Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.10, Please Read Post #1 & #2

yygo
post Oct 16 2015, 10:03 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 16 2015, 10:00 AM)
You can actually do it manually. Go to bank and uplift and then transfer over the counter
this discussion base on doing ibg instead of buying bc (do not let bank squeeze you laugh.gif ).

what is the point go to bank, then might as well buy bc. petrol, time wasted. brows.gif laugh.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by yygo: Oct 16 2015, 10:04 AM
yygo
post Oct 16 2015, 04:59 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(kimmo88 @ Oct 16 2015, 03:10 PM)
You can change the daily limit to higher amount. For instance, UOB daily limit is 50k.
bro not all banks 50k daily limit. some max is 10k per day. cannot change, max already. tongue.gif

QUOTE(kimmo88 @ Oct 16 2015, 04:39 PM)
Yeah, you may be right, I checked online on the day of maturity, no changes until the next day. So, I assumed it is maturity date + 1 day. Possibly, you can withdraw/uplift on the date of maturity via walk-in.
some bank for efd, the fund will show the next day in your acct. that is what you saw +1 day.
yygo
post Oct 16 2015, 05:03 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Oct 16 2015, 11:40 AM)
Is there any bank that upon closing of FD exactly on maturity date claims that final interest will not be paid unless uplift on maturity date + 1 day. I think this bank is trying to spin some story here.

If no, then I am about to reveal an underhanded practise of a bank that does that exactly to theit FD customer.
QUOTE(lowya @ Oct 16 2015, 01:00 PM)
before release the details, i would like to confirm which bank negara rule that this bank has broken by not honoring full uplifting with full interest on printed maturity date, arguing that to avoid penalty, it has to be uplifted on printed maturity date + 1 day.

Got such logic in banking system? I will expose them only if they broke any banking rule, or enough people here feel it's unethical practice.
never have had this problem. tell us more, tell us more ............. tongue.gif
yygo
post Oct 16 2015, 07:11 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(kimmo88 @ Oct 16 2015, 06:03 PM)
Looks like no one mentioned this in the thread:

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p.../PRO-Promotions
QUOTE(cklimm @ Oct 16 2015, 06:29 PM)
there's a reason for that

Campaign Period:
1st September - 30th September 2015 or upon reaching the overall campaign limit, whichever is earlier.
it was discussed before. ah goat sir said it was extended for few days into oct. anyway ended.
yygo
post Oct 16 2015, 07:12 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Oct 16 2015, 06:48 PM)
PM u already. Not sure i should share it here, later they say they didnt break any BNM rules.
no issue for me for that bank. uplift fd and got bc on day of maturity
yygo
post Oct 17 2015, 11:25 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Oct 17 2015, 08:06 AM)
then it is a norm among local banks then, with a few exceptions
have not heard of this before. could be some freak issue. anyone else has this issue? hmm.gif
yygo
post Oct 18 2015, 08:39 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 18 2015, 08:27 PM)
Some ppl mentioned tat Putrajaya will issue sukuk next year via BNM Sukuk Simpanan Rakyat
Did anyone receive any news?
payout 5% like before?
yygo
post Oct 19 2015, 10:50 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 18 2015, 09:56 PM)
Oh.. obviously gsc has a high demand standard for leng lui...  biggrin.gif
Ha ha..
Sorry, I forgot about Bank Rakyat...  doh.gif

5 Years FD Comparisons

The Best Return:

(No. 1) MBSB 4.7% with interest paid every 6 months
Pros:
(1) Min FD deposit as low as RM 1K
(2) FD interest can deposit to any depositors' desired bank saving accounts
(3) Banker's check is free for payment of FD interest

Cons:
(1) Insufficient of branches nationwide
(2) No ATM, no online banking
(3) No FD interest will pay during holidays. For example if interest payment date falls on Saturday, then no interest will be paid for Sunday.
(4) FD can only be withdrawn in home branch

(No. 2)Am Bank 4.55% with interest paid monthly if 50 years old and above
Pros:
(1) More branches
(2) Can use True Savers to maximize return
(3) FD can withdraw in any branches nationwide but need to pass thumb print verification.

(No. 3) Bank Rakyat 4.5% (negotiable) with monthly interest
Pros:
(1) FD rate is negotiable if deposit amount is RM 50K and above
(2) So far no annual charge for ATM card
(3) Hampers & gifts, high-tea invitations and etc..
(4) Staffs are polite to customers

Cons:
(1) Less branches & ATM machines
(2) No banker's checks will be issued for FD withdrawals but can use IBG/TT instead. Quite troublesome.
(3) Frequent change of FD interest payment schedules which lead to customer unsatisfactions, complaints and confusions.
(4) FD can only be withdrawn in home branch

(No. 4) BSN 4.5% with interest paid monthly if above 50 years old and FD deposit exceed RM 50K
-- Sorry I am not familiar with BSN. But quite disappointed I have not seen any leng lui staffs honestly speaking  sad.gif 

The Most Secured:

