7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

[Definitive] Xbox 360 Talk V6, Ace Combat 6 & Devil May Cry 4...on 360.

stringfellow
post Dec 11 2006, 03:49 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

For that retro gamer in you:-

Mad Catz Retro Gamer Xbox Live Arcade Stick.
stringfellow
post Dec 11 2006, 06:50 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(nerd @ Dec 11 2006, 06:33 PM)
woot today my 360 got a DRE while playing sweat.gif
Why is that a "woot"? unsure.gif
stringfellow
post Dec 11 2006, 08:00 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Must be a sad/disappointed/angry "woot" then laugh.gif
stringfellow
post Dec 12 2006, 11:02 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

http://www.next-gen.biz/index.php?option=c...d=4378&Itemid=2

Following a class action lawsuit filed against Microsoft regarding "bricked" Xbox 360s, Next-Gen spoke with one of the plaintiff's lawyers, who said M'soft's only defense could be, "We're Microsoft, and we can do anything we want."

In late November, lawyers for California resident Kevin Ray filed a class action lawsuit against Microsoft in a Washington state district court. The plaintiff claims that following the October 31 fall update download for Xbox 360, his system was "bricked," or rendered useless.

Numerous complaints of a similar nature appeared on blogs and message board threads, prompting Ray to file the lawsuit on behalf of not only himself, but also others who had experienced the same problem.

Microsoft is accused of breach of contract, violation of Washington's Consumer Protection Act and negligence. Law firms handling the case are Atlanta-based Chitwood Harley Harnes, Seattle-based Keller Rohrback and Los Angeles-based Kabateck Brown Kellner.

According to the complaint, the plaintiff and class are asking for awards worth at least $5,000,000, although this amount could vary depending on how many people were affected by fall update issues. The complaint said thousands could have been affected by similar fall update problems.

Next-Gen spoke with Brian Kabateck, senior partner at Kabateck Brown Kellner, who admitted that his firm has "no idea" what the actual amount of damages sought after actually is, because it's unclear how many people this issue has affected (although Microsoft claimed shortly after the update that less than 1 percent of Xbox 360 users were affected). The firm pleaded the $5,000,000 amount as a procedural measure for the Federal Court in order to make sure the plaintiff and law firm had triggered appropriate jurisdiction.

Kabateck contested Microsoft's official claim that the company would pay all shipping, repair and/or replacement costs for affected consoles. "If that were true, that would go a long way to solving the problem," Kabateck said. "Unfortunately, all the reports we're getting is that Microsoft is saying 'Send your Xbox in and for 140 bucks we'll fix it.' In our opinion, they're turning their screw-up into a profit center."

Microsoft has yet to respond to the law firm.

Speculating on Microsoft's take on the complaint, Kabateck said half-jokingly that the software giant's best defense would be "'We're Microsoft and we can do anything we want.'" He elaborated, "I don't know what their defense possibly could be. They screwed up, and there's no question that this [update problem] happened. How many people it happened to, we don't know, but my firm has been contacted by almost 400 people since this became public."

Some onlookers have criticized the lawsuit as frivolous and lacking in evidence, as the complaint cites shaky sources such as independent bloggers, message board posts, Google search results for "Xbox 360 bricking" and Ray's personal account.

However, Kabateck explained that none of those things, aside from Ray's testimony, would be admissible in court. He said that for this case, evidence would be drawn from two primary sources. One would be first-hand accounts from live witnesses that experienced the problem. Secondly, lawyers also plan on subpoenaing records from Microsoft, such as internally-kept complaint documentation.

Blog posts from Microsoft employees such as Xbox Live director of programming Larry "Major Nelson" Hyrb would also be admissible as evidence, according to Kabateck. "[Those posts] are an admission of the problem. ... They acknowledged this problem. [Microsoft] may have excuses for this, but they acknowledged this problem."

Hyrb had referred to the problem in a November blog post.

Some reports on the Internet have speculated that Microsoft purposefully tailored the fall update to lock up Xbox 360s that had been modified to play illigitimate content not intended for use on the console. There's no conclusive evidence that this is the case, and Kabateck said that Ray's console was not modified.

