4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Laptop Cooling discussion Thread, converted from another thread

romen
post Apr 2 2007, 03:16 PM

1,278 posts

if your warranty is over.. u might wanna open it up and check the dust inside..

here's wat i found when i opened up my gf's laptop, it was overheating + shutting down itself @ 70c

After this cleaning "exercise", it ran 22c cooler doh.gif doh.gif

no more overheating after that icon_idea.gif
sHawTY
post Apr 2 2007, 04:39 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(romen @ Apr 2 2007, 03:16 PM)

here's wat i found when i opened up my gf's laptop, it was overheating + shutting down itself @ 70c

After this cleaning "exercise", it ran 22c cooler  doh.gif  doh.gif

no more overheating after that  icon_idea.gif
Dude, that's normal.
I've opened tons of notebook @ laptop casing before, and always found that thick dust build up. laugh.gif

Tons of notebook shutdown by itself because of overheating. sweat.gif

Remember to only do this on those notebooks @ laptop that has finished its official warranty. smile.gif
sniper on the roof
post Apr 2 2007, 04:54 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(romen @ Apr 2 2007, 03:16 PM)

After this cleaning "exercise", it ran 22c cooler  doh.gif  doh.gif

no more overheating after that  icon_idea.gif
What lappy is that? So conversative shutdown temp
raymond5105
post Apr 8 2007, 09:42 PM

5,341 posts

I think the most important thing is not to block the cool air intake holes and the heatsink exhaust system. If possible try to lid up a bit the notebook to let the bottom part of the notebook to take more cool air cooling down.
akachester
post Apr 15 2007, 02:34 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Needed some suggestion here.

I am about to get a notebook cooler for my gf's notebook but i am not so sure about which to get.Saw plenty of them in the market, ranging from CM, Zalman, LL, and many more but which one is better.Budget would be RM150 - RM200 but of course, the lower the better....

Any recommendation on which to get?
joaQuin
post Jun 8 2007, 08:32 PM

zalman notebook cooler..planning to get that..anyone here using it? any comments?
adrianj
post Jun 16 2007, 02:44 PM

140 posts

there is this PCMCIA cooler.. sold on lelong.com. dono who ever tried it b4.. its the cooler that you insert in the PCMCIA Bus Smart Card slot which suck the air out.. i think shud be effective.. cuz for my Toshiba lappie, the heat is on the surface at the place where my left wrist is when i'm typing..and that spot below is the PCMCIA slot.. hope some one can test.. here is the link..

http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2007-06D...rd_With_Fan.htm
TMTANWHACKY
post Jul 9 2007, 07:57 PM

745 posts

mine oly shutdows when playin games any help??
DaRkSyThE
post Jul 9 2007, 08:06 PM

4,809 posts

ur lappie is definitely overheating like crazy
consult mr Shawty smile.gif
TMTANWHACKY
post Jul 9 2007, 11:51 PM

745 posts

i dun think it's dust in my case, the hardware's faulty, i cleaned everythin n it stil hangs!!! I hate ACER!!!

Added on July 14, 2007, 2:37 pmcan someone teach me how2open the casing of aspire 1691. can't get the keyboard to open up unless i remove the monitor.

This post has been edited by TMTANWHACKY: Jul 14 2007, 02:37 PM
y_owez
post Aug 28 2007, 01:02 AM

1,745 posts

anyone bot the evercool magi one...????i wanna try tad..please...
HaHaNoCluE
post Aug 28 2007, 02:46 PM

628 posts

bring ur lappie to a tire shop or workshop n use compressed air to gimme the fan a good blow... control the pressure though... u dun wan to ruin ur fan... a few seconds of blowing n follow by video head cleaner spray for a few quick burps... it should help to clean up lots of stuck debris in ur lappie...

* try at ur own risk... i did that to all my lappie n they survive though...
a1098113
post Aug 28 2007, 10:51 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

well for my old acey laptop which has passed its waranty, i have opened it, dismantled the heatsink and washed it and dried it and then lap it with some awesome emery paper, and hmm used mx1, works wonders, its a p4 and its idle at the moment is 41 degrees..smile.gif

About external coolers, why not get the zalman cooler, i have not tried it though coz i can reduce the temps via method above...
icebloodboy
post Aug 30 2007, 10:27 PM

57 posts

i found that acer brand laptop is sux....
my old acer laptop oso face heat problem....

anyone noe that y ram part bcum hotter? even i had cleaned the internal part of my laptop

my cheapo way to cool down laptop is : put a puncher under the laptop so that more air intake
y_owez
post Sep 2 2007, 02:24 AM

1,745 posts

did anyone try the evercool
a1098113
post Sep 3 2007, 11:20 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(icebloodboy @ Aug 30 2007, 10:27 PM)

anyone noe that y ram part bcum hotter? even i had cleaned the internal part of my laptop
my cheapo way to cool down laptop is : put a puncher under the laptop so that more air intake
I think its wrong to generalise that acer laptops suck... its not the comp thats the main issue of malfunction but rather its the user himself/herself. I have an ACER travelmate 250 for 4 years now and it works perfectly fine only that its a single core cry.gif

That cheapo way does help a bit....
intune
post Sep 4 2007, 12:17 PM

LOWYAT 1ST MALAYSIA 2nD
879 posts

QUOTE(icebloodboy @ Aug 30 2007, 10:27 PM)

Agree that ACER notebook sux.. i own Acer 5560 given as a present on my birthday. The heat on this notebook is rediculous..it will hit 80-85C when im doing my video rendering and round 55-65 on normal useage. Build quality also soo plastiky. Also the fan intake n out take on right hand side..wtf? Bad enuff the laptop is warm now everytime i use external mouse my right hand get toast too!.. This is a great laptop for someone in siberia indeed. doh.gif

Btw have anyone open up an Acer laptopn and apply some AS-5 to the Heat Sink pipe?

Would be happy to get a decent 2-3C on my laptop.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by intune: Sep 4 2007, 12:19 PM
jediknight7sam
post Jan 9 2008, 01:13 AM

Lord Of The Sith
836 posts

My GPU heat is 75C even in idle and normal use...my lappy is compaq V3415AU...Using AMD and Nvidia chipset...anyone got idea with this? a fix? a patch to set it's frequency lower when idle, coz i found it running on maximum frequency even when idle...
keeting89
post Jun 28 2009, 11:48 PM

=>S@f3 Tr@d3r W1th0ut S@f3 Tr@d3r T@g<=
1,390 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Dec 2 2006, 12:26 AM)
my chapalang 3-fans steel notepad only able to cooldown hdd @ about 6 deg. C but no effect in CPU cooling.  afaik, other brand notepads also with the similar outcome sad.gif.  i suppose the cooler below will make a difference if it is clipped at exhaust nearby cpu heatsink, anyone bother to give it a try rolleyes.gif .

user posted image user posted image user posted image

source: http://www.evercool.com.tw/products/nb_ma1.htm
I agree with u..
normally the cooler pad doesn't help much.. unless got tools directly suck all the heat out from the lappy..
it will be more effective..
hanieyf
post Jun 29 2009, 12:01 AM

X-alienware m17x soldiers
1,698 posts

this is old thread... sweat.gif

anyway try refer this web

http://www.mahalo.com/how-to-cool-a-laptop

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0217sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled