[Definitive] Xbox 360 Talk V6, Ace Combat 6 & Devil May Cry 4...on 360.

redbull_y2k
post Nov 29 2006, 03:12 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(mzaidi @ Nov 28 2006, 11:29 PM)
Xbox 360 is using 160 watts while PS3 is using 380 watts.

Source
I highly doubt that is true seeing that an Xbox360 ran noisier and most likely hotter than the PS3. Those power ratings must be off. Rated power and power consumption are two different thing altogether, for example a PC's 500W psu doesn't mean u are actually using 500W power at all times. sweat.gif
redbull_y2k
post Nov 29 2006, 02:44 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Nov 29 2006, 03:17 AM)
I notice something on the PS3. The fan will run faster if it's getting hotter, so most probably PS3 makan power even more smile.gif
That may be true, but for comparison's sake, on a US Xbox 360 console, the power brick is rated as 5.0A and 120V (600W?) while for PS3 its 3.2A and 120V (384W?). Even so, that doesn't mean that the PS3 consumes less wattage than the Xbox360, but it also shows that the PS3 don't necessarily use twice as much power than the 360. The most realistic figure is around 170-205W.

AV Watch did a test using the electric usage meter, n here's what they got.
AV Watch's figures :
150-170 W -- starting up
160-170 W -- navigating in XMB
170-180 W -- Playing BD movie disc
~180 W -- Playing AVHCD
180-199? W -- Playing games (e.g. RFOM, Genji, apparently never crossing 200 W)
sweat.gif

This post has been edited by redbull_y2k: Nov 29 2006, 03:01 PM
redbull_y2k
post Nov 29 2006, 08:32 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Nov 29 2006, 06:20 PM)
Off topic a bit : Regarding this watt usage of console system. Where can I buy this 'Electric usage meter' in Malaysia ? Is there any ? I would like to know how much my computer using  rclxms.gif Then can budget  biggrin.gif very goood device if u renting house. Because u have to share electric bill. Maybe can charge extra or less for different people. U know what i mean  blush.gif
Then Kill-A-Watt is your best bet. laugh.gif
redbull_y2k
post Nov 29 2006, 10:55 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Nov 29 2006, 09:53 PM)
See the socket also know it is not for malaysia sad.gif
oh ya... my bad. blush.gif There's another brand for 240V outlets but most of them are too expensive. sweat.gif
redbull_y2k
post Dec 8 2006, 01:58 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

Oh wow... Blue Dragon comes on 3 DVD. Gosh, i knew this would happen.... laugh.gif
redbull_y2k
post Dec 8 2006, 02:22 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Dec 8 2006, 02:14 AM)
that most probably means NTSC/UC version will only have English voice-acting track  cry.gif  cry.gif maybe otakus can d/load the jpn voice-acting track fr marketplace using points  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif
English only voice-acting is quite a turn-off.. cry.gif cry.gif
redbull_y2k
post Dec 8 2006, 10:42 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

Optical HD Battle May Be Over: HD DVD Wins.

"When you talk to either the HD DVD or the Blu-Ray camp you get the sense that neither actually watches movies much. Both cite features as the reason why folks will pick one or the other. Yes there is a lame shooting game in League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (Blu-Ray) and there are a ton of things you can do interactively in HD DVD (including changing car colors in one scene in The Fast and Furious III: Tokyo Drift). But the movie market moves on quality of movie, price of player, and price and availability of media."

More here.
redbull_y2k
post Dec 9 2006, 12:38 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Dec 8 2006, 10:57 PM)
But arj..the 360 only support Dolby Digital format..why not wait for the price of a dedicated HD-DVD player to be reduced first bfore jumping into it...at least it supoort 5.1 DTS and 7.1..for movie..those sounds format really makes a different....
AFAIK, "DD5.1 format only" is for in-game sound option. For movies, it should be able to pass thru the optical output into the decoder. So for movies, sound format support depends on the decoder itself, shouldn't be a problem for DTS 5.1 or 7.1 as long as the decoder supports it.
redbull_y2k
post Dec 9 2006, 12:57 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Dec 9 2006, 12:51 AM)
How much are HD-DVD movies and where can one get them in KL?
Saw The Last Samurai HDDVD in the DVD shop on the same row as Djinn's shop. Price varies.... about rm140+.
redbull_y2k
post Dec 9 2006, 02:58 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Dec 9 2006, 02:11 AM)
Hmm..wonder where u get that info as the process of encoder is ALWAYS depending on its source and output connector???? Excerpt from 360 HD-DVD player review:
"Moving to audio, HD DVD offers support for Dolby Digital Plus and the lossless Dolby TrueHD. However, with no HDMI output and no discreet audio connectors on the add-on unit itself, the best you can hope for with the 360 add-on is a down-mixed Dolby Digital 5.1 signal output via the optical audio output on the component and VGA leads. In the coming months, Microsoft plans to upgrade this output to full-bitrate 1500kbps DTS, which should result in an audio mix that at least gets close to the next gen audio formats HD DVD supports"
Source from http://www.eurogamer.net/article.php?article_id=70652
Im going to get one of this once the audio capability is upgraded....
Oh goshh... i totally forgot that the HD-DVD player pass both audio/video thru USB. All this while i thought there's an audio connector on the unit itself. sweat.gif blush.gif
redbull_y2k
post Dec 9 2006, 09:50 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 9 2006, 08:28 AM)
EDIT: Another point to consider is that MS had decided NOT to release the HD-DVD drive for the Asian market, deeming lack of HD DVD titles/interest. So if you are interested to get one, it's another stepdown transformer for you, since these addon drives will be operating on North American/Japanese voltages, and no EU HD-DVD release in sight yet.
From what i read here, the power unit is universal. icon_rolleyes.gif
redbull_y2k
post Dec 9 2006, 10:23 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

