SATA CD/DVD ROM, Hoping to have it....

TSstorm721984
post Nov 29 2006, 11:36 AM, updated 20y ago

~Hybrid~
653 posts

Ever since i saw the review of
MSI XA52P CD-RW+DVD-ROM Serial ATA Combo Drive i was hoping it will be available in Malaysia market but somehow it doesn't seem to be available... sad.gif
It would be very nice to have SATA ROM as i assume a lot of modder would want to have a very nice cable management and hate the hassle of PATA cable connected to our MOBO doh.gif

Here are some screen shot from what i saw in the review of this SATA ROM

2uk3y
post Nov 29 2006, 11:46 AM

┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐
2,095 posts

the power socket still old style .... doh.gif laugh.gif
z3r0717
post Nov 29 2006, 11:47 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

wa... using sata cable now? hmm.. nice..
only MSI has tis type of product now? really hassle free
DaRkSyThE
post Nov 29 2006, 12:01 PM

4,809 posts

aiyak MSi arh.
why not plextor?
TSstorm721984
post Nov 29 2006, 12:15 PM

~Hybrid~
653 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Nov 29 2006, 12:01 PM)
aiyak MSi arh.
why not plextor?
Somehow i only see MSI produce this type of ROM
i still can't find any other brand and sadly its only a combo drive... I would prefer if they manage to manufacture DVD burner using SATA cable
Vervain
post Nov 29 2006, 12:28 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

i think its not pratical to do so a even today burning speed has yet to reach to its max capability. i've tried ide to sata convertor on a dvd rom. sadly it wont detect
DaRkSyThE
post Nov 29 2006, 12:45 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(storm721984 @ Nov 29 2006, 12:15 PM)
i still can't find any other brand and sadly its only a combo drive... I would prefer if they manage to manufacture DVD burner using SATA cable
aiks dude, i remember last time plextor introduced one.
havent seen it in Malaysia, but i know its very expensive to get in the USA.
here are some pictures smile.gif

taken from : http://www.plextor.com/english/products/716SA.htm
moskau12
post Nov 29 2006, 01:37 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Nov 29 2006, 12:45 PM)

I already using SATA for my DVD Rom.. HEHEHEHE..
TSstorm721984
post Nov 29 2006, 01:56 PM

~Hybrid~
653 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Nov 29 2006, 12:45 PM)

ohhh cool~ Guess MSI is not the only one in the market thumbup.gif

QUOTE(moskau12 @ Nov 29 2006, 01:37 PM)
I already using SATA for my DVD Rom.. HEHEHEHE..
What brand? Where and which shop you got it?
E-J@1
post Nov 29 2006, 03:15 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(storm721984 @ Nov 29 2006, 12:15 PM)
well, i found two dvd-burner model with sata interface, both from Samsung, one of the model has lightscribe tech:

Samsung SH-S183L Link

[attachmentid=160420]

Samsung SH-S183A Link

[attachmentid=160421]

This post has been edited by E-J@1: Nov 29 2006, 03:20 PM
E-J@1
post Nov 29 2006, 03:22 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Nov 29 2006, 12:28 PM)
i think its not pratical to do so a even today burning speed has yet to reach to its max capability. i've tried ide to sata convertor on a dvd rom. sadly it wont detect
wah laugh.gif u also using a ide-sata converter too, what brand? sweat.gif
i'm using gigabyte converter thumbup.gif

about the max capability, ur right but there is a pci card made by gigabyte to burst the transfer rate for ide & sata, called Gigabyte i-RAM Link

this card allows the ide & sata device to have it's own memory & doesn't allocates certain memory like mobo, here are some shots:

Here the result:

For HDD

For ODD
Didn't found one but sure fast than the old one sweat.gif

Here's the review link

This post has been edited by E-J@1: Nov 29 2006, 03:37 PM
TSstorm721984
post Nov 29 2006, 03:34 PM

~Hybrid~
653 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Nov 29 2006, 03:15 PM)
well, i found two dvd-burner model with sata interface, both from Samsung, one of the model has lightscribe tech:

Samsung SH-S183L
That is cool~ but i'm wondering where can i get this burner. Did visit around LYP but no luck in find one....

