Replacing BD drive with SSD, need advice

shakku
post Oct 21 2015, 02:39 PM

365 posts

Alternatively, you can use SSHD 1TB and replace your current 1TB.
It's hybrid drive that uses 8GB NAND flash as buffer.
And you can clone everything because it's the same storage space.

Speed is between HDD and SDD.
Best part of every file in that 1TB get that benefit unlike SSD which limited to 256GB (storage of your choice)

This post has been edited by shakku: Oct 21 2015, 02:40 PM
TSRaymond Chong LK
post Oct 21 2015, 02:47 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(xerox8908 @ Oct 21 2015, 02:37 PM)
Is 1.5 Gbit
Which equal to 187.5MB per seconds .
Ssd adverticed as 475MB  per second .
Theoricaly it should bottleneck your performance . However i never copy file faster than 180MB anyway so i would say its acceptable .

And i think your pc is not that old . Your odd slot should at lease have 3Gb speed . So it really not a problem .
Ok boss, and since we are on the topic, is there an affordable and reliable 200GB+ SSD that you can recommend to me?
TSRaymond Chong LK
post Oct 21 2015, 02:58 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(shakku @ Oct 21 2015, 02:39 PM)
Alternatively, you can use SSHD 1TB and replace your current 1TB.
It's hybrid drive that uses 8GB NAND flash as buffer.
And you can clone everything because it's the same storage space.

Speed is between HDD and SDD.
Best part of every file in that 1TB get that benefit unlike SSD which limited to 256GB (storage of your choice)
Thanks, I might go for that too on top of adding an SSD, but only if I still find it insufficient after adding the 256gb SSD. I feel the need for an SSD for now because my HDD is often running at 100% even when only 80% of my ram is being used (I check task manager whenever my laptop starts to lag).
TSRaymond Chong LK
post Oct 21 2015, 03:03 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(xerox8908 @ Oct 21 2015, 02:32 PM)
Not exactly .
There is adaptor like external hard disk . All you need is plug in to dvd drive and it function like normal burner .
Yea, we've got a few ultrabooks with no DVD roms for our sales people, and so far most of them have the drivers preinstalled. We only need to download some of them if we absolutely need them (eg if we reformat after installing Windows 10). We rarely have to use DVDs or CDs now, since we've got Google Drive and WeTransfer. In fact, we often copy drivers (eg for printers) from CDs or DVDs onto our public drive in case anyone needs them.
shakku
post Oct 21 2015, 03:17 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(Raymond Chong LK @ Oct 21 2015, 02:58 PM)
Thanks, I might go for that too on top of adding an SSD, but only if I still find it insufficient after adding the 256gb SSD. I feel the need for an SSD for now because my HDD is often running at 100% even when only 80% of my ram is being used (I check task manager whenever my laptop starts to lag).
Move it to Win10. It should solve your ram problem.
Win10 is more resource efficient. It runs well on Intel Atom with mere 2GB ram (Surface 3)

Free upgrade if running win7/win8 genuine.
TSRaymond Chong LK
post Oct 21 2015, 03:23 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(shakku @ Oct 21 2015, 03:17 PM)
Move it to Win10. It should solve your ram problem.
Win10 is more resource efficient. It runs well on Intel Atom with mere 2GB ram (Surface 3)

Free upgrade if running win7/win8 genuine.
Yeap mine is on Win 10. My ram is fine, it's only my HDD that is often at 100% even after optimizing it by reducing startup programs.
abubin
post Oct 21 2015, 03:25 PM

10,429 posts

why people are talking like TS is replacing his HDD with SSD? He is essentially adding another SSD. The old HDD still remain in the HDD slot.

What TS need to do is use cloning software clone the c: partition to the SSD. Once done, set in the BIOS your SSD as boot drive. Once confirm everything working fine, then can format old HDD and use as extra storage.

Re-install would be another option but the hassle of installing windows, update drivers, install software, customize settings and so on are a pain.
ricstc
post Oct 21 2015, 03:35 PM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

QUOTE(xerox8908 @ Oct 21 2015, 02:32 PM)
Not exactly .
There is adaptor like external hard disk . All you need is plug in to dvd drive and it function like normal burner .
Oh really

So technical
So expert
Soooh klever
chiahau
post Oct 21 2015, 03:56 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Raymond Chong LK @ Oct 21 2015, 02:47 PM)
Ok boss, and since we are on the topic, is there an affordable and reliable 200GB+ SSD that you can recommend to me?
Reliable?

Samsung Evo.

Best bang for bucks?

OEM Lite On which you can get from forum here tongue.gif
horns
post Oct 21 2015, 04:14 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Raymond Chong LK @ Oct 21 2015, 12:33 PM)
Ah, thanks for this suggestion! 1.5GB/s should more than suffice for the HDD right? Or does it bottleneck the HDD to a certain extent? Not like I have much of a choice here, but I'm curious to find out.
yes, it's sufficient, like what xerox8908 explained.

on second thought, your bd drive might be running sata3 speed. the reason i said this because all ivy bridge machines has 2x sata3 ports only (haswell has 4x). my old g55 is an ivy bridge, but all (2x) of the sata3 ports are used for 1x hdd bay, and 1x msata slot. since your laptop only has 1x hdd bay, there is a chance that the odd drive is a sata3 also.

to be safe, use hdd bay for your ssd.

QUOTE(Raymond Chong LK @ Oct 21 2015, 02:47 PM)
you can consider liteon s900 and transcend ssd370. if not just go to garage sales ssd section and take a look. there are good deals there from time to time.

QUOTE(Raymond Chong LK @ Oct 21 2015, 02:58 PM)
for a typical basic setup, the more practical is to use a ssd as a boot/app/game drive (overall system performance), and a hdd as storage and for downloads (space is much more cheaper).

if your budget allows it, get mainstream ssds with higher capacity. ssds for common usage lasts for a long time so it's better to get more space for future use.

0.0205sec    0.99    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:38 AM