Replacing BD drive with SSD, need advice

TSRaymond Chong LK
post Oct 20 2015, 02:22 PM, updated 11y ago

123 posts

Hi, I'm using an ASUS N56VZ, it's running on Ivy Bridge and is rather slow, and I'm aware that I can swap my Blu Ray drive for an SSD. I've got some questions that I hope you can help me with:

1) Will it affect my original Windows license?
2) To what extent can I copy everything I have on C: over to the SSD without the risk of losing my settings? (the reason why I'm asking this is because I will need to plan carefully as I don't really have time to reinstall and arrange all my files)
3) Does adding an SSD normally significantly increase power consumption? (I rarely use my BD rom)

Thank you

This post has been edited by Raymond Chong LK: Oct 20 2015, 02:23 PM

aziejal
post Oct 20 2015, 02:26 PM

359 posts

1) No, because OEM license considers invalid if you change your motherboard.
2) You can use a cloning software (Macrium Reflect, etc) to copy all your files in C drive to your new SSD without losing any settings.
3) No, because SSD and your Blu Ray drive uses the same SATA port.
mx007
post Oct 20 2015, 02:28 PM

153 posts

Are you planning to take out your blue ray drive, and have an SSD there instead with the original HDD inside where you boot your windows from?

Or are you replacing your Original HDD?
Satori 14118a
post Oct 20 2015, 02:30 PM

1,006 posts

SSD is direct replacement for your HDD.

In essence you swap your HDD with a SSD for better disk I/O performance - hence a speedier overall system improvement.

With migration tools, you can migrate from current HDD to new SSD. However, caveats apply.
Big HDD capacity --> Smaller SSD size.

TSRaymond Chong LK
post Oct 20 2015, 02:36 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(aziejal @ Oct 20 2015, 02:26 PM)
1) No, because OEM license considers invalid if you change your motherboard.
2) You can use a cloning software (Macrium Reflect, etc) to copy all your files in C drive to your new SSD without losing any settings.
3) No, because SSD and your Blu Ray drive uses the same SATA port.
Thanks brother.

QUOTE(mx007 @ Oct 20 2015, 02:28 PM)
Are you planning to take out your blue ray drive, and have an SSD there instead with the original HDD inside where you boot your windows from?

Or are you replacing your Original HDD?
I am keeping my original HDD in an adding an SDD in place of my BD rom. I want to transfer everything in C: from my original HDD to the SSD which I want to boot and run software from for better speed.

QUOTE(Satori 14118a @ Oct 20 2015, 02:30 PM)
SSD is direct replacement for your HDD.

In essence you swap your HDD with a SSD for better disk I/O performance - hence a speedier overall system improvement.

With migration tools, you can migrate from current HDD to new SSD. However, caveats apply.
Big HDD capacity --> Smaller SSD size.
I'm plan to have both my original HDD and a new SSD inside. Thanks, I will see if I can get the computer shop guy to do that for me.

ricstc
post Oct 20 2015, 02:42 PM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

QUOTE(Raymond Chong LK @ Oct 20 2015, 02:36 PM)
Thanks brother.
I am keeping my original HDD in an adding an SDD in place of my BD rom. I want to transfer everything in C: from my original HDD to the SSD which I want to boot and run software from for better speed.
I'm plan to have both my original HDD and a new SSD inside. Thanks, I will see if I can get the computer shop guy to do that for me.
you do not need to choose either to have the BR drive or the new SSD

Im sure if you check properly you will see that you dont have to touch your BR drive at all and you can just ADD in the new SSD

It is not either one or the other in fact without a BR drive (we assume that this is the only optical drive in your pc bcos dont forget a BR drive is also the DVD drive)
- with an optical drive how are you going to install hardware device drivers when you need to??? you are so techie that you can convert the files into a USB drive and use that?

Just add the SSD and read the F-ing manual becos if you want speed you will have to either install a new OS ON THE new SSD or do a clone migration of your current HDD with all the programs in it to the new SSD
TSRaymond Chong LK
post Oct 20 2015, 02:44 PM

123 posts

Also, I want to ask if this also means that because I'm running all software from the SSD, does it mean that the HDD will be able to read and write data faster?

*Because I've found that my 1TB 5400rpm HDD is really slow when transferring large files (e.g. 15mb - 45mb per second) which I'm guessing is because its running windows and everything else on top of that.
TSRaymond Chong LK
post Oct 20 2015, 02:49 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(ricstc @ Oct 20 2015, 02:42 PM)

Im sure if you check properly you will see that you dont have to touch your BR drive at all and you can just ADD in the new SSD

It is not either one or the other in fact without a BR drive (we assume that this is the only optical drive in your pc bcos dont forget a BR drive is also the DVD drive)
- with an optical drive how are you going to install hardware device drivers when you need to???  you are so techie that you can convert the files into a USB drive and use that?