E-J@1
post Nov 29 2006, 03:45 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(storm721984 @ Nov 29 2006, 03:34 PM)
That is cool~ but i'm wondering where can i get this burner. Did visit around LYP but no luck in find one....
dunno where can get it, all i know that the two model are for u.s only, ask someone to do a bulk on it then tongue.gif or u can buy the ide-sata converter thumbup.gif
DaRkSyThE
post Nov 29 2006, 04:59 PM

4,809 posts

alrite guys, this is the best question of the thread.
what is this topic doing in this section?
should be in the hadware section smile.gif
PowerSlide
post Nov 29 2006, 05:03 PM

----------
6,035 posts

there are few brands too on sale@newegg for ages d..but we here not popular so nobody bring in

Skylinestar
post Nov 29 2006, 06:08 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

the MSI drive was introduced long time ago. it was reviewed in HWM too. but they say got problem with the i865 chipset. but i'm not sure whether MSI has firmware that fixes this issue.

does that mean IDE-PATA will still live for a long time?
even the latest nforce 680 mobo has IDE port. maybe when windows vista is out for 5 years already, that big fat PATA cable is still there for the optical drive.

slim cable is always a good thing. i hope mobo makers can discuss with optical drive company to ditch the PATA standard.
E-J@1
post Nov 29 2006, 06:38 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Nov 29 2006, 06:08 PM)
the MSI drive was introduced long time ago. it was reviewed in HWM too. but they say got problem with the i865 chipset. but i'm not sure whether MSI has firmware that fixes this issue.

does that mean IDE-PATA will still live for a long time?
even the latest nforce 680 mobo has IDE port. maybe when windows vista is out for 5 years already, that big fat PATA cable is still there for the optical drive.

slim cable is always a good thing. i hope mobo makers can discuss with optical drive company to ditch the PATA standard.
hope so, but if all ODD interface change to SATA then we got another problem, SATA port are placed bottom of the mobo while we most likely to place the ODD on the most top bay! giving problem especially for those who using full tower casing laugh.gif rclxms.gif cry.gif
lolhalol
post Nov 29 2006, 06:46 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

dude, sata technology for dvd burning has been around for along time already, almost the same time sata hdds came out... just that it wasn't popular because of its extremely high price at first(expect a price of 4 digits), now even thoghthe price has been reduced but it is still high, for example the some plextor models cost around 200USD, bout 700 rm, u can get 3 dvd burners for that price. other companies have also made attempt at it but never successful, like the Samsung WriteMaster SH-W163(review here.-http://www.pcpro.co.uk/custompc/labs/91047/samsung-writemaster-shw163.html) at 30 pounds-roughly 210 rm...without shipping, and the Plextor PX-755SA (review here.-http://www.pcpro.co.uk/custompc/labs/91040/plextor-px755sa.html) at 70 pounds-roughly 500rm.....

even lite on has one, check the ppcs dvddrive section for more sata dvd burners...

but because of its high price currently it cant be bought by the mainstream which is the major market..only modders and high end users can buy it, also now most people already have a dvd burner and tho them it is more than enough to their needs, so they do not c the point in upgrading. same story with the malaysian importers and distros, they don't c the market is big enough but im sure if u contacted them they will willing put an order out for you, but remember the downside is the MOQ...

ianho
post Nov 29 2006, 06:55 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Nov 29 2006, 03:22 PM)
wah laugh.gif u also using a ide-sata converter too, what brand? sweat.gif
i'm using gigabyte converter thumbup.gif

about the max capability, ur right but there is a pci card made by gigabyte to burst the transfer rate for ide & sata, called Gigabyte i-RAM Link

this card allows the ide & sata device to have it's own memory & doesn't  allocates certain memory like mobo, here are some shots:

Here the result:

For HDD

For ODD
Didn't found one but sure fast than the old one sweat.gif

Here's the review link
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif The Gigabyte i-RAM has got nothing to do with making ure SATA n IDE devices run faster lar. Aiyoooooooooooo.

It's function is like a solid state HDD. Coz it's using RAM it's super fast. Even faster than a Raptor HDD.
Skylinestar
post Nov 29 2006, 08:43 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Nov 29 2006, 06:46 PM)
dude, sata technology for dvd burning has been around for along time already, almost the same time sata hdds came out... just that it wasn't popular because of its extremely high price at first(expect a price of 4 digits), now even thoghthe price has been reduced but it is still high, for example the some plextor models cost around 200USD, bout 700 rm, u can get 3 dvd burners for that price. other companies have also made attempt at it but never successful, like the  Samsung WriteMaster SH-W163(review here.-http://www.pcpro.co.uk/custompc/labs/91047/samsung-writemaster-shw163.html) at 30 pounds-roughly 210 rm...without shipping, and the Plextor PX-755SA (review here.-http://www.pcpro.co.uk/custompc/labs/91040/plextor-px755sa.html) at 70 pounds-roughly 500rm.....

