the baby to grow big in tummy and could cause complication if going for natural delivery. Just take normal supplements prescribed by doctor. This post has been edited by ckseong80: Jun 17 2016, 02:45 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0233sec
5 queries
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:48 PM |