ACPP advantage, apple care for macbook

TSletchuanna
post Nov 29 2006, 11:00 PM, updated 20y ago

71 posts

hi ppl,

i bought my white macbook on september...i planning to get ACPP,apple care on tis pc fair because there should have promotion...kindly advise the advantages of get ACPP because the most discounted price maybe RM750..so please give some suggestion if i need to get ACPP or not.

Thanks,
civic98
post Nov 29 2006, 11:28 PM

1,255 posts

Are you sure of the price? Where did u hear it from, if it is discounted, grab it, I will too.

Not so much on whether u need it or not, its just one of those things nice to have, just in case..

One of the advantage would probably be that you'll sleep better.. Hehe..
lokgotz
post Nov 29 2006, 11:56 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

got promotion for PC fair??

if there is, i might get it also.....just in case......
artyca
post Nov 30 2006, 11:25 PM

53 posts

how the hell does applecare work? I heard that you can choose to purchase it, only after the factory warranty expires?
lokgotz
post Dec 1 2006, 02:38 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

u have to purchase it and register it in apple's website....then u will get extra 2 years of apple's international warranty......

means 1 year(originally came with ur apple)+ 2 years (ACPP)....

u have to register it BEFORE your 1 year apple warranty expires....
piauster
post Dec 3 2006, 02:18 PM

136 posts

yeap. it gives you peace of mind for 3 years. normally most problems will start coming in after the 1 year warranty expires. so the ACPP is a worthwhile investment. and let me tell you, Apple Service Parts ain't cheap.
A faulty logic board can cost RM1500++ out of warranty.
artyca
post Dec 3 2006, 07:34 PM

53 posts

thanks for the feedback. Will get it when my factory warranty is ending...
xaw5126
post Dec 4 2006, 05:14 PM

3,488 posts

actually... you also get an exclusive phone number (1800-803-638) which you can call for any tech support.

Not just if or when the Mac stops working... but anytime you'd like to learn to do something new.

don't miss out...
dsiew
post Dec 5 2006, 11:03 AM

715 posts

so wat's the price for ACPP for macbook now anyway?
azxel
post Dec 5 2006, 11:34 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

those days, ACPP covered batteries as well.. pity mine died just after 3 years. sad.gif but at least I managed to get a new casing, hdd and combo drive for my powerbook... I think another friend of mine manage to get a new screen!!! geezz... hate that hippo... tongue.gif
wei
post Dec 5 2006, 11:38 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

hoi! no pointing finger behind oi!

yeah, i got my ex-powerbook screen changed to a spanking new one before warranty end biggrin.gif imagine if i have to dig that cash out of my pocket... i will swear to get ACPP for all the apple product i have...
aMDCoPPeR
post Dec 5 2006, 02:00 PM

168 posts

Heh, I have heard stories of people sweet-talking with the PR guys when calling up Apple tech support to get their stuff serviced even though the warranty has expired. But of course... this can only happen in the US, not here in Malaysia tongue.gif
wei
post Dec 5 2006, 02:19 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

nope, it's possibile in here too. but, you have to know them in person lar biggrin.gif
dsiew
post Dec 6 2006, 09:54 AM

715 posts

so wat's the price for ACPP here now for Macbook?
RM750?

can we buy ACPP from the US for example? Seems price on ebay is *cheaper*.
tinkerbel
post Dec 6 2006, 03:33 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

I haven't been able to get the ACPP prices online too. And what?!! Got a spanking new laptop replaced?! Am sure it was an upgraded version too, right?!

Great.. Now I know who to go to in about 2 years 11 month from now icon_rolleyes.gif

OK - I just got the ACPP pricing from MacAsia @ 1U [courtesy of N0eL]. The MBP ACPP is RM1399. Dunno about the MacBook though but I guess u could contact any Mac stores for the actual pricing.

Dang MBP 7799 + ACPP 1399 = RM9198. And that doesn't even include the cost of the carry case YET! Damn it. How 'gaya' would it be to just walk around with the MBP box as the carry case?! More importantly, safe or not, as in, hardy enough ah the box? ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Dec 6 2006, 04:46 PM
lokgotz
post Dec 6 2006, 05:05 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(dsiew @ Dec 6 2006, 09:54 AM)
so wat's the price for ACPP here now for Macbook?
RM750?

can we buy ACPP from the US for example? Seems price on ebay is *cheaper*.
i think u can.....
it's just the serial number of the ACPP that u need to register in apple's website.....correct me if i'm wrong...

but beware, buying online is always a risk....
tinkerbel
post Dec 6 2006, 07:34 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

And check to make sure the serial number hasn't already been registered for another product, plus the total warranty days left.

RM750 sure sounds 'cheap' now that I found out the plan I'm gonna need is RM1399 rclxub.gif
N0eL
post Dec 6 2006, 11:11 PM

1,479 posts

If I'm not mistaken..... ACPP for macbook is around rm 900++~!

See your money growing wings flying away from you? But if sometime goes wrong with your stuffs(touch wood),will probably need to fork out more if no ACPP...
xaw5126
post Dec 7 2006, 12:51 PM

3,488 posts

its RM959 for MacBook/iBook ACPP...
tinkerbel
post Dec 7 2006, 01:59 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

RM959 for MB
RM1399 for MBP

It does sound like a lot of $ [wait a min...what am I talking about?! It IS a lot of $]
but what if you look at it this way

For MacBook users, it only costs you RM1.28. For MBP users, it's RM1.92. At less than RM2 a day to give you better sleep, more rest, no worries, I think it's worth the $ [and No, I'm not getting any $ from Mac helping them promote their ACPP].

Of course, if you want to take the risk, and save your $, by all means go ahead. As I haven't bought my MBP yet I really ain't in position to comment much more than I oredi have laugh.gif

0.0253sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:27 AM