TSlucifah
post Apr 1 2012, 05:48 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 31 2012, 06:46 PM)
Some say it's not automatic extension BUT allowed to request for extension.
Best to clarify with IRB... why procastinate to submit ?
this is so true

i just got my EA form yesterday, and in the process of filing my returns

the extension is just another MALAYSIA BOLEH thingy since many ppl complain the server is jammed on 29 - 30 april. now, ppl will complain the server will be jammed on 14 - 15 may instead... whistling.gif
TSlucifah
post Apr 5 2012, 12:30 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Apr 4 2012, 01:04 PM)
What book you buy 1000 each year?
whatever books that suit your fancy - as long as it's not illegal materials, newspapers or junk stuff (entertainment mags or comics not allowed)

i read a lot - even online subscription to elsevier is deductible.

QUOTE(simonlai61 @ Apr 5 2012, 12:11 AM)
book relief MAX is Rm1000, not RM500...
that was in 2006 my dear... you quoted my 6-year old reply ... many things have changed. every year we have some new amendments to the tax return filing
TSlucifah
post Apr 21 2012, 01:58 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(monkeybanana123 @ Apr 21 2012, 12:46 PM)
This is the part which i don understand . Does is mean that if my total taxable income is rm 20000 and minus my sports equipment purchase Rm 300 it will be Rm 19700? So my savings will be 27% of the RM 300 right?
it depends on where you are on the tax scale

if you are on the top tier, you will save 26% of the RM 300 = RM78

if your taxable income is 20,000, then you are on the 3% scale, so u save 3% x rm 300 = RM 9 wink.gif

TSlucifah
post Apr 30 2012, 10:40 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 30 2012, 07:34 AM)
No extension... the 15 May 2012 deadline is for special on-request cases only.
Some blogs mentioned it's 15 may 2012 for those who opt for e-filing

http://www.nbc.com.my/blog/personal-tax-e-...d-15-july-2012/

i've also read it in the star newspaper

correct me if my sources were wrong

but as usual, why wait till last minute?

Added on April 30, 2012, 10:42 am
QUOTE(echoesian @ Apr 29 2012, 03:25 PM)
Why not?
we have another forum to promote personal blogs / sites. it's better to use that forum.

this is a specific discussion forum.

This post has been edited by lucifah: Apr 30 2012, 10:46 AM
TSlucifah
post May 4 2012, 03:38 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(sparrowed @ May 4 2012, 02:13 PM)
At 3) i dont get what does this mean? Im employed and how to give to family employees?

4.) does church donations counted? And temple donations? Some people are donating a lot for this every month, is like RM150-200 in some cases.

And as for hire purchase, does vehicle entitled a reduction? i don't see any columns/field in the tax deduction form there. Sorry im kinda tax-idiot sad.gif
you quoted a 6-yr old post of mine. most of them doesn't apply to normal people w/o business income

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 4 2012, 02:24 PM)
4) Only those donation that has applied for LHDN tax relief can. Other ordinary donation cannot.

No hire purchase on vehicle has no tax relief.
interest on hire purchase can be claimed under deductibles / bank expenses for business purposes. my original post in 2006 was more towards taxpayers with business income wink.gif

Added on May 4, 2012, 3:39 pm
QUOTE(eelnek @ May 4 2012, 11:07 AM)
Just claim..They wont check so thoroughly..
In the event they check, just say u thought can claim n etc etc..
Not so strict..

Added on May 4, 2012, 11:08 am

Just claim..
just as a friendly reminder, this is not kopitiam, hence do not reply kopitiam style

if you don't know, just refrain from giving ill advice to others

don't play play with tax matters.

This post has been edited by lucifah: May 4 2012, 03:39 PM
TSlucifah
post Mar 23 2014, 10:06 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 23 2014, 09:21 PM)
how is it coming along for 2014? biggrin.gif
wow... this thread is still alive? laugh.gif

last yr overpaid. didn't even bother to claim for any reliefs (book purchases, broadband, sports equip). only claim for zakat (which caused me to overpay) and some approved donations
TSlucifah
post Mar 24 2014, 08:41 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Mar 24 2014, 08:28 PM)
Did u ever think in the end you are spending more unnecessary than paying the tax? As far as I know it is only deduct your taxable income which is about few percent up to 20+%.

