Shell V-Power Racing, It's RED

TSn305er
post Nov 24 2006, 11:40 AM, updated 19y ago

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

Should be available by today. Have anyone tried it yet?
Subang Jaya, 23 November 2006

Shell V-Power Racing, the high-performance fuel used by Ferrari in Formula One (F1) races, will be available from tomorrow, at more than 300 Shell stations within Peninsular Malaysia to motorists who desire power and exhilaration from their driving experience.  As the first in Asia to launch, the new Shell V-Power Racing has ninety-nine per cent of the components found in the fuel used in Ferrari cars during F1 races and is designed to give that immediate acceleration, response and sustained power.

Contrary to popular belief, not all fuels are the same.  Shell V-Power Racing is the only high-performance fuel in Malaysia and is a result of close to 60 years of Shell's partnership with Ferrari.  This long-term collaboration has helped Shell advance track performance fuels that have enhanced consumer fuels.

"Shell's unrivalled expertise and exclusive partnership with Ferrari has enabled us to provide Malaysian motorists, the same power we have harnessed from our experience at the F1 race track," declared Tuan Haji Mohzani Abdul Wahab, Managing Director, Shell Trading (M) Sdn Bhd.

Source
WaCKy-Angel
post Nov 24 2006, 11:47 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

Whats the price?

But anyway old car like mine just need old petrol..(leaded rite, ron92)?
evilnickwong
post Nov 24 2006, 11:48 AM

- Evil by Nature -
5,065 posts

Hmm I might try it if it's the same price as the current VPower. I wonder what mileage will be like hehe.
TSn305er
post Nov 24 2006, 11:51 AM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

haha.. Currently have a tank full of BLUE V-Power. Will try this new Red one after this one is finished to see if there's any difference...

tunertoobe
post Nov 24 2006, 11:58 AM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(evilnickwong @ Nov 24 2006, 11:48 AM)
Hmm I might try it if it's the same price as the current VPower. I wonder what mileage will be like hehe.
Maybe worse as they do not boast about mileage with this one. tongue.gif
I wonder what it will do for a Superbike? whistling.gif

Guys look at this:
http://www.shell.com/home/Framework?siteId...ut_ga_1602.html

It seems it has 100 RON!!

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Nov 24 2006, 12:04 PM
TSn305er
post Nov 24 2006, 12:13 PM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

5% Ethanol...
Ethanol Petrol in the US is heavily subsidised... tongue.gif Shouldn't it be less power? rclxub.gif
tunertoobe
post Nov 24 2006, 12:16 PM

9,309 posts

Ethanol has a very high octane(more than 100). Any ethanol powered car can be more powerful than a conventional petrol car.

I think if you have a Turbo this V-Power Racing would benefit you greatly. Who the hell needs 100 RON?

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Nov 24 2006, 12:17 PM
TSn305er
post Nov 24 2006, 12:20 PM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Nov 24 2006, 12:16 PM)
Ethanol has a very high octane(more than 100). Any ethanol powered car can be more powerful than a conventional petrol car.

But... but... Ethanol Petrol in the US is about half the price of normal petrol... blink.gif

I think if you have a Turbo this V-Power Racing would benefit you greatly. Who the hell needs 100 RON?
MTT Y2K??? biggrin.gif rclxm9.gif

tunertoobe
post Nov 24 2006, 12:22 PM

9,309 posts

MTT use cheaper diesel. High octane Petrol burns more progressively, not suitable for a gas turbine engine.

But I wonder what effect it would have on it? tongue.gif
A 1000cc SBK usually have CR of about 12, it would be great for them!! rclxm9.gif

Oh yeah and regarding price. Well it is cheaper since you get it from sugar. tongue.gif
mADmAN
post Nov 24 2006, 12:22 PM

10,530 posts

dudes driving JDM K20A Type Rs would need it to properly be able to whack the car to the engine's full potential. coz thats the fuel requirement for those engines....

some of my friends who uses the DC5 or EP3 before this if they wanna whack they had to pour Blue V Power AND octane booster. without the octane booster there will be pinging. but still driveable on normal daily driven basis...aka low rev.
tunertoobe
post Nov 24 2006, 12:26 PM

9,309 posts

Well those "sporty" cars would benefit from them.
I think this opens up a door for more tuners out there. At last they don't need to be scared of pinging. When driving on the road, they'll have the comfort of knowing that there will be places where they can fill up with high octane fuel.
sleepwalker
post Nov 24 2006, 12:34 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

JDM cars brought into Malaysia need RON100.
calvin
post Nov 24 2006, 12:38 PM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

just pumped full tank of this when mine is almost drying up...tongue.gif
tunertoobe
post Nov 24 2006, 12:38 PM

9,309 posts

Yeah, I was refering to most of us here.
calvin, you alread have it in your tank?

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Nov 24 2006, 12:38 PM
calvin
post Nov 24 2006, 12:42 PM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

yea already in my tank..... engine much more quieter compared to using normal unleaded... response is better as well...millage is slightly off the normal unleaded with the same amount of fuel....
tunertoobe
post Nov 24 2006, 12:42 PM

9,309 posts

Is it more expensive?
calvin
post Nov 24 2006, 12:54 PM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Nov 24 2006, 12:42 PM)
Is it more expensive?
same like ordinary vpower...
sleepwalker
post Nov 24 2006, 12:58 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Nov 24 2006, 12:38 PM)
Yeah, I was refering to most of us here.
calvin, you alread have it in your tank?
I also forgot to add, in addition to JDM cars, all those who has done conversions (GSR, EVO, B16A/B/C, B18C, etc etc) will also need RON100. They are afterall driving JDM engines. So there's actually a rather large crowd with every converted car needing or rahter, been thirsty for it for a long time.
kucingfight
post Nov 24 2006, 01:09 PM

5,784 posts

I'm going to try it on my yamaha kapcai laugh.gif
lkm51
post Nov 24 2006, 01:14 PM

Hello! Kennot!
2,260 posts

ron100 got problem or not use in normal car ?
shinjite
post Nov 24 2006, 01:17 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Nov 24 2006, 12:58 PM)
I also forgot to add, in addition to JDM cars, all those who has done conversions (GSR, EVO, B16A/B/C, B18C, etc etc) will also need RON100. They are afterall driving JDM engines. So there's actually a rather large crowd with every converted car needing or rahter, been thirsty for it for a long time.
I will try 1 time in my Wira 1.6 and see what is the difference

sledgehammer
post Nov 24 2006, 01:22 PM

664 posts

i just pumped in petronas full tank the night before yesterday..... doh.gif
have to wait for 10 days more....

but i think this ron100 fuel benefit most on high compression engine rite?
BridgestoneRE711
post Nov 24 2006, 01:25 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

benefits for turbo charged car which has high compression engine after force induction . am i right ?
Hattori
post Nov 24 2006, 01:36 PM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻â”â”»
1,186 posts

Me.
Because right now I've been using VPower on my Iswara and I'm driving at 4000 - 5500 rpms.

With RON 100, I believe I could rev it up to 6500 rpms or even 7500 rpms drool.gif.
I'm looking forward to use this fuel.
Beware of my sleeper "stock" Iswara brows.gif

This post has been edited by Hattori: Nov 24 2006, 01:38 PM
sleepwalker
post Nov 24 2006, 01:44 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Hattori @ Nov 24 2006, 01:36 PM)
Me.
Because right now I've been using VPower on my Iswara and I'm driving at 4000 - 5500 rpms.

With RON 100, I believe I could rev it up to 6500 rpms or even 7500 rpms drool.gif.
I'm looking forward to use this fuel.
Beware of my sleeper "stock" Iswara  brows.gif
Did you modify the internal parts of your engine? Like increasing the compression or heavily advancing your ignition timing? If not, then you don't need RON100.

RON100 does not improve performance and only required if your engine needs it. An engine that requires RON100 and runs on our standard RON97 fuel, then it's performance would be degraded. Putting in RON100 back into the engine would restore it's power.
sleepwalker
post Nov 24 2006, 01:53 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(sledgehammer @ Nov 24 2006, 01:22 PM)
i just pumped in petronas full tank the night before yesterday..... doh.gif
have to wait for 10 days more....

but i think this ron100 fuel benefit most on high compression engine rite?
It only benefits those that require it otherwise it would be no use in normal engines.
tunertoobe
post Nov 24 2006, 02:09 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(calvin @ Nov 24 2006, 12:54 PM)
same like ordinary vpower...
Same price? Wah! ohmy.gif
tunertoobe
post Nov 24 2006, 02:10 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Nov 24 2006, 01:53 PM)
It only benefits those that require it otherwise it would be no use in normal engines.
Yeah true true. sleep.gif
Oh well, I'll increase my CR then. laugh.gif

Are tehre any other 100 RON petrol out there?
TSn305er
post Nov 24 2006, 02:10 PM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

The focus of V-Power Racing is not just the 100RON... Things like friction Modifier and other things they put in which we might not know will also affect the normal engine peformance.

tunertoobe
post Nov 24 2006, 02:13 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(n305er @ Nov 24 2006, 02:10 PM)
The focus of V-Power Racing is not just the 100RON... Things like friction Modifier and other things they put in which we might not know will also affect the normal engine peformance.
Oh yeah.
I think all engines can benefit from this petrol then. thumbup.gif

If it's the same price, I'll ask my dad to try it. Or rather, I try it. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Nov 24 2006, 02:13 PM
TSn305er
post Nov 24 2006, 02:15 PM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

Yup... Just like how my car can still feel the difference when I pump the Blue V-Power. My car is a RON92 engine anyway.
midship
post Nov 24 2006, 02:40 PM

15 posts

guys... Malaysian V-Power Racing is only 97 RON

http://www.shell.com/home/Framework?siteId..._faqs_0220.html
TSn305er
post Nov 24 2006, 02:42 PM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

QUOTE(midship @ Nov 24 2006, 02:40 PM)
guys... Malaysian V-Power Racing is only 97 RON

http://www.shell.com/home/Framework?siteId..._faqs_0220.html
That's the old document for the old V-Power.

The new V-Power Racing doesn't comes with Better Milage advertisment... tongue.gif
ulet
post Nov 24 2006, 03:51 PM

1,703 posts

i dun think it is ron 100.
in australia they got sale ron 100 even in singapore their v-power is ron 98 but in msia, we still stick with ron 97.
Corn24
post Nov 24 2006, 03:51 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(n305er @ Nov 24 2006, 11:40 AM)
Should be available by today. Have anyone tried it yet?

Source
oh its the latest from shell. i thought they change the name.. haha.. i already pump it yesterday.. feel no difference... maybe because i always pump v power...
lee831219
post Nov 24 2006, 03:55 PM

n00bâ„¢
7,761 posts

QUOTE(Corn24 @ Nov 24 2006, 03:51 PM)
oh its the latest from shell. i thought they change the name.. haha.. i already pump it yesterday.. feel no difference... maybe because i always pump v power...
wah... so rich ar...
sleepwalker
post Nov 24 2006, 03:56 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(ulet @ Nov 24 2006, 03:51 PM)
i dun think it is ron 100.
in australia they got sale ron 100 even in singapore their v-power is ron 98 but in msia, we still stick with ron 97.
Which V-power are you talking about? V-Power Blue or V-Power Racing Red?