But even if Ray or other plaintiffs in the class had modified their hardware, would Microsoft be in the right to brick consoles in order to protect its copyrights? "I'd be very concerned if I were a lawyer representing Microsoft suggesting that there would be a way to entrap people to download software simply because they've modified [a system] that belongs to them," Kabateck said. "There are two issues here. First, that's your property. You bought it, you own it. If you want, you can climb to the top of your apartment building and throw it off and break it on the parking lot.

"... The other issue is that our justice system has ways to deal with people who steal software or modify a piece of equipment in an illegal or inappropriate way. [Microsoft] can't take the law into their own hands," he said.

stringfellow
post Dec 13 2006, 10:31 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Fcuk yeah! My Xbox 360 HD-DVD drive has shipped out of Play Asia, estimated arrival time to destination by tomorrow, 6pm. Lets see if this thing gets here before i gotta go for work. HD movies FTW! rclxm9.gif
stringfellow
post Dec 14 2006, 02:39 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Absentmindedness is my middle name, folks. In my fervous hunger for the drive, i have totally forgotten about what to FEED the drive with. *Hundreds of doh.gif can be heard around the country for this tongue.gif * .Just ordered 4 HD-DVD titles after consulting the AVSForum's Holy Grail HD-DVD listing , and they are V for Vendetta (for TrueHD lossless audio), King Kong (for U-Control feature), Chronicles of Riddick (for scrutinising fast moving action sequ?ences) and The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift (for U-Control and HD-DVD/DVD combo feature).

Sadly, the fastest this can come to my doorstep is by next Monday with the 2-4 days Priority Shipping option, so it's gonna be a looooooooooooooooooooooooooooooong weekend! Which i would probably wont feel, since im working in Melbourne and will only be back home come Sunday night. tongue.gif Wont stop me from refreshing the order status though. tongue.gif

Update on the whereabouts of the drive, it has left Subic Bay in the Phillipnes, so it should be in KLIA by today morning 8-9am. Once cleared, should be in the van, and be in my home, the earliest, 1pm, like how my PSP GPS addon arrived. Customs, please expedite clearance for this. bruce.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Dec 14 2006, 02:43 AM
stringfellow
post Dec 14 2006, 10:05 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(mzaidi @ Dec 14 2006, 10:02 AM)
I thought the HD-DVD drive come with free King Kong movie?  unsure.gif
US, yes....JApanese , no.
stringfellow
post Dec 14 2006, 10:10 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(DjiNn @ Dec 14 2006, 10:08 AM)
whats the average price for the hd-dvd movies actually ?
Depends. HD-DVD Combo discs (one dise HD DVD, the other side, DVD) sells more expensive, at RM160 after conversion, normal ones with only single side Hd HVD can be as cheap as RM70. These are online prices.

What titles are that store near GH is selling? Might get some from there to try out the drive today.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Dec 14 2006, 10:11 AM
stringfellow
post Dec 14 2006, 10:18 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Can he? I would be in his debt...or maybe get the shop's number.

Progerss report on the drive, the Fedex guys have called me just now, the thing got slapped import duties. Im contesting it right now, coz the bloody customs thought it was a DVD player. I asked them pandai2 only say its DVD player, since they already molested the packaging, open the damn thing and look at the back of the drive, got AV out or not.

Im sure they will find this:-

Stupid customs. I hate it when ignorant , ill-informed arseholes like these are in charge when it comes to taxing our imports. Simply slap tax whenever they feel like it. They must have been sakit hati because i had tons of shipment in lately, and there arent any items deemed taxable in my dclared listing. Bloody idiots!
stringfellow
post Dec 14 2006, 10:27 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(terencey @ Dec 14 2006, 10:24 AM)
String, bila nak open house lagi???
Wont be anymore, probably forever. As long as there are still people like this with their free-flowing mouths....
stringfellow
post Dec 14 2006, 10:29 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Still in contestation, bro. Let's see what they declare it now. They have not called me yet.
stringfellow
post Dec 14 2006, 10:39 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Dec 14 2006, 10:33 AM)
What if I open house and you bring your consoles? tongue.gif Well just one really...and probably a video switcher....and ur tons of games tongue.gif and ur controllers....and the hd-dvd player...and...yeah thats about it  whistling.gif
Then you will get badmouthed by these arseholes, and i cant let anyone go through what mishaps that had happened to me. Seems like the ulterior motive of these idiots is having others "disassociate" themselves from me. Which is kinda pathetic, all because of "teh intarweb squabbles" and what my stand is regarding piracy.