I mean for example if you dont need the stuff but buy to reduce tax u might be spending more than giving the tax to gommen. FOr example u spend rm1000 to reduce the tax then reduce until pay rm0 for tax. But if u not spend then just pay tax, u might only need pay rm300. In the end u net gain rm700. COrrect?
Is the pay famly members hgih salary in business thing only applicable to sdn bhd? Is it able to do for sole proprietor?
How can free expenses paid? U still need pay for the holiday but only reduce the taxable income.
that was like 8 yrs ago and u replied today... sweat.gif

anyway, think of the expenditures like a 26% discount

if it is tax deductible, you get 26% discount

for example: buying books. if u spend RM 500 on the books that u like, u get RM 130 discount by NOT having to pay the taxes for it (assuming you are at the 26-percentile bracket) nod.gif

same goes to the holiday expenses. u get 26% discount wink.gif
TSlucifah
post Aug 8 2015, 05:23 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(Paradise92 @ Aug 8 2015, 04:12 PM)
Hi all,

I started a sole proprietor company last year end and I need someone advise on the below queries:

1. What company expenses can be claim under the sole proprietor company? Petrol and etc??

2. I have added money into the current account to purchase stocks. For now, can I claim the exact amount of money I added since it was used to purchase stocks?

3. For sole proprietor company, when is the financial year? any deadline? and what should I shows in the report? How much will incur tax? In this case, do I need to file under personal income tax or company tax? I am so confused.

4. Can I use the current account (Sole proprietor) money for personal use? PTPTN, bills, and personal purchase?

I really appreciate if any one of you could advise me on this matters.

Thanks!
1. any expenses related to the running of the business are claimable as expenses

2. the purchase of stocks can be used as expenses. but your stock-on-hand value will affect your chargeable tax

3. end is 31/12 every year. submission & payment deadline is 30/6 (manual filing) or 15/7 for e-filing. u file under Form B

4. can, but those are not claimable for expenses and will only create a mess when you try to balance your accounting sheets. better withdraw the money as part of your remuneration first

TSlucifah
post Aug 9 2015, 10:16 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(toktok @ Aug 9 2015, 09:46 AM)
Good morning, I would like to ask say if I bought IPad on year 2012 and claimed for the relief, so if I buy another iPad now can I claim for my tax relief for year 2015? Can't really understand how the three years per unit works.
if ur ipad has a SIM card or calling capability, then by right you cannot claim for it

for the every 3 yrs option, the input will be disabled automatically if you have claimed within the last 3 yrs

edit: starting 2013, the definition was changed. tablet computers are not allowed for claim. don't know about hybrid though

http://www.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/Definisi_komputer.pdf

Adalah dimaklumkan bahawa Kementerian Kewangan melalui surat
bertarikh 20 Mac 2013 telah memutuskan kelayakan potongan cukai
pendapatan individu bagi pembelian komputer peribadi seperti yang
diperuntukkan di bawah perenggan 46(1)(j), Akta Cukai Pendapatan
1967 adalah komputer meja dan komputer riba, Notebook dan Ultrabook
yang digunakan bukan untuk tujuan perniagaan.

Dengan itu, kelayakan potongan cukai pendapatan ini tidak meliputi
pembelian peralatan yang berkeupayaan mengendalikan fungsi
komputer seperti tablet dan telefon bimbit.

Walau bagaimanapun sebagai konsesi, tuntutan untuk potongan selain
daripada komputer meja, komputer riba, Notebook dan Ultrabook yang
telah dibuat sehingga Tahun Taksiran 2012 tidak akan ditarik balik.
Layanan cukai untuk tuntutan potongan seperti di atas adalah
berkuatkuasa mulai Tahun Taksiran 2013

This post has been edited by lucifah: Aug 9 2015, 10:19 AM
TSlucifah
post Aug 17 2015, 11:45 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Aug 17 2015, 11:12 AM)
I want to claim the

"Pembelian alat sokongan asas untuk kegunaan sendiri, suami /
isteri, anak atau ibu bapa yang kurang upaya dibenarkan sebagai
potongan terhad kepada RM5,000. Alat sokongan asas termasuk
mesin haemodialysis, kerusi roda, kaki palsu dan alat
pendengaran
tetapi tidak termasuk cermin dan kanta mata.
Perenggan 46(1)(d)"