F1meteor
post Nov 24 2006, 03:59 PM

1,391 posts

i was too a regular v-power user back then.
change back to normal petrol after an accident sad.gif no need drive so fast. biar lambat asalkan selamat.. hahaha
but also wish to try it next week. biggrin.gif
Beach_Boy
post Nov 24 2006, 04:02 PM

:D
8,456 posts

i shall try that on a GDI engine
which has a high compression ratio biggrin.gif
see if there's any difference
ahfatt78
post Nov 24 2006, 04:07 PM

156 posts

may not be 100 octane in malaysia's v-power racing. the additives may vary against region. of coz i hope it is 100 octane, as i am loyal customer of v-power.

This post has been edited by ahfatt78: Nov 24 2006, 04:08 PM
SUSceo684
post Nov 24 2006, 04:10 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

just wanna clarify, the red v power replaces the old blue v power OR they're selling two v powers together?

This post has been edited by ceo684: Nov 24 2006, 04:11 PM
sleepwalker
post Nov 24 2006, 04:12 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(ahfatt78 @ Nov 24 2006, 04:07 PM)
may not be 100 octane in malaysia's v-power racing. the additives may vary against region. of coz i hope it is 100 octane, as i am loyal customer of v-power.
Well, all we need is just get the JDM boys to try it. If they get more power, then we know it's the 100 octane that their engines are craving for. If it does not feel like anything, then it's the same old formula with a different colour.
TSn305er
post Nov 24 2006, 04:14 PM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

It'll be replacing the Blue V-Power I think... Since the pricing should be the same.

Also, if I'm not mistaken, Shell did annouce that they are going to do a worldwide syncronisation of all their premium petrol into the same brand and same type.

SUSceo684
post Nov 24 2006, 04:15 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Actually red is a lousy colour to pick for the expensive petrol..cos RON92 is also red in colour... some sneaky petrol stations might make it v power red + a bit of 92
TSn305er
post Nov 24 2006, 04:17 PM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Nov 24 2006, 04:15 PM)
Actually red is a lousy colour to pick for the expensive petrol..cos RON92 is also red in colour... some sneaky petrol stations might make it v power red + a bit of 92
Then your car will be very very Powderful!!! Bang Bang bang...

Then you can sue them to fix your car + fix some extra stuff + probably some free petrol... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by n305er: Nov 24 2006, 04:17 PM
SUSceo684
post Nov 24 2006, 04:21 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(n305er @ Nov 24 2006, 04:17 PM)
Then your car will be very very Powderful!!! Bang Bang bang...

Then you can sue them to fix your car + fix some extra stuff + probably some free petrol... tongue.gif
no lah its more of a krek krek krek sound.. bang bang one is misfiring tongue.gif
ahfatt78
post Nov 24 2006, 04:52 PM

156 posts

Shell did not have any RED fuel (RON92) other than VPower Racing
SUSceo684
post Nov 24 2006, 05:04 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

92 from esso is definitely red in colour. Forgot what's the colour of shell 92 though, long time no pump.
sleepwalker
post Nov 24 2006, 05:07 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(ahfatt78 @ Nov 24 2006, 04:52 PM)
Shell did not have any RED fuel (RON92) other than VPower Racing
All their fuel is red... or pink.. or merah jambu.. whatever you want to call it (except for V-Power). What he was talking about is that we can't tell the diff if some petrol kiosk 'campur' the new V-Power Racing with some RON92 fuel and we can't tell the diff.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Nov 24 2006, 05:31 PM
ulet
post Nov 24 2006, 05:32 PM

1,703 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Nov 24 2006, 03:56 PM)
Which V-power are you talking about? V-Power Blue or V-Power Racing Red?

taken from malaysian motor trader website
this a quote from the whole article

The new Shell petrol continues to have a RON97 octane rating which Tuan Haji Mohzani said is regulated by the government. The price of RM2.15 is unchanged from before even though it is more expensive to produce than the previous V-Power. The extra cost of production is not entitled to the government subsidy which is why it costs more at the pump.

for the whole article, u can read it here http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles..._712/page_m.asp

This post has been edited by ulet: Nov 24 2006, 05:40 PM
sleepwalker
post Nov 24 2006, 05:45 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(ulet @ Nov 24 2006, 05:32 PM)
taken from malaysian motor trader website
this a quote from the whole article
for the whole article, u can read it here http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles..._712/page_m.asp
Oh well.. too bad for the JDM boys.. their precious engines will have to continue to run without the precious RON100 petrol.
ulet
post Nov 24 2006, 05:48 PM

1,703 posts

and this is the reply i got from shell malaysia after i e-mailed them
Dear Sir,

Thank you for writing to Shell.

With regards to your query below, the RON for V Power Racing is 97.

Thank you.

Regards,
Suriani
Shell Customer Service Centre

tunertoobe
post Nov 24 2006, 05:56 PM

9,309 posts

Ah, dang. sleep.gif
evilnickwong
post Nov 24 2006, 05:59 PM

- Evil by Nature -
5,065 posts

I wonder if it'll bring any benefit to a stock 318i E30. I've never even tried VPower before. laugh.gif
tunertoobe
post Nov 24 2006, 06:17 PM

9,309 posts

Why can't we have the hundred!! cry.gif
I already had plans for it. dry.gif
BridgestoneRE711
post Nov 24 2006, 06:54 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

1- cost cutting

i now check , it is RON97 only . just now i went to pump , no longer lah , not more powerful tan v-power . but pretty smoother power delivery .
SimonsayZ
post Nov 24 2006, 07:13 PM

2,792 posts

Dang..I just pump primax 3 today. After this, I will try this new V-power on my B16A and see if there's any difference. But I doubt there will be any differences though. wink.gif
tunertoobe
post Nov 24 2006, 07:14 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Nov 24 2006, 06:54 PM)
1- cost cutting

i now check , it is RON97 only . just now i went to pump , no longer lah , not more powerful tan v-power . but pretty smoother power delivery .
Maybe your old petrol is still being fed into your engine.
egiewan
post Nov 24 2006, 07:19 PM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Nov 24 2006, 05:45 PM)
Oh well.. too bad for the JDM boys.. their precious engines will have to continue to run without the precious RON100 petrol.
You can always get those octane boosters from Ace Hardware. Ahahaha...joking tongue.gif
BridgestoneRE711
post Nov 24 2006, 07:30 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Nov 24 2006, 07:14 PM)
Maybe your old petrol is still being fed into your engine.
already dry le ... waring light up since yesterday night .
tunertoobe
post Nov 24 2006, 07:35 PM

9,309 posts

WHat's your car?
Maybe cars similar to your might wanna try to avoid it.

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Nov 24 2006, 07:35 PM
sleepwalker
post Nov 24 2006, 08:04 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(egiewan @ Nov 24 2006, 07:19 PM)
You can always get those octane boosters from Ace Hardware. Ahahaha...joking tongue.gif
Don't need it. Mine's a WRX Type UK. Don't need RON100 like the JDM boys. RON95 and above will do.
tunertoobe
post Nov 24 2006, 08:14 PM

9,309 posts

bro sleepwalker, if those JDM cars need them 100 to go full potential, where do they get them?
ulet
post Nov 24 2006, 08:37 PM

1,703 posts

QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Nov 24 2006, 06:54 PM)
1- cost cutting

not cost cutting lah
our goverment only subsidies the ron92 and ron97.
if they want to introduce the ron98 and above, u got to pay full price.
u wanna pay full price meh?
tunertoobe
post Nov 24 2006, 08:41 PM

9,309 posts

What's the full price??
ulet
post Nov 24 2006, 08:53 PM

1,703 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Nov 24 2006, 08:41 PM)
What's the full price??
example of ron98 prices in singapore is around rm4 a litre.
so our price for ron98 should be roughly that.
imagine what is ron100 price will be.
tunertoobe
post Nov 24 2006, 09:00 PM

9,309 posts

Wow RM4 a liter!! ohmy.gif
SO a full tank for a myvi would be......RM160!!

For a Perdana RM200!
For a Ferrari RM400!!!!
LExus65
post Nov 24 2006, 09:18 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

RON 100 is nothing compare to the E85...... RON 125........

btw only high compression or extremely thick air fuel ratio would benefit from this high ron number fuel.............

so i guess most 4 stroke high rev bikers would be cheers........finally they are getting what they want........
SUSDrifter
post Nov 24 2006, 09:53 PM

1,349 posts

mind telling what is RON?

and how does higher rating RON(RON 100) benefits the car?
ChocolateChipCookies
post Nov 24 2006, 10:50 PM

98 posts

i pumped so-called vpower racing just now. but why the colour still blue? it should be red right?
BridgestoneRE711
post Nov 24 2006, 10:53 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

no , it is still blue . just the addictive is different . i already confirm this with the shop owner , he told me that reaches 2 days ago .
sleepwalker
post Nov 24 2006, 11:10 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Nov 24 2006, 08:14 PM)
bro sleepwalker, if those JDM cars need them 100 to go full potential, where do they get them?
You can get octane boosters in any accessory shops or even make them yourself. Plenty of recipes online. However it's just too troublesome to use it everytime you pump a full tank and most just don't bother.
sleepwalker
post Nov 24 2006, 11:12 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Drifter @ Nov 24 2006, 09:53 PM)

If you have read the last few replies you would have gotten your answer. It does not benefit the car unless it requires it.
tunertoobe
post Nov 24 2006, 11:15 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(Drifter @ Nov 24 2006, 09:53 PM)

Research Octane Number.
I forgot a bit. If it has 97 RON that means it has the same firing capability as to a fuel with 97% of something........?? huh.gif

Anyways, a higher RON will only benefit some car. If you car has a high compression ratio you will benefit from it. You get less engine knocking(where fuel burns before the spark plug ignites it). The higher the number, the more energy needed to explode it, therefore, you need to compress more to make it explode spontaneously.

Newer engines comes wih knock sensors. So when you use lower octane fuel, it will sense the knock and therefore retard spark timing. This will make you lose some power. Using octane suitable for the engine or higher will "relieve" the sensors of its duty and let the engine run freely.
shinjite
post Nov 25 2006, 12:06 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,321 posts

If still the same RON97, no need to try for me....
Because I have tested with Vpower blue b4
sunauto
post Nov 25 2006, 12:30 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Bro Sleepwalker,

Octane boosters can range from RM20 plus to RM70 plus, from STP, Outlaw, Penzoil, etc. Any differences between these brands because the price gap is pretty wide and there's no mention of RON ratings either on the packaging. How effective are those octane boosters anyway? I've tried STP but sadly, no effect at all but it was RM20 plus only. doh.gif

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Nov 24 2006, 11:10 PM)
You can get octane boosters in any accessory shops or even make them yourself. Plenty of recipes online. However it's just too troublesome to use it everytime you pump a full tank and most just don't bother.
BridgestoneRE711
post Nov 25 2006, 12:36 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

sunauto , i personally never try those booster , becasue i dont believe in them . dont know why , just feel .
really no feel a ?
sleepwalker
post Nov 25 2006, 01:35 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Nov 25 2006, 12:30 AM)
Bro Sleepwalker,

Octane boosters can range from RM20 plus to RM70 plus, from STP, Outlaw, Penzoil, etc. Any differences between these brands because the price gap is pretty wide and there's no mention of RON ratings either on the packaging. How effective are those octane boosters anyway? I've tried STP but sadly, no effect at all but it was RM20 plus only.  doh.gif
There's no effect in your car because your engine is tune to run with RON95. Since Malaysian fuel is already RON 97, there will be no effect on your engine.

A proper octane booster will usually include a rough guide to how much octane it will boost. Usually not much, around 1-2 octane. Outlaw looks the best because it has the 4 metal canisters.

Again, octane boosters are a waste of time as it does not increase power. The higher octane allows you to run a more highly tuned settings without damaging your engine, like higher compression or more advanced ignition timing.

