Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.10, Please Read Post #1 & #2

Human Nature
post Oct 11 2015, 01:27 PM

- student of human nature -
26,512 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 11 2015, 01:21 PM)
notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif Bro is sure loaded. Another HNWI (me excluded) in this forum.  biggrin.gif
lol got many certs but all small amounts..mostly give my name for joint account only..maybe because I am the one who campaign to move to promo FD rates (and too free to go to banks)..if not, will just sitting on base rate sweat.gif
Human Nature
post Oct 12 2015, 07:40 PM

26,512 posts

Banker's cheque from OCBC FD upliftment is still free after GST implementation?
Human Nature
post Oct 12 2015, 08:00 PM

26,512 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Oct 12 2015, 07:53 PM)
I requested BC from ocbc casa (put into MBB GIA-i). got charged RM2.80 (deducted from casa)
that's from casa..FD upliftment with OCBC was free before GST implementation..so just wondering whether it is still the same biggrin.gif
Human Nature
post Oct 12 2015, 09:03 PM

26,512 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Oct 12 2015, 08:23 PM)
it cost RM0.53 for FD BC nowadays
Thanks. So if 4 certs will be RM2.12, still cheaper than combining 4 certs to 1 BC (as informed above by cybpsych, normal BC is RM2.80) biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 12 2015, 08:29 PM)
That's only for priority customer right? Cause last time h, cimb, charges me Rm5+ for one BC. mad.gif
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 12 2015, 08:41 PM)
Maybank oso charged RM5.30 per BC
Diff banks diff charges..really eat people one.
Human Nature
post Oct 13 2015, 04:14 PM

26,512 posts

Just back from musical chair session. UOB here implemented something new. The staff at the ticketing counter insisted to fill up the upliftment and BC form even though my number is just next on the queue. And when my number is up, my FD cert is still stuck at the ticketing counter doh.gif Anyway, was informed by the teller that the 4.2% promo ending on 30th Oct has no targeted amount so it will last until the due date. BC for UOB is RM2.80 now.

I also asked what is the minimum placement amount that may warrant a negotiable rate. After consulting with her superior, was told that there is no specific amount. It can only be known at the time of placement. Too bad, else can prepare the amount before going.

Next stop was OCBC, 4 counters are open but got stuck at the queue because all 4 are busy with customers doing investment products. But when it comes to my turn, everything is smooth smile.gif

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Oct 13 2015, 04:14 PM
Human Nature
post Oct 13 2015, 04:30 PM

26,512 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 13 2015, 04:23 PM)
Thanks for the update !  notworthy.gif

What was the BC for UOB last time ? In Penang it used to be RM0.15. Next week will have to move out 1 FD from UOB.  biggrin.gif
It was 2.15 before GST implementation. Last time I argued about 0.15 but the manager said depends on branches one.
Human Nature
post Oct 13 2015, 04:56 PM

26,512 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Oct 13 2015, 04:41 PM)
isnt this the unker i saw?  blink.gif
bravo notworthy.gif

my today placement at OCBC also matures on sunday..close two eyes sad.gif
Human Nature
post Oct 13 2015, 06:27 PM

26,512 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Oct 13 2015, 06:16 PM)
OCBC will pay you Sunday interest automatically without you asking.
RHB will not pay you the non banking day interest even you ask for it.
Thanks...i mistakenly thought that ocbc does not pay for non working day..should have checked at page 1
Human Nature
post Oct 14 2015, 06:55 PM

26,512 posts

Any tips on how to nego for higher rates?

If we already passed the banker's cheque to the teller, he/she would know that most likely we will make placement there so less chance to nego.

No RM.

Human Nature
post Oct 14 2015, 07:08 PM

26,512 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Oct 14 2015, 07:00 PM)
Ask at the ticketing counter, insist "big" amount, demand to see branch manager, if both fail, threaten to go another bank
that's what i scared..sekali they see my amount kacang putih only blush.gif also i wonder whether possible to get 0.1% increase
Human Nature
post Oct 14 2015, 07:49 PM

26,512 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 14 2015, 07:27 PM)
I thought you are at least PB of SCB ? hmm.gif
I tried the trick with BR before when I opened account. Talk to the officer, get higher rate and gifts before hand over the cheque. Subsequently talked to the BR ABM to nego before going there. Got 0.2% in one instance for a large sum. biggrin.gif
Depends on the bank. If there is already promo rate, 6 figure also may not work. My experience only.  biggrin.gif
Wanted to become PB of SCB but since no more FD promo, no motivation to go to the branch...procrastinating procrastinating almost 1 year has passed laugh.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 14 2015, 07:33 PM)
For UOB when there is no promo, you can ask for increase. But only low 0.05% or so. But with promo rate, tough luck (unless very high amt >6 figures).
BR wise, with 6 figure, can get 0.1% more. But it looks to me you are not BR kaki.  tongue.gif
Yes, you are right.  rclxms.gif Not many banks can nego rates. Esp if they are already having promo rates.  biggrin.gif
Yeah, planning to try luck for nego rate with uob..but since it will be on top of the 4.2% promo, chances are less...somemore I tried to nego to reduce the BC rate to RM0.15 also not successful cry.gif sweat.gif