MK bro, new update. The package now have to travel all the way back to KLIA for the i quote "100% release check". If they mess this up, and i end up getting a fcuked up drive, im gonna sue their ass over this, mark my word.
stringfellow
post Dec 14 2006, 10:42 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Oh yuck, Last Samurai only? That Tier 2 title, not exactly reference material to showcase HD-DVD capabilities.
stringfellow
post Dec 14 2006, 11:16 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Dec 14 2006, 10:59 AM)
String,
you should have asked them to put as PC DVD Drive laugh.gif

well, i am gonna do that when i get mine soon smile.gif
Already asked PA to declare it as such, but these folks dont listen.

New update, i was talking in angry tone to the Fedex personnel just now, pity him he doesnt know what's coming at him, but i need to make my point clear. I was interrupting every single explanation he was giving about the item being transferred back to KLIA for inspection, and i asked him what are my guarantees that this further inspection would not fcuk up the Drive and i end up getting a heavy doorstopper. I asked them what their policy is against product mishandling, and if insurance covers this scenario where customs have their way with opening other people's packages sesuka hati. I was furious when he told me it was not covered or insured at all when it comes to this, and screamed to him that if i end up getting a messed up Drive, somebody will have to pay. He put me on hold when he called his supervisor to the line, and iasked him what was declared on the invoice outside the box. True enough, "Xbox 360 HD DVD Player !" Thanks a lot Play-Asia! vmad.gif

Knowing the customs and how the operate, i knew this is not going anywhere, and asking them to reinspect the item again for the 100% release check is going to mean risking the Drive being mishandled by idiotic customs officers, and increase the chance of them fcuking it up. So i demanded them to recall the Fedex van to double back and send the item straight to my place, and i will pay for the duty, which amounts to RM79, but with conditions. I told them straight in their faces, that if i see any signs of the item molested or mishandled in any way, any cutter marks or scissormarks that indicated the packaging has been opened, i am not accepting it, and i demand a refund. They agreed, whether this is just to get my screaming angry voice out of the phone or they will honor it remains to be seen, but as long as i refuse to accept the shipment, it will either be shipped back to Play-Asia, or in the case of damaged goods, insurance will cover the cost of the item, and Fedex will have to reimburse me with the total amount of the item.

Dont fcuk with me, i know my rights. Idiotic moron customs be damned.
stringfellow
post Dec 14 2006, 11:53 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(lexasp @ Dec 14 2006, 11:51 AM)
chill down brother stringfellow, no need to to get angry since u already know they are morons  laugh.gif
But really geram man! Leaving these kinds of people in charge while we helplessly kena follow whatever they say is frustrating! These people can do fcuk themselves with all the bull$hit they spew, coz user posted image laugh.gif
stringfellow
post Dec 14 2006, 12:36 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(mistaman @ Dec 14 2006, 12:32 PM)
eh... Last samurai rocked man tongue.gif oh well thats my personal opinion.. just like you had yours tongue.gif akakakkakaka

Ninjas and samurais rock my world
Check the post properly. I was talking about reference material. If i want to watch Last Samurai, i already have my original DVD with me.I like the movie as how i liked Mulholland Drive and L.A Confidential, but these arent the titles worthwhile enough to get on HD-DVDs just for the sake of it. You dont need to buy HD-DVD version for it, if you like the movie for the storyline only. Im getting these HD-DVDs to see the reference scenes for scrutinization of picture quality and clarity.

