Hyprex- A better fire extinguisher?

TSidoblu
post Oct 20 2015, 09:21 PM, updated 9y ago

stars for sale
11,308 posts

Saw this selling at Homefix at Rm188 for two bottles.
It says for class A and B fires so it's not for fire involving oils and fats like in a kitchen fire but the picture shows it been use in the kitchen. Leaves no messy residue.

Amazing thing is this is what it says -

"HYPREX contents are mainly of water ( 95%+ ) and our patented Nano plant extracts additive. The additive alters ordinary water's fundamental properties, breaks up the surface tension and the molecular binding forces to make it more "liquid " ( lower viscosity ).

HYPREX is ultra effective in putting out fire rapidly as it penetrates deeper, spread out wider into a thin sheet to cool burning surfaces faster."

Anyone tried or bought it? hmm.gif
Rm188 for mainly water content sweat.gif

This post has been edited by idoblu: Oct 20 2015, 09:28 PM
ar188
post Oct 21 2015, 12:27 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 20 2015, 09:21 PM)

Saw this selling at Homefix at Rm188 for two bottles.
It says for class A and B fires so it's not for fire involving oils and fats like in a kitchen fire but the picture shows it been use in the kitchen. Leaves no messy residue.

Amazing thing is this is what it says -

"HYPREX contents are mainly of water ( 95%+ ) and our patented Nano plant extracts additive. The additive alters ordinary water's fundamental properties, breaks up the surface tension and the molecular binding forces to make it more "liquid " ( lower viscosity ).

HYPREX is ultra effective in putting out fire rapidly as it penetrates deeper, spread out wider into a thin sheet to cool burning surfaces faster."

Anyone tried or bought it?  hmm.gif
Rm188 for mainly water content  sweat.gif
seems quite difficult for liquid based fires.
ozak
post Oct 21 2015, 01:37 AM

17,018 posts

How many is the contain? kg.

Seem expensive. Get the ordinary cheaper for higher contain. And the normal 1 can refill somemore.

Back to 18yrs ago, did brought similar like HYPREX outlook. Macam spray mosquito. But it is white powder.

The problem is, it got expired date. After few yrs, you got to throw away if didn't use. The pressure will drop and the contain no more effective.
TSidoblu
post Oct 21 2015, 05:57 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 21 2015, 01:37 AM)
How many is the contain? kg.

Seem expensive. Get the ordinary cheaper for higher contain. And the normal 1 can refill somemore.

Back to 18yrs ago, did brought similar like HYPREX outlook. Macam spray mosquito. But it is white powder.

The problem is, it got expired date. After few yrs, you got to throw away if didn't use. The pressure will drop and the contain no more effective.
Ya never think of that. Dunno can expire or not.
Size is like those mosquito spray but slightly bigger
weikee
post Oct 21 2015, 09:10 AM

12,019 posts

Maybe can try this

http://www.bonex-asean.com/
ozak
post Oct 21 2015, 10:19 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 21 2015, 05:57 AM)
Ya never think of that. Dunno can expire or not.
Size is like those mosquito spray but slightly bigger
Sure got expire 1. Cause most of the thing cannot hold gas pressure for long. Slowly will leak out.

With my experience with such can spray and expired short date, not worth to buy. Even expired, I still keep for 10yrs. Lastly try it out and the pressure is low. Throw it away.

Better get the refill type which you can refill back if pressure drop. Not expensive also the refill. And it have a gauge to check the pressure. Which the can type don't have.

Here, safety product is not cheap. You need to get something that last long. That most of the time don't use at all.

Yo, this weekend, got something like home expo. Maybe got sale on fire extinguisher. Regret last time didn't buy when they offer RM80. 2day ago, check at ACE MV, cost RM122.
TSidoblu
post Oct 21 2015, 10:40 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 21 2015, 09:10 AM)
Maybe can try this

http://www.bonex-asean.com/
not bad
TSidoblu
post Oct 21 2015, 10:41 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 21 2015, 10:19 AM)
Sure got expire 1. Cause most of the thing cannot hold gas pressure for long. Slowly will leak out.

With my experience with such can spray and expired short date, not worth to buy. Even expired, I still keep for 10yrs. Lastly try it out and the pressure is low. Throw it away.

