Shell V-Power Racing, It's RED

sleepwalker
post Nov 24 2006, 12:34 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Nov 24 2006, 12:16 PM)
Ethanol has a very high octane(more than 100). Any ethanol powered car can be more powerful than a conventional petrol car.

I think if you have a Turbo this V-Power Racing would benefit you greatly. Who the hell needs 100 RON?
JDM cars brought into Malaysia need RON100.
sleepwalker
post Nov 24 2006, 12:58 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Nov 24 2006, 12:38 PM)
Yeah, I was refering to most of us here.
calvin, you alread have it in your tank?
I also forgot to add, in addition to JDM cars, all those who has done conversions (GSR, EVO, B16A/B/C, B18C, etc etc) will also need RON100. They are afterall driving JDM engines. So there's actually a rather large crowd with every converted car needing or rahter, been thirsty for it for a long time.
sleepwalker
post Nov 24 2006, 01:44 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Hattori @ Nov 24 2006, 01:36 PM)
Me.
Because right now I've been using VPower on my Iswara and I'm driving at 4000 - 5500 rpms.

With RON 100, I believe I could rev it up to 6500 rpms or even 7500 rpms drool.gif.
I'm looking forward to use this fuel.
Beware of my sleeper "stock" Iswara  brows.gif
Did you modify the internal parts of your engine? Like increasing the compression or heavily advancing your ignition timing? If not, then you don't need RON100.

RON100 does not improve performance and only required if your engine needs it. An engine that requires RON100 and runs on our standard RON97 fuel, then it's performance would be degraded. Putting in RON100 back into the engine would restore it's power.
sleepwalker
post Nov 24 2006, 01:53 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(sledgehammer @ Nov 24 2006, 01:22 PM)
i just pumped in petronas full tank the night before yesterday..... doh.gif
have to wait for 10 days more....

but i think this ron100 fuel benefit most on high compression engine rite?
It only benefits those that require it otherwise it would be no use in normal engines.
sleepwalker
post Nov 24 2006, 03:56 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(ulet @ Nov 24 2006, 03:51 PM)
i dun think it is ron 100.
in australia they got sale ron 100 even in singapore their v-power is ron 98 but in msia, we still stick with ron 97.
Which V-power are you talking about? V-Power Blue or V-Power Racing Red?

sleepwalker
post Nov 24 2006, 04:12 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(ahfatt78 @ Nov 24 2006, 04:07 PM)
may not be 100 octane in malaysia's v-power racing. the additives may vary against region. of coz i hope it is 100 octane, as i am loyal customer of v-power.
Well, all we need is just get the JDM boys to try it. If they get more power, then we know it's the 100 octane that their engines are craving for. If it does not feel like anything, then it's the same old formula with a different colour.
sleepwalker
post Nov 24 2006, 05:07 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(ahfatt78 @ Nov 24 2006, 04:52 PM)
Shell did not have any RED fuel (RON92) other than VPower Racing
All their fuel is red... or pink.. or merah jambu.. whatever you want to call it (except for V-Power). What he was talking about is that we can't tell the diff if some petrol kiosk 'campur' the new V-Power Racing with some RON92 fuel and we can't tell the diff.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Nov 24 2006, 05:31 PM
sleepwalker
post Nov 24 2006, 05:45 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(ulet @ Nov 24 2006, 05:32 PM)
taken from malaysian motor trader website
this a quote from the whole article
for the whole article, u can read it here http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles..._712/page_m.asp
Oh well.. too bad for the JDM boys.. their precious engines will have to continue to run without the precious RON100 petrol.
sleepwalker
post Nov 24 2006, 08:04 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(egiewan @ Nov 24 2006, 07:19 PM)
You can always get those octane boosters from Ace Hardware. Ahahaha...joking tongue.gif
Don't need it. Mine's a WRX Type UK. Don't need RON100 like the JDM boys. RON95 and above will do.
sleepwalker
post Nov 24 2006, 11:10 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Nov 24 2006, 08:14 PM)
bro sleepwalker, if those JDM cars need them 100 to go full potential, where do they get them?
You can get octane boosters in any accessory shops or even make them yourself. Plenty of recipes online. However it's just too troublesome to use it everytime you pump a full tank and most just don't bother.
sleepwalker
post Nov 24 2006, 11:12 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Drifter @ Nov 24 2006, 09:53 PM)
mind telling what is RON?

and how does higher rating RON(RON 100) benefits the car?
If you have read the last few replies you would have gotten your answer. It does not benefit the car unless it requires it.
sleepwalker
post Nov 25 2006, 01:35 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Nov 25 2006, 12:30 AM)
Bro Sleepwalker,

Octane boosters can range from RM20 plus to RM70 plus, from STP, Outlaw, Penzoil, etc. Any differences between these brands because the price gap is pretty wide and there's no mention of RON ratings either on the packaging. How effective are those octane boosters anyway? I've tried STP but sadly, no effect at all but it was RM20 plus only.  doh.gif
There's no effect in your car because your engine is tune to run with RON95. Since Malaysian fuel is already RON 97, there will be no effect on your engine.

A proper octane booster will usually include a rough guide to how much octane it will boost. Usually not much, around 1-2 octane. Outlaw looks the best because it has the 4 metal canisters.

Again, octane boosters are a waste of time as it does not increase power. The higher octane allows you to run a more highly tuned settings without damaging your engine, like higher compression or more advanced ignition timing.

My previous Satria GSR and my friends EVO's all runs better with higher octane because the engine and ecu was tuned for Japanese RON 100. However, it's too much of a hassle to keep adding it to the petrol tank.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Nov 25 2006, 01:38 AM
sleepwalker
post Nov 29 2006, 07:35 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(LExus65 @ Nov 29 2006, 01:38 AM)
the amount the fuel injected/ air the cylinder suck in then only give u the correct air fuel ratios........CR alone wont do much help here as air intake is not consistant and modern engine do have their fuel injector make nearer to the cylinder or even inside.........engine loading also changes the situation

btw higher the CR, more mechanical energy needed to make the compression ~ e.g. diesel engine usually have big starter motor and battery to start the car......... so does not mean it can squeeze more.......
Actually diesel engines squeeze more, up to 5 times more than petrol engines. Diesel engine compression ratios goes up to almost 50:1, compared to an average 10:1 in a petrol engine.
sleepwalker
post Dec 3 2006, 05:01 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(CarroTT @ Nov 29 2006, 04:20 PM)
yalor yalor yalor , if can fit direct injection in ur engine, sure veli pawer wan, turbo oso lose  tongue.gif
fuel efficient some more
Turbo will not lose. GDI does not produce that much more power. The Lancer 1.8 GDi produces about 7HP more than the standard 1.8 4G93 at 147hp, while torque figures are higher at about 180nm. That is still very far from 1.8 4G93 turbo that produces 205HP and 249nm of torque. The GDi would have better fuel consumption than a standard 1.8. Of course the best would be to use the popular 1.8 GDi Turbo that Mitsu has in some of their Lancer models.
sleepwalker
post Dec 6 2006, 11:29 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(CarroTT @ Dec 6 2006, 12:57 AM)
U all so geng wan, can remember all the codes and specs wan .
Engine code, how much torque, how much horseypower oso know wan . So geng lar flex.gif
Like walking specsheet database  biggrin.gif
Not because we remember all of them but because some of us have or had those cars, so we are very familiar with the specs of those cars.

0.0252sec    1.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:45 AM