My previous Satria GSR and my friends EVO's all runs better with higher octane because the engine and ecu was tuned for Japanese RON 100. However, it's too much of a hassle to keep adding it to the petrol tank.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Nov 25 2006, 01:38 AM
Hellsceamer
post Nov 25 2006, 01:40 AM

257 posts

at mobil station

they have two type
1 = 1.88 (which i pump the most before it cheap and same km if i compared 1.92 one)
2 = 1.92
what is what?

how do i know what ron that i need to use? if i fill the wrong one..will it spoil my car?
BridgestoneRE711
post Nov 25 2006, 01:44 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

wad car u drive first .
normally it is okay , but fill up the ron97 better .
Hellsceamer
post Nov 25 2006, 01:47 AM

257 posts

myvi...............1.88 i usually pump...what ron they called? was it leaded? or unleaded? what that's mean? was it bad for my car?
sorry i m noob here
[ r u g a ]
post Nov 25 2006, 02:29 AM

661 posts

is ok..myvi runs on ron92 smile.gif i oso pump the 1.88 at Projet but if you pump those 1.92 de is ron97 .. which i felt a lil bit more smoother power delivery and lil bit more powerful
shinjite
post Nov 25 2006, 06:15 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(Hellsceamer @ Nov 25 2006, 01:40 AM)
at mobil station

they have two type
1 = 1.88 (which i pump the most before it cheap and same km if i  compared 1.92 one)
2 = 1.92
what is what?

how do i know what ron that i need to use? if i fill the wrong one..will it spoil my car?
1.88 is synergy regular = ron92
1.92 is synergy f1 = ron97
tunertoobe
post Nov 25 2006, 07:35 AM

9,309 posts

For Myvi, recommended is 96 so yeah, better use the 1.92 petrol.
TSn305er
post Nov 25 2006, 10:11 AM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

QUOTE(LExus65 @ Nov 24 2006, 09:18 PM)
RON 100 is nothing compare to the E85...... RON 125........

btw only high compression or extremely thick air fuel ratio would benefit from this high ron number fuel.............

so i guess most 4 stroke high rev bikers would be cheers........finally they are getting what they want........
Only some modified engines or new engine can use E85. It'll be too hot for normal engines to burn 85% of Alcahol.

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Nov 25 2006, 07:35 AM)
MyVi is Ron92 la.
Can use the cheap cheap petrol... biggrin.gif
SUSceo684
post Nov 25 2006, 11:06 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Nov 25 2006, 07:35 AM)
Urs is K3VET isit? Stock myvis all can run on 90+ lah. No point using expensive petrol..1.88 one will do.
DreMAx
post Nov 25 2006, 11:25 AM

Nature's Best Music
3,799 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Nov 25 2006, 11:06 AM)
Urs is K3VET isit? Stock myvis all can run on 90+ lah. No point using expensive petrol..1.88 one will do.
my family's myvi also K3VE engine... actually as long it's unleaded petrol kasi pump only lo sweat.gif
mengfui
post Nov 25 2006, 11:44 AM

1,777 posts

proton saga 1991 pump ron92 fuel also suitable is it?
tunertoobe
post Nov 25 2006, 12:13 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Nov 25 2006, 11:06 AM)
I read that info from Daihatsu. 91 is the minimum, while 96 is recommended. The K3-VE has a 10:1 compression which is retty high mind you.
LExus65
post Nov 25 2006, 01:37 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

as long as ur car does not knock........ ron 88 (last time used to have this, long long time ago) would be good enough...........

but according to some review e85 actaully is cooler as........cannot confirm on this as i havent try it before
shinjite
post Nov 25 2006, 03:12 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(mengfui @ Nov 25 2006, 11:44 AM)
proton saga 1991 pump ron92 fuel also suitable is it?
No problems smile.gif
Hellsceamer
post Nov 25 2006, 03:37 PM

257 posts

so ron 92 is unleaded or leaded?
Kclee2002
post Nov 25 2006, 03:57 PM

5,135 posts

QUOTE(Hellsceamer @ Nov 25 2006, 03:37 PM)
so ron 92 is unleaded or leaded?
there is no more leaded petrol in malaysia,so any kind/RON of petrol in malaysia is unleaded

This post has been edited by Kclee2002: Nov 25 2006, 03:57 PM
BridgestoneRE711
post Nov 25 2006, 11:20 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

no point saving RM0.70 cent per tank for ron 92 ... less power .
KeV
post Nov 25 2006, 11:25 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

actually if the difference is only 4 cents, take ron97, no disputes

when i was in australia, the higher the ron, the better the mileage, according to one tv show

the one with e10, 98 ron scored the best mileage before it ran out
BridgestoneRE711
post Nov 26 2006, 12:23 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

4 cent meh ?
RM1.88 to M1.95 ma ... right ? or 1.92 only ?

so far , i dont feel very nice with the current v-power racing . the ommph seems lesser , from rpm 2000-3000 , as compared with the previous v-power i filled last month . but the good thing is , engine superb smooth , when u revv it , easier to get to higher RPM and engine note also better.
shinjite
post Nov 26 2006, 03:13 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,321 posts

since when its 1.95 oh, 1.92 only, next year dunno ler
Shinobi
post Nov 26 2006, 11:15 AM

100 posts

Power of a car is not soley dependant on fuel type, but also on the type of engine oil you are using. If your car uses mineral or semi-syn, might as well stick with the RON97 unleaded fuel. But if you filled your car with fully-syn, then its worth trying out V-Power.

But overall, I have tried both the defaul Shell 97 and the V-Power (havent tried the new V-Power Racing), I cant tell much of a difference because I'm using Shell Helix Ultra fully-syn engine oil and most of the time my ignition is smooth and quiet, smooth accelaration, pick-up and power is there, good fuel consumption and perfect idealing. No knocking or what so ever.

So try experimenting with diiferent brands of engine oil and see which suits your best for overall performance. Word of caution, if you have been running on mineral or semi-syn for more than 50,000km, then dont change to fully-syn.
shinjite
post Nov 26 2006, 02:14 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,321 posts

if u want to change, better do a engine flush first before changing to synthetic oils

Looks like my next petrol top up will be Vpower racing, wanna see the improvement

This post has been edited by shinjite: Nov 26 2006, 02:14 PM
jordan86
post Nov 26 2006, 05:13 PM

631 posts

Hmm...
Din try on it before.
hehe....
pilotHans
post Nov 27 2006, 02:29 AM

scuderia ferrari pit crew (" ,)
2,525 posts

on 23th of November.....I pumped RM82 / 37liters + into my car.....
FC until now : 16.7km/l ..........already 500km + yet to be red......but my normal FC already 500km per full tank......so im estimating around 630km + per full tank using the new Shell V-P Racing........
Beach_Boy
post Nov 27 2006, 03:10 AM

8,456 posts

filled up a tank with vpower racing in the mitsu with GDi engine(the compression ratio is 1:11 if not mistaken)
the throttle responce is MUCH better
slight prod on the throttle will give instant responce already, as oppose to the 'prod, wait, thrust' kind of experience i had with RON97 fuel
eddyann
post Nov 27 2006, 09:02 AM

Gold Miner
1,981 posts

QUOTE(pilotHans @ Nov 27 2006, 02:29 AM)
FC until now : 16.7km/l ..........already 500km + yet to be red......but my normal FC already 500km per full tank......so im estimating around 630km + per full tank using the new Shell V-P Racing........
what care ur using? 16.7km/l is very good
TSn305er
post Nov 27 2006, 11:22 AM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

QUOTE(pilotHans @ Nov 27 2006, 02:29 AM)
Wow! So it's actually better?
I can't wait to try it...
tunertoobe
post Nov 27 2006, 01:01 PM

9,309 posts

I'm not surprised since it has that FMT technology that they say would lubricate the engine as well.
J-Slade
post Nov 27 2006, 01:04 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

My dad said there is a slight improvement from the previous v power. He's been using it all year for his old skool BMW...
eng98
post Nov 27 2006, 03:33 PM

Come and suX me...
3,311 posts

pump Rm50 i think i only can get 200- 230 like that.... better power when high rev.. hehehe but just alitter improvment... i guess i think back to green which can give me 250 in RM50
sunauto
post Nov 27 2006, 03:54 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

I feel tha V-Power burns very fast so fuel consumption will hurt if you always do city driving. Highway driving will be much better. Just what I have observed for my ride. smile.gif
ammar
post Nov 27 2006, 04:20 PM

~:"(1)":~
2,090 posts

fill up my tank with full new vpower petrol

gotta say,its accelerate much more quicker than the old vpower and more smoother
sunauto
post Nov 27 2006, 05:05 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

That's because you're putting Ferrari fuel to your ride. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(ammar @ Nov 27 2006, 04:20 PM)
fill up my tank with full new vpower petrol

gotta say,its accelerate much more quicker than the old vpower and more smoother
K3nnYkl82
post Nov 27 2006, 05:23 PM

2,479 posts

i dun understand.. does that 4 cents make a lot of different?? (1.92 - 1.88) .. estimation each pump.. 35 littles.. u get to save RM1.40...
for RM1.40 .. i rather go for better power .. :-P

might as well ask someone to try mix alcohol with RON92.. maybe u get cheaper fuel.. since so desperate to save the 4 cents.. :-P.. juz joking.. hehe

new v-power .never tried yet.. coz im overseas .. cant wait to get my hands on them..
TSn305er
post Nov 27 2006, 05:34 PM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Nov 27 2006, 05:23 PM)
i dun understand.. does that 4 cents make a lot of different?? (1.92 - 1.88) .. estimation each pump.. 35 littles.. u get to save RM1.40...
for RM1.40 .. i rather go for better power .. :-P

might as well ask someone to try mix alcohol with RON92.. maybe u get cheaper fuel.. since so desperate to save the 4 cents.. :-P.. juz joking.. hehe

new v-power .never tried yet.. coz im overseas .. cant wait to get my hands on them..
Higher RON does not mean Higher Power.
Higher RON does not mean it burns better or worse.
Higher RON does not mean it burns faster or slower.

The only thing different is How much it can be compressed before it self ignite...

It does not affect the FC or Power of your car if you use 2 of the same fuel with different RON unless the smaller RON is too low for your engine...

So, RM1.40 = breakfast. smile.gif
Akane
post Nov 27 2006, 08:05 PM

1,197 posts

Tried this V Power Racing last week on my Altis. Can feel abit more power when I press hard but when driving slowly, is just normal. But anyway, its a good petrol I would say.
ammar
post Nov 27 2006, 09:09 PM

2,090 posts

yea got free decal to stick on to your car

i like the quote though hahaha

'sorry i dont mean to leave you behind'

anyone have them?

This post has been edited by ammar: Nov 27 2006, 09:13 PM
shinjite
post Nov 27 2006, 09:22 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,321 posts

Tried Vpoower racing today, the power is there after all smile.gif
scorgio
post Nov 28 2006, 12:20 AM

4,694 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Nov 27 2006, 05:23 PM)
i dun understand.. does that 4 cents make a lot of different?? (1.92 - 1.88) ..
Excuse me, the price difference between V-Power & the normal Shell Super is not 4 cents.

RM1.88/L is the RON92 Regular petrol.

V-Power price last time is 15cents more per litre, now if remember correctly is 20cents more.
shinjite
post Nov 28 2006, 01:34 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Nov 28 2006, 12:20 AM)
Excuse me, the price difference between V-Power & the normal Shell Super is not 4 cents.

