443 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Seiko Watch Thread V5, - Seikoholic kopitiam

justins
post Apr 14 2016, 11:54 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 14 2016, 09:34 AM)
dont forget 6% GST.
Ah i keep on thinking its tax free for watches, maybe thats long time ago then, so if i buy from massdrop, i'll have to pay the gst when it comes?
Everdying
post Apr 15 2016, 12:08 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(justins @ Apr 14 2016, 11:54 PM)
Ah i keep on thinking its tax free for watches, maybe thats long time ago then, so if i buy from massdrop, i'll have to pay the gst when it comes?
http://www.malaysiawatchforum.com/index.php?topic=15414

sometimes can escape gst if sent using proper courier, but if ems / poslaju then gg.
daijoubu
post Apr 15 2016, 09:31 AM

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

Hi Gents, would be awesome to get some input here.

I currently own a SNZD09J1 which is my daily driver and I'm in the market for another Seiko as a gift for my coming wedding.

So I was quite about set with the SARB065, but then now I got poisoned and am leaning towards the SDGM001 instead. I'm looking more towards a dressy type watch and this watch will serve for special occasions as well as a heirloom watch for the future, at least before I'm rich enough to own a Grand Seiko SBGA125 or SGBA011 which is my ideal watch.

Further down the line I'd like to get a SKX007/9 too as a replacement for my daily driver. Something cheap, versatile and is willing to take a beating.

Now the question is, considering the "roadmap" above, what do you think are other alternative dressier choices for the SARB065/SDGM001 that I am considering? Budget should be below RM3k smile.gif. Not too keen on the regular SARB03x and I've considered the SKX007 initially but decided that the SDGM001 is better.

Appreciate your inputs, thank you so much!

PS: What is the price for an entry level mechanical Grand Seiko in Japan?
Everdying
post Apr 15 2016, 09:42 AM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Apr 15 2016, 09:31 AM)
Hi Gents, would be awesome to get some input here.

I currently own a SNZD09J1 which is my daily driver and I'm in the market for another Seiko as a gift for my coming wedding.

So I was quite about set with the SARB065, but then now I got poisoned and am leaning towards the SDGM001 instead. I'm looking more towards a dressy type watch and this watch will serve for special occasions as well as a heirloom watch for the future, at least before I'm rich enough to own a Grand Seiko SBGA125 or SGBA011 which is my ideal watch.

Further down the line I'd like to get a SKX007/9 too as a replacement for my daily driver. Something cheap, versatile and is willing to take a beating.

Now the question is, considering the "roadmap" above, what do you think are other alternative dressier choices for the SARB065/SDGM001 that I am considering? Budget should be below RM3k smile.gif. Not too keen on the regular SARB03x and I've considered the SKX007 initially but decided that the SDGM001 is better.

Appreciate your inputs, thank you so much!

PS: What is the price for an entry level mechanical Grand Seiko in Japan?
imo if ur going to spend up to rm3k...then some enamel dial model like the sarx019...got a few other models u can go search out.
daijoubu
post Apr 15 2016, 10:13 AM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 15 2016, 09:42 AM)
imo if ur going to spend up to rm3k...then some enamel dial model like the sarx019...got a few other models u can go search out.
Thanks for your info. I've checked out some enamel models but I do not find anything that I fancy as mostly are Roman numerals or fancy fonts whilst I prefer a more traditional face.
I did however looked through the rest of the Presage and stumbled upon the SARD009

Definitely a beauty, but price is quite steep sad.gif
Naka7a
post Apr 15 2016, 10:20 AM

St. Neo
5,417 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Apr 15 2016, 10:13 AM)
Thanks for your info. I've checked out some enamel models but I do not find anything that I fancy as mostly are Roman numerals or fancy fonts whilst I prefer a more traditional face.
I did however looked through the rest of the Presage and stumbled upon the SARD009

Enamel models maybe you should look at those with sate windows. The curve around the date window is a very hngh factor
kenji1903
post Apr 15 2016, 10:32 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Apr 15 2016, 10:13 AM)

hhnnngghhhh

daijoubu
post Apr 15 2016, 10:48 AM

5,193 posts

Damn this isn't helping guys. My original budget was RM2k, then it moved to RM3k, I can't let it move to Rm4k sweat.gif
Everdying
post Apr 15 2016, 10:54 AM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(Naka7a @ Apr 15 2016, 10:20 AM)
Enamel models maybe you should look at those with sate windows. The curve around the date window is a very hngh factor
like this?
Naka7a
post Apr 15 2016, 11:25 AM

St. Neo
5,417 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 15 2016, 10:54 AM)
like this?
Yes yes. I find the imperfection in the curves very appealing. Its different in all of the enamels I handled.

