SGX Counters, Discussion on Counters in the SGX

aspartame
post Mar 10 2016, 07:54 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 10 2016, 10:09 AM)
Bought.. BUT, mine's a nominee a/c with HLiB/HLeB, thus maybe doesn't count for the need to pass whatnottests

I read the article above and it talked about returns over 10 years with and also without dividends computed. Just curious how are the dividends for these ETFs paid out or are they paid out at all? If not, they must be retained by the ETF and ultimately reflected in NAV? If so, then the index or the share price itself already price in total returns for 10 years right? Why is there a need to calculate "with dividends" returns separately?

aspartame
post Mar 11 2016, 07:29 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 11 2016, 12:31 AM)
i've received the dividends for my STI
Other SG listef ETFs, cant comment

also received for CIMBA40 listed in MY (& SG i think)

so..what was goal of the Qs again  rclxub.gif
Ok, thanks, goal achieved. biggrin.gif
aspartame
post Feb 7 2017, 06:30 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 6 2017, 09:45 PM)
I am using dbs vickers caah upfront account. How can I stop them from doing a partial fill order (it's wasting my money as I need to requeue the unfilled order)
Cannot la. Partial fill happens and there is nothing you can do about it.
aspartame
post Feb 7 2017, 10:10 PM

3,165 posts

Beware that the Fill or Kill order in DBS case is most likely a market order and not a limit order and therefore is not suitable for your purpose which is to queue at a limit price.
aspartame
post Apr 7 2017, 09:41 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 6 2017, 11:23 PM)
Okay,.. for those who have brokerage accounts in SG, look at yr website,... there will be free trials to view mkt depths from today till June 30th... it's an initiative by the SGX/CDP.
Sometimes I laugh at Singapore being a major financial centre but the way they do things are backward and ancient. This kind of 3 level prices have been around all brokerages in Malaysia for so long already. And it's all FREE. lol
aspartame
post Apr 7 2017, 09:56 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 7 2017, 09:46 AM)
Not to mention all their banks have no fingerprint reader and IC reader  doh.gif
Ha ha yea... can't imagine they refer to Malaysians as third world country whereas in technology deployment, Malaysia is way ahead in certain areas
aspartame
post Apr 23 2017, 03:36 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 23 2017, 03:07 PM)
Preparing now to fly to SG,... The first AGM of Manulife US REIT tomorrow morning at The NTUC Centre,..........
U flew that just to attend AGM? 😳
aspartame
post Apr 23 2017, 05:30 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 23 2017, 05:13 PM)
Yeah, perhaps,... but the height of the tension/excitement will be the Sabana REIT EGM on Friday,... Its be good to see what the other shareholders ask on Monday,.. mostly would be institutional shareholders,...

Going down for AGM,.. and then some meet-ups, banking errands,.. transfer out things,...tidy-up some things,.. surely there will be some things to handle,...
Managing financial affairs is addictive!
aspartame
post May 28 2018, 07:06 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(me_mbh @ May 27 2018, 10:45 PM)
hi sifu,

kinda noob here. got some Genting HK shares and it was delisted from the SGX, got their certificate mailed to me in M'sia too. Any ideas on how to work on this? Thanks a ton. Tried search the keyword of share certificate here but to no avail.
Before delisting, u should have sold. Now I think you need to open a brokerage account in Hong Kong, then write to Genting registrar in Singapore( or directly to CDP) to transfer shares from CDP to your Hong Kong account to be sold in Hong Kong exchange. Pretty messy. Or u just hold it , then every year, they will send you dividends in HKD. This is what I think lah. Please consult others further. I just simply talk only.

