30 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 >Bottom

Can I afford a BMW f30 with my current income?

6UE5T
post Oct 25 2022, 05:03 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 25 2022, 04:15 PM)
I used to say I'll never buy any Toyota (no thanks to them making boring Prius for over a decade and our God car/UMWT etc)

That i own a Toyota for more than 5 years.

Such is reality sad.gif

Toyota is the best Japanese car maker ma! Has the best reliability and now has the most sports car line up.
Quazacolt
post Oct 25 2022, 05:31 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 25 2022, 05:03 PM)
Toyota is the best Japanese car maker ma! Has the best reliability
*Cries in broken WhatsApp memes* cry.gif
lee82gx
post Oct 25 2022, 05:54 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Lee82gx well apparently X50 is a bad drive.
I have no personal experience with X50 yet however to me, I'm inclined to agree as it is a SUV after all.
One man’s poison is another man’s meat. Or something like that haha.

One does not buy a “sporty suv” unless it’s a PuroSangue or a Urus lol.

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Oct 25 2022, 05:54 PM
6UE5T
post Oct 25 2022, 06:10 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 25 2022, 05:31 PM)
*Cries in broken WhatsApp memes* cry.gif
Like new Supra, yours is not a real Toyota but some bastardized version. Lol Real Toyota like mine has unbeatable reliability.
Quazacolt
post Oct 25 2022, 07:04 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Oct 25 2022, 05:54 PM)

PURE BLOOD is different lo laugh.gif
Name also win 9 Street already

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 25 2022, 06:10 PM)
Like new Supra, yours is not a real Toyota but some bastardized version. Lol  Real Toyota like mine has unbeatable reliability.
Seriously la, gone are the days of Toyota bullet proof reliability.
Unless of course they continue regurgitating old drive trains. Hey maybe UMWT is profiteering for YOUR own good! Reliability is priority right?

The new GR Yaris also have their issues but everyone is accepting it being the sports car it is and generally people are grateful Toyota churning out sports cars.

And of course there's Lexus, still getting generally new stuff and still have Toyota legendary reliability (mainly from over engineered drive train) , however there's a catch - Lexus luxury brand premium. It's like that general 3 items and you can only pick 2 - price/performance/reliability

kidmad
post Oct 25 2022, 08:56 PM

4,482 posts

Your income plus your wife.. x2.5 that's my income.. even with what I'm making I don't dare open thread ask if I can afford.. cause I know I can't unless I eat grass.. why want to burden yourself instead of living comfortably?
constant_weight
post Oct 25 2022, 09:16 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 25 2022, 05:03 PM)
Toyota is the best Japanese car maker ma! Has the best reliability and now has the most sports car line up.
R&D by Yamaha, build by Toyota devil.gif

Yamaha is the best devil.gif [Trying to stir the pot]
6UE5T
post Oct 25 2022, 11:17 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 25 2022, 07:04 PM)
PURE BLOOD is different lo laugh.gif
Name also win 9 Street already
Seriously la, gone are the days of Toyota bullet proof reliability.
Unless of course they continue regurgitating old drive trains. Hey maybe UMWT is profiteering for YOUR own good! Reliability is priority right?

The new GR Yaris also have their issues but everyone is accepting it being the sports car it is and generally people are grateful Toyota churning out sports cars.

And of course there's Lexus, still getting generally new stuff and still have Toyota legendary reliability (mainly from over engineered drive train) , however there's a catch - Lexus luxury brand premium. It's like that general 3 items and you can only pick 2 - price/performance/reliability
Well maybe have to say in relative context to other brands, cannot compare with old cars of 15-30years ago where they're still simpler.
danielcmugen
post Oct 26 2022, 12:58 AM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 23 2022, 09:51 AM)
F30 is first and foremost a family sedan with a pretty good chassis and powerful turbocharged power train.
Things that you generally harder/more expensive to modify already taken care of.

And that comes to modifications - with good suspensions and some miscellaneous plug and play resto mods (considering it being a used car), it can be a very good Sporty family sedan. And in good driver's hands, command a very respectable SIC lap times or even our regular Touge routes or highway sprints.

But, is it feasible for you to spend more cash into modifications and restorations? Even assuming the used unit you're getting isn't a lemon?

1) depends how much of a driver's car you want in compromising your family requirements.
You can look up actual sports cars/sports coupe
86 BRZ first gen is the definition of a driver's car and very attainable (even in Malaysia) sports coupe.

2) for F30 no
And for 86 BRZ even more no if you gotten a badly modified and trashed used unit/lemon unit.
How much repair costs to expect per year on average? Just repairs alone.. and including unnecessary repairs wrongly diagnosed by mechanic and also getting chopped.

Been getting very mixed answers on this. Myself also tempted to try. If i dun try, i will never know lol.
danielcmugen
post Oct 26 2022, 01:02 AM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 25 2022, 03:07 PM)
oh ya, in case still have doubts, cyxnide already done your homework for you, go thank him.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5296063
His repair costs only around rm10k per year. Doesnt sound horrifying actually. I already spent rm6.5k repairing my mazda for the past year alone.
Quazacolt
post Oct 26 2022, 01:42 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Oct 26 2022, 12:58 AM)
How much repair costs to expect per year on average? Just repairs alone..
What car?

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Oct 26 2022, 01:02 AM)
His repair costs only around rm10k per year. Doesnt sound horrifying actually. I already spent rm6.5k repairing my mazda for the past year alone.
Depends condition of used car and how the new/current owner uses/maintains the car also.