Just add the SSD and read the F-ing manual becos if you want speed you will have to either install a new OS ON THE new SSD or do a clone migration of your current HDD with all the programs in it to the new SSD
Relax brother, I'm asking because this is what I was told by the folks at a laptop shop that I trust. They provided me with a few options which I can't remember, but one of which was to replace the BD rom. I very rarely use dvd and have an external dvd drive w in my car at all times just in case (for my wife's zenbook). In any case I'm getting the shop to do all this, but I just want some clarification before going ahead with it.
mx007
post Oct 20 2015, 02:51 PM

153 posts

You can clone your current HDD first into the new SSD. This wont affect licenses or antivirus license. (the are registered to the motherboard).

You'll definitely feel an upgrade in speed. From startup to opening files. Ive done this to my zenbook and it felt awesome. haha

TSRaymond Chong LK
post Oct 20 2015, 02:53 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(mx007 @ Oct 20 2015, 02:51 PM)
You can clone your current HDD first into the new SSD. This wont affect licenses or antivirus license. (the are registered to the motherboard).

You'll definitely feel an upgrade in speed. From startup to opening files. Ive done this to my zenbook and it felt awesome. haha
That's what I'm looking forward to. Cheers!
chiahau
post Oct 20 2015, 06:55 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Raymond Chong LK @ Oct 20 2015, 02:44 PM)
Also, I want to ask if this also means that because I'm running all software from the SSD, does it mean that the HDD will be able to read and write data faster?

*Because I've found that my 1TB 5400rpm HDD is really slow when transferring large files (e.g. 15mb - 45mb per second) which I'm guessing is because its running windows and everything else on top of that.
Your current HDD is 1Tb.

You want to clone what to the SSD wor?

Enough storage space meh? You need to plan what SSD to buy 1st.

And I don't recommend cloning. Clean install is much better.

If you are running the software from your SSD, then you can feel it's faster. However, it does not affect your HDD read speed....
horns
post Oct 21 2015, 08:18 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

usually older asus laptops have a recovery partition to restore a system (it's called f9 recovery). you can create a copy of the recovery files in usb stick, or dvd (multiple dvds), using the tool provided at asus support page for your laptop (it's called asus backtracker). you can use this to restore the system. alternatively, put in ssd, clone the current os and system partitions to it, put the hdd in hdd caddy and replace bd drive. i will suggest you keep the stock hdd intact, i.e. take it out of your computer, and don't do anything to it first. once your system running ssd is tested to run properly (the first thing to do is to check if your os is restored and is activated successfully), then you can do whatever you want to the original hdd. this is optional, but it's the best fail-safe way to do things, so that you can still use the laptop if something screwed up.

it's better to NOT use ssd with bd drive sata slot. for some reasons, in older asus laptops, the sata port connected to bd drive is much slower than the ones in hdd bay (in my old g55, the ODD uses sata1 (1.5Gb/s), while the hdd bay uses sata3 (6Gb/s)) so to get the best performance, use ssd in hdd bay, and hdd in hdd caddy (replacing bd drive).

edit: forgot to answer questions :/

1. with the processes (system recovery set, and cloning) your original windows activation state is usually preserved. this is always true if you do cloning, and the upgrade doesn't involve mobo.

2. ssd is much smaller, so yeah plan your migration. for cloning, usually it's enough to store os (without user data) and important system partitions. if you have the habit of keeping all files in c:, move them out and store them else where. imo it's better to always keep your data outside of your os partition.

all in all, it's good to make a full data backup just in case.

This post has been edited by horns: Oct 21 2015, 08:29 AM
xerox8908
post Oct 21 2015, 09:23 AM

Look at all my stars
2,725 posts

QUOTE(ricstc @ Oct 20 2015, 02:42 PM)

- with an optical drive how are you going to install hardware device drivers when you need to???  you are so techie that you can convert the files into a USB drive and use that?

You never heard of external dvd drive ?
ricstc
post Oct 21 2015, 12:02 PM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

QUOTE(xerox8908 @ Oct 21 2015, 09:23 AM)
You never heard of external dvd drive ?
you mean the thingy that looks like this???

Nope NEVER! I thohght that it was fantasy
TSRaymond Chong LK
post Oct 21 2015, 12:24 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Oct 20 2015, 06:55 PM)
Your current HDD is 1Tb.

You want to clone what to the SSD wor?

