103 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Bottom

News i5/i7-7700HQ, MX150/GTX1050Ti/GTX1060Max-Q/1070, Y520 i7-7700HQ GTX1050Ti IPS ~ 4099

myway1985
post Aug 25 2016, 01:31 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Aug 25 2016, 12:49 PM)
good idea mannn... laugh.gif
need check wat port tat laptop hv.. some use esata port...

This post has been edited by myway1985: Aug 25 2016, 01:39 PM
shirogawawa
post Aug 25 2016, 06:58 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Aug 25 2016, 01:31 PM)
need check wat port tat laptop hv.. some use esata port...
useless one if esata biggrin.gif
myway1985
post Aug 25 2016, 06:59 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(shirogawawa @ Aug 25 2016, 06:58 PM)
useless one if esata biggrin.gif
Older laptop use esata port to connect to pcie expansions... Dun need open casing.. save effort..
shirogawawa
post Aug 25 2016, 07:00 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Aug 25 2016, 06:59 PM)
Older laptop use esata port to connect to pcie expansions... Dun need open casing.. save effort..
but bandwidth limited , thats why they implement thunderbolt- usb tyoe c 3.1
myway1985
post Aug 25 2016, 07:04 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(shirogawawa @ Aug 25 2016, 07:00 PM)
but bandwidth limited , thats why they implement thunderbolt- usb tyoe c  3.1
Now waiting gtx 1060 to fit into my m17xr4...

Like I said.. older laptop... Those who own legendary beast won't wan to let go so easy... We modify n improve our gadget.. keke...
mudkipryan94
post Aug 25 2016, 08:35 PM

someone need a sarcasm meter?
12,000 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Aug 25 2016, 07:04 PM)
Now waiting gtx 1060 to fit into my m17xr4...

Like I said.. older laptop... Those who own legendary beast won't wan to let go so easy... We modify n improve our gadget.. keke...
cry.gif
myway1985
post Aug 25 2016, 08:42 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Aug 25 2016, 08:35 PM)
cry.gif
Those got mxm slot 1.. hardly will sell lo... alot noob cry after they rush sell their mxm beast when they heard alot model soldered their processor n GPU...

The gtx 970m tat time.. haha
adilz
post Aug 26 2016, 03:34 AM

267 posts

Just to update. Got my old Dell Latitude E6520 i5-2520M to work with RX 470 using the eGPU dock connected using PCMCIA Expresscard.

Close of the Powercolor Red Devil RX 470 with eGPU dock and Dell Optiplex DA-2 PSU that's powering the external GPU.

I could even run Firestrike before this, but now I can. However lagging behind desktop. I guess either my CPU or the PCMCIA expresscard slot is bottlenecking the RX 470.

Huge jump too in Cloudgate Benchmark

Enough to run BF4 above 60 fps at 1080P Medium Preset.
-_-
post Aug 26 2016, 07:43 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(adilz @ Aug 26 2016, 03:34 AM)
Just to update. Got my old Dell Latitude E6520 i5-2520M to work with RX 470 using the eGPU dock connected using PCMCIA Expresscard.

Close of the Powercolor Red Devil RX 470 with eGPU dock and Dell Optiplex DA-2 PSU that's powering the external GPU.

I could even run Firestrike before this, but now I can. However lagging behind desktop. I guess either my CPU or the PCMCIA expresscard slot is bottlenecking the RX 470.

Huge jump too in Cloudgate Benchmark

Enough to run BF4 above 60 fps at 1080P Medium Preset.
Wow I want to ask this means you did not open your computer to access the wireless device. Just use pcmcia card?

i see in YouTube you got to disable the other driver to work looks scary haha

adilz
post Aug 26 2016, 08:41 AM

267 posts

QUOTE(-_- @ Aug 26 2016, 07:43 AM)
Wow I want to ask this means you did not open your computer to access the wireless device. Just use pcmcia card?