And for that guy, how detailed he recorded his repairs may be a variable as well.

Just be aware of how the cars were priced originally disregarding it's used car price/resale value
danielcmugen
post Oct 26 2022, 01:51 AM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 26 2022, 01:42 AM)
What car?
Depends condition of used car and how the new/current owner uses/maintains the car also.

And for that guy, how detailed he recorded his repairs may be a variable as well.

Just be aware of how the cars were priced originally disregarding it's used car price/resale value
That makes a lot of sense, thanks. Asking for f30 and 86.
Mavik
post Oct 26 2022, 07:45 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(_kt_ @ Oct 22 2022, 04:18 PM)
Hi all sifus, sorry to revive a 3-year old thread. Want to seek same advise from TS. I'm mid-20s Malaysian, earning gross ~4.5k per month. Currently driving 7 year old Proton.

I enjoy driving, and frequent travel long distance. Looking at used 2016 320i around 100 - 120k. Current savings of almost 90k, cleared of my debts, no commitments apart for room rental, single. Is it wise to go for it?

Please advise, TQ guys. 😆
BMW is the way to go! Bicycle, MRT and Walk!
Quazacolt
post Oct 26 2022, 08:04 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Oct 26 2022, 01:51 AM)
That makes a lot of sense, thanks. Asking for f30 and 86.
I don't own F30 so can't comment

86 is a tricky thing when it comes to only repair
If nothing goes wrong, you don't spend a single cent.
But if you happen to get a blown engine/transmission, be prepared between 10-40k repair bills/half cut/rebuilding etc

It'll be hard to summarize in a single off topic post
cyxnide
post Oct 26 2022, 09:47 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 25 2022, 03:07 PM)
oh ya, in case still have doubts, cyxnide already done your homework for you, go thank him.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5296063
Learned it the hard way, so you don't have to. whistling.gif
But yea it was fun while it lasted tho.

QUOTE(TheodoreRBR @ Oct 25 2022, 04:00 PM)
Compared to F30, E46 is a really hardcore choice that cannot be justified if the reason to get it was the badge alone. It no longer meets the minimum criteria to be considered a luxury car in today's standards. The MyVi owners would be teasing their keyless entry and ignition. No wonder that thread starter found the bitter truth when he drove his relative's X50.

F30 should be the minimum, and a safe bet as well. Even Toyota is working with BMW to build the latest Supra. The LCI would be a bonus. A used one would be the cheapest decent RWD that isn't an Aruz. It has no AEB and a lot of other tech, though.

However, all of you are right about the economic situation currently. If he is not confident with his own career growth, it's best to re-consider. Unfortunately, if he really wants a spirited drive, there isn't any brand new models below RM100k that can match the performance figure except X50.
True, E46 is more like a passion car more than anything else, it's not comfortable enough to be called a luxury car; it's got tech way ahead of its time but compared to today's standards it's just sad; it's not powerful enough to be called a fast car unless you're gunning for the 3 liter straight six.
hungrygodzilla
post Oct 26 2022, 10:46 AM

456 posts

QUOTE(_kt_ @ Oct 23 2022, 07:07 PM)
Yeah, seems like better keep my head down and work harder before thinking about it. Thanks for all the feedback, guys! 🙏🏻🙏🙏
You know what, save up for a good holiday, or even a road trip in Malaysia, rent the car for a week or so, drive and have fun. I've never driven a conti until my honeymoon, went German, rent a C class, drove to austria, damn, amazing road trip. But the end result is that I realized that Conti regardless how gosong, also feels so much more refined than a Japan car, at least to me. At least when i get my first car later on, I kinda know how much different im paying vs im getting.

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Oct 25 2022, 05:54 PM)

Below 100k i can only think of Subaru XV (used, but relatively new), not exactly sporty, and please do ignore the CVT, for the lack of power, you get really good drive on curvy roads.

This post has been edited by hungrygodzilla: Oct 26 2022, 10:46 AM
HalseyFrangipane
post Oct 26 2022, 01:56 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(cyxnide @ Oct 26 2022, 09:47 AM)
Learned it the hard way, so you don't have to.  whistling.gif
But yea it was fun while it lasted tho.
True, E46 is more like a passion car more than anything else, it's not comfortable enough to be called a luxury car; it's got tech way ahead of its time but compared to today's standards it's just sad; it's not powerful enough to be called a fast car unless you're gunning for the 3 liter straight six.

Speaking of 3 litres, getting ready for mine
danielcmugen
post Oct 26 2022, 01:59 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 26 2022, 08:04 AM)
I don't own F30 so can't comment

86 is a tricky thing when it comes to only repair
If nothing goes wrong, you don't spend a single cent.
But if you happen to get a blown engine/transmission, be prepared between 10-40k repair bills/half cut/rebuilding etc

It'll be hard to summarize in a single off topic post
Ok that’s quite a lot. It’s tricky because of boxer engine?
billy08
post Oct 26 2022, 02:19 PM

225 posts

if it is a dream car, by all mean. but please keep spare change RM in your wallet always because your maintenance and repair bill can be high
Quazacolt
post Oct 26 2022, 02:49 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Oct 26 2022, 01:59 PM)
Ok that’s quite a lot. It’s tricky because of boxer engine?
that's just one reason.

Please don't forget:
1) it's a sports car - comes with sports car premium, or if you want more technicality, economics of scale
2) the car original price was RM220-250k+ your parts/engines etc are all based on that pricing. (this should give a good hint for a BMW too, look at the original price)

30 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 >Top

0.0291sec    1.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:19 PM