Better get the refill type which you can refill back if pressure drop. Not expensive also the refill. And it have a gauge to check the pressure. Which the can type don't have.

Here, safety product is not cheap. You need to get something that last long. That most of the time don't use at all.

Yo, this weekend, got something like home expo. Maybe got sale on fire extinguisher. Regret last time didn't buy when they offer RM80. 2day ago, check at ACE MV, cost RM122.
the ones they usually sells, leaves a white powdery mess
ozak
post Oct 21 2015, 11:22 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 21 2015, 10:41 AM)
the ones they usually sells, leaves a white powdery mess
That is 1 of the reason that I didn't buy last time. I look for another type without powder. But no where can find and quite expensive.
weikee
post Oct 21 2015, 11:52 AM

12,019 posts

CO2, and powder wipe different type of fires source. Have to know they type of fire source. Usually house are more on oil, and kitchen that are better with powder type.

If you have heavy electronic equipment, need to invest in fire suppression system smile.gif
TSidoblu
post Oct 21 2015, 11:56 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 21 2015, 11:52 AM)
CO2, and powder wipe different type of fires source. Have to know they type of fire source. Usually house are more on oil, and kitchen that are better with powder type.

If you have heavy electronic equipment, need to invest in fire suppression system smile.gif
You do tai chow with big fire better have two extinguisher on standby 😂
ozak
post Oct 21 2015, 12:17 PM

17,018 posts

I think just settle for powder type will do. Cheaper to store.

We don't use it anyway.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 21 2015, 09:00 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 21 2015, 12:17 PM)
I think just settle for powder type will do. Cheaper to store.

We don't use it anyway.
For house use, get CO2 type, dry powder need to be checked once every year. Also, dry powder are quite messy sweat.gif
halcyon27
post Oct 22 2015, 09:17 AM

2,140 posts

Try the AF11E!

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Oct 22 2015, 09:22 AM
ozak
post Oct 22 2015, 09:55 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Oct 22 2015, 09:17 AM)
Try the AF11E!

Look very effective. But RM300 for a 0.6kg size. sweat.gif
luyut
post Oct 22 2015, 09:59 AM

178 posts

i bought cheap one at mr.diy rm10 only. never try it though. usable within 3 years period only.
ar188
post Oct 22 2015, 10:21 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 21 2015, 10:40 AM)
not bad
the original item is called bonpet. saw it once in the 90s.. dunno who selling it in malaysia

1-2seconds and it's out.. even oil fires.

halcyon27
post Oct 22 2015, 11:28 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 22 2015, 09:55 AM)
Look very effective. But RM300 for a 0.6kg size.  sweat.gif
I think there's a local distributor. I bought it long ago from a diver friend who knows them. Warranty is 10 years. Back then it was cheaper.
www.t-ecotech.com/af11e_n.html
panda-man
post Oct 23 2015, 10:28 AM

2,691 posts

any recommended shop to get fire extinguishers? more focused on electrical/dry fire. also interested in fire blanket. Thanks!
ozak
post Oct 23 2015, 10:41 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Oct 22 2015, 11:28 AM)
I think there's a local distributor. I bought it long ago from a diver friend who knows them. Warranty is 10 years. Back then it was cheaper.
www.t-ecotech.com/af11e_n.html
This topic make me realize that, it doesn't matter what type. As long as it can extinguisher the fire and cheap is good enough. We

1) most probably don't use it at all. With a short expired time, money fly. So get a cheap powder will do.
2) Fire already cause your thing damage. It already in a messy. Having powder on it doesn't matter anyway. You still have to clean it up everything without the powder.
3) Most of this expensive small and high tech fire extinguisher have no gauge to check. If it defect and lost pressure, we don't no. When the time need it, press and nothing happen. Get a normal 1 with a gauge to check pressure is much more safe. It is call self check safety device.
4) cheaper cost can buy more to place in your home. Rather an expensive 1 set.

Safety product here are freaking expensive. 1 of the reason why people don't buy such thing for their home.

Ex. My wife get cons from saleman and brought a smoke alarm for Rm350. I brought a smoke alarm from oversea for just RM130. And much more function.

0.0238sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:15 AM