(No. 1) BSN 4.5%, no PIDM but FD deposit guaranteed by the Malaysian Government. I think this is good for deposit amount larger than RM 250K since PIDM protection limit is RM 250K.
(No. 2) Am Bank 4.55% with PIDM
(No. 3) Bank Rakyat, without PIDM but guaranteed by The Ministry of Finance
(No. 4) MBSB 4.7% without PIDM, EPF holds more than 60% shares of MBSB
thanks for the summary, unkle boom! thumbup.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
yygo
post Oct 19 2015, 01:40 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 19 2015, 01:22 PM)
yeah why worry pidm or not, i just go for the jugular.
the highest interest for similar tenure, me going all out for the MBB GIA-i now ..
before  quota all taken up.
not some to asnb fp?
yygo
post Oct 19 2015, 02:07 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 19 2015, 02:04 PM)
asnb fp banyak  la.....
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif uhnwi (u for ultra). moving funds between fd & asnb. rclxms.gif
yygo
post Oct 19 2015, 03:51 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(thingamagic @ Oct 19 2015, 03:32 PM)
Ok done with maybank Gia-i.... its guaranteed rates unless OPR drops then rates will adjust accordingly. If OPR rises, rates dun rise tho

Interest calculatd daily, credited monthly and can be compounded. No penalty for early termination and prorated interest recognised.
interest not guaranteed even if opr no change! biggrin.gif it is just in case there is some issue. but with mbb not likely to have a problem.

interest compounded? you mean with principle? no, not compounded with principle.
yygo
post Oct 19 2015, 04:52 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Oct 19 2015, 04:45 PM)
So maybank have the best rate of 4.55% right now for 12months FD - 10k eh?

Feel like locking in Ambank's 60months 4.55%.....

Anyone can confirm my above line?
by the way, mbb's one is not an fd. it is gia-i product. 4.5% 12 months.
yygo
post Oct 19 2015, 05:52 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Oct 19 2015, 05:00 PM)

Meaning to say all the money you put in are not guaranteed right? So probably by the end of the day, it might give you RM0?

if mbb have problem, what do you think about other banks? brows.gif

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Oct 19 2015, 05:30 PM)
ahh...wonder how many people actually went with that maybank GIA-I then.

How bout 1 year FD's? best rate still 4.2%?

quite a few in this forum.

hl 15 month 4.26%, min 50k. ambank and uob 12month 4.2%
yygo
post Oct 19 2015, 10:34 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 19 2015, 10:30 PM)
No I don't think so. I think the principal is guaranteed (only for ASX FP) but not the returns.
kawan, asnb cannot guarantee principle. it is a ut. biggrin.gif
yygo
post Oct 19 2015, 10:35 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Oct 19 2015, 10:33 PM)
so technically speaking, maybank gia-i according to its t&c is not capital nor return guaranteed. asx fp should be superior.

that's why i brought this up. nevertheless, just my humble opinion.
what, you mean because asx fp principle guaranteed? no way, pal. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by yygo: Oct 19 2015, 10:35 PM
yygo
post Oct 19 2015, 10:38 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Oct 19 2015, 10:36 PM)
higher returns. from the looks of it maybank gia-i also some sort of UT kinda thing.
both kind of similar. some sort of ut except the gia-i invest in mbb islamic.
yygo
post Oct 19 2015, 10:48 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 19 2015, 10:45 PM)
Yeah. You are right. But the beauty of ASM, ASW & AS1M is they are fixed price. You buy at RM1 and you sell at RM1 too. The closest to capital guaranteed.  tongue.gif
laugh.gif provided their investment is no issue. but you cannot say capital guaranteed........... laugh.gif
yygo
post Oct 20 2015, 08:51 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Oct 19 2015, 10:53 PM)
My case is the other way round, i enter HSBC premier hall, get myself hot latte, read newspaper while, dip cookies into kopi, finish then cabut. No one bothered to kacau me. thumbup.gif
limpeh thinks that either ah boom is very handsome so leng lui want to kacao kacao or looking like korea's kim made people dare not approach you. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 20 2015, 08:02 AM)
Since when FD liquidity like SA?  If one removes the principal before the term is up, one only gains like 2% interest instead of 4%. Am I right or I am missing something here? hmm.gif
please take out good old dictionary to check on "liquidity". laugh.gif

i tot you are a financial student............ cry.gif
yygo
post Oct 20 2015, 08:57 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 20 2015, 08:55 AM)
My definition of liquidity is not giving free money to banks. So if one withdraw before time is up, one is giving free money to the bank. Not good sad.gif
dr ram dictionary, ic ic. tongue.gif
yygo
post Oct 24 2015, 08:35 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Oct 24 2015, 07:47 PM)
They give me dua sikat pisang...
One left, one right

Like this understand kua ?? Haha :haha:
QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Oct 24 2015, 07:53 PM)
Maybe they look down on me.. wear slippers..
laugh.gif someone like you can kena that? one left, one right. not one front, one back? hmm.gif

Go back and ask them for your gift. gave you pisang? give them back something else! brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by yygo: Oct 24 2015, 08:36 PM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:08 AM