V-Power price last time is 15cents more per litre, now if remember correctly is 20cents more.
Since a couple of months ago Vpower is RM2.15/L, do the math smile.gif

This post has been edited by shinjite: Nov 28 2006, 01:41 AM
sonic_cd
post Nov 28 2006, 01:43 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

pumped it in today before leaving to the airport. engine sounds different .overall can say got minor improvement .. then again my car drinks petrol like a thristy horse.lol tongue.gif

This post has been edited by sonic_cd: Nov 28 2006, 01:43 AM
SimonsayZ
post Nov 28 2006, 09:10 AM

2,792 posts

I pumped this v-power yesterday. The engine does get smoother but not that much. But there's also a mix of other fuel too as I have not really finished the previous fuel.
K3nnYkl82
post Nov 28 2006, 10:48 AM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Nov 28 2006, 12:20 AM)

Excuse me, im saying the price for Ron97 n Ron92 lerrrr.. tongue.gif .. i know V-Power is Rm2.15 .. previously .. now i dunno.

Btw, i tot most of the car now comes with higher compression engine d.. ?? my almost 10 years old 4G93 needs ROn95 ++ .. laugh.gif
TSn305er
post Nov 28 2006, 10:51 AM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

Newer engines are designed to be more efficient, more clean, more quiet, and more easy to maintain...

Usually, designers don't need to design them to use higher compression.

Market demand... smile.gif
ahfatt78
post Nov 28 2006, 10:55 AM

156 posts

The new Shell petrol continues to have a RON97 octane rating which Tuan Haji Mohzani said is regulated by the government. The price of RM2.15 is unchanged from before even though it is more expensive to produce than the previous V-Power. The extra cost of production is not entitled to the government subsidy which is why it costs more at the pump.

http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles..._712/page_m.asp

It is still RON97.
WhizzWork2005
post Nov 28 2006, 12:04 PM

1,433 posts

Seen it in Shell Petrol Station already....
Shell V-Power Racing (RED COLOUR)

But, i found out that, previously there are V-POWER (BLUE) one is not being sold at the petrol station already......

Can only see...
SHELL REGULAR (Green)
SHELL V-POWER RACING (Red)
SHELL DIESEL (Black)

No more V-POWER (BLUE)

sanosizo
post Nov 28 2006, 01:08 PM

4,553 posts

there's an episode of fifth gear where the presenter (john bentley i think) tested several types of fuel into 3 cars of different ages. what can i remember is that advanced fuel only benefits advanced engines in high performance cars. i guess v-power blue/red fuel doesnt bring any improvement to cars aged more than 15 years...
Gouki
post Nov 28 2006, 01:48 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Shinobi @ Nov 26 2006, 11:15 AM)
Power of a car is not soley dependant on fuel type, but also on the type of engine oil you are using. If your car uses mineral or semi-syn, might as well stick with the RON97 unleaded fuel. But if you filled your car with fully-syn, then its worth trying out V-Power.

But overall, I have tried both the defaul Shell 97 and the V-Power (havent tried the new V-Power Racing), I cant tell much of a difference because I'm using Shell Helix Ultra fully-syn engine oil and most of the time my ignition is smooth and quiet, smooth accelaration, pick-up and power is there, good fuel consumption and perfect idealing. No knocking or what so ever.

So try experimenting with diiferent brands of engine oil and see which suits your best for overall performance. Word of caution, if you have been running on mineral or semi-syn for more than 50,000km, then dont change to fully-syn.
Mind to enlight me more on that? smile.gif
KidsCode
post Nov 28 2006, 01:51 PM

-----NoLimits!-----
6,649 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Nov 28 2006, 01:08 PM)
there's an episode of fifth gear where the presenter (john bentley i think) tested several types of fuel into 3 cars of different ages. what can i remember is that advanced fuel only benefits advanced engines in high performance cars. i guess v-power blue/red fuel doesnt bring any improvement to cars aged more than 15 years...
to me its just a trial and error and found out that it works better on higher performance car, but it just test on a single car, if more then 1 and all the same then can consider its truth, so cant directly saz that it do for all...

icez
post Nov 28 2006, 03:28 PM

The Icezman Gone Cold
1,053 posts

True that newer more advanced technology engines will show higher overall performance but the test didn't take into consideration improvements in things like acceleration, engine protection, noise, FC, etc.
tunertoobe
post Nov 28 2006, 07:14 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(n305er @ Nov 28 2006, 10:51 AM)
Newer engines are designed to be more efficient, more clean, more quiet, and more easy to maintain...

Usually, designers don't need to design them to use higher compression.

Market demand... smile.gif
High compession ratios are efficient. Squeeze more and you get more potential energy in the combustion stroke.
TSn305er
post Nov 28 2006, 10:29 PM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Nov 28 2006, 07:14 PM)
High compession ratios are efficient. Squeeze more and you get more potential energy in the combustion stroke.
That's not always the case.
To compress petrol, you need energy to drive the preassure in the first place. smile.gif

sunauto
post Nov 28 2006, 11:19 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

I thought it's supposed to clean the engine while you drive with V-Power because of the added additives. It should benefit old cars in some ways, right? Correct me if I'm wrong, I saw many old cars pumping V-Power once or twice a month to cuci engine. smile.gif

tunertoobe
post Nov 28 2006, 11:31 PM

9,309 posts

True. sleep.gif
But I think modern engine designs are meant to be able to handle high CR. Most cars today have CR of 10:1. The Prius has 13:1.

The higher the CR, the more mechanical energy the engine can squeeze out of its fuel and air mixture, which makes the engine fuel efficient. But what you say is true. I think modern engineers have(almost) found the right balance between high CR while reducing the energy loss while doing so.
Latino Heat
post Nov 29 2006, 01:37 AM

1,000 posts

Hmm. . .gotta try one day. . .Any difference compare to Caltex's Techron ?? In terms of cleaning power. ..
LExus65
post Nov 29 2006, 01:38 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

the amount the fuel injected/ air the cylinder suck in then only give u the correct air fuel ratios........CR alone wont do much help here as air intake is not consistant and modern engine do have their fuel injector make nearer to the cylinder or even inside.........engine loading also changes the situation

btw higher the CR, more mechanical energy needed to make the compression ~ e.g. diesel engine usually have big starter motor and battery to start the car......... so does not mean it can squeeze more.......

CarroTT
post Nov 29 2006, 05:53 AM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

an easier way to expain about why to use higher static comp ratio is,
when u do compress the mixture more n combust it,
the flame front produced becomes faster and turbulent,
thus a more powerful and faster down stroke is produced ( why ? a basic simple way to undestand this is first to understand Activation Energy/ Threshold and the Boltzmann curve, also a bit of knowledge in chemistry and physics would help ).
Lets not go into detail about the thermochemistry behind it , will leave everyone yawning here rclxub.gif

Of course in the end without explaining anymore details, the ultimate goal in tuning/modifying an engine is to produce a combustion flame front as fast and turbulent as possible, in a controlled state .

Dun ask me how rclxub.gif , i dun even drive a car biggrin.gif

if i m wrong, please do correct me, its 5.49 in the morning and i m dead sleepy n not tinking right sweat.gif , oso i dun even drive a car, heck, wat do i know about engines right ? blush.gif

sleepwalker
post Nov 29 2006, 07:35 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(LExus65 @ Nov 29 2006, 01:38 AM)
the amount the fuel injected/ air the cylinder suck in then only give u the correct air fuel ratios........CR alone wont do much help here as air intake is not consistant and modern engine do have their fuel injector make nearer to the cylinder or even inside.........engine loading also changes the situation

btw higher the CR, more mechanical energy needed to make the compression ~ e.g. diesel engine usually have big starter motor and battery to start the car......... so does not mean it can squeeze more.......
Actually diesel engines squeeze more, up to 5 times more than petrol engines. Diesel engine compression ratios goes up to almost 50:1, compared to an average 10:1 in a petrol engine.
CarroTT
post Nov 29 2006, 04:20 PM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

yalor yalor yalor , if can fit direct injection in ur engine, sure veli pawer wan, turbo oso lose tongue.gif
fuel efficient some more
Mingson
post Dec 3 2006, 02:04 PM

344 posts

My Nissan Sentra and Proton Wira when use the Shell V-Power like no power??? now the Caltex petro feel like more power then V-Power much..?!
sleepwalker
post Dec 3 2006, 05:01 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(CarroTT @ Nov 29 2006, 04:20 PM)
yalor yalor yalor , if can fit direct injection in ur engine, sure veli pawer wan, turbo oso lose  tongue.gif
fuel efficient some more
Turbo will not lose. GDI does not produce that much more power. The Lancer 1.8 GDi produces about 7HP more than the standard 1.8 4G93 at 147hp, while torque figures are higher at about 180nm. That is still very far from 1.8 4G93 turbo that produces 205HP and 249nm of torque. The GDi would have better fuel consumption than a standard 1.8. Of course the best would be to use the popular 1.8 GDi Turbo that Mitsu has in some of their Lancer models.
TSn305er
post Dec 3 2006, 08:32 PM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

QUOTE(Mingson @ Dec 3 2006, 02:04 PM)
My Nissan Sentra and Proton Wira when use the Shell V-Power like no power??? now the Caltex petro feel like more power then V-Power much..?!
Hmm... Try it again?
Maybe it's because of the fuel mixture...
ALeUNe
post Dec 5 2006, 01:48 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

I just finished the 2nd tanks of V-Power.

Here's my finding.
- Better power. Smooth acceleration.
Definitely Yes. You can feel better & smoother acceleration. IMO, it's indeed high quality fuel.

- Fuel saver
Big no no. It does not give more mileage as compared to the typical Shell Greeny. I find it gives poorer mileage (15-20KM lesser).

100% city driving.
shinjite
post Dec 5 2006, 01:58 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,321 posts

That day I tested Vpower for the first time in my 13 year old Wira 1.6. Refill RM20 for testing
The power is there, on highway at 100km-120km/h back and forth from college for like 2 full trips including a detour to my friend's house

150km covered and still got a bit left too, can go for at least 160km with my car smile.gif

This post has been edited by shinjite: Dec 5 2006, 01:58 PM
SUSceo684
post Dec 5 2006, 04:27 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Myvi 1.3 auto, 12k km

RM50 VpowerR 23.25L = 350km
15.05km/L
$0.143/km

compared to baseline
RM60 Esso RON92 31.91L = 420km
13.16km/L
$0.143/km

Much improved km/L even with a few tekan-tekan high rpm runs
Same cost per kilometer

This post has been edited by ceo684: Dec 5 2006, 04:28 PM
lkm51
post Dec 5 2006, 05:02 PM

Hello! Kennot!
2,260 posts

i test liao.. hmm.. change back to petronas after 1 full tank
icez
post Dec 5 2006, 07:41 PM

The Icezman Gone Cold
1,053 posts

I've tested it - 2 full tanks already.

Pro's:
- Smoother acceleration
- Quieter engine
- More efficient power delivery through the rev range

Con's:
- Expensive
- With the extra "power", there's a higher tendancy to drive fast - thus FC is reduced.
porkchop
post Dec 5 2006, 07:52 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

really effective ah??? i go test test later my car empty already
sunauto
post Dec 5 2006, 09:52 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

I agree with your Cons here, the price is not really worth it for the power and slight increase in mileage (if there is).

QUOTE(icez @ Dec 5 2006, 07:41 PM)
I've tested it - 2 full tanks already.