even lite on has one, check the ppcs dvddrive section for more sata dvd burners...

but because of its high price currently it cant be bought by the mainstream which is the major market..only modders and high end users can buy it, also now most people already have a dvd burner and tho them it is more than enough to their needs, so they do not c the point in upgrading. same story with the malaysian importers and distros, they don't c the market is big enough but im sure if u contacted them they will willing put an order out for you, but remember the downside is the MOQ...
sata can be so cheap on hdd. why not odd?
E-J@1
post Nov 29 2006, 08:48 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Nov 29 2006, 08:43 PM)
sata can be so cheap on hdd. why not odd?
this thread should be move to Hardware Section, don't u all think so tongue.gif
sunauto
post Nov 30 2006, 12:17 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Well, XBOX 360 is using SATA for its dvd-rom drive, it will be the norm soon but just that not every user has a mobo that supports SATA yet, it might be feasible to release such ODDs in a few years' time when the market penetration is greater or they could do with an ODD that supports both IDE and SATA first. Honestly, if you're using Cooler Master's rounded IDE cables, it's not a huge difference compared to SATA actually. Just my 2 cents. smile.gif
TSstorm721984
post Nov 30 2006, 01:10 AM

~Hybrid~
653 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Nov 29 2006, 08:48 PM)
this thread should be move to Hardware Section, don't u all think so tongue.gif
Well my idea to post on this part is mostly focus on modding as having a SATA ROM will be able to have more better cable management...

Never expected the discussion could go this far sweat.gif
dblooi
post Nov 30 2006, 09:21 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Nov 29 2006, 06:55 PM)
doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif The Gigabyte i-RAM has got nothing to do with making ure SATA n IDE devices run faster lar. Aiyoooooooooooo.

It's function is like a solid state HDD. Coz it's using RAM it's super fast. Even faster than a Raptor HDD.
ya tat's what m i thinking oso . the product description is telling totally different thing that wat he had told doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

deric88
post Nov 30 2006, 09:37 PM

Spam Ranking
1,464 posts

SAY NO TO UGLY IDE OR HUGE ROUND CABLE
TSstorm721984
post Dec 1 2006, 04:35 PM

~Hybrid~
653 posts

QUOTE(deric88 @ Nov 30 2006, 09:37 PM)
totally agree with you man thumbup.gif
Skylinestar
post Dec 1 2006, 06:26 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

QUOTE(deric88 @ Nov 30 2006, 09:37 PM)
ya. can protest!
rayfoo
post Dec 1 2006, 07:34 PM

2,564 posts

sata dvd writer is out panasonic brand saw at pc fair below RM200!
DiCalto
post Dec 1 2006, 07:43 PM

Extraordinary
817 posts

izzit? which shop selling it... todae when pc fair dint notice it... biggrin.gif
rayfoo
post Dec 1 2006, 07:45 PM

2,564 posts

panasonic booth

QUOTE(DiCalto @ Dec 1 2006, 07:43 PM)
izzit? which shop selling it... todae when pc fair dint notice it... biggrin.gif
Skylinestar
post Dec 1 2006, 08:19 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

got samsung?
coolmast3r
post Dec 2 2006, 12:59 AM

740 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Dec 1 2006, 07:34 PM)
sata dvd writer is out panasonic brand saw at pc fair below RM200!
price under rm200?
huhu..what color available?black ada ka?

hehe..see what's in my mind? rolleyes.gif
TSstorm721984
post Dec 2 2006, 03:40 AM

~Hybrid~
653 posts

It will be cool to see everything using SATA and say good bye to PATA tongue.gif

If possible anyone can take some photo on their SATA DVD writer then it will be really cool
afosz
post Dec 2 2006, 08:25 AM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

what mobo using sata odd?is it any good with ide?
xyngfei
post Dec 4 2006, 11:24 AM

366 posts

i also can confirm tat the panasonic got SATA rom already
price is around 148.....

try to survey in lowyat again.. i think few week later u can go to grab one for it...

btw i need to mention tat u must have the sata power plug...
if not i also not recommend u to buy it
lolhalol
post Dec 4 2006, 04:10 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

wah, finally got a sata dvdrw...later go lyp and c , hmm anywan doiung bulk yet?, bt bear in mind, i cant find review lah.,.. so dunno how it perform, i think so far best bang for buck is the samsung wan, i posted a on page one the link, and performance is great, but i really like the H200n from lg... can read every bloody format(almost) , maybe they will make one sata edition wan... taht would be nice...

tatayoung
post Dec 4 2006, 05:56 PM

I'm the boss of me...
950 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Nov 29 2006, 04:59 PM)
alrite guys, this is the best question of the thread.
what is this topic doing in this section?
should be in the hadware section smile.gif
Agreed....