For the moment, all HD-DVD titles are region free! thumbup.gif
redbull_y2k
post Dec 9 2006, 11:41 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Dec 9 2006, 10:40 AM)
u sure or not? later if i buy cannot work how? i sell to u tongue.gif
Sure, sell to me cheap2 then i buy from u. laugh.gif Have a check thru wiki here. So far region coding is not implemented. The question is, what happens to all the current players when they've implemented region coding. Is it still region free, or rendered useless... or perhaps a firmware update is required then? unsure.gif
redbull_y2k
post Dec 9 2006, 02:01 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Dec 9 2006, 11:49 AM)
Forget about it, starting next year, all HD-DVD titles will be region-coded....excerpt:
"The DVD Forum, the organisation which oversees the DVD and HD DVD formats, looks set to introduce a region-coding system for the next-generation optical disc technology next year."
Source>>> http://www.reghardware.co.uk/2006/10/06/hd..._region_coding/

'NUFF SAID
yup, with pressures from movie studios, it won't be long till RPC is finally implemented on HD-DVDs.
redbull_y2k
post Dec 14 2006, 10:39 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 14 2006, 10:10 AM)
Depends. HD-DVD Combo discs (one dise HD DVD, the other side, DVD) sells more expensive, at RM160 after conversion, normal ones with only single side Hd HVD can be as cheap as RM70. These are online prices.

What titles are that store near GH is selling? Might get some from there to try out the drive today.
The only title that is available there currently is The Last Samurai, and that store is Kelvin DVD la guys.... same fella from Lowyat. tongue.gif
redbull_y2k
post Dec 14 2006, 01:11 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

aih... kene tax pon want to make a fuss like it's the end of the world. unsure.gif
redbull_y2k
post Dec 14 2006, 11:17 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Dec 14 2006, 10:20 PM)
RM139 for a HDDVD isn't bad at all. Perhaps we should ask Kelvin to bring in Bluray smile.gif
In fact he is more inclined to bring in blu-ray instead of hd-dvd since there's almost no sight of any hddvd player on sale. But since PS3 is out, so for now he's gonna bring in more blu-ray than hddvd. 3 blu-ray movies are on the way to his shop in the next 2 days, which is MI3, Xmen3 and i forgot whats the 3rd title. laugh.gif Price? Around RM170. icon_rolleyes.gif

string: Of coz should've said hello just now... but then i sampai je with arj, u went out somewhere else. And when mistaman got there, i see you're too bz playing GOW... alone? tongue.gif
redbull_y2k
post Dec 15 2006, 12:06 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 15 2006, 12:02 AM)
I went out to Kelvin's after got phone call from Rezal who was outside.Wasnt into football, so im not inclined to join in the howlings later on. Didnt bring my memory unit with my profile as i didnt plan to stay long, so had to fill in the time with GoW single player. Respect for manning the biggest screen in Cineleisure! notworthy.gif
U haven't been to the AV tunnel located upstairs yet.... imagine, all the speakers are embedded in the walls and shakers on the floors. Creating a perfect surround experience. drool.gif But there's still no display panel in the 'tunnel', still a work in progress. So it's more of a 'A tunnel' instead of 'A/V Tunnel'. laugh.gif I can't imagine playing GOW in that room... sure surround abis. rclxms.gif
redbull_y2k
post Dec 15 2006, 12:14 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Dec 15 2006, 12:08 AM)
redbull..that price in that shop is a fixed 1 ke...normally can bargain or not....
maybe can... i dunno, how bout u try? laugh.gif
redbull_y2k
post Dec 15 2006, 01:01 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 15 2006, 12:47 AM)
Fcuk man, audiophile's wet dream! drool.gif

Initial impression on the HD-DVD? Virtually no difference viewing at 1080i compared to the 1080p on Bluray! Jawdroppingly awesome! Colors are vivid, pops out as much as the HDMI connection, i dont see any edge artifacting, and the scenes i have raved about in MI3 in the PS3 thread, is as bloody eyepopping as it is in HD-DVD! The pores, the wrinkles, the bridge scene, the interrogation scene, the Agent Farris rescue, the helicopter chase, the Shanghai color test scene, the emergence from captive scene atop the rooftops of Shanghai, it is ALL there folks! ZERO lag when pulling out the Guide! A perfect gift for those who wants to savor HD Movies at a fraction of the price.

There are some very very minute digital noise at the bridge scene, and microsecond glimpses of scanlines during fast camera pans, and very slight less-than-razor-sharp detailing on things like Julia's hair and such, but this never detracts from what's an already awesome movie transfer for this title. The very same slick movie menu is also present, exactly like the Bluray version. I would heartily recommend this to anyone who wants a more than capable HD-DVD player for that first virgin taste of HD movie experience. At this price point, it is a fcuking STEAL! GET THIS HD-DVD drive before Microsoft realizes that they are selling this addon underpriced!

Alkt bro, you can cekik me all you want, aku rela dicekik, but seriously bro, you will be hard pressed to find any difference , if there are any whatsoever, with the Bluray version of the movie. It really fits its tagline "The Look and Sound of PERFECT!" Microsoft HD-DVD Addon receives a well-deserved 5 out of 5 star from me! thumbup.gif
wait a minute... how bout some comment on the audio? tongue.gif

0.0386sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:14 PM