And after many years it still looks so great...

This post has been edited by Naka7a: Apr 15 2016, 11:27 AM
SUSfuzzy
post Apr 15 2016, 01:13 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

New strap, so now can take him out on a casual Friday as well.

Alternative to this? Really?
deftons
post Apr 15 2016, 01:15 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Apr 15 2016, 01:13 PM)

New strap, so now can take him out on a casual Friday as well.

Alternative to this? Really?
Nice!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif Will definitely grab this piece over SARB035 if only it has the sapphire crystal.
SUSfuzzy
post Apr 15 2016, 01:25 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(deftons @ Apr 15 2016, 01:15 PM)
Nice!!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  Will definitely grab this piece over SARB035 if only it has the sapphire crystal.
To be fair, I have the 033, 017 and the 065. So the typical SARB family then. I wear the 033 way more often than this piece, but got a more casual strap yesterday so it's easier to wear down.

It's still slightly too big and the original strap is as usual, disappointing.
deftons
post Apr 15 2016, 01:29 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Apr 15 2016, 01:25 PM)
To be fair, I have the 033, 017 and the 065. So the typical SARB family then. I wear the 033 way more often than this piece, but got a more casual strap yesterday so it's easier to wear down.

It's still slightly too big and the original strap is as usual, disappointing.
To me any watch over the thousand mark should have a sapphire crystal. If you happen to considering letting it go, do ping me mate. With the right price i can convince myself to ignore the non-sapphire crystal. cool2.gif
Everdying
post Apr 15 2016, 01:40 PM

30,735 posts

i should probably get another seiko dress piece again...but i just cant see myself wearing it everyday or even for any occassions coming up...so yea i dont have a strictly dress piece anywhere now either tongue.gif

SUSfuzzy
post Apr 15 2016, 01:44 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(deftons @ Apr 15 2016, 01:29 PM)
To me any watch over the thousand mark should have a sapphire crystal. If you happen to considering letting it go, do ping me mate. With the right price i can convince myself to ignore the non-sapphire crystal.  cool2.gif
Both Hardlex and Sapphire have their own pro and cons la... you get into this argument it will never end.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 15 2016, 01:40 PM)
i should probably get another seiko dress piece again...but i just cant see myself wearing it everyday or even for any occassions coming up...so yea i dont have a strictly dress piece anywhere now either tongue.gif
I'm already abandoning my 009 for that reason, I can't see myself wearing it everyday sad.gif
deftons
post Apr 15 2016, 01:44 PM

181 posts

I just wonder, how you guys rotate your automatic watches to ensure all of them don't run out of power reserve before the next time you put it on wrist. Everyone has a winder i assumed?
Everdying
post Apr 15 2016, 01:45 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Apr 15 2016, 01:44 PM)
Both Hardlex and Sapphire have their own pro and cons la... you get into this argument it will never end.
I'm already abandoning my 009 for that reason, I can't see myself wearing it everyday  sad.gif
my 007 also i hardly wear, but its something i dont mind keeping.
i been wearing my protreks more nowadays.
Everdying
post Apr 15 2016, 01:46 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(deftons @ Apr 15 2016, 01:44 PM)
I just wonder, how you guys rotate your automatic watches to ensure all of them don't run out of power reserve before the next time you put it on wrist. Everyone has a winder i assumed?
i dont use a winder, dont see the point unless u are constantly in a rush.
just need to only spend 20-30 secs every other morning to wind and set the time and date.

syahmie
post Apr 15 2016, 02:03 PM

262 posts

Hi all. Do you know where to replace glass for seiko watch?

443 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0430sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:49 AM