This post has been edited by aspartame: May 28 2018, 07:07 AM
aspartame
post May 29 2018, 05:14 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(me_mbh @ May 29 2018, 04:39 PM)
Thanks Aspartame. Much appreciated. Yes, kinda 2 late now to sell. No idea yet on what to do with the cert. Unsure even if they will send the divident over since genting HK had effectively delisted from SGX@CDP...
Delisted means u cannot buy/sell in SGX only but u r still shareholder and hence will receive dividends.
aspartame
post Feb 14 2019, 10:31 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Havoc Knightmare @ Feb 7 2019, 07:48 PM)
Hi guys I'm starting a series of articles covering the fundamentals of SG banks here. Any feedback (too confusing/technical/etc) would be appreciated. smile.gif
Hi Havoc,

Your articles are very well written. May I know your profession? If you are doing this out of interest, your research is damn good! Looking forward to more articles. In depth analysis of specific banks or stocks even better. Do you consider Sg bank stocks quite cheap?
aspartame
post Oct 12 2019, 09:45 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Havoc Knightmare @ Oct 12 2019, 03:37 PM)
Status quo. I have a document from PWC stating so but I'm having problems uploading it here. Will do so later when I have the chance to do so.
Ya, status quo... better still, it seems the current tax incentives for REITS is extended for 6 years from YA2020 to YA2025
Hansel

This post has been edited by aspartame: Oct 12 2019, 09:52 PM
aspartame
post Nov 27 2020, 11:14 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 27 2020, 12:17 AM)
They appeared, I filled up everything. Money not even deducted. That's when I know they mentioned that ascendas have a clause saying that Malaysians need to be a accredited investor (HNWI). IBKR was nice to point out to me.

Er my fiverr is almost 100% up in less than 3 months  tongue.gif I got at 114. It's now at 203.3  biggrin.gif
Ramjade bro, Fiverr has no fundamentals one... r u speculating on this? I thought u only collect divvies?
aspartame
post Nov 27 2020, 12:43 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 27 2020, 11:38 AM)
I haven't checked which ctr Fiverr is,... but I did comment in ShareJunction that I have started into Tech Stocks in Nasdaq since August this year. I made money on the splitting exercises of Apple and Tesla. I have always been a divvy investor too but decided to dipmy fingers into Nasdaq and NYSE when the USD interest rates reached almost 0%.
Your reason is not a good reason at all😅

You can also say “buy divvy counters as us rates reached almost 0%.”
aspartame
post Nov 27 2020, 12:45 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 27 2020, 11:58 AM)
This is exactly what the bank is doing. SG banks sell bond at lower rate (in fact negative) to lock in the low rates. When rates rise, they already lock in their financing cost. So, they can borrow cheaply and then lend to others at higher rates in the future. So, high NIM as you would expect.

You may misunderstand something here. It's because interest rates go up in the future that banks want to lock in cheap financing options for them today, i.e. banks want to get money with low cost (borrow from investors at low cost (so low that in reality investors pay back the bank more than the banks lend from them, assume bond retired at par., since coupon rate is negative.)

Then with cheap money, then can then lend to other fund users and borrowers at a higher rate. So, higher NIM.

Did I explain well? tongue.gif
What’s the catch? For negative interest bonds, the Singapore banks might as well issue as much as they can.. plus more.. right???
aspartame
post Nov 27 2020, 12:46 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 27 2020, 12:26 PM)
Haha. Low interest rate is here to stay. Remember the interest tantrum when rates go up? The fed backtrack immediately even though there was nothing wrong with increasing interest.
Actually I see which is better choice for my money. Something which cannot collect rents or something which can collect almost full rent. Better to have something which can collect almost full rent even though they are not loved liked Frasers. No name like Frasers. Cause I am not brand loyal.

Got fundamentals. Go and look again. Revenue increasing quarterly. They are slowly but surely going to be profitable. If you believe free lancing is not here to stay, think again.

I was and still am a dividend collector. But I decided to change my portfolio after a talk with a tech expert. No point buy dividend stocks for 3-4%p.a dividend a year when a growth company can give you like 20%p.a. How many years do you need to wait until a your 3-4% dividend become 20%? Get my point? Is making money work more efficiently for you.

I will still keep my dividend portfolio but dividends collected won't be channeled back to dividend stocks unless they are very attractive. They will be channeled into my new growth portfolio.

