Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.10, Please Read Post #1 & #2

thingamagic
post Oct 19 2015, 11:30 AM

83 posts

There seem to be many posts amd comparisons for pidm vs no pidm.

Aside from bank going bankrupt which is rare, what else to worry about ? Its not like the major banks will cheat your principle openly wat
thingamagic
post Oct 19 2015, 03:32 PM

83 posts

Ok done with maybank Gia-i.... its guaranteed rates unless OPR drops then rates will adjust accordingly. If OPR rises, rates dun rise tho

Interest calculatd daily, credited monthly and can be compounded. No penalty for early termination and prorated interest recognised.

thingamagic
post Oct 19 2015, 04:36 PM

83 posts

I will tell you all in 1month tongue.gif

Unless some early bird here feedback first rclxms.gif

QUOTE(yygo @ Oct 19 2015, 03:51 PM)
interest not guaranteed even if opr no change! biggrin.gif it is just in case there is some issue. but with mbb not likely to have a problem.

interest compounded? you mean with principle? no, not compounded with principle.
thingamagic
post Oct 19 2015, 05:51 PM

83 posts

Has there ever been a scam or trickery from major banks?

Pls share experiences
thingamagic
post Oct 20 2015, 05:47 PM

83 posts

Ambank is locked for 2 years..if pull out early, get nothing rite?

For mbb giai, can pull anytime and get prorated interest...just some say no guarantee etc
thingamagic
post Oct 30 2015, 05:08 PM

83 posts

Im curious to know too if any early adopters have checked their profit by now and confirm if its really as promised hmm.gif

QUOTE(okuribito @ Oct 30 2015, 03:33 PM)
Been out of touch for some time. Just went to maybank2u to check out mbb's GIA campaign. One thing I'm not sure of is the profit rate and the profit sharing ratio (PSR)

Do we get the 4% or our share only 70% of 4% ie 2.8% only cry.gif ???

One good thing about this is that we can take out money anytime & they will pay "profit" up to the date we withdraw, no need to be mthly anniversary. Besides, they pay the "profit" to your nominated maybank account every month.

Anyone has experience with this GIA?
thingamagic
post Nov 5 2015, 10:29 AM

83 posts

That's good to hear. thumbup.gif

Actually islamic schemes are in actual fact FD despite some opinions, it's just part of religion not to guarantee interest, but call it profit sharing.

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 5 2015, 08:12 AM)
OK, checked MBB online. The "profit" is in, shown as "Credit FD Int". I calculated the amt given, it is 4%, as declared for first 6 mths.  rclxms.gif Calculated for 31 days for/over Oct month.  nod.gif

Maybe others can check theirs later.  biggrin.gif

Now looks like can put in more eggs there !  rclxm9.gif
thingamagic
post Nov 5 2015, 10:36 AM

83 posts

Good effort there rclxms.gif

To put it into perspective, the difference between ambank and PBB is RM1294.06 (RM4649.45 - RM3355.39)

PBB advantage is enjoy the Note 5 immediately (depend on delivery or stock availability) instead of waiting for 6 months interest to buy, so it all depends on phone urgency.

To add more reality to the comparison, Note 5 can get cheaper than retail price in the market eg. 1800+ so that's more difference comparing with Ambank laugh.gif

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 5 2015, 08:34 AM)
I will show you some calculations and let you decide whether it is worth it or not.

Samsung malaysia official Note 5 price = RM2699
Public Bank SA interest = 0.6%
(220000 x 0.006 x 182)/366 = RM656.39 assuming you put this month
Total amount earned = RM2699 + RM656.39 = RM3355.39

If you put at ambank 6 months 4.25%
(220000 x 0.0425 x 182)/366 = RM4649.45
Directd price = RM2499 (Samsung malaysia warranty)
Savings = RM4649.45 - RM2499 = RM2150.45

So if you put ambank 6 months at 4.25% and you buy a note 5 after 6 months with the interest, you still have leftover of RM2150.45 instead of only RM656.39 if you put at public bank savings account.

What if I don't like ambank? I would like to go for other banks 6 months promo. Be my guest. Just use my calculations and substitute 0.0425 with whatever interest that bank is giving you. And check out for yourself if is still worth it putting at pbb sa. Keep in mind that after 6 months, the Note 5 price will drop further. biggrin.gif
This post has been edited by thingamagic: Nov 5 2015, 10:37 AM
thingamagic
post Nov 5 2015, 10:42 AM

83 posts

BSN having promo now ... 12 months FD 4% get free ipod shuffle, min. 50k
thingamagic
post Nov 5 2015, 01:55 PM

83 posts

Generally all FD early withdrawals would just waive the latest month interest if full month unfulfilled unless T&C practises prorated interest
thingamagic
post Nov 5 2015, 03:39 PM

83 posts

MBB GIA-I is one example

Perhaps its the islamic schemes

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 5 2015, 02:28 PM)
Bro, I never heard of such gooding premature withdrawal policy. Your bank is indeed very generous.
Can share with us which bank is practising this type of policy ?  brows.gif

0.0247sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:04 PM