EXTREMELY slow app store downloads and updates !, Super SLOW !!!

TSfederickwhh
post Oct 19 2015, 07:01 PM, updated 10y ago

31 posts

Hi all sifus and gurus here,

Has anyone been experiencing super slow downloads or updates from app store?

I have googled around and mostly users just reset router, restart phone, hard reset phone or change the DNS.

Is there any real fix for this issue? As long as when we are connected to wifi, it takes ages just for a download or update process. It used to be super fast and now, a 10mb app takes 15 to 20 minutes.

Currently using iphone 6 running on 9.0.2. However, this issue doesn't happen after ios9. In fact, even in the previous ios it happens.

Hope all the sifus and gurus out there can help. It is indeed FRUSTRATING.

Thank you.
kazasho
post Oct 20 2015, 12:17 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

how will u feel if you are using 30mbps but still slow like shit? hahaha. Im suffering too. found out it has been from August.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3681289
TSfederickwhh
post Oct 20 2015, 01:34 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Oct 20 2015, 12:17 PM)
how will u feel if you are using 30mbps but still slow like shit? hahaha. Im suffering too. found out it has been from August.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3681289
Yeap. Really frustrating. No point using 30mbps if the app store download speed are so slow.

I also went to Apple Discussion site and it seems that a lot people are experiencing this too.
zack891
post Oct 20 2015, 02:01 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(federickwhh @ Oct 19 2015, 07:01 PM)
Hi all sifus and gurus here,

Has anyone been experiencing super slow downloads or updates from app store?

I have googled around and mostly users just reset router, restart phone, hard reset phone or change the DNS.

Is there any real fix for this issue? As long as when we are connected to wifi, it takes ages just for a download or update process. It used to be super fast and now, a 10mb app takes 15 to 20 minutes.

Currently using iphone 6 running on 9.0.2. However, this issue doesn't happen after ios9. In fact, even in the previous ios it happens.

Hope all the sifus and gurus out there can help. It is indeed FRUSTRATING.

Thank you.
Try use any vpn
LightningZERO
post Oct 20 2015, 02:12 PM

The Golden Knight
1,696 posts

Same here, sometimes very slow but sometimes are ok

20mb app update took me half an hour lol

This post has been edited by LightningZERO: Oct 20 2015, 02:12 PM
kazasho
post Oct 20 2015, 05:03 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

anyway, did call unifi regarding this issues. they said they did experience this and have resolved it. though they didnt that this issue would resurface. had to be at home to troubleshoot.
neohwengtart
post Oct 20 2015, 05:36 PM

158 posts

yeah me too, slow on screamyx but phone data usage to download no issue...
Ethan
post Oct 20 2015, 07:05 PM

526 posts

Faced the same issue when updating to El Capitan.

Quick solution: Use a VPN. Problem solved.
TSfederickwhh
post Oct 20 2015, 10:58 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Ethan @ Oct 20 2015, 07:05 PM)
Faced the same issue when updating to El Capitan.

Quick solution: Use a VPN. Problem solved.
Thanks bro for the info.

Not a tech savvy guy here. How do we set up the VPN? icon_question.gif
Ethan
post Oct 21 2015, 09:23 AM

526 posts

QUOTE(federickwhh @ Oct 20 2015, 10:58 PM)
Thanks bro for the info.

Not a tech savvy guy here. How do we set up the VPN?  icon_question.gif
VPN: Virtual Private Network

It's extremely easy to set up one on your computer. The problem is, you need to pay to get some good VPN service.
Google is your friend. There are a lot of VPN providers who let you try their service for free (for a limited time).
THTgadgets.com
post Oct 21 2015, 10:49 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Anyone bought a Proton car lately (particularly the higher-end variants of the Exora, Prevé, and Suprima)? The vehicle comes with a Yes Huddle device (free 1GB of 4G connectivity/month for a year) that's perfect for our smartphones to access the App Store! rclxms.gif

Too bad I must have used up my allocation for the month as I am unable to connect to the service today... sad.gif

This post has been edited by THTgadgets.com: Oct 21 2015, 10:49 AM
TSfederickwhh
post Oct 21 2015, 11:47 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Ethan @ Oct 21 2015, 09:23 AM)
VPN: Virtual Private Network

It's extremely easy to set up one on your computer. The problem is, you need to pay to get some good VPN service.
Google is your friend. There are a lot of VPN providers who let you try their service for free (for a limited time).
I see. Will try it. Thanks for the info bro. Appreciate it.
TSfederickwhh
post Oct 21 2015, 11:48 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(THTgadgets.com @ Oct 21 2015, 10:49 AM)
Anyone bought a Proton car lately (particularly the higher-end variants of the Exora, Prevé, and Suprima)? The vehicle comes with a Yes Huddle device (free 1GB of 4G connectivity/month for a year) that's perfect for our smartphones to access the App Store! rclxms.gif

Too bad I must have used up my allocation for the month as I am unable to connect to the service today... sad.gif
1GB tends to finish very fast looking at the size of the apps update. Nevertheless, sounds so cool having the connectivity in the car.
donhealyou
post Oct 22 2015, 03:36 PM

94 posts

May I know what is your internet speed? The reason of slow internet speed should be due to someone in your household downloading or watching videos.
TSfederickwhh
post Oct 22 2015, 07:51 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(donhealyou @ Oct 22 2015, 03:36 PM)
May I know what is your internet speed? The reason of slow internet speed should be due to someone in your household downloading or watching videos.
I am on VIP 10 and yesterday i did a speed test and the speed is 8+ mbps. On another note, speed is fine while using youtube or any other things. Only when using the app store it is very slow.
donhealyou
post Oct 23 2015, 11:40 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(federickwhh @ Oct 22 2015, 07:51 PM)
I am on VIP 10 and yesterday i did a speed test and the speed is 8+ mbps. On another note, speed is fine while using youtube or any other things. Only when using the app store it is very slow.
So till now it is still slow or it's already solved?
kider
post Oct 23 2015, 02:09 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(donhealyou @ Oct 23 2015, 11:40 AM)
So till now it is still slow or it's already solved?
Nope, still persist. At least for me.
Susuwatari
post Oct 23 2015, 03:25 PM

1,260 posts

It's fine for me already, VIP 20 user here.
jumpstat
post Oct 23 2015, 04:19 PM

1,352 posts

sometime ok sometimes like shit......
stromae
post Oct 23 2015, 07:09 PM

247 posts

already ok for me..

hehehe