Yeap, that's why I got the PCMCIA Expresscard version instead of the mini PCIE type (most youtube video showed the mini PCIE type which have to open the laptop, plus taking out the WiFi module). I dont know about other setup, but mine was pretty much plug-in, boot up and just worked. I didn't need to change anything in BIOS or PC settings.
ChaChaZero
post Aug 26 2016, 09:32 AM

566 posts

QUOTE(-_- @ Aug 26 2016, 07:43 AM)

I think this is only applicable if you have an old laptop, maybe dating back 4 to 5 years or more. Newer laptops no longer come with the express card slot.
adilz
post Aug 26 2016, 11:38 AM

267 posts

QUOTE(ChaChaZero @ Aug 26 2016, 09:32 AM)
I think this is only applicable if you have an old laptop, maybe dating back 4 to 5 years or more. Newer laptops no longer come with the express card slot.
Yeap, true. Only older laptops. But at least a viable option to convert into low end gaming machine.
-_-
post Aug 26 2016, 12:35 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(adilz @ Aug 26 2016, 08:41 AM)
Yeap, that's why I got the PCMCIA Expresscard version instead of the mini PCIE type (most youtube video showed the mini PCIE type which have to open the laptop, plus taking out the WiFi module). I dont know about other setup, but mine was pretty much plug-in, boot up and just worked. I didn't need to change anything in BIOS or PC settings.
I have a alienware m15x super old model lol

When you plug your express card you just plug in install the driver then it worked? Don't need to disable the internal graphic card?

How about when you don't want to use just take out and boot back normally?

And I see your setup use a external screen you can use back the laptop screen? Haha sorry for all the crazy questions
myway1985
post Aug 26 2016, 01:03 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(adilz @ Aug 26 2016, 11:38 AM)
Yeap,  true.  Only older laptops.  But at least a viable option to convert into low end gaming machine.
ur processor bottoleneck.. if not can put gtx 960
myway1985
post Aug 26 2016, 01:04 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(-_- @ Aug 26 2016, 12:35 PM)

When you plug your express card you just plug in install the driver then it worked? Don't need to disable the internal graphic card?

And I see your setup use a external screen you can use back the laptop screen? Haha sorry for all the crazy questions
if ur m15x is 1st gen 1... then maximum u can put rx 460/470. 480 bottleneck
adilz
post Aug 26 2016, 01:09 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(-_- @ Aug 26 2016, 12:35 PM)

Yeap, i just plugged the PCI Expresscard, booted and it just worked. Even the BIOS is shown on the TV. Then installed the AMD driver. I didn't change any BIOS setup. And the internal Intel HD graphics was not detected when the eGPU is on.

To use back the laptop, I just shutdown, took out the PCI Expresscard and booted back as normal. However, I didn't try using the eGPU together with the laptop screen. Maybe I try that later tonite.
adilz
post Aug 26 2016, 01:12 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Aug 26 2016, 01:03 PM)
ur processor bottoleneck.. if not can put gtx 960
I think both the CPU and PCI Expresscard. I have just ordered i7-2760QM to upgrade my Dell CPU. But I think even with the CPU change, there will be some improvement but still won't fully utilize the RX 470 because the PCMCIA slot only works at x1 Gen 1.1. That 75% lower bandwidth that x4 Gen 2. I think RX 460 or GTX 950 would have been a better fit for this setup.
myway1985
post Aug 26 2016, 01:15 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(adilz @ Aug 26 2016, 01:12 PM)
I think both the CPU and PCI Expresscard. I have just ordered i7-2760QM to upgrade my Dell CPU. But I think even with the CPU change, there will be some improvement but still won't fully utilize the RX 470 because the PCMCIA slot only works at x1 Gen 1.1. That 75% lower bandwidth that x4 Gen 2. I think RX 460 or GTX 950 would have been a better fit for this setup.
ram speed oso limited.. DDR3 rite.. got put ssd inside?
adilz
post Aug 26 2016, 02:28 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Aug 26 2016, 01:15 PM)
ram speed oso limited.. DDR3 rite.. got put ssd inside?
Yeap, DDR3 1333 MHz only. Yes, I do have 256 GB SSD as my OS drive plus 500 GB HDD in the DVD bay.
-_-
post Aug 26 2016, 05:39 PM

178 posts

Haha actually my Alienware is processor is 520m dual core and I upgraded the graphic card from ati5*** to Gtx660m but my computer is like already showing weakness whereby the computer is hot so I thought maybe use external gpu maybe better haha

I actually waiting for a thunderbolt computer to be cheaper so I can buy that then maybe buy like a external gpu to run games tongue.gif

Because of VR I also holding my purchase of a new com tongue.gif

103 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0350sec    1.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:01 PM