BR has my highest FD amount but never got the chance to nego because it will just roll over and my mom will go there to renew the cert. One fine day need to try nego there too.
Human Nature
post Oct 14 2015, 08:35 PM

26,512 posts

Actually me too would have placed some fund with Ambank 5 years. Save time and cost to play musical chair in 5 years and yet gain a good rate. Monthly interest for above 50 yrs some more but too bad final decision not mine.
Human Nature
post Oct 15 2015, 07:38 PM

26,512 posts

QUOTE(kimmo88 @ Oct 14 2015, 11:45 PM)
Anyone on UOB FD? Once the FD reaching maturity, do I have inform the bank prior to the maturity date? I cannot seem to do anything on their online banking website. Do I have to go to the branch on the 'exact day' of maturity date to uplift the FD? Do I have to bring the FD statement issued (no cert given) to me when I apply/placement for the FD or my IC will do? How much do they charge for the bankers cheque(bc)? UOB is not on the MEPs list for free instant bank transfer so I would need a bc.
let me answer further on a few others.

No need to inform bank in advance, just bring your IC and go. Just bring the statement along if you want.
Once mature, can uplift on the same day or later.
UOB charges RM2.80 for banker's cheque (usual case for my branch)
Human Nature
post Oct 15 2015, 07:45 PM

26,512 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 15 2015, 07:42 PM)
Even for normal customer or for vip customer?
Referring to the BC fee? RM2.08 for normal customers, no idea about VIP biggrin.gif
Human Nature
post Oct 16 2015, 04:34 PM

26,512 posts

QUOTE(kimmo88 @ Oct 16 2015, 03:15 PM)
I just found out from calling UOB that uplifting of FD can be done online as well, no need to walk-in to branch.

UOB FD is maturity date + 1 day.

And if you do IBG online banking, the daily limit can be set to 50k.
UOB FD maturity is on the day itself. maybe +1 day only for online upliftment.

----

just returned from ocbc, their process is really taxing. took 1 hr 20 mins for placement. cost me rm4 parking.
Human Nature
post Oct 18 2015, 05:06 PM

26,512 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 18 2015, 03:35 PM)
My OCBC FD (3.87% effective rate  sad.gif ) will mature tomorrow too..
Mine on 27th. The half yearly interests, are they still inside your FD or you have withdrawn them?
Human Nature
post Oct 18 2015, 05:06 PM

26,512 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 18 2015, 03:35 PM)
My OCBC FD (3.87% effective rate  sad.gif ) will mature tomorrow too..
Mine on 27th. The half yearly interests, are they still inside your FD or you have withdrawn them?
Human Nature
post Oct 18 2015, 07:56 PM

26,512 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 18 2015, 07:05 PM)
Interest rate went up 3 months later after I placed this FD during last year...  cry.gif
A pain on my chest that unforgettable...
same boat as you. quite pain to wait for 18 months
Human Nature
post Oct 19 2015, 10:36 PM

26,512 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 19 2015, 09:35 PM)
OCBC staff: No lah.. OCBC will not simply terminate PB status, you are a PB, Mr. Boom.
Wah, like this good oh..just get the PB status one time, then reduces the amount...Is FD placement + cert issuance faster at PB room compared to normal area?
Human Nature
post Oct 19 2015, 10:50 PM

26,512 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 19 2015, 10:41 PM)
In Penang, my experience is not many people in the PB room for FD placement. Pretty fast. Could be time of day, not 100% sure.  biggrin.gif

Wasai, so can pull out the 300k and still remain PB ? Captain has said something like that before.

But some banks will start charging monthly fees.  biggrin.gif
i need to remember to ask about the monthly fees if below AUM the next time I am there. Hopefully OCBC has good FD rates when my SCB matures next year, can be the destination liao.

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 19 2015, 10:45 PM)
Yes, there is somebody will work dedicated for PB customers in side the Premier Room, so the
work progress will faster than the normal customer service and teller in bank lobby.

But do you know who are inside the Premier Room?
When you walk in the Premier Room, the RM in side the Premier Room will not let
you go until you buy the investment products from them, the Premier Room is a
trap lah..  sweat.gif

I feel more comfortable sitting outside the bank lobby..  biggrin.gif
I can withstand it, I am good in making 'muka bodoh' one. Nobody will layan.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0447sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:18 PM