Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V22, ( -_・) ︻デ═一▸ Maxis & Time

squall123456
post Oct 15 2015, 07:29 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Oct 15 2015, 06:54 PM)
Can anyone confirm:
1. for the 30mbps package, can we get the promotion price rm179 if we upgrade from vip5?
2. for the 30mbps, is it upload 5mbps only and no free land line calls?
1. I think it eligible. Mine get called from Tm marketing just now from VIP10 to that pack 179
2. From what i asked, it remain the free land line calls for me while upload 5mbps only.
From vip5 to 30mbps definitely worth if u got that kind of usage, for me kind complicated since 10mbps upload drop to 5mbps. sweat.gif
squall123456
post Oct 16 2015, 11:49 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Oct 16 2015, 06:24 PM)
In theory, Asymmetic lines may make it easier to hit the uplink capped speed. But since most people would value downlink speed more than uplink, plenty of consumer packages have uplinks a fraction of the downlink speed. No major issue actually, if one actually monitors his total TX(up)/RX(down) data, most of the time they will find that TX is not more than 20-40% of total RX.

Ie. You only need to send a few kB of data in order to load a whopping 4k HD video on youtube, even throughout the course of streaming the entire video, data sent is just a fraction of data recieved. You do not send 400MB of data to receive a 400MB video. Streamyx was AsymmeticDSL (ADSL). Even on copper, as long as everything from the user to ISP functions properly, it is what it is. Again this only speaks for 'the common end-user'.

From my early understanding, the disadvantage from an end-user point of view is when the uplink is saturated. This can lead to bufferbloat.

Ie. If a user hammers the connection with torrent uploads, latency may rise, sometimes up to 1000ms depending on the device used. Yes, the downlink is subjected to bufferbloat similarly and the effect is bad for VOIP/Sykpe/Gaming or other real-time applications. Yet, it is somewhat a little more undesirable on the uplink. As how TCP/IP works naturally as a two way street, if you cannot send anything out, you cannot get anything in return. If you delay sending something out, you delay it's return result too.

Can be somewhat mitigated with 'traditional' QOS. Can almost be completely eliminated with CoDel type 'SQM' QOS. Then again for most people, the effect of a significantly lower uplink speed is negligible. They are more likely to hammer the line with incoming traffic and cause the same situation, but on the downlink instead. So in conclusion, sym/asym is merely a difference of a coupled up/down speed or independent up/down speed. There may be some technical differences but so far, have not heard of it affecting user experience in a significant way, not on fiber at least, unless someone screws up badly somewhere beyond user control.

Sifus, do correct me if i'm wrong of if there's additional info. notworthy.gif
:thumbs:Thanks for great explanation rclxms.gif Noted for read.
squall123456
post Oct 17 2015, 01:20 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(Zi-Tech @ Oct 17 2015, 01:11 AM)
dont worry on asymmetrical speed...

i tried do download and upload both in same time and both get the speed as advertise...

it seem like that upload speed been capped only, not like you do download, upload will worse or you do upload, download become worse....effect on others thing like ping, i am not sure...
Hi bro, can you try to test with download max while ping to lowyat.net/speedtest.net any drop pack or unstable high ms occurs hmm.gif
Thanks, might consider upgrade soon. Just hope as stable as previous vip10 sweat.gif
squall123456
post Oct 17 2015, 12:29 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(ldragon @ Oct 17 2015, 01:42 AM)
QUOTE(Zi-Tech @ Oct 17 2015, 01:53 AM)
here my testing...

[attachmentid=5135896]
QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Oct 17 2015, 02:06 AM)

Idle

Thx all, seems works great & stable without any spikes.

Opps,The 10m without SQM QOS affect like adsl shakehead.gif
squall123456
post Oct 19 2015, 12:54 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(MyPIA @ Oct 19 2015, 12:45 PM)
As far as I know
TRG212M and RG4332 and one other which I'm not sure
Can existing customer request TM for upgrade equipment if the old 1 doesn't provide the full performance from 30mbps rclxms.gif ?
I'm still using a 615 blush.gif
squall123456
post Oct 21 2015, 07:55 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(qwan1101 @ Oct 21 2015, 07:39 AM)
600 minute including fix and other mobile (digi, maxis, celcom....etc)

After 600 minute, fix line still free, but call to mobile will be 10sen/m

This voice pack is better than vip package (only fix line free, mobile call will be charge) because we can get 10 hours of call to mobile...
How about the Tm marketing offer for existing user upgrade for free TM fixed land calls, does it same as 600 minutes to mobile & fix line free or only fix land line like old VIP packages. sweat.gif Forgot to ask clearly from TM

0.0207sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:37 PM