looking for a good absorber

wira_laju
post Oct 6 2015, 03:44 PM

235 posts

monroe reflex serve me 6 years now.
my friend say if want cheap find GREBER.
Kirie
post Oct 6 2015, 07:11 PM

QUOTE(wira_laju @ Oct 6 2015, 03:44 PM)
monroe reflex serve me 6 years now.
my friend say if want cheap find GREBER.
Is it cheap & good for Greber?

6UE5T
post Oct 6 2015, 07:16 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(kirakun @ Oct 6 2015, 01:17 PM)
Bilstein is good, a little stiff though but price wise will get you to think twice as the cost for a set of b6 shocks alone is comparable to a set of adjustable shocks with spring.
Not really, depending on which type also. Bilstein makes several types ranging from normal ones to sport ones. If use the normal ones, still pretty comfortable (at least to me) and not that expensive.
kirakun
post Oct 6 2015, 08:05 PM

699 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 6 2015, 07:16 PM)
Not really, depending on which type also. Bilstein makes several types ranging from normal ones to sport ones. If use the normal ones, still pretty comfortable (at least to me) and not that expensive.
I'm using b6 shocks from bilstein, bought it from local dealer few years back, still serve me good todate. Paired it with stock springs, for high speed cruising, definitely comfortable however during city drive especially if the road condition is not good, ull feel it obvious. Cost me 2k plus back then so unless the price dropped drastically within these few years time, yeah bilstein shocks are still pretty expensive compared to the rest of standard shocks.
wira_laju
post Oct 6 2015, 08:16 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(Kirie @ Oct 6 2015, 07:11 PM)
Is it cheap & good for Greber?
my friend better than apm & kyb standard..
proride i dont know.this got 3 grade.black(normal),red(heavy duty)&yellow(sport).
Kirie
post Oct 6 2015, 09:03 PM

QUOTE(wira_laju @ Oct 6 2015, 08:16 PM)
my friend better than apm & kyb standard..
proride i dont know.this got 3 grade.black(normal),red(heavy duty)&yellow(sport).
Comfort n handling better?
Any review about Ftuned suspension?
alexei
post Oct 6 2015, 11:31 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 6 2015, 12:00 PM)
inspira bulk'd titan.

and lol fingers, nuff said.
hahahaha... can guess his age liao.
jesserider223
post Oct 7 2015, 01:47 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 6 2015, 12:00 PM)
inspira bulk'd titan.

and lol fingers, nuff said.
QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 6 2015, 11:31 PM)
hahahaha... can guess his age liao.
actually using fingers to gauge or set suspension height, is this sort of like obsolete old school practice or just inexperienced people's way of operating?

either way i guess both of you concur that it isn't the right way to set up and adjust the suspension, because it always baffles me to read that some people do it, it seems amateur and very subjective to use finger width.
alexei
post Oct 7 2015, 02:06 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(jesserider223 @ Oct 7 2015, 01:47 PM)
actually using fingers to gauge or set suspension height, is this sort of like obsolete old school practice or just inexperienced people's way of operating?

either way i guess both of you concur that it isn't the right way to set up and adjust the suspension, because it always baffles me to read that some people do it, it seems amateur and very subjective to use finger width.
I found this: https://www.heeltoeauto.com/pitboard/?tag=finger-gap
jesserider223
post Oct 7 2015, 02:15 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 7 2015, 02:06 PM)
i see now it's been around for decades, and enthusiasts like you and Quazacolt dont really do this anymore
Quazacolt
post Oct 7 2015, 02:31 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(jesserider223 @ Oct 7 2015, 01:47 PM)

its not so much the method, is more towards how people kept wanting to lower their car thinking it handles better (although id reckon people just think it looks cooler/better without the supposedly ugly fender gap)
alexei
post Oct 7 2015, 02:50 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

--sign0006.gif--

This post has been edited by alexei: Oct 7 2015, 09:25 PM
TSkurty
post Oct 8 2015, 12:40 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 7 2015, 02:31 PM)
its not so much the method, is more towards how people kept wanting to lower their car thinking it handles better (although id reckon people just think it looks cooler/better without the supposedly ugly fender gap)
does lowering really helps in handling?

I tried sport spring before.. each time when I go back Ipoh and drive through their road and humps..
i'm cursing and swearing..
I had to go 45 degree in order not to scratch the front bumper..

This post has been edited by kurty: Oct 8 2015, 12:41 PM
Quazacolt
post Oct 8 2015, 12:54 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(kurty @ Oct 8 2015, 12:40 PM)
does lowering really helps in handling?

I tried sport spring before.. each time when I go back Ipoh and drive through their road and humps..
i'm cursing and swearing..
I had to go 45 degree in order not to scratch the front bumper..
Depends.

And don't lower if it's causing problem.
bentayan_hijau
post Oct 8 2015, 12:56 PM

106 posts

proride jee

BeeDeePee
post Oct 8 2015, 01:41 PM

42 posts

What about koni yellow absorber & pair with eibach or h&r sport springs
alexei
post Oct 9 2015, 09:29 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(BeeDeePee @ Oct 8 2015, 01:41 PM)
What about koni yellow absorber & pair with eibach or h&r sport springs
A suspension system needs to match its payload, unsprung weight, weight distribution blah blah blah.
It comes in a package of matching springs and absorbers to your car, wheels and driving style.

For your Koni, find out its model and application, compare that against your car. Same with the springs.
Then, hope that they match nicely - nice ride height, no sag with many passengers, no bottom-out or topping, no tyre bounce during hard braking etc.

If need help, post the model numbers here... smile.gif
TSkurty
post Nov 4 2015, 08:45 AM

224 posts

is it true that for turbo engine like evo3, I must stick back to adjustable suspension?

I can't use stock susepension due to the heavy engine weight?
JunJun04035
post Nov 4 2015, 10:04 AM

Sir Kalahari, Duke of Autocorrect
1,167 posts

QUOTE(kurty @ Nov 4 2015, 08:45 AM)
is it true that for turbo engine like evo3, I must stick back to adjustable suspension?

I can't use stock susepension due to the heavy engine weight?
Personally, unless you have time to maintain the tuning of the shock, else stick with non adjustable, or just with height adjustable. Malaysia's road is just too unforgiving for fully adjustable shocks
benson92
post Nov 4 2015, 10:05 AM

1,010 posts

150-180km/h, not so fast whistling.gif

This post has been edited by benson92: Nov 4 2015, 10:05 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0299sec    1.16    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:27 AM