What movies you like, that's your opinion lah. But next time, make sure you properly read the content of the post and understand before you post. rolleyes.gif
stringfellow
post Dec 14 2006, 12:40 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(mistaman @ Dec 14 2006, 12:35 PM)
As moronic as they are - they are just doing their job. Please be more appreciative of what they do. After all, they're government servants mandated to be the gatekeepers. Relax man.. if you can't go to KLIA and see them. They're more than accomodating if you ask nicely...
I have more than a fair share with dealing with them during my toy collecting days, so please dont think im posting this out of spite. Or maybe you are posting your post out of spite of me and whatever i say because of your past spat with me? rolleyes.gif yawn.gif

Sure, i've asked nicely before, and by asking nicely here, they also "nicely" ask for money under the table. rolleyes.gif Sorry, i dont have cable or contact with bigger brothers higher up, nor do i approve using this dirty trick to get my packages released. This is how corruption starts in the first place.

I've seen how these guys work and how to get "past their check" with money under the table. With work ethics like that, i find it hard to believe that they work their job with dedication. And dont get me on how they treat packages at their inspection centers. I've seen boxes crushed and items thrown about at will, right infront of the owner collecting these packages, and the owners can only sit there and watch/cringe in horror.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Dec 14 2006, 12:42 PM
stringfellow
post Dec 14 2006, 01:03 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Okay folks, once we are through letting these kids have their kiddy glee and childish fun, let's get back to the topic at hand. The HD -DVD drive is in my hands, i'll have a more serious non-childish impressions and tons of pics of the drive once i rip the packaging apart. thankfully, the box was spared of the customs's greedy hands.

Posts that are contributing towards the advancements of the community here are always a joy to read, rather than personal mindless fun and spiteful agendas.

Pics coming in a few minutes.

"People who think they have big brains more often only have big mouths" - Ornstein

This is coming from someone who provides nothing but trivialities in his posts. How apt! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Dec 14 2006, 01:04 PM
stringfellow
post Dec 14 2006, 02:37 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Dec 14 2006, 01:08 PM)
so kena tax or not?
Nopes, after "make a fuss like it's the end of the world" lah , i got off the hook.

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Dec 14 2006, 01:11 PM)
aih... kene tax pon want to make a fuss like it's the end of the world.  unsure.gif
See above post. laugh.gif It pays (or in this case, i dont have to whistling.gif) to b1tch about things you're entitled for. "Fussing like it's the end of the world" FTW! rclxms.gif

Note:This applies only to constructive b1tching, not kiddy-glee personal-spat b1tching. wink.gif

Now on to the pictures, the unveiling, the unboxing.

Front flap of the box.

The look and sound of PERFECT! rclxms.gif

Look Ma, it's a Mini-Me! Or at least a mini-Xbox360. tongue.gif

Power adaptor, USB cable, remote, manual, update disc, quick setup guide, and the drive itself. Thanks to you, Redbull, for pointing out that the drive is multivoltage 110-240V. See, i b1tched and fussed , about the drive thinking it was 110V and you came back with the info of it being multivoltage. Otherwise i wouldnt have bought it already. b1itching....correct b1tching works, b1tching and fussing FTW! laugh.gif I thought b1tching about costs and how expensive original games are , was the reason why people opted to go ISO these days? whistling.gif SO it's okay for these folks to b1tch and fuss, and not poor old me?cry.gif

Obviously! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Dec 14 2006, 02:54 PM
stringfellow
post Dec 14 2006, 02:37 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

user posted imageuser posted image
Familiar slots? Here goes the Wireless Adapter,and it takes up one of the USB port.The other port, i cucuk the Live Vision. Xbox 360 v.2 complete! rclxms.gif

user posted imageuser posted image
Glowing remote FTW! Too bad everything's in Nipponese, but who needs this when you have the ULTIMATE remote, the Logitech Harmony 880? wink.gif Control your garage door with this remote, FTW!

Update was done by slipping that update disc into the 360 tray(dont slip it into the HD-DVD tray!), and it autoupdates. Simple no-brainer plug and play FTW!

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0456sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:22 PM