Skylinestar
post Dec 4 2006, 06:08 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Dec 4 2006, 04:10 PM)
wah, finally got a sata dvdrw...later go lyp and c , hmm anywan doiung bulk yet?, bt bear in mind, i cant find review lah.,.. so dunno how it perform, i think so far best bang for buck is the samsung wan, i posted a on page one the link, and performance is great, but i really like the H200n from lg... can read every bloody format(almost) , maybe they will make one sata edition wan... taht would be nice...
samsung one available in LYP already?

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Dec 4 2006, 06:08 PM
TSstorm721984
post Dec 5 2006, 12:25 AM

~Hybrid~
653 posts

@tatayoung
as i mention earlier i open up this post with the intention for modding purpose as having a PATA cable is a really troublesome issue when comes to cable management.

I was hoping that the SATA DVD burner could be more easily access in the market since SATA is a common interface
lolhalol
post Dec 5 2006, 05:22 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

@Skylinestar
i dun think so bro, but should be coming in preety soon if im not mistaken...co panasonic have already, sure others will want to compete as well...
sotong168
post Dec 5 2006, 06:13 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

any significant advantage over conventional ide writer apart frm more tidiness?
deric88
post Dec 5 2006, 09:07 PM

Spam Ranking
1,464 posts

damm it, just got my system with ide drives....
ianho
post Dec 5 2006, 10:15 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Woot! I just saw the Panasonic SATA DVD drive today. It's at All IT. Black color n only rm159. The IDE version is rm155. So it's just a matter of rm4 for the SATA option. Worth every penny for all u modders out there. Say aye to clean wiring with SATA. laugh.gif
TSstorm721984
post Dec 5 2006, 10:48 PM

~Hybrid~
653 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 5 2006, 10:15 PM)
Woot! I just saw the Panasonic SATA DVD drive today. It's at All IT. Black color n only rm159. The IDE version is rm155. So it's just a matter of rm4 for the SATA option. Worth every penny for all u modders out there. Say aye to clean wiring with SATA.  laugh.gif
Nice one thumbup.gif
but is this a DVD ROM or DVD burner if i may ask?

any hardware i can get to increase the number of SATA port since my motherboard is only limited to 2 SATA port... sweat.gif
Skylinestar
post Dec 6 2006, 12:00 AM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

how's the burn quality of these SATA drives? anyone bought one already. very curious. hope by next year, all the drives are SATA.
ianho
post Dec 6 2006, 12:15 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(storm721984 @ Dec 5 2006, 10:48 PM)
Nice one  thumbup.gif
but is this a DVD ROM or DVD burner if i may ask?

any hardware i can get to increase the number of SATA port since my motherboard is only limited to 2 SATA port... sweat.gif
It burns all formats including dual layer DVD. U can always buy a PCI SATA controller card to add more SATA ports.

TSstorm721984
post Dec 6 2006, 12:56 AM

~Hybrid~
653 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 6 2006, 12:15 AM)
It burns all formats including dual layer DVD. U can always buy a PCI SATA controller card to add more SATA ports.
This should be interesting but does it actually bring problem like cable management and how does it actually look like
it would be nice to have photo for more detail icon_rolleyes.gif
deric88
post Dec 6 2006, 02:07 AM

Spam Ranking
1,464 posts

everytime i come to this thread makes me wanna hit myself getting my drives so early
TSstorm721984
post Dec 6 2006, 09:54 AM

~Hybrid~
653 posts

QUOTE(deric88 @ Dec 6 2006, 02:07 AM)
everytime i come to this thread makes me wanna hit myself getting my drives so early
Well sorry to hear that man but then again u could try getting another drive and the old one u can keep as space in case of emergency or u might sell it to your friends since u just purchase it cool.gif
wk1168
post Dec 6 2006, 10:25 AM

myLensDB.com
778 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 5 2006, 10:15 PM)
Woot! I just saw the Panasonic SATA DVD drive today. It's at All IT. Black color n only rm159. The IDE version is rm155. So it's just a matter of rm4 for the SATA option. Worth every penny for all u modders out there. Say aye to clean wiring with SATA.  laugh.gif
oh my oh my... i wan one as well!!!! say yes to beautiful cable management!!! icon_rolleyes.gif
aaron_lwm
post Dec 6 2006, 11:38 AM