Enough storage space meh? You need to plan what SSD to buy 1st.

And I don't recommend cloning. Clean install is much better.

If you are running the software from your SSD, then you can feel it's faster. However, it does not affect your HDD read speed....
I only intend to clone my C: over to a 256gb ssd. and my C: currently only takes up less than 100GB. I'm willing to do a clean install if I need to, but since it will take some time reinstalling and setting everything back, I need to plan properly as I use my laptop with clients almost 7 days a week.
chiahau
post Oct 21 2015, 12:26 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Raymond Chong LK @ Oct 21 2015, 12:24 PM)
I only intend to clone my C: over to a 256gb ssd. and my C: currently only takes up less than 100GB. I'm willing to do a clean install if I need to, but since it will take some time reinstalling and setting everything back, I need to plan properly as I use my laptop with clients almost 7 days a week.
You copy all the relevant data, and clean install.

Much better to prevent any form of error that might happen.

Won't take more than 10 min to install back windows on your new SSD.

Microsoft and drivers all can easily use windows update to find laugh.gif

Just leave your laptop overnight to update and it's ready.
TSRaymond Chong LK
post Oct 21 2015, 12:33 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Oct 21 2015, 08:18 AM)
usually older asus laptops have a recovery partition to restore a system (it's called f9 recovery). you can create a copy of the recovery files in usb stick, or dvd (multiple dvds), using the tool provided at asus support page for your laptop (it's called asus backtracker). you can use this to restore the system. alternatively, put in ssd, clone the current os and system partitions to it, put the hdd in hdd caddy and replace bd drive. i will suggest you keep the stock hdd intact, i.e. take it out of your computer, and don't do anything to it first. once your system running ssd is tested to run properly (the first thing to do is to check if your os is restored and is activated successfully), then you can do whatever you want to the original hdd. this is optional, but it's the best fail-safe way to do things, so that you can still use the laptop if something screwed up.

it's better to NOT use ssd with bd drive sata slot. for some reasons, in older asus laptops, the sata port connected to bd drive is much slower than the ones in hdd bay (in my old g55, the ODD uses sata1 (1.5Gb/s), while the hdd bay uses sata3 (6Gb/s)) so to get the best performance, use ssd in hdd bay, and hdd in hdd caddy (replacing bd drive).

edit: forgot to answer questions :/

1. with the processes (system recovery set, and cloning) your original windows activation state is usually preserved. this is always true if you do cloning, and the upgrade doesn't involve mobo.

2. ssd is much smaller, so yeah plan your migration. for cloning, usually it's enough to store os (without user data) and important system partitions. if you have the habit of keeping all files in c:, move them out and store them else where. imo it's better to always keep your data outside of your os partition.

all in all, it's good to make a full data backup just in case.
Ah, thanks for this suggestion! 1.5GB/s should more than suffice for the HDD right? Or does it bottleneck the HDD to a certain extent? Not like I have much of a choice here, but I'm curious to find out.
TSRaymond Chong LK
post Oct 21 2015, 12:34 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Oct 21 2015, 12:26 PM)
You copy all the relevant data, and clean install.

Much better to prevent any form of error that might happen.

Won't take more than 10 min to install back windows on your new SSD.

Microsoft and drivers all can easily use windows update to find laugh.gif

Just leave your laptop overnight to update and it's ready.
Ok. I actually enjoy setting up installing stuff and updating my laptop. Gives me an odd sense of satisfaction haha.
xerox8908
post Oct 21 2015, 02:32 PM

Look at all my stars
2,725 posts

QUOTE(ricstc @ Oct 21 2015, 12:02 PM)
you mean the thingy that looks like this???

Nope NEVER!  I thohght that it was fantasy
Not exactly .
There is adaptor like external hard disk . All you need is plug in to dvd drive and it function like normal burner .
xerox8908
post Oct 21 2015, 02:37 PM

Look at all my stars
2,725 posts

QUOTE(Raymond Chong LK @ Oct 21 2015, 12:33 PM)
Ah, thanks for this suggestion! 1.5GB/s should more than suffice for the HDD right? Or does it bottleneck the HDD to a certain extent? Not like I have much of a choice here, but I'm curious to find out.
Is 1.5 Gbit
Which equal to 187.5MB per seconds .
Ssd adverticed as 475MB per second .
Theoricaly it should bottleneck your performance . However i never copy file faster than 180MB anyway so i would say its acceptable .

And i think your pc is not that old . Your odd slot should at lease have 3Gb speed . So it really not a problem .

This post has been edited by xerox8908: Oct 21 2015, 02:38 PM

0.0302sec    2.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 03:24 AM