I can easily 2x with growth investing but how long do I need to wait for 2x with dividend investing? 2x dividends maybe. Unless you are super rich guy 6-7 figure, dividend investing is the way to go. If you are poor like me, your dividends is peanuts. For me the dividend portfolio does what it did already. It
1) can pay my bills
2) help fund my portfolio
3) help me to don't need overtime.

I counted with limited resources of say USD30k (2 more years of working unless things change), even with a 10% dividend yield, I am still getting USD3k/year. With growth if I can 2x it, it will be USD60k. I will need 20 years of dividend t0 make it to USD30k. I don't have another 20 years.

It's all about efficiency of managing money. If you can churn out like USD50k a year in dividend might as well go for dividend investing. If you can churn out only USD3k, need to re-strategy.
Nope not got caught. Change in strategy. Read above.
In short, you want to grow your money ASAP right? Guess what? That’s what everyone would like to do too... provided everything else remains the same😬
aspartame
post Nov 27 2020, 11:50 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 27 2020, 11:34 PM)
Not sure what you mean? No catch here. Just that Hansel probably thought banks loan to others at lower rates in the future when the article is saying that banks borrow at lower rates from others (by issuing bonds) now and lend to other at higher rates in the future.
What I mean is isn’t it a no brainer for banks to keep issuing negative int rates bond to raise cheap cash?.. I mean, what can go wrong??? As long as got demands for their bonds, just keep issue bonds lah to raise funds to standby..
aspartame
post Nov 28 2020, 05:10 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 28 2020, 04:53 PM)
Tks bro,.... biggrin.gif

I have many divvy ctrs already,... thot that I'd dip my fingers into growth in the US now,... But today,... I just feel that I am underperforming in my growth investments,... I sat in front of the TV till mkt closed at 2 am this morning and I have still not bought anything,....

I started in US growth back in,... August, I think,... just before Tesla and Apple did their share splits.
Maybe follow Buffett all in Apple😅... he can’t be that wrong right..wonder why he did not buy Tesla if the growth story so convincing ...😬
aspartame
post Nov 28 2020, 05:11 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 28 2020, 12:16 AM)
Yes of course. Banks don't simply issue bonds. They need to check their capital and asset structure etc. UOB's case is unique since, think about this, UOB does not have large operations in EU, why issue euro bonds?

It's because they want to take advantage of cheaper financing available. Just that. They can issue bonds in later years or at any other time, in any currency they like.

And no, not "keep issuing negative-yielding bonds". UOB just started this recently, so maiden issuance for an S-bank. Other S-banks may follow soon, or may not. It remains to be seen.

Banks don't simply issue bonds, they need to make sure there is money to lend from the proceeds of the bonds, or there is a need to fulfill regulatory reserves ratio requirements, otherwise there is no reason a bond has to be issued in first place.
TQ for yr explanation sir..

aspartame
post Dec 5 2020, 07:57 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 5 2020, 01:55 PM)
Tq bros,...

I did try out SCB many years ago,... but I did not build-up my hldgs there because abt a year after after I signed-up, SCB gave investors a fright by saying they are closing down one branch of their investing platform. The mu;ti-currency capability is good,... albeit there are minimum amts that need to be placed into their respective currency savings accounts. It's not a lot,... but it may affect a new investor,... you might as well use that USD1K to invest rather than to use this to pad your acct for if not, you will be charged USD2 per month.

I then decided to focus most of my funds outside my private banking acct into DBS.

I see the good values in IBKR and TSG today,... but I too see there are some prbs like subscribing to Rights Issues, etc,... hence, I'd think carefully before opening accts there.

I would have missed the many EFRs that were announced had I not have the DBS acct..

Frankly,... I did miss subscribing to some EFRs too this year because I had problems flying-in to SG more than twice. I have many REIT units held inside my CDP Acct..

During a pandemic, it is good to have custodian accts...
I think IB can subscribe rights... but I not sure....they always alert you of any corporate actions but I hse not participated in any to confirm that ...

0.1831sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:14 AM