Getting NDSL from US, Please advice
TSGreenJellyBean
Nov 22 2006, 02:49 AM, updated 20y ago
Hi Guys, I am currently on business trip in US, and I plan to order NDSL through Amazon.com which is around USD125. I have a few question I hope fellow forumer can help me. 1. Is the price ok? considering USD125 = RM475 + RM20 for postage. 2. Is there any region coding? I mean will I be block from playing games of Asia for example if I buy the console from US? 3. What other accessories that you think I might need? (I am a beginner, this is my first gaming machine after SNES  ) 4. How much are those "Flashme,Passme,flash cart" in Malaysia? I wonder if it is better to get those in US or Malaysia. Thanks for your attention.
scph50004
Nov 22 2006, 04:39 AM
i'm not sure about the flash cart being available in USA, but the price of the NDSL sure is cheap. The flash cart you can buy here in M'sia. And no, there's no region lock for any NDS games. Accessories you should get might be a pouch for your NDSL and games, protective cover etc.
Lord_Ashe
Nov 22 2006, 09:32 AM
No worries mate!
Get the NDSL from the US, that's bloody cheap! While you're at it, you can also snag games there since they're slightly cheaper from over here. As the previous poster has commented, there's no region lock on games so you can play from any region.
And make sure you don't forget the screen protector!
nub
Nov 22 2006, 09:58 AM

^ exactly what lord_ashe said. don't trouble yourself with amazon, most the game stores there will have DS Lites for sale, and since the official suggested retail price is US$130, no shop will set it for any higher.
while you're there, keep on the look out for "bargain bins" with used copies of old(and not-so-old) DS games. my friend was there a few months back and he said some used DS games go for as low as a buck a piece.
TSGreenJellyBean
Nov 22 2006, 01:08 PM
thanks guys for the info
myliew
Nov 22 2006, 09:00 PM

is USA chager can be use here???? US 110V, Mas 240V. izzit a universal chager?
satanduck
Nov 22 2006, 09:31 PM

Use a step down transformer. Or just get a new one here. Thats a major drawback to me actually. Factor that in when considering a purchase from US and JPN.
gchong
Nov 23 2006, 01:43 AM
I got my ndsl in US for USD129 + 8% sales tax. You'll need a get an addtional step down for around 6-7USD or you can get yourself a USB charge cable. Original game is cheaper and you'll able to find a lot of games in Bestbuy or Frys.
Please note that the first few batch of NDSL sold in US will crack near the L/R button.
Supercard lite is around 200 in sungai wang and you need a micro SD card. I bought mine for 180 (Sandisk ultra II)
Cheers
TSGreenJellyBean
Nov 23 2006, 01:45 AM
how much would a step down transformer cost in malaysia?
jamezco
Nov 23 2006, 01:54 AM
my friend said that in the US they have these 2nd hand shops where u can get the games like 4 bucks each to 12 bucks each ... super cheap ...
TSGreenJellyBean
Nov 23 2006, 04:17 AM
Many thanks to all of u being so helpful  btw, i m in oregon, so no sales tax.. hehehe..
TSGreenJellyBean
Nov 23 2006, 04:41 AM
hmph.. in malaysia a nds lite is around RM550 right? anyone know what is the cheapest price in penang?
seems like not a good idea to get from US after factoring in the idea of getting a RM30 step down transformer.
Lord_Ashe
Nov 23 2006, 08:36 AM
You can get an RM 10 - 15 USB charger, btw. All you need to do is connect it to your PC/Laptop/PS2 and you can charge it all you want! Cool eh! Don't worry about the Stepdown, and if you really want to buy it here at least get the games from the US first
RAMChYLD
Nov 23 2006, 10:11 AM
1. Your price very good already. I bought my DS for RM720 inclusive of screen protector. Sumore spend extra RM280 for importing two extra game (one DS and one GBA game). In a nutshell I spent RM1000 just for the DS.
2. There should not be any region coding. You can get your DS from the US without having to worry that games bought here cannot work.
3. Screen protector, definitely. Also consider rumble pak and spare battery, just in case.
4. Those passme, flashget, etc., I dunno shop in Malaysia got sell or not. Last I ask, the shop assistant also surprised as he din know got such thing in market. But most of us here I think import (I dun have one myself, thinking about getting one but scared that I brick my DS).
You should note that the AC adapter is 110v only. Using it direct in Malaysia is a death wish because you will burn out the adapter and the DS. What you can do is buy the DS, then buy a replacement adapter locally (my DS is also US model, shop I bought from give me free 220v charger). Also, if you have a old PS2 from US or Japan, surely you would have bought a step-down transformer to use it. You can use that to charge the DS oso iirc.
This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Nov 23 2006, 10:18 AM
andy_lhc
Nov 23 2006, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Nov 23 2006, 10:11 AM) 4. Those passme, flashget, etc., I dunno shop in Malaysia got sell or not. Last I ask, the shop assistant also surprised as he din know got such thing in market. But most of us here I think import (I dun have one myself, thinking about getting one but scared that I brick my DS). flashget??isnt it a download manager???u mean flashme...??  .....malaysians r so advanced that we have almost every carts available here.....  ...dont forget malaysia is known for its piracy rate...regardless whether its DVD,VCD,softwares or even games..
RAMChYLD
Nov 23 2006, 10:41 AM
QUOTE flashget??isnt it a download manager???u mean flashme...??  Messup. Ya, flashme. QUOTE malaysians r so advanced that we have almost every carts available here.....  ...dont forget malaysia is known for its piracy rate...regardless whether its DVD,VCD,softwares or even games..  Very true. And if cannot get locally, import! hehe  (I actually bought two games from eBay because cannot find the game here). This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Nov 23 2006, 10:43 AM
DjiNn
Nov 23 2006, 10:51 AM
its pointless to purchase a stepdown just because you want to charges your NDS Lite US Voltage
the best is to purchase a 220v or 110v-240v charger.
Third party are just RM 35 only .
USB Charger Cable are just RM 20 only.
A stepdown power adapter roughly need to spent around RM 70 (and don't forgot.. thier are very... bulky~ )
firstknight
Nov 23 2006, 11:02 AM
yeap.. just get a TP charger would do... save loads of cost... hehe... you scared brick dun flash.. jus get a passme/superpass device ler.. hehe..
DjiNn
Nov 23 2006, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(firstknight @ Nov 23 2006, 11:02 AM) yeap.. just get a TP charger would do... save loads of cost... hehe... you scared brick dun flash.. jus get a passme/superpass device ler.. hehe.. just imagine carrying the stepdown while traveling~