>jedi council<
3,277 posts

Dang, i think im gonnna upgrad my drives after i upgrade my rams. I need SATA drives, they are so clean.
TSstorm721984
post Dec 6 2006, 12:01 PM

~Hybrid~
653 posts

Same here but i might need to buy a new MOBO since my motherboard only support 2 SATA port.... sad.gif
DaRkSyThE
post Dec 6 2006, 01:10 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(storm721984 @ Dec 6 2006, 12:01 PM)
Same here but i might need to buy a new MOBO since my motherboard only support 2 SATA port.... sad.gif
can buy those cards that give u the extra 4 sata ports.
TSstorm721984
post Dec 6 2006, 01:49 PM

~Hybrid~
653 posts

How much do u think that card that can slot in extra sata port?
ianho
post Dec 6 2006, 02:43 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(storm721984 @ Dec 6 2006, 01:49 PM)
How much do u think that card that can slot in extra sata port?
Cheap oni lar. About 40-50 oni. IIRC.
TSstorm721984
post Dec 6 2006, 03:21 PM

~Hybrid~
653 posts

That i cheap~ guess i will go to LYP to get it when i'm free

Anyway i think it would be wise to wait for Blu-Ray rom to be more widely available in the market as i would assume they need more higher transfer rate to burn. So using SATA for BD ROM is more better but i still not sure with the price of the drive and the disc sweat.gif
deric88
post Dec 6 2006, 04:09 PM

Spam Ranking
1,464 posts

QUOTE(storm721984 @ Dec 6 2006, 03:21 PM)

Anyway i think it would be wise to wait for Blu-Ray rom to be more widely available in the market as i would assume they need more higher transfer rate to burn. So using SATA for BD ROM is more better but i still not sure with the price of the drive and the disc sweat.gif
last week i saw in InTech sony blu ray burner drive , guess the price......

Skylinestar
post Dec 6 2006, 06:06 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

QUOTE(storm721984 @ Dec 6 2006, 03:21 PM)

i think u have to wait for another 3 years if u want blueray drive to be as cheap as RM100.
cablesguy
post Dec 6 2006, 06:39 PM

1,597 posts

shit la...just got 2 ide drives... rclxub.gif
DaRkSyThE
post Dec 6 2006, 06:44 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(deric88 @ Dec 6 2006, 04:09 PM)
last week i saw in InTech sony blu ray burner drive , guess the price......

aiks. blu ray...
the laptop with the blu ray thing inside costs RM 15999 i think tongue.gif
deric88
post Dec 6 2006, 08:45 PM

Spam Ranking
1,464 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Dec 6 2006, 06:44 PM)
aiks. blu ray...
the laptop with the blu ray thing inside costs RM 15999 i think tongue.gif
it''ll be a stupid thing for consumers to buy it right now,
the one who will be buying it most prabally piraters whistling.gif
TSstorm721984
post Dec 7 2006, 12:19 AM

~Hybrid~
653 posts

Well i'm a anime collector so having a blu ray disc would be nice but still... due to the VERY INTERESTING PRICE i think i better stick to DVD Burner on sata port sweat.gif

Currently i'm still waiting for someone to post their image of their own SATA ROM which will be nice for a very good cable management and goodbye to those big PATA cable~! laugh.gif
DaRkSyThE
post Dec 7 2006, 11:39 AM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(storm721984 @ Dec 7 2006, 12:19 AM)
Well i'm a anime collector so having a blu ray disc would be nice but still... due to the VERY INTERESTING PRICE i think i better stick to DVD Burner on sata port sweat.gif

Currently i'm still waiting for someone to post their image of their own SATA ROM which will be nice for a very good cable management and goodbye to those big PATA cable~! laugh.gif
i might pick it up.
but based on reviews rite, the burner doesnt look that good yet sad.gif
Doom
post Dec 7 2006, 05:10 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

In what sense ??? kind to explain ... interested here as my mobo has one IDE header only ...
got few SATA 2 port ....

0.0313sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:00 AM