Market Price, For freelancers

yellowranger
post Nov 28 2015, 04:42 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(zord189 @ Nov 27 2015, 06:15 PM)
True.. Even so, agencies aren't doing very well also. I was from an ad agency to an animation company.
Hi, mind if i ask which agency you from ? biggrin.gif
eejey
post Nov 28 2015, 05:11 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(jawagar @ Nov 27 2015, 01:23 PM)
Bro u sure ah @@ 24k per minute damn! i recently did an animation for 2d motion work for an android game cutscene i charge RM 30 per sec
Of course I'm sure man.
I've been doing freelance on the side for almost 14 years.

Not sure about the market price now though.
Haven't done any animation lately.
It depends on who your client is, what type of project it is, and how good is your portfolio.
If your portfolio is just on the "okay" side. You can't really up the price that much.
Its all about the quality. And not to forget some good soft-skills too (handling clients).

If you want to charge a good high price, don't go for the small clients.
Go for the big ones (or at least a medium ones).
They tend to stick around longer if you gave them a great service on the previous job.
And it looks good in your portfolio too.

Of course, also depends on what type of animation you are doing.
Last I did 2D motion work (about 2 years ago?),
the price for that job is around 8K for a 2 minutes animation. Its a 4 days job.
2D tend to be cheaper than 3D.

A full 3D works with custom music and voice over have a higher base price.
You can go even higher, if they request to include some real footage and a well known narrator/model/actor.

QUOTE(zord189 @ Nov 27 2015, 10:36 AM)
OMG!! Really?? I don't really think we are able to get this price by now... Too many freelancers offering too cheap!! But that also depends on the complexity though of the 3D video. smile.gif um yes... The last time I did a simple factory walkthrough and I charged Rm30 per second.

Maybe for huge productions for bigger companies is diff.
Even if there are 10,000 freelancers offering a cheaper price, I don't think it change anything.
Well, might be harder to target the smaller client market, perhaps.
You might want to start finding a bigger clients, and a bigger project.

You can't get much from a factory walkthrough.
Try targeting a high-rise residential / commercial building instead.
zord189
post Nov 28 2015, 02:52 PM

53 posts

@eejay : I agree with what you said on finding bigger clients. And yes the residential/properties does pay quite a lot. biggrin.gif Freelancing for a big 3D company pays better than the average salary of the employees there, but still not much though.

@yellowranger : PM me if you really wanna know la. biggrin.gif
burn22
post Nov 29 2015, 06:09 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(spontaneousASHLEE @ Oct 20 2015, 09:47 AM)
Depends on your skill also actually. Usually start up price for website design is around RM150-450. Logo Design is around RM100-200 depends on what company, if more complex you can freely add up the price. Since Logo is the core of every company.
logo for whatever company... can range from 1200 to 15k, probably up to 30k.
just for kawan kawan... f.o.c, or free food!

website design... a simple task... can range from 1k to 7k!

burn22
post Nov 29 2015, 06:28 AM

398 posts

- Wedding/Event Video
... berapa jam? berapa hari? destination?
- Edit Wedding/Event
... berapa jam?
- Website
... existing layout? berapa jam?
- Portfolio design
... berapa jam?
- Logo Design
... berapa jam? simple? complicated?
- Name Card
- 2D/3D Motion Graphics
... berapa jam?

calculation... ur time, ur design, travelling cost, video equipments, computer usage, art materials, ink...

kyLL
post Dec 3 2015, 06:36 PM

-=-
1,638 posts

haha.. question guys. if someone were to ask u for your quote. and then told you their budget to do branding was RM150.. what would your response be?
burn22
post Dec 4 2015, 12:41 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(kyLL @ Dec 3 2015, 06:36 PM)
haha.. question guys. if someone were to ask u for your quote. and then told you their budget to do branding was RM150.. what would your response be?
reject! a waste of time...
they don't value ur creativity!

yellowranger
post Dec 4 2015, 01:58 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(kyLL @ Dec 3 2015, 06:36 PM)
Branding for RM150? hahaa. Forget it
zord189
post Dec 4 2015, 02:02 AM

53 posts

hahah! Branding for RM150..... RM10k still can think think...
Gmruleme
post Oct 13 2016, 11:08 AM

Art Enthusiast
1,468 posts

is there a unified market rate or what?
or freelancers just simply set the price

This post has been edited by Gmruleme: Oct 13 2016, 11:09 AM
mowlous
post Oct 13 2016, 04:11 PM

542 posts

This sector dmn hard to survive la ..... they don't see us who is using anything like photoshop, 3d tools as a skilled professional, in fact many of them don't see us at the level of being a doctor or even a computer repairman level. They think most of us doing art or design one is some drop out looking for odd job to survive.

Also the industry bread young entrepreneur to view us as such, I have approach a few start ups and young entrepreneur they admit that image, design and branding is the last thing on their mind. In fact many of them right out just want to copy successful business design that you can see from design book or the internet. Many of them just point at the design and say "Give me this at the cheapest price possible" .... and be done with it.

So a lot of our local end up just a copy cat of design. Idk maybe some company can land on big fish in "high class" area to earn comfortable ... but for freelance the chance to really earn decent and regular is hard.

That in turn also create problem, competition problem ..... everyone down at the bottom of the barrel is scrapping bits and pieces of what is left to eat, a lot willing to go like super cheap just for that extra cash they could nab off others.

I stop digital design service for a while liao ..... physical one more fun and more money.
s7ran9er
post Oct 13 2016, 09:02 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(Gmruleme @ Oct 13 2016, 11:08 AM)
is there a unified market rate or what?
or freelancers just simply set the price
Depending on the job complexity, you can charge them by hours spent on the job. smile.gif

There aren't any unified market rate but a general guideline is simply what I have mentioned above.
darrenwks
post Oct 25 2016, 05:20 PM

220 posts

How much u guys charge for a poster design? or advertisement design
Studio15
post Feb 21 2017, 02:20 PM

159 posts

Seriously tho, RM150-450 for webpage and RM100-200 for logo. This is the reason why designers transformed from someone who is respected for the creativity to someone who can be bullied around, not paid and overworked. To those who claim to be 'designers' but charging super ridiculous rates, please do yourself a favour and get a different profession don't ruin it for people who actually has talent and wants to succeed in this field. In my experience for the past 1-2 years this industry has just been hitting the ground in Malaysia. If it's those cheapo clients/company that comes to us for cheap bargains, it's fine I don't mind filtering them out but it's getting to a point where med/corporate level company and businesses are also spoilt for choices when they see RM100 design fees being laid out. Last time we can see that those who charge cheap have a very poor portfolio or fred grad level but nowadays I'm seeing even senior designer and worst, startup companies charging like that.

SMH
Vannessloh
post Mar 13 2022, 05:21 PM

17 posts

Hi everyone, how you guys charge for 2d/3d motion graphics lately? Is the price still remain low even inflation is happening at 2022? sweat.gif sweat.gif

0.0153sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 04:14 PM