Pro's:
- Smoother acceleration
- Quieter engine
- More efficient power delivery through the rev range

Con's:
- Expensive
- With the extra "power", there's a higher tendancy to drive fast - thus FC is reduced.
egiewan
post Dec 5 2006, 10:57 PM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

Most Shell Stations still carry the blue old V-Power. The current supply belum habis ma tongue.gif
moon*
post Dec 5 2006, 11:00 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

ya i got a feeling there still use the blue v power although they say they change liau to the new v power racing..

last time when they introduce the new economy fuel also..
back den.. my full tank rm 60 can go like 450-500 kM with the new economy fuel

but the old fuel can only got like 380-400..

everytime i pump the new fuel.. once awhile i notice its the old fuel cos i cant go over 400..

mebbe some of the shells station still have the old vpower instead of the new wans

QUOTE(egiewan @ Dec 5 2006, 10:57 PM)
Most Shell Stations still carry the blue old V-Power. The current supply belum habis ma tongue.gif
CarroTT
post Dec 5 2006, 11:51 PM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Dec 3 2006, 05:01 PM)
Turbo will not lose. GDI does not produce that much more power. The Lancer 1.8 GDi produces about 7HP more than the standard 1.8 4G93 at 147hp, while torque figures are higher at about 180nm. That is still very far from 1.8 4G93 turbo that produces 205HP and 249nm of torque. The GDi would have better fuel consumption than a standard 1.8. Of course the best would be to use the popular 1.8 GDi Turbo that Mitsu has in some of their Lancer models.
apa ni ?
4g93 ? rclxub.gif

yalar, turbo veli pawer lar, direct injection no use wan tongue.gif

This post has been edited by CarroTT: Dec 5 2006, 11:53 PM
egiewan
post Dec 5 2006, 11:52 PM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

QUOTE(CarroTT @ Dec 5 2006, 11:51 PM)
apa ni ?
4g93 ?  rclxub.gif
4G93 is Satria GTi and Putra's engine. 4G93T is Lancer GSR's engine tongue.gif
CarroTT
post Dec 6 2006, 12:57 AM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

U all so geng wan, can remember all the codes and specs wan .
Engine code, how much torque, how much horseypower oso know wan . So geng lar flex.gif
Like walking specsheet database biggrin.gif
shinjite
post Dec 6 2006, 01:41 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,321 posts

ppl study mah so they know loh
GKWong
post Dec 6 2006, 10:41 AM

jeng jeng jeng~~
1,478 posts

how bout use it in a bike? haha
gonna wait my car fuel finish the test it.
TSn305er
post Dec 6 2006, 10:58 AM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

I'm getting slightly better milage on V-Power Racing.
MyVi, now around 1/2 tank and usually it should be around 200km but now it's 250+km already. smile.gif

I'm not heavy footing it. Just normal driving but with occational heavy foot to overtake some people only.
sleepwalker
post Dec 6 2006, 11:29 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(CarroTT @ Dec 6 2006, 12:57 AM)
U all so geng wan, can remember all the codes and specs wan .
Engine code, how much torque, how much horseypower oso know wan . So geng lar flex.gif
Like walking specsheet database  biggrin.gif
Not because we remember all of them but because some of us have or had those cars, so we are very familiar with the specs of those cars.
Azuma-kun
post Dec 6 2006, 11:46 AM

Sayonara Toriyama-sensei
8,415 posts

so this red fuel can be used to new vehicle. at 1st i'm so scared to use to my wira because it is red. but see some use for myvi, so i might give it a try tongue.gif
Garfie
post Dec 6 2006, 08:08 PM

= Teh Retired Buaya Master =
3,951 posts

nowadays i pump V-Powerrrrr...damn worth it. RM60 of the RM1.92/litre petrol gives me around 270km, when it reaches half tank is around 104km. With V-Powerrrrr, i pump the same amount (RM60) of the RM2.15/litre petrol, havent empty yet, but as of now, at the middle intersection, my mileage already hit 150km already, that's like extra 36km...not to mention that the litres i pumped into the tank was less compared to if i pump the normal RM1.92/litre
gkl83
post Dec 6 2006, 08:16 PM

8,377 posts

so v-power racing can bring more mileage?
seem like FC improved a lot even lesser litre...
Garfie
post Dec 7 2006, 06:58 AM

3,951 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Dec 6 2006, 08:16 PM)
that's for me la...keke, somemore i tekan saja only...
still giving me extra mileage

whistling.gif
TSn305er
post Dec 7 2006, 07:55 AM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Dec 6 2006, 08:16 PM)
I can't tell until I finish my tankful. But so far, that's the case judging from half tank left and already so much milage. smile.gif

Some people got worse milage leh but they admited the extra power or smoother acceleration.
willgan
post Dec 7 2006, 09:57 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(egiewan @ Dec 5 2006, 10:57 PM)
I agreed...
my 1st pump.. give me like normal millage.. 400-420km for RM50 just like the old vpower,
the 2nd pump .. give me around 450-460km for RM50...

I drive 60-80km/h most of the time...

Driving MyVi 1.3 SX

TSn305er
post Dec 7 2006, 10:25 AM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

Now proven that the old V-Power actually kinda sucks... laugh.gif
jehutyz
post Dec 7 2006, 12:06 PM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Dec 5 2006, 01:58 PM)
That day I tested Vpower for the first time in my 13 year old Wira 1.6. Refill RM20 for testing
The power is there, on highway at 100km-120km/h back and forth from college for like 2 full trips including a detour to my friend's house

150km covered and still got a bit left too, can go for at least 160km with my car smile.gif
Woo seem like not bad.
Mine also a 1.5 Manual Wira that is the first batch Wira. So is around 13 years also. RM20 can go up to 150km that is lot too. Then maybe i should try.....today just pump in RM60 of the normal one. Next week try this. Normally i pump RM60 of normal one can only go up to around 430-440 km. Actually how much is the V-Power per litre?
GKWong
post Dec 7 2006, 02:56 PM

jeng jeng jeng~~
1,478 posts

QUOTE(n305er @ Dec 7 2006, 10:25 AM)
Now proven that the old V-Power actually kinda sucks... laugh.gif
yaya..

QUOTE(jehutyz @ Dec 7 2006, 12:06 PM)
Woo seem like not bad.
Mine also a 1.5 Manual Wira that is the first batch Wira. So is around 13 years also. RM20 can go up to 150km that is  lot too. Then maybe i should try.....today just pump in RM60 of the normal one. Next week try this. Normally i pump RM60 of normal one can only go up to around 430-440 km. Actually how much is the V-Power per litre?
at rm2.15 per litr?
shinjite
post Dec 7 2006, 05:01 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,321 posts

Vpower is at RM2.15 per litre
[ r u g a ]
post Dec 7 2006, 06:02 PM

661 posts

Hey guys i gota believe what you guys comment about the petrol V-Power Racing..

really powerful and smooth power delivery,even low revs gives power compare to normal petrol who doesn't give the pulling feel .. the car is constantly felt to be pulled.

thats just low revs..when it comes to tekan time..fuiyoh can tell u got immediate respond..better throttle respond..quieter engine too..

quite save fuel if you drive around 80Km/h,no need to press alot with this fuel la..already very powerful,press little will do..but if u wan overtake ppl or race..muahahaha this is the thing..

btw this is on my 1.3A Myvi

This post has been edited by [ r u g a ]: Dec 7 2006, 06:05 PM
BridgestoneRE711
post Dec 7 2006, 06:18 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

normal condition it doesnt feel antying .
but when u press ...really got difference .
that is why when i pump, my FC higher !
e-jump
post Dec 7 2006, 07:32 PM

â”( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

my FC increased cry.gif

coz too syok with heavy left foot syndrome
damn u v-power, draining my wallet laugh.gif
GKWong
post Dec 8 2006, 08:43 AM

jeng jeng jeng~~
1,478 posts

use V-Power Racing to smoke ppl! haha
there's a car winshield sticker that say, "I dont mean to left you behind, is the fuel..." lolx
Hattori
post Dec 8 2006, 09:49 AM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻â”â”»
1,186 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Dec 7 2006, 07:32 PM)
my FC increased cry.gif

coz too syok with heavy left foot syndrome
damn u v-power, draining my wallet laugh.gif
You press the accelerator with the left foot?

*Discovered the e-jump left foot acceleration technique - a technique that will increase FC and drain wallet* icon_idea.gif
jamik
post Dec 29 2006, 03:53 PM

Vrooommmm
679 posts

pricy. like Vpower, i juz use green 1 muahaaha sep cikit $$ biggrin.gif
sonic_cd
post Dec 29 2006, 04:21 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(Hattori @ Dec 8 2006, 09:49 AM)
You press the accelerator with the left foot?

*Discovered the e-jump left foot acceleration technique - a technique that will increase FC and drain wallet*  icon_idea.gif
new car design mah laugh.gif

GKWong
post Dec 29 2006, 04:35 PM

jeng jeng jeng~~
1,478 posts

sad.... cry.gif no more V-Power Racing for my car to consume....
my car was stolen today early in the morning.... sad.gif i think the police cant find it...
last time this new fuel added alot of power to my car...it was so good...
mengfui
post Dec 29 2006, 05:57 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(GKWong @ Dec 29 2006, 04:35 PM)
sad.... cry.gif  no more V-Power Racing for my car to consume....
my car was stolen today early in the morning.... sad.gif i think the police cant find it...
last time this new fuel added alot of power to my car...it was so good...
I'm so sorry to hear that bro. By the way, what car did you drive?
e-jump
post Dec 29 2006, 06:51 PM

â”( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

oh shoot doh.gif
how do heavy leg syndrome? LULz
however after few refills n heavy footie, the FC didnt increase that much
on average rm20 takes me +-110kms
GKWong
post Dec 29 2006, 10:09 PM

jeng jeng jeng~~
1,478 posts

QUOTE(mengfui @ Dec 29 2006, 05:57 PM)
I'm so sorry to hear that bro. By the way, what car did you drive?
tat car is a Toyota Corolla KE70 wagon....although is quite of old, but it can still smoke many cars like Wira and some other cars....handling also good.
this model can be fitted with Trueno or Levin engine like 4AGZE with 170HP...
i miss my car alot...
quick_shaq
post Dec 30 2006, 12:51 AM

872 posts

juz tried the petrol...it does feel much different...even with low rev ..i could felt the pick up....but dunno yet how much it could take me.....later i post again....when the tank is empty...
tongue.gif
i'm driving an iswara 1.3 2001
Austin123
post Dec 30 2006, 08:41 AM

1,336 posts

it could be juz a gimmick for shell introduce the V-power red, which same as the ordinary v-power blue for schumy retirement..

This post has been edited by Austin123: Dec 30 2006, 08:43 AM
medichloreans
post Dec 30 2006, 01:37 PM

Mechanical Identity Designed for Sabotage
908 posts

not a gimmick..
but totally different formula..

before this..
i'm regular user 4 v power..
i can feel a lot of different...
stormyz
post Dec 30 2006, 01:41 PM

Thread Killer
595 posts

yeap..this fuel really give power.. but usually i use once a month only... coz very expensive and city driving... very fast finish...
TSn305er
post Dec 30 2006, 04:11 PM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

I could be a gimmick la... But I'm using it for the 5th consecutive tank now. It really does give a difference.

However, I'm still kinda suspicious. The petrol for V-Power Racing is still blue everytime I pump. Isn't it supposed to be red?
medichloreans
post Dec 30 2006, 05:34 PM

Mechanical Identity Designed for Sabotage
908 posts

v power racing still using blue color,,

they change their petrol formula, n branding color from blue to red...