The receipt of the hearing aid is under my father's name. Can I still claim? Or it has to be under my name?
sure can, it's max claimable up to 5k

pls keep the receipt for at least 7 yrs

TSlucifah
post Oct 10 2016, 01:38 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(llika @ Oct 10 2016, 01:26 PM)
i own a sole prop , if i pay myself EPF by "skim simpanan persaraan 1 malaysia"
, is it means that i can get tax relief up to RM 6000??
thx.
you can take out tax relief up to rm6k

but u cannot put the EPF payment as expenses
TSlucifah
post Feb 14 2017, 05:16 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

yes, you can withdraw, but then, if a few yrs later, LHDN auditor come and found irregularities in your relief claim for sspn, then be ready to pay back the amount of tax owed + interest and also penalties

most accountants will agree that for taxes, when in doubt, always err on the safe side

TSlucifah
post Feb 14 2017, 05:23 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(vanpersie91 @ Feb 14 2017, 05:20 PM)
bang plis update first post with tax relief for 2016 2017..
can you please give details so i can copy & paste (and also credit it to you) later
TSlucifah
post Feb 14 2017, 06:04 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Feb 14 2017, 05:50 PM)
If the SSPN statement for income tax purpose is not even a proof then how do we even proof to LHDN for this relief? Kindly explain.
they can get an official statement from SSPN for audit purposes

anyway, it's your risk. if you think of risking to save rm 200 - 300 of taxes is worth it, then it's your personal preferences

there are more clever ways to optimise your tax return i think

but your method is quite interesting i must say, it seems there is a loophole somewhere

This post has been edited by lucifah: Feb 14 2017, 06:07 PM
TSlucifah
post Feb 14 2017, 07:35 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Feb 14 2017, 06:24 PM)
Only the net savings is given tax relief.

Honestly I don't even think it's a problem.

Personal tax relief is limited and maybe only a few would be able to claim every single tax relief to the max.

Unless the said person it's doing a business then maybe there's more way to do it but not through tax relief.

Cheers.
yes, that's why i mentioned in my previous post, your method is quite interesting

let me read up on SSPN loophole brows.gif

i never put money in SSPN since i havent got kid before, but now i think i am eligible liao icon_idea.gif
TSlucifah
post Mar 25 2017, 10:34 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Mar 25 2017, 08:16 AM)
Computer is not tablet. Computer can claim up to 3k every 3 years. Kindle I think should be claimable just like books - 1k every year maximum.
kindle is an e-reader, you cannot claim it under books. it is also not allowable to be claimed under computer as it is considered as a tablet form of electronic

you can however claim the electronic contents of the kindle for relief

TSlucifah
post Mar 25 2017, 10:36 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

anyway, few months back, someone did mention about SSPN tax relief

this year, i noticed LHDN has included the wording NET SAVINGS IN SSPN, which means TOTAL RELIEF = TOTAL DEPOSIT in 2016 minus TOTAL WITHDRAWAL IN 2016

so the loophole discussed before has been rectified

This post has been edited by lucifah: Mar 25 2017, 10:37 AM
TSlucifah
post Mar 25 2017, 10:38 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

For YA 2016, there is also a new tax relief for your PARENTS

you can claim RM 1,500 PER PARENT (RM3k for both) that you help to take care (provided that the PARENT dont earn more than rm24k annually)

TSlucifah
post Mar 25 2017, 12:36 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(kradun @ Mar 25 2017, 12:31 PM)
Where got loophole on the description? See attached sample for year 2015.

All this while sspn tax relief is only applicable to the net saving amount. If they really want to audit then they just need the annual statement will do, that consist of in and out transactions, that also the straightforward way to determine the "net saving amount".
some forummers made a discussion about the SSPN a few months back. i just can't recall whether it's in this thread or other thread

QUOTE(rapple @ Feb 14 2017, 04:03 PM)
[attachmentid=8486025]
[attachmentid=8486007]

[attachmentid=8486024]
[attachmentid=8486008]

Judge for yourself.

Edit: As per PTPTN officer, the terms will be change from time to time so in future we might not be able to withdraw. Keep this in mind.
This post has been edited by lucifah: Mar 25 2017, 12:47 PM
TSlucifah
post Mar 25 2017, 03:01 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Mar 25 2017, 02:10 PM)
It has always been Net Savings. There's no loophole to start with.
oh, then i have misunderstood

i was thinking of using your method

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.2594sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:03 AM