This post has been edited by medichloreans: Dec 30 2006, 05:35 PM
SUSMalaysian
post Dec 30 2006, 11:20 PM

1,651 posts

99% same like f1 petrol?

then what is the 1%?maybe the left out 1% really give big difference

i want 100% f1 petrol lar...

price still same means same petrol lar...

if rm 3 a litre..maybe got difference..

got cheap thing is not good stuff.
expensive stuff sure good stuff..
kekkeke

who want to go pump normal petrol then go dyno..then pump v power then go dyno again..see what's difference.....

then come tell us lar

This post has been edited by Malaysian: Dec 30 2006, 11:24 PM
Garfie
post Dec 31 2006, 01:13 AM

3,951 posts

QUOTE(Malaysian @ Dec 30 2006, 11:20 PM)
99% same like f1 petrol?

then what is the 1%?maybe the left out 1% really give big difference

i want 100% f1 petrol lar...

price still same means same petrol lar...

if rm 3 a litre..maybe got difference..

got cheap thing is not good stuff.
expensive stuff sure good stuff..
kekkeke

who want to go pump normal petrol then go dyno..then pump v power then go dyno again..see what's difference.....

then come tell us lar
u got so much money to dyno? better use to do charity than to waste money to dyno like that. no purpose served also
quick_shaq
post Dec 31 2006, 01:39 AM

872 posts

true true...y u want to dyno test on a petrol ...
lain la if u modify car...juz to see the true power..
*sigh*

electron
post Dec 31 2006, 10:21 AM

1,329 posts

i feel the new vpower gives slightly better power, but the most significant difference is how smooth the engine becomes.
as for fuel consumption, there's not much changes in term of l/km, but cents/km increase slightly
will continue to monitor, so far, i pretty much decided on continuing to use it.
R3Ju7Ce
post Dec 31 2006, 04:58 PM

Oops ... My Heart break d ...
658 posts

Once try the V-power Racing and i dont feel like going back to the Shell Super already .. rolleyes.gif
TSn305er
post Dec 31 2006, 05:01 PM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

QUOTE(R3Ju7Ce @ Dec 31 2006, 04:58 PM)
Once try the V-power Racing and i dont feel like going back to the Shell Super already ..  rolleyes.gif
Expensive laaa... rclxub.gif
pcdoctor_my
post Dec 31 2006, 05:50 PM

Shift Xtreme
808 posts

Car: Wira 1.3GLI (fuel-injected)

Question:

i) If used for just 1 tank of Shell V-Power for every few months, would it clean some deposits on the first tank? (Non-continous usage)

ii) If have remaining RM 10 (I think it's RM 10 left, less than 1 line before E line) of other regular 97RON (Petronas Primax3), and pump RM 40 (18.6L) of Shell V-Power Racing, it will be diluted slightly right? sad.gif

iii) How and which part to to check externally whether the engine is cleaner than before? (i.e Check Spark Plugs)
On Shell Australia's V-Power animation, it shows a fuel-injected engine, but if my Nissan is a carb,the fuel is sprayed/mixed in the carburator, hence it theorically means it cleans the carb only right? Or it also cleans other parts along the way.

For my other own car,a Nissan, I've stopped going to Petronas since it caused pinging to my engine at high speeds. Now going for Shell Regular.

This post has been edited by pcdoctor_my: Dec 31 2006, 05:56 PM
ammar
post Dec 31 2006, 07:02 PM

2,090 posts

QUOTE(Malaysian @ Dec 30 2006, 11:20 PM)

then come tell us lar
HAHAHAHAHAHA

why dont you dynoed it yourself ?

the guys at the dyno center would be crying with laughters

ihawk98
post Dec 31 2006, 11:11 PM

Audere est Facere
1,575 posts

I've used it in both my Swift and X-Trail. And you really get a "spirited" drive with this petrol! Slightly more power definitely. Very tempted to continue using it. Was using F1 synergy on a regular basis before.
GKWong
post Jan 1 2007, 05:30 PM

jeng jeng jeng~~
1,478 posts

QUOTE(n305er @ Dec 31 2006, 05:01 PM)
Expensive laaa... rclxub.gif
will not be expensive if it reli giv more mileage. some cars cant feel the different but most can feel engine smoother and giv better acceleration, hence fuel saving...

QUOTE(pcdoctor_my @ Dec 31 2006, 05:50 PM)
Car: Wira 1.3GLI (fuel-injected)

Question:

i) If used for just 1 tank of Shell V-Power for every few months, would it clean some deposits on the first tank? (Non-continous usage)

ii) If have remaining RM 10 (I think it's RM 10 left, less than 1 line before E line) of other regular 97RON (Petronas Primax3), and pump RM 40  (18.6L) of Shell V-Power Racing, it will be diluted slightly right?  sad.gif

iii) How and which part to to check externally whether the engine is cleaner than before? (i.e Check Spark Plugs)
On Shell Australia's V-Power animation, it shows a fuel-injected engine, but if my Nissan is a carb,the fuel is sprayed/mixed in the carburator, hence it theorically means it cleans the carb only right? Or it also cleans other parts along the way. 

For my other own car,a Nissan, I've stopped going to Petronas since it caused pinging to my engine at high speeds. Now going for Shell Regular.
i) it can clean the injector or carburetor and the fuel line. but not cleaning your fuel tank of course.

ii)surely will be diluted slightly, so better is to use until the tank really near to empty only pump in V-Power Raing, but is quite of risky if suddenly traffic jam then fuel run out.
so if you want to feel the performance, the 2nd tank of V-Power Racing will give u more different than the 1st tank.

iii)spark plug will become less carbon deposits. fule injector nossle will be cleaner, but u cant see it. for carburetor engine, u can try to monitor the different in the carburetor wall where the nossle is spraying out the fuel, and some of the pipe inside.

This post has been edited by GKWong: Jan 1 2007, 05:31 PM
Beach_Boy
post Jan 1 2007, 05:38 PM

8,456 posts

if you really want to clear off the deposit in your engine
i dont think the cleaning power of petrol will do it
go for injector cleaning and decarboning

R3Ju7Ce
post Jan 1 2007, 08:44 PM

Oops ... My Heart break d ...
658 posts

QUOTE(GKWong @ Jan 1 2007, 05:30 PM)
will not be expensive if it reli giv more mileage. some cars cant feel the different but most can feel engine smoother and giv better acceleration, hence fuel saving...
That's true .. it give more mileage compare with the shell super .. thumbup.gif

cheenjeat008
post Jan 1 2007, 09:01 PM

543 posts

I admit that v power racing give more ummp to my Honda NSR 150RR carburetor bike.

You will easily get to the red line limit if your bike dont have any engine problem.

From my point of view, this V power racing is design to suit the person who like to high rev the engine and engine responsiveness. For normal use, it does give extra km compare to normal rm1.92 per liter petrol, but you will complaint that does it worth with the extra KM that delivered to you.

For me, why i want to use this V power is because i like the power that it give to the engine and the engine feedback to me. Sometime you can't find a lot of thing that can balance with normal stuff. For me, like engine response and communication is important to me, that is the main reason i like to use V power.

If you compare v power fuel efficiency, it will slightly under the fully utilization graph.

The V power, i will recommend to SuperBike, SuperCar, Bike kaki, and for whose who love engine response and communication.

This post has been edited by cheenjeat008: Jan 1 2007, 09:04 PM
pcdoctor_my
post Jan 4 2007, 10:19 AM

Shift Xtreme
808 posts

QUOTE(Beach_Boy(R) @ Jan 1 2007, 05:38 PM)
if you really want to clear off the deposit in your engine
i dont think the cleaning power of petrol will do it
go for injector cleaning and decarboning
I know...AutoChild is offering RM 50 per injector cleanup, excluding workmanship hours.
nono19
post Jan 20 2007, 02:07 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(pcdoctor_my @ Jan 4 2007, 10:19 AM)
I know...AutoChild is offering RM 50 per injector cleanup, excluding workmanship hours.
what u mean pcdoctor??
how about use 3M Fuel Injector Ceaner, anyone used?? don need pay labour, just pour inside fuel tank and pump full tank fuel.
mengfui
post Jan 20 2007, 06:23 PM

1,777 posts

Heard people said that continuosly using V-Power might cause exhaust system leaking due to their fuel is more corrosive compare to others. I doubt is it really true.
tunertoobe
post Jan 20 2007, 06:25 PM

9,309 posts

I would highly doubt that as well. Why would a fuel that is suppose to fuel many high performance and expensive engines be more corrosive? Shell would lose billions if this was true.
GKWong
post Jan 20 2007, 08:02 PM

jeng jeng jeng~~
1,478 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Jan 20 2007, 06:25 PM)
I would highly doubt that as well. Why would a fuel that is suppose to fuel many high performance and expensive engines be more corrosive? Shell would lose billions if this was true.
agree with u too....
they spend so much $$$ to research for this fuel and if they really come out with this kind of corrosive fuel, then better save it....
too get more power for your engine with the fuel, but it is corrosive, i better replace my engine with a more powerful engine then....
johnkor
post Aug 18 2007, 12:22 AM

Level 2 Mainboard Repair Specialist
4,237 posts

red petrol is just colour ! beleve it!
SUSceo684
post Aug 18 2007, 01:07 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(n305er @ Dec 30 2006, 04:11 PM)
I could be a gimmick la... But I'm using it for the 5th consecutive tank now. It really does give a difference.

However, I'm still kinda suspicious. The petrol for V-Power Racing is still blue everytime I pump. Isn't it supposed to be red?
Vpower fuel is blue; if u get red u're getting some sort of ron92
guanteik
post Jun 21 2008, 05:01 PM

2,661 posts

anyone has any idea how much does it cost for a vpower as of today?
KeV
post Jun 21 2008, 05:07 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

rm3.15
guanteik
post Jun 21 2008, 05:39 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ Jun 21 2008, 05:07 PM)
rm3.15
cool
thanks smile.gif
Kaizzya
post Jun 21 2008, 05:43 PM

495 posts

not worth loh 3.15
the FC like caltex gold
if city driving
but the power hoho~
terrysoh
post Jun 21 2008, 06:58 PM

1,145 posts

the power damm nice wei
gerrardinho
post Jun 21 2008, 07:01 PM

walk on with hope in your heart
1,119 posts

i must admit the v power is more save than normal when u go long distance such as balik kampung..really worthy
Alvy
post Jun 21 2008, 07:02 PM

53 posts

Shell station at Gelang Patah highway, second link to Singapore. V Power is RM 3.50 per litre.
gerrardinho
post Jun 21 2008, 07:05 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(Alvy @ Jun 21 2008, 08:02 PM)
Shell station at Gelang Patah highway, second link to Singapore. V Power is RM 3.50 per litre.
walau...really ah?report then to consumer dept..
Alvy
post Jun 21 2008, 07:06 PM

53 posts

You can't because V Power it's not under price control by government.
gerrardinho
post Jun 21 2008, 07:08 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(Alvy @ Jun 21 2008, 08:06 PM)
You can't because V Power it's not under price control by government.
really ah?where do u have the info?
kapitan
post Jun 21 2008, 07:11 PM

2,205 posts

I used to pump Vpower to clean up my engine lastime. Its really good. However the extra mileage doesnt make up for the price difference. It works best with newer engine and with old tech like Wira engine, it didnt make any difference except better power. I used to pump Caltex but sometimes hard to find. Shell still the best.
Alvy
post Jun 21 2008, 07:23 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(gerrardinho @ Jun 21 2008, 07:08 PM)
really ah?where do u have the info?
Check the source from here > http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles..._712/page_m.asp

Paragraph 6.
gerrardinho
post Jun 21 2008, 07:27 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(Alvy @ Jun 21 2008, 08:23 PM)
Check the source from here > http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles..._712/page_m.asp

Paragraph 6.
walau...meaning no guidelines on the price huh... hmm.gif
Alvy
post Jun 21 2008, 07:43 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(kapitan @ Jun 21 2008, 07:11 PM)
I used to pump Vpower to clean up my engine lastime. Its really good. However the extra mileage doesnt make up for the price difference. It works best with newer engine and with old tech like Wira engine, it didnt make any difference except better power. I used to pump Caltex but sometimes hard to find. Shell still the best.
Mine also using Wira but 1.5(m) 2002 model fuel injection, V Power always give me extra 50km(minimum) compare to those regular fuel. But I noticed something that is when full tank it give me more power but when the fuel tank drop to half. The power doesn't feel the same as before.

This post has been edited by Alvy: Jun 21 2008, 07:44 PM
terrysoh
post Jun 21 2008, 09:33 PM

1,145 posts

got such thing?? i felt the same throughout the whole tank
zeist
post Jun 21 2008, 09:47 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

QUOTE(Alvy @ Jun 21 2008, 07:43 PM)
Mine also using Wira but 1.5(m) 2002 model fuel injection, V Power always give me extra 50km(minimum) compare to those regular fuel. But I noticed something that is when full tank it give me more power but when the fuel tank drop to half. The power doesn't feel the same as before.
Just after pumped petrol will feel more ummphhh, I think it got to do with the air or pressure inside, think so. So after pumped petrol, straight away redline kasi.
kb2005
post Jun 21 2008, 10:06 PM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ Jun 21 2008, 05:07 PM)
rm3.15
So exp already ? Last time the diff is only 10 cents but now already 45cents! biggrin.gif
Kaizzya
post Jun 21 2008, 10:15 PM

495 posts

wat to do
like someone from PKR mentioned bfore
kite ni bukan produce bawang
buat ape bandingkan harga bawang india dgn harga bawang malaysia

kita produce packtronas
not petronas~~

tat y our fuel is high~

*sry abit off topic
kb2005
post Jun 21 2008, 10:20 PM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

QUOTE(Kaizzya @ Jun 21 2008, 10:15 PM)
wat to do

kita produce packtronas
not petronas~~

tat y our fuel is high~

*sry abit off topic
I like what you said. biggrin.gif
gerrardinho
post Jun 22 2008, 12:07 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(Kaizzya @ Jun 21 2008, 11:15 PM)
wat to do

kita produce packtronas
not petronas~~

tat y our fuel is high~

*sry abit off topic
hahaha...thats a quote from Anwar izit?
Kaizzya
post Jun 22 2008, 12:08 AM

495 posts

lol
wat to do
his words really LMAO
but it do really mean a needle for BN
gerrardinho
post Jun 22 2008, 12:09 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(Kaizzya @ Jun 22 2008, 01:08 AM)
lol
wat to do
his words really LMAO
but it do really mean a needle for BN
a strong quote from Anwar...he`s really a man that BN should really fear most...just like Tun M feared him..
kapitan
post Jun 22 2008, 11:51 AM

2,205 posts

Instead of the extra power disappear, its more to how little different it was. I think anyone who installed K&N air filter also feel this before. When first installed, sure will feel the extra kick. Once you get used to it, same la.
Kaizzya
post Jun 22 2008, 11:52 AM

495 posts

yeah tat the point
Once you get used to it, same la.*

this is why human like speeD~
sumtuckieeeee
post Jun 22 2008, 12:03 PM

889 posts

V-Power might increase FC. But come to think of it, rm3.15 per Litre? With that amount of money, you can pump more for Shell Super. Which means you can drive more too.
tcting
post Jun 22 2008, 03:00 PM

No more GTI
1,448 posts

45 cents of different??? Don't think you can get back equal mileage la... Purely for power enthusiasts only...
arsenal
post Jun 22 2008, 03:31 PM

THE GUNNERS
2,354 posts

better still go for ron 92....sadly shell ron 92 only available at village only...sad.gif
wufei
post Dec 28 2008, 09:18 PM

3,039 posts

shell V Power @ RM 2.18 now.

Previously before fuel hike its RM2.15 only if i am not mistaken

Now lower than last time why V Power more expensive?

If this is true is time to boycott v power
sevenwatch
post Dec 28 2008, 10:02 PM

86 posts

true at 2.18..

for little power... i hardly use V power... only use it for long journey.
-=3lucidat3=-
post Dec 28 2008, 11:41 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(wufei @ Dec 28 2008, 09:18 PM)

boycott? cant afford it dont buy.

V12Kompressor
post Dec 29 2008, 12:06 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

WHy on earth you want V-Power anyway?
Driving Integra Type-R?
adioz88
post Dec 29 2008, 12:45 AM

791 posts

me, using V Power to my honda kapcai only..
mana tau kot2 boleh dapat 180kmj blush.gif
shinjite
post Dec 29 2008, 12:50 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,321 posts

U driving JDM cars? or cars with high compression setup?
hakunamatata
post Dec 29 2008, 12:57 AM

511 posts

tomoro u will see petronas Z-power thumbup.gif
wufei
post Dec 29 2008, 08:11 AM

3,039 posts

I am asking is this is true that previously when the petrol price = RM1.92, Vpower = RM2.15 and now petrol price = RM1.80 and why is vpower = RM 2.18.

zac1
post Mar 19 2009, 05:24 PM

GADGET FREAKâ„¢
2,838 posts

how much per L? i wan try it on my perdana v6 and my nissan sunny (older then me ,more then 25 year car)

vroooom vrooooooooooooooooom
ah liew
post Mar 19 2009, 10:25 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

QUOTE(wufei @ Dec 29 2008, 08:11 AM)
I am asking is this is true that previously when the petrol price = RM1.92, Vpower = RM2.15 and now petrol price = RM1.80 and why is vpower = RM 2.18.
really..... never notice before hmm.gif i wonder why too?
zac1
post Mar 19 2009, 11:17 PM

GADGET FREAKâ„¢
2,838 posts

try pump RM50 to my sunny juz now and go gombak find my gf ,vrooom vrooom vroooom

pick up bit faster then previous , drive 140km/j

20 minute from 1 utama to reach gombak ong tai kim

egiewan
post Mar 20 2009, 03:54 AM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

V-Power will work its magic only on highly tuned or high compression type engines. On a normal car...sorry to say the differences are minimal. Better stick to normal fuels smile.gif
Joshiet
post Mar 20 2009, 07:11 AM

383 posts

V-Power is Ron?
doremon
post Mar 20 2009, 07:15 AM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,621 posts

QUOTE(Joshiet @ Mar 20 2009, 07:11 AM)
V-Power is Ron?
Ron 98

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/V-Power

Joshiet
post Mar 20 2009, 08:02 AM

383 posts

How many bhp do i lose if i pump RON97 into a car which requires RON 99 like suzuki swift sport
RCrex
post Mar 20 2009, 09:06 AM

The man who turn impossible to possible...
2,251 posts

time by % then tongue.gif
cheeann
post Mar 20 2009, 09:12 AM

I love my suggie~
9,799 posts

but is d fuel really in red?? :rolleye:
post Mar 20 2009, 10:40 AM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

QUOTE(cheeann @ Mar 20 2009, 09:12 AM)
but is d fuel really in red??  :rolleye:
Yes I believe it is. I think they put in some dye to differentiate the different fuel they are offering both normal and the premium one.
shinjite
post Mar 20 2009, 10:42 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,321 posts

I thought Vpower is RON97+special addictives
sphiroth
post Mar 20 2009, 10:49 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Mar 20 2009, 07:15 AM)
According to Shell, it is RON97+additive.
cheeann
post Mar 20 2009, 10:50 AM

I love my suggie~
9,799 posts

QUOTE(779364 @ Mar 20 2009, 11:40 AM)
Yes I believe it is. I think they put in some dye to differentiate the different fuel they are offering both normal and the premium one.
wen u free 2 pump v-power next time try pull out d nozzle out a bit n c d colour for urself~ brows.gif brows.gif
in my olden days wen i pump V-power is transparet blue in colour n i can feel da diff kick in my slk wen ever i pump it but now is like totally no feeling edi~ sweat.gif sweat.gif
loong2020
post Mar 20 2009, 11:13 AM

Senior Star
771 posts

hmm.gif hmm.gif dat day i pump v-power....when the fuel stop flowing...then when i took the nozzle out..some fuel dripping and the fuel colour same as normal shell super or any other fuel in the market... laugh.gif
RCrex
post Mar 20 2009, 11:23 AM

2,251 posts

maybe ron97 + diesel + ron92 can achieve ron 100 tongue.gif?
ralf
post Mar 20 2009, 11:31 AM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Mar 20 2009, 11:13 AM)
hmm.gif  hmm.gif dat day i pump v-power....when the fuel stop flowing...then when i took the nozzle out..some fuel dripping and the fuel colour same as normal shell super or any other fuel in the market... laugh.gif
shell tipu punya... doh.gif
ah liew
post Mar 20 2009, 12:48 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

QUOTE(RCrex @ Mar 20 2009, 11:23 AM)
maybe ron97 + diesel + ron92 can achieve ron 100 tongue.gif?
aiyo... bro laugh.gif

loong2020
post Mar 20 2009, 01:03 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ Mar 20 2009, 11:31 AM)
shell tipu punya... doh.gif
sweat.gif i tried few petrol station at different locations....everytime i take out the nozzle, sure got some fuel drip out...and the colour is like what we get for standard petrol...be it esso/mobil/caltex..... doh.gif ....is it really blue/red colour fuel? laugh.gif
adriankhoo153
post Mar 20 2009, 01:09 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Aiyoh..where can rasa the ummphh one. Ingat Shell V power = +10 BHP meh?
RCrex
post Mar 20 2009, 01:30 PM

2,251 posts

depends on engine
some cars can feel lot different when using v power coz ron higher
especially race cars, normal 97 wont giv 100% power for certain engine
Lester1987
post Mar 20 2009, 03:01 PM

2,017 posts

last time when they advertise shell V-power as blue, i did see the fuel is in blue colour. Just bring a motorbike and pump full tank. You should be able to see the colour. Regarding the new V-power. I din pump it anymore since its very expensive after the RM2.70 increase.
heeman
post Mar 20 2009, 03:08 PM

QUOTE(doremon @ Mar 20 2009, 07:15 AM)
Suzuki Swift Sport requires RON 98 minimum.
It was reported power loss is only 1HP when using RON 97.
Cyprid Dark ii
post Mar 20 2009, 03:10 PM

640 posts

Yesterday I put V-Power in my 660cc Kancil....& thanks it did give lotsa different especially in hillclimbing area in Klawang(My house is somewhere around there so I need to do this climbing routine everyday & yes it feel lotsa different)

I use it in my sportbike lotsa time before(since its was weekend bike only...)
& the high revving engine really did feel more responsive in midrange & the sound when it pull to 7K-11K is impressive & it really feel like the fast throttle respond did clean it "throat"(lotsa carbon & jerking since I rarely use the bike for now...I really depend on my trusty moped...smile.gif )
heeman
post Mar 20 2009, 03:10 PM

QUOTE(Joshiet @ Mar 20 2009, 08:02 AM)
How many bhp do i lose if i pump RON97 into a car which requires RON 99 like suzuki swift sport
Oops! Reply wrongly. Sorry.
Suzuki Swift Sport requires RON 98 minimum.
It was reported power loss is only 1HP when using RON 97.

cheeann
post Mar 20 2009, 04:32 PM

I love my suggie~
9,799 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 20 2009, 04:01 PM)
last time when they advertise shell V-power as blue, i did see the fuel is in blue colour. Just bring a motorbike and pump full tank. You should be able to see the colour. Regarding the new V-power. I din pump it anymore since its very expensive after the RM2.70 increase.
yes,u're correct but those were da time 7-8yrs back edi~
now colour also change n lesser kick for my car~
guess our gov makan duit till kedekut liao~
loong2020
post Mar 20 2009, 06:39 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(cheeann @ Mar 20 2009, 04:32 PM)
yes,u're correct but those were da time 7-8yrs back edi~
now colour also change n lesser kick for my car~
guess our gov makan duit till kedekut liao~
lol...yalar.....red but fuel colour same as what we are using on other brands.....yellowish... doh.gif ...i think some station bluff ppl....vpower/normal all in 1 tank... blush.gif
briggs86
post Mar 20 2009, 07:06 PM

409 posts

if like tat i will go back to petronas ...
wufei
post Mar 20 2009, 11:21 PM

3,039 posts

Govt is makan money or Shell is makan money no one knows.

What I know is although the price for normal petrol is RM1.80 cheaper than few years ago but V-power is not cheap as before. Someone is taking advantage on this.

The new v-power does not give you the kick as before anymore.

Want more kick - Caltex, but the burning damn fast empty your tank
shinjite
post Mar 21 2009, 12:03 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,321 posts

I just use Petronas can adi ler....no need Shell
norseman
post Mar 21 2009, 12:21 AM

78 posts

Why some people say Caltex no power bad FC, some ppl say got kick.
For me I fill Caltex more only becuz the stations' locations just nice for me.
SUSceo684
post Mar 21 2009, 01:24 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(cheeann @ Mar 20 2009, 10:50 AM)
wen u free 2 pump v-power next time try pull out d nozzle out a bit n c d colour for urself~  brows.gif  brows.gif
in my olden days wen i pump V-power is transparet blue in colour n i can feel da diff kick in my slk wen ever i pump it but now is like totally no feeling edi~  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
nowadays vpower is RED fuel adi meh? i tot still blue?

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 20 2009, 03:01 PM)
still blue rite? cos if its red.. 1st thing i will do if i own a petrol station.. is to con all of u by putting in ron92 red petrol into vpower tank tongue.gif
cheeann
post Mar 21 2009, 07:46 AM

I love my suggie~
9,799 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 21 2009, 02:24 AM)
nowadays vpower is RED fuel adi meh? i tot still blue?
still blue rite? cos if its red.. 1st thing i will do if i own a petrol station.. is to con all of u by putting in ron92 red petrol into vpower tank tongue.gif
try 2 pum n c for urself~ laugh.gif
sunny2009
post May 12 2009, 03:57 PM

104 posts

Shell V Power is RON97?

There is a price change in Sept per the news today at The Star.
michael9413
post May 12 2009, 03:59 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

not la... V power is V power... Ron97 is Super... smile.gif
duno they will raise the price of V power after the Super price is increased...
WhiteMouse
post May 23 2010, 09:05 AM

323 posts

V-power is actually a Ron 97 rating + additctive?

shift2
post May 23 2010, 10:44 PM

412 posts

Vpower still selling ?at wat price?
SUSgrinders
post May 23 2010, 11:25 PM

93 posts

I dont use shell cos most of my car and family feel like no power and petrol finish faster . What does Shell do huh government already giving them alot of money subsidizing but still make shiet petrol.
johnkor
post May 24 2010, 12:00 AM

Level 2 Mainboard Repair Specialist
4,237 posts

People are now on Ron 98 , Malaysia still stuck at Ron 97
deeplyheartbroken
post May 24 2010, 12:36 AM

774 posts

Our good petrol for export & lousy petrol import for domestic use
Rascal Stitch
post May 24 2010, 12:43 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(shift2 @ May 23 2010, 11:44 PM)
Vpower still selling ?at wat price?

if not mistaken my last pump on v-power is rm2.43/L

QUOTE(johnkor @ May 24 2010, 01:00 AM)
People are now on Ron 98 , Malaysia still stuck at Ron 97

boleh land mah~ laugh.gif

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ May 24 2010, 01:36 AM)
Our good petrol for export & lousy petrol import for domestic use

+5
cuz our country retard+sucks cuz of our boleh land~
ssdemon
post Aug 23 2010, 10:54 AM

50 posts

wer still got V-Power ark? not the V-P Ron97... the original V-power...
looking for it...
around PJ/Subang/KL/Cheras....
shinjite
post Aug 23 2010, 11:53 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,321 posts

Still got Vpower....but only at limited stations
Download the pdf file from Shell Malaysia website
pedro
post Aug 23 2010, 12:02 PM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

Shell just near 1 utama old wing got Vpower racing.
ssdemon
post Aug 23 2010, 03:01 PM

50 posts

thanx guys for the info... helped alot...
wink.gif

doremon
post Dec 3 2010, 09:57 AM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,621 posts

What's the current price for this?
Travies
post Dec 3 2010, 10:11 AM

1,048 posts

shell malaysia is making us so confusing, some petrol have v-power racing, some no, some label is vpower 97 but charge vpower racing price. Wtf!!! can some one complain to their HQ? can they reposition it and make the product differentiation more obvious?
pedro
post Dec 3 2010, 10:13 AM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

Vpower racing is only available at few stations and is priced at Rm 2.55!
Travies
post Dec 3 2010, 10:20 AM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(pedro @ Dec 3 2010, 10:13 AM)
Vpower racing is only available at few stations and is priced at Rm 2.55!
which station to be exact, they never display also.
volrath
post Dec 3 2010, 10:37 AM

440 posts

i jz refueled full tank vpower the day before the price increased.

i cant really tell the performance difference lol.. engine quieter? yet to find out coz i drive a new car, once i got, i straight pump vpower... wait till finish i wan ron 95 n compare xD
pedro
post Dec 3 2010, 10:46 AM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

QUOTE(Travies @ Dec 3 2010, 10:20 AM)
which station to be exact, they never display also.
Click here!

QUOTE(volrath @ Dec 3 2010, 10:37 AM)
i jz refueled full tank vpower the day before the price increased.

i cant really tell the performance difference lol.. engine quieter? yet to find out coz i drive a new car, once i got, i straight pump vpower... wait till finish i wan ron 95 n compare xD
Vpower 97 or racing?
volrath
post Dec 3 2010, 10:50 AM

440 posts

Vpower 97 bro..
doremon
post Dec 3 2010, 11:59 AM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,621 posts

QUOTE(Travies @ Dec 3 2010, 10:11 AM)
shell malaysia is making us so confusing, some petrol have v-power racing, some no, some label is vpower 97 but charge vpower racing price. Wtf!!! can some one complain to their HQ? can they reposition it and make the product differentiation more obvious?
What's so confusing about this matter bro doh.gif

We only have (Apply at Shell only I think)

Ron 95 (Yellow Color)
Ron 97 (Green Color)
V-Power Racing Ron 9x (Red Color)

The price stated clearly already. Which part u confuse tongue.gif

The only reason some got V-Power Racing and some not because of the demands. Majority as we know will go for Ron 95 (Yellow color) & Ron 97 (Green Color).

This post has been edited by doremon: Dec 3 2010, 12:03 PM
Jaja91
post Dec 8 2010, 05:03 PM

QUOTE(doremon @ Dec 3 2010, 11:59 AM)
What's so confusing about this matter bro  doh.gif

We only have (Apply at Shell only I think)

Ron 95 (Yellow Color)
Ron 97 (Green Color)
V-Power Racing Ron 9x (Red Color)

The price stated clearly already. Which part u confuse  tongue.gif

The only reason some got V-Power Racing and some not because of the demands. Majority as we know will go for Ron 95 (Yellow color) & Ron 97 (Green Color).
are you sure about the Shell Ron97 Green?
cause now mostly Shell Ron97 all (Red) d :\
SUSahshuy
post Dec 8 2010, 05:13 PM

232 posts

tried once with my perodua kembara 1.3L, the pick-up is superb thumbup.gif (from ron 95 to V-powr racing)

but only 1 tank cuz i cant afford to pump too often (costs me RM100++ for full tank)
statikinetic
post Dec 8 2010, 05:15 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(Jaja91 @ Dec 8 2010, 05:03 PM)
are you sure about the Shell Ron97 Green?
cause now mostly Shell Ron97 all (Red) d :\
Some Shell stations still retain the green pump handle for RON 97.
oktuck18
post Dec 5 2014, 11:50 AM

135 posts

Hi All, what's the latest price for Shell V Power Racing?
mofisa
post Dec 5 2014, 11:58 AM

iinm 2.95/ltr
shinjite
post Dec 5 2014, 12:08 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,321 posts

2.95 is after 97 drop in price or before?
doremon
post Jan 6 2015, 10:38 AM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,621 posts

What's the rate today guys ?
forgot_86
post Jan 6 2015, 11:37 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Jan 6 2015, 10:38 AM)
What's the rate today guys ?
Last I pumped on 02/01/2014 is at RM2.5/ltr. Will pumped again today to see exact rate. Its either RM2.51/RM2.54. The sen at the back cant remember
doremon
post Jan 6 2015, 11:41 AM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,621 posts

QUOTE(forgot_86 @ Jan 6 2015, 11:37 AM)
Last I pumped on 02/01/2014 is at RM2.5/ltr. Will pumped again today to see exact rate. Its either RM2.51/RM2.54. The sen at the back cant remember
Nice bro. Thanks a lot tongue.gif . Currently using Ron97 but on Petron mode tongue.gif Thinking to jump ship hehehe. Heard people said Shell suck fuel faster then others sweat.gif how true is this ?
forgot_86
post Jan 6 2015, 11:54 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Jan 6 2015, 11:41 AM)
Nice bro. Thanks a lot  tongue.gif . Currently using Ron97 but on Petron mode  tongue.gif  Thinking to jump ship hehehe. Heard people said Shell suck fuel faster then others  sweat.gif  how true is this ?
Previously using BHP 97, the petrol is red color. Last month change to VPower Racing. I like the blue color of V-Power. Performance and mileage wise, can't really tell the difference since I'm only using it on my 150cc bike blush.gif
For my car, still using petronas/shell 95 smile.gif
star727
post Jan 26 2015, 02:37 AM

82 posts

What's the current price?
forgot_86
post Feb 1 2015, 02:40 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(star727 @ Jan 26 2015, 02:37 AM)
What's the current price?
Just pumped today at rm2.45/litre.
Compared to price before this at rm2.51, only drop for 6 sen.
Still ok i guess, still remember last year b4 reduction it was at rm2.93/ltr

The good thing is, no matter how much price drop, it never went out of stock unlike the normal ron97 blush.gif

This post has been edited by forgot_86: Feb 1 2015, 02:41 PM
SleeplessEyes
post Feb 2 2015, 01:28 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(forgot_86 @ Feb 1 2015, 02:40 PM)
Just pumped today at rm2.45/litre.
Compared to price before this at rm2.51, only drop for 6 sen.
Still ok i guess, still remember last year b4 reduction it was at rm2.93/ltr

The good thing is, no matter how much price drop, it never went out of stock unlike the normal ron97  blush.gif
What car you driving leh that needs V-power racing? hmm.gif
forgot_86
post Feb 2 2015, 02:43 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Feb 2 2015, 01:28 PM)
What car you driving leh that needs V-power racing?  hmm.gif
Yamaha fz150 tongue.gif Usually will pump normal 97, but that day all out of stock. Only hope is VPower smile.